Request a Catalog.

It is required by law that the qualifications of each new career appointee to the Senior Executive Service (SES) be certified by an independent Qualifications Review Board based on criteria established by the Office of Personnel Management (OPM).

The Executive Core Qualifications (ECQs) describe the leadership skills needed to succeed in the SES. This includes a set of 28 competencies, grouped into five clusters based on similarities of importance and content. AMA offers specific recommendations for training that can help candidates acquire the skills needed to satisfy the ECQ competency requirements.

Leading Change

Creativity and Innovation External Awareness Flexibility & Resilience Strategic Thinking Vision

Leading People

Conflict Management Developing Others Leveraging Diversity Team Building

Results Driven

Accountability Customer Service Decisiveness Entrepreneurship Problem Solving
Technical Credibility

Business Acumen

Financial Management Human Capital Management Technology Management

Building Coalitions

Influencing/Negotiating Partnering Political Savvy

Fundamental Competencies

Continual Learning Integrity/Honesty Interpersonal Skills Oral Communications
Public Service Motivation Written Communication