/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Anthony N.
08/08/2016

The course was very informative and the instructor was knowledgeable in the content presented.

Overall rating

Kelli K.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Andres V.
07/29/2016

Well driven training, even though felt quite repetitive sometimes, and realizing some things are simply re-phrasing over and over again.

Overall rating

James Z.
07/25/2016

Course would be better if a road map of the whole process was available. Some steps could be noted as optional. Stick to one style.

Overall rating

Clint W.
07/25/2016

Overall rating

Chauncie D.
06/27/2016

My goal was to be able to use my current resources to deliver an effective training course. I received everything I need and more to get organized.

Overall rating

Quang L.
06/27/2016

Jill is a seasoned expert in ISD and brings a wealth of knowledge from both theory and practical considerations for course design. The knowledge she shares is a tremendous help to the participants.

Overall rating

Helen L.
06/27/2016

Overall rating

Ryan R.
06/27/2016

This course was extremely educational, and the instructor did a fantastic job in getting the information across to us and making sure we understood it, while still being open for discussion/questions. She somehow managed to independently cater to the needs of each person in the class, without detracting from everyone else's experience. Thank you Jill!

Overall rating

Cynthia M.
06/27/2016

The information was presented well and the instructor was superb.

Overall rating

Cody B.
06/27/2016

I love Jill's straightforward and direct approach to facilitating the training. She also cultivated a very open and welcoming environment in the classroom. I would love to attend another course with her as the facilitator. The content of the course was incredibly helpful and just what I wanted to get out of my time.Overall, my experience was great , and I look forward to returning to AMA in the near future!

Overall rating

Annette C.
06/27/2016

Overall rating

Georgette W.
03/25/2016

Overall, the seminar was good and I did come away with some great tips, but it was not at all what I expected. This seminar was geared for developing skills to enhance face-to-face training which is not what I am in need of. I thought that there would be more focus on content development and design. It is clear that my understanding of the role and functions of an instructional designer were not accurate.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
03/23/2016

As I mentioned in my original feedback, the instructor made this a very frustrating experience. She did not stay on track and many times throughout the course, the students in the class were asking for more clarification about assigned tasks and about where we were in the course. The material is helping a lot after the fact, but I learned more from my fellow classmates than I did from the instructor during the actual course. I also felt the focus was on presenting a course rather than the design of a course.

Overall rating

Ben K.
03/23/2016

Overall rating

Brian K.
03/02/2016

Overall rating

April S.
03/02/2016

Overall rating

Bianca B.
12/14/2015

Great information taught by a fantastic instructor.

Overall rating

Clark T.
10/12/2015

Overall rating

Lindsay C.
09/28/2015

I found the seminar very informative and felt like I could apply everything I learned when I designed training courses at work

Overall rating

Angela N.
09/28/2015

The instructor was perfect for this seminar. I have been to a few classes based on training and design and this was by far the best. Thank you Jill!!

Overall rating

Nezar A.
08/19/2015

Overall rating

Michael G.
08/06/2015

Geri was great! Very energetic and was able to get the who class involved. The attendees of the class were all great people and we got along well. I had a great experience and learned quite a bit from the class.

Overall rating

Melanie D.
08/03/2015

Unfortunately the course I attended did not cover all of the items mentioned on the Seminar Outline. The instructor seemed to be experimenting with new teaching techniques and did not follow along with the book. Activities were introduced to the class with little background or instruction and there was little tie back to the actual course materials to close the learning loop.We skipped around from activity to activity - with some of the class participants creating module previews to deliver to the rest of the class on materials that hadn't been covered yet and that was really in some cases the extent of training and discussion on those modules. It felt like this instructor (while experienced in the field) didn't familiarize with the course work book. (Are AMA instructors contractors? Aren't they required read materials prior to every delivery ?)I feel like the course ended up being very surface level and that I am no more skilled at Instructional Design than I was before I arrived.

Overall rating

Hilary W.
08/03/2015

I entered into this course with an optimistic attitude in preparation for an upcoming deliverable.

The first day of the course was less than I expected, as we focused quite a bit on items that were not in the materials. The instructor often forgot the "four D's" of the model we were supposed to be learning. The second day, the teacher suggested we cut mock garden flowers out of construction paper. I openly expressed that this was not an effective use of our time. The teacher became incoherent; at one point, she rambled on for about 8 minutes on drilling in Saudi Arabia, Disney projectors, a $3M piece of curved glass in China, and a 3D modeling structure for the "mines." She made sound effects and hand motions that left another student and I pondering if she'd taken drugs during her lunch break. I did not attend the third day.

I would like a full refund. I intend to inform my colleagues at Stanford of my discontent with my experience. The one star is in response t

Overall rating

Sheronda J.
08/03/2015

Frankly, I am EXTREMELY disappointed in the training class that I attended and do not believe that my professional skills or competency were increased or developed whatsoever.
I and another learner questioned the benefit of attending the final day of training - the other learner was a no-show on the final day.

I would like either (a) my money refunded or (b) an opportunity to attend another training class. I look forward to your reply regarding corrective actions as I believe that at least 1-2 other attendees from my training class will be requesting the same.

Overall rating

Mary W.
06/09/2015

Overall rating

David F.
06/08/2015

Overall rating

Edwin S.
05/19/2015

The class was just what I needed to feel comfortable putting together training modules. The practical tips and techniques learned will truly benefit me for years to come.

Overall rating

Steven R.
11/19/2014

Overall rating

Laurel K.
11/17/2014

Instructional Design for Trainers was a phenomenal course. The subject matter and concepts taught will be invaluable to our ability to restructure and refine our IT Methodology training at Ryder. The course instructor (Anne) was extremely knowledgeable about the course and lesson materials. Moreover, Anne incorporated countless real world examples that helped each learning objective "stick". Thank you Anne and AMA for a wonderful experience!

Overall rating

Theresa K.
09/27/2014

This seminar provided great tools and resources to me so that I can define, design, develop, decide (and delight as this is the 5th "D" we added) effective programs. The Instructor was very knowledgeable and shared many use cases and professional stories. The attendees were very engaged which is part of what makes a Instructor-Led class more effective than web-based-training.

There were many opportunities to practice the new skills, which helps with learning and forming new habits. Great course.

Overall rating

Jason W.
08/04/2014

The lessons I learned from the facilitator have already been implemented into my job materials. I enjoyed the creative atmosphere and the activities that really hit the concepts home.

The only downside: For the price, breakfast and lunch should have been available.

Overall rating

Ezekiel O.
06/09/2014

This was the first time to attend a seminar focused mainly on instructional design and it was a learning experience. The class size was small enough for the facilitator to know how each person was doing and also to use specific workplace experience of the participants in classroom discussions.
The participants also could relate more easily and many hands-on exercises were attempted. Generally I was able to apply what was taught to what I needed to do in order to improve on the design of programs for various leadership levels within our organization.
The facilitator was excellent in her delivery, not to mention her ability to engage the participants throughout the duration of the program. The environment was also good for learning because AMA staff were always on hand to assist the participants in any way possible.
But I will suggest that soft copies of the slides should be sent to our mails from the first day of the seminar.

Overall rating

Andy H.
11/01/2013

Overall rating

Tonni Y.
09/30/2013

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.