/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Wendi B.
08/23/2018

Excellent course. I highly recommend.

Overall rating

Mark B.
08/22/2018

I thought it was very good

Overall rating

Angie L.
05/18/2018

Overall rating

Julia I.
05/16/2018

The content was decent; however, the facilitation was phenomenal.

Overall rating

Melinda E.
04/20/2018

The course content was mostly engaging and the discussions were often vibrant. The instructor was clearly an expert in the topic.

Overall rating

Debajyoti M.
04/19/2018

He was excellent in explaining different situations

Overall rating

Diane F.
03/23/2018

Overall rating

Anna Lizza C.
03/22/2018

Deb is excellent. Great and awesome resource person, very engaging and informative. Very helpful course for my role/position and this will really help me on my day to day work.

Overall rating

Melanie G.
03/07/2018

The presenter was well versed in the topic area and was a dynamic speaker. The course material was presented in a manner that was actionable as opposed to theoretical. The class size (8 people) was very manageable, allowing an opportunity for all members to participate, and provided an opportunity to each person to work with every class member at least once.

Overall rating

Carlos A.
03/05/2018

Luanne, was well prepare, and organize. I enjoy class participationand class activities.

Overall rating

paula l.
03/02/2018

Great tools to take away! Wish I had taken this class earlier in my career.

Overall rating

Katrina M T.
02/07/2018

well done, interacting with others from different backgrounds and work environment was extremely helpful. Different perspectives helps to develop a sense of what you can do

Overall rating

Kristian C.
02/05/2018

There were good concepts discussed but I didn't feel that I got what I was wanting out of the training. The material is more structured into categorizing people then actually structuring the conversation.

Overall rating

Allison K.
02/02/2018

The instructor, while nice, was not focused, spent too much time telling her own anecdotal stories to the point that I was extremely bored. They weren't relevant to me, and others in the class told me they felt the same way. A few times when I did try to say something, she saw me trying, but she kept talking, and then she moved on and never called on me. She also let one or two attendees dominate with their own stories. There was no actual practice, there was no learning about hot buttons and how to control your own emotions, there was no actual role play because on that exercise, we each had to spend so much time explaining the situation, there was no ability to do an actual role play. The instructor went off on tangential issues. Oh, and the first day, we didn't start until 11 am because she spent TWO hours with introductions for 10 people in the room. This course was a waste of time and budget. If I could get the money back for it, I would, so I could use my training budget on something else. Sad thing is, I was so looking forward to this, and so disappointed. I'm not the only person in the room who felt this way. it could have been a great course - you need an instructor who can listen, who isn't so self-absorbed, and who can pay better attention to the pace.

Overall rating

Eric C.
02/01/2018

Overall a good introduction to the topic. More depth in certain areas would help. For example, additional material on the different conflict modes and strategies for redirecting conversations from one to another. How to prepare for and manage contentious conversations. Generally could use more "meat" on strategies.

Overall rating

Andy M.
02/01/2018

Overall rating

Michele R.
12/12/2017

The instructor provided me excellent guidance in the competitive business environment.

Overall rating

Kevin C.
12/12/2017

Great experience! Deb was very knowledgeable and kept the training interesting.

Overall rating

Evelyn O.
12/12/2017

I didn't gain any practical information the first day which is a waste of valuable time considering this is a 2-day training course. There were far too much student-to-student, group think, and class consensus-building exercises. I anticipated more practical advice and education from the course leader.

Overall rating

Diane W.
12/12/2017

The instructor was good. She often asked the class for their input on how to handle a situation, which is understandable. In addition, would also have liked to have seen her respond a little more based on her own vast experiences.

Overall rating

Carmen N.
12/12/2017

Instructor Deborah was very knowledgeable. She kept everybody in the class very engage in every aspect of her teaching. She gave simple examples and to the point, that made the class move forward smoothly. She was able to cover all the material for the class without rushing us or without making it feel that she just wanted to cover the material. She answered all the questions by letting the group reason and apply what we just learn, meaning that it was actually engage active learning. I am very satisfied with everything provided for this training. The booklet and workbooks were very good and very well organized. The classroom was very comfortable. Overall, I am very satisfied with the training and I will definitely recommend it to all my colleagues and friends.

Overall rating

Debi R.
12/12/2017

I enjoyed the application of "Mastering the Art of Critical Conversation" class, it tied nicely with the "Responding to Conflict" class I had taken earlier this year. I also liked the opportunity to act out scenarios and get a guideline of steps for every critical conversation.

Overall rating

Jaclyn H.
12/12/2017

I did not think I was given enough expert opinion. Almost every topic was put back "well what does the class think" which helps people pay attention, but ultimately I am in attendance to learn the expert frameworks and opinions. I feel that was lacking.

Overall rating

Andrew P.
07/31/2017

Overall rating

Virginia G.
07/31/2017

Overall rating

Barbara C.
07/31/2017

Deborah is a lovely, smart, lively person to teach this class. She teaches the techniques to use and benefit from in a critical conversation. Through class interaction in small groups, we are able to delve into and understand how to apply the techniques. I enjoyed it thoroughly as a result.

Overall rating

Beverly W.
07/28/2017

Excellent course with good practical knowledge and practice time.

Overall rating

Kristina G.
07/28/2017

I thought it was really good. Small, simple actions that can be incorporated into everyday to help you de-escalate a conflicting situation at work. I also liked the roll playing.

Overall rating

David B.
07/28/2017

Overall rating

Kristen J.
07/27/2017

Deb was an excellent instructor! Mastering challenging conversations is an essential skill and this course offered helpful tools and techniques.

Overall rating

Jason L.
07/27/2017

This was a fantasic class. The instructor was as good as it gets. I feel like I am taking away a lot of great information and tools that will help me in my current position as well as in future endevours.

Overall rating

Diane P.
05/22/2017

I learned some valuable skills to appropriately prepare for the often uncomfortable critical conversations that we must have at work.

Overall rating

Susan Z.
05/19/2017

A lot of great information

Overall rating

Tammy R.
05/19/2017

Overall rating

Chris S.
05/18/2017

I loved the class and the content.

Overall rating

Karen H.
04/24/2017

The course provided a great deal of information over a two-day period. While I found it extremely informative, I think this might be better suited for a 3-day seminar to give the participants more time to ask questions and role play various scenarios

Overall rating

Roseanne C.
04/21/2017

The course content was beneficial and applicable. In addition, the instructor was very knowledgeable in the content and was able to provide real life instances rather than just assuming the best of outcomes in a perfect world. This definitely was not a snooze class.The classroom was not the best as there was ongoing construction on the floor below, however the instructor did her best to deal with the situation presented and continue with the class.

 
AMA is one of the most widely recognized leaders in business training, having provided corporate training solutions for over 95 years. From leadership, communication and managerial training to sales, customer service and analytical skills, AMA has developed a vast array of content and training solutions to help individuals and organizations achieve business results . Each year, AMA delivers thousands of seminars and courses across the United States. With courses offered in a  classroom near you or live online, AMA is a flexible, convenient resource for all of your organization's talent development needs. AMA also offers customized solutions based on your specific talent development requirements.

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.