/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Debra F.
09/26/2016

Not only was the information rendered relevant, timely and appropriate for the targeted audience, but the overall delivery was impeccable. I was extremely impressed with Marcia's ability to captivate her audience for a seemingly dull, but mandatory topic. Marcia's knowledge, experience, and sincere passion for law promoted learning and questions as well as challenged participant's ethical dispositions when viewing their own Companies practices. There was definitely a wealth of knowledge and years of experience to glean from. It was also refreshing not experience the pressures/intimidation of not knowing the right answers because the atmosphere was conducive for learning and understanding. I am elated I took the course; and I am certain my retention of this material is permanent! Marcia's is truly "Excellence in Motion!"

Overall rating

Gail E.
09/22/2016

Instructor was very lively. NO homework which helps an already tight schedule when factoring in the longer commute and restricted evening hours/family obligations. The only drawback was that there were so many case studies involved in this subject matter which can be tiring. The instructor did a good job of dividing the case studies among the groups/tables, but it still became onerous as we wore on through the second day. I am convinced that the success of any course is largely influenced by the instructor and style of instructing. I have taken many AMA courses in the past 10 years but have had very few excellent instructors. I went into this course thinking it would be boring; but Marcia made it anything BUT boring. The small class size helps keep everyone engaged. It would help if lunch was catered - I think you could get a lot more instruction into the time allotted if food was provided. There was one person who did not arrive on either day until we were 45 minutes+ into the class which I think is not only rude but also distractive. (I understand that folks have obligations and commutes to deal with but I still think it is rude.) Really appreciated not having to fill out any evaluation for the instructor on either days as I have had to do on most of the other AMA courses I have taken over the last 10 years.

Overall rating

Amanda S.
09/21/2016

Marcia was an amazing teacher who really engaged with the class. She had a sharp wit, stories that related directly to the course material, and a great attitude.

Overall rating

Christi S.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Michelle B.
09/21/2016

Instructor was very knowledgeable and engaging.

Overall rating

Tina B.
09/21/2016

Really knowledgeable instructor and engaging.

Overall rating

Jocelyn D.
09/21/2016

Fantastic course. I thought Employment Law would be so boring but it was one of the most interesting classes I've ever taken, most especially thanks to Marcia!

Overall rating

Irina G.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Rachael G.
07/14/2016

Course felt rushed

Overall rating

Joselin H.
07/14/2016

Louis is a great instructor. I learned a lot from this employment law course.

Overall rating

Nicole S.
07/14/2016

Overall rating

James B.
04/07/2016

Overall rating

Charles C.
03/27/2016

Real life scenarios while looking at the actual facts and knowing how to detect them. Definitely worth the money, the instructor had all the right ways to break down each material into realistic terms.

Overall rating

Chris A.
11/11/2015

Excellent course but too short!

Overall rating

Ana D.
09/23/2015

The Employment Law Course: Avoiding the Legal Pitfalls of EEO, FMLA and ADA well exceeded the expectation. Left with a clear understand of the laws and how each work. All HR personnel should take this course.

Overall rating

James M.
07/19/2015

Overall rating

daniella c.
03/27/2015

Overall rating

Suzanne E.
01/26/2015

Instructor was possibly the most engaging instructor I have ever had.

Overall rating

Christal M.
09/23/2014

I really enjoyed the class. It was a two-day course that went by quickly. I felt it was a great refresher course for an attorney or any professional in the field. The handouts were great and the course went at a very good pace. The instructor was engaging and had significant experience in the field. I would definitely take more courses at AMA.

Overall rating

Brittany J.
09/22/2014

The instructor did an excellent job bringing these employment laws to life. He tied the lessons in with our specific job-related concerns. I enjoy this seminar.

Overall rating

Tamia W.
09/22/2014

Case studies were great!

Overall rating

Kim S.
07/18/2014

Overall rating

Rachel C.
03/28/2014

Current, up to date information, the cases we read were a great illustration of the topics we were covering!

Overall rating

Bita D.
09/30/2013

The Instructor was very Knowledgeable and kept the Seminar very interesting. I gained many new informations related to employment laws that I could bring back to my organization.

Overall rating

Vanessa I.
09/27/2013

This seminar was advertised for HR Managers and Attorneys as those who should attend, when in reality, it should be advertised for non-HR Managers and HR Professionals with less than 2 years of HR experience. The course was too basic for an HR Professional/Manager with more than two years of experience and it should be noted that anyone with a PHR or SPHR should not take this course because the material, including the case studies, are the same as those included in the PHR/SPHR study materials.
I signed up for this course in hopes that I would gain a more in depth understanding of employment laws, IN PRACTICE, and discuss strategies and case studies that demonstrate how employers deal with such laws. Instead, the course went over laws such as Employment At Will, FMLA, and ADA and Sexual Harassment at a very basic level, appropriate for someone who is not familiar with the laws at all.
While I was able to ask questions in the small group setting, I was disappointed overa

Overall rating

Kristina F.
07/22/2013

Marcia made this class interesting and relatable. I would absolutely take another seminar with her again! AMA makes you feel comfortable while learning and makes it easier and easier to come again.

Overall rating

Magi P.
05/10/2013

The employment law seminar with AMA was great! The speaker was very knowledgeable, provided great information, examples and insight. I have definitely learned a lot and look forward to implementing this knowledge and skills at work.

Overall rating

Luisa L.
03/29/2013

The course and material were up to date. The instructor, Marcia was knowledgable , humorous and very smart! Great course!!

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.