/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Aaron N.
03/22/2017

Very interactive and engaging instructor. Builds out the foundations in marketing. Would recommend this course to those who have no formal marketing schooling.

Overall rating

Matt D.
03/22/2017

Overall rating

David K.
02/14/2017

This seminar provided a good overall look at the responsibilities of a Product Manager, with good examples from the instructor and the opportunity to discuss issues with each member of the class. It pointed out the issues any product manager would encounter, no matter the size of the market or complexity of the product. Many of the examples show the wrongs of major corporation and the insight to avoid these pitfalls.

Overall rating

Michelle C.
02/13/2017

Richard is extremely knowledgeable, personable and has great examples/ stories to share that provide clarity. I very much enjoyed his class.

Overall rating

Paula S.
12/15/2016

I thought the information given in this course was comprehensive and the instructor was extremely knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Tammy O.
12/14/2016

The instructor was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. My only complaint is that a few people in the class talked way too much and took away from valuable learning time.

Overall rating

William M.
12/14/2016

I enjoyed this class and found the ideas raised, and techniques shard to be useful in my career as a product manager. I believe the tools garnered in this course will provide helpful moving forward in my field.

Overall rating

Miranda C.
12/14/2016

I liked the real life examples of the topics we were discussing as well as the opportunity to learn from others in the field through discussion. I recommend more thought-provoking activities to keep us engaged and get us thinking about these new concepts.

Overall rating

Gina T.
12/14/2016

I would recommend this to a brand new product manager but not one with experience as the concepts are basic. I wish the description of the class had been more clear because I didn't learn much from this class. Good content, just not for an experienced product manager.

Overall rating

Holly O.
12/14/2016

Wish there were more break out sessions.

Overall rating

Emily A.
12/12/2016

I recently started a new position as a Product Manager. Having no prior experience in this position, I was excited to have the opportunity to attend a formal, three day training at a reputable establishment such as AMA. Day one started out slower than I would have preferred. I found the material to lack depth, examples, and figures that would be helpful for learning. The material was taught by everyone reading pages silently and then discussing; I do not find this to be a good teaching method. I wish the instructor would have taught the material and then we could have discussed, he must have an idea of the most important pieces of advice and most frequently as questions on the topic. I feel I could have searched the web and joined forums to learn what was being taught at this course. We one did one exercise, a team one, which I made note of at the end of the day when the facilitator requested feedback about the day. With a hopeful heart, I attending the second day thinking module 5, which was supposed to be the meat of the material, would make it all better. It did not. It was much of the same, except we did zero activities. We did not "put it all together using a case study on product marketing plan development so you’re ready to prepare your marketing plan" as the course was marketed. Needless to say, I was disappointed. With all that said, there were some good take homes. There was good class discussion; it was great that everyone was so open with what problems they

Overall rating

Angela E.
12/12/2016

Overall rating

Liz C.
12/12/2016

Very informative. Richard explained things in a very understandable way and gave excellent feedback. I would only ask in the future for more group activities, but besides that it was wonderful.

Overall rating

Brandee B.
12/12/2016

I enjoyed the class. I wish there were group activities, but there were a lot of group discussions and I found that helpful and enjoyable. I enjoyed Richards class and would recommend this class to others.

Overall rating

Amanda S.
12/12/2016

Overall rating

Kevin S.
12/09/2016

Overall rating

Brian K.
11/16/2016

The Successful Product Management Class provided a good overall view of product management and how to apply beneficial strategies to my job.

Overall rating

Jessica S.
11/16/2016

The course was good, but I felt it was more geared towards someone with almost zero knowledge of product management. I wish it had been more in depth with regard to tools and tips to increasing the strength of those already in the PM roll.

Overall rating

Melissa M.
11/14/2016

I enjoyed this course. I've never taken an AMA course and didn't know what to expect but everything was relevant, we had a good group and David was great.

Overall rating

Rocky S.
11/14/2016

Instructor uses real world examples that are very informative. Pace was good. Mix of attendees was great

Overall rating

Brandon R.
11/14/2016

The instructor carried a ton of knowledge and experience into this course. What a great way to learn for someone who is new to product management.

Overall rating

Keith W.
11/14/2016

Overall rating

Leslie W.
11/14/2016

Great class! Really filled in the gaps for me, so I now have a much better understanding of what product management entails

Overall rating

Justin S.
10/14/2016

Fantastic seminar. I like to pack in as much info as possible. It was a little slow for my liking. But the info given was great and all meaningful.

Overall rating

Shawn B.
10/13/2016

Overall this was a good course, but we skipped majority of the exercises in the provided book, which I thought would have been valuable. Also, some of the topics that are listed for this course were only very briefly covered and then we were recommended to take an additional class for that content. I would say not the best experience in the world, but not the worst. I will most likely be coming back for a course with the AMA, but I may try a different instructor.

Overall rating

Andrew K.
10/13/2016

Excellent material to bring back to the office; Relevant examples from industries similar to mine

Overall rating

Kate H.
10/12/2016

The course was good, but it was not what I expected. The course should have been titled "Intro to product management." The information was presented well, and I learned a lot, but it was all very high level and didn't go into the depth I needed.

Overall rating

Trisha M.
09/22/2016

As someone who is completely new to product management, I found the class to be a great starting point. We had great dialogue with the instructor and he and answered everyone's questions. The topics discussed were relevant to real-world scenarios and not just book-based. The instructor provided very useful feedback that I feel I can incorporate into my role.

Overall rating

Claudia T.
09/21/2016

The Course was announced as to be a product manager course. However, the content was more on Marketing. Giving that we were not many participants and all had a similar background, looking for similar content (i.e. product management), I felt it would have been wise to focus more on this.

Overall rating

Aldo R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Nicholas R.
09/21/2016

Great having companies with both B2B and B2C markets. Presenter very knowledgeable and provided lots of tips and tools that added a lot of value to the course content. Daily Team activities were fun and inspiring. Handout is a little out of date, but still relevant. Would have liked tools that are provided electronically - for example Impact Model, Strategic Plan Worksheet; Marketing Plan Template; Product Value Map, etc.

Overall rating

Hjordi D.
09/21/2016

Marty was one of the best teachers I've ever had. He engaged the class, asked us what we wanted to learn and tailored the class to our specific needs. Not only was he entertaining, but he was knowledgeable and organized too.

Overall rating

Patricia S.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jessica H.
09/21/2016

Really engaging instructor. I tend to be quiet, so I like that I was really made to be involved in discussions and activities. I enjoy real-life experience and examples, it is essential to my learning.

Overall rating

Tyler F.
08/11/2016

They say you learn as much in your first year of professional experience as you do in four years of college. I definitely have found that to be true. However, this course was like a semester of college per day - and the real world examples of what works and how it works really put it over the top for me. I have so much to bring back to my company in order to work on with my own products, but to improve overall management processes for everyone. I will be highly recommending this course to my coworkers!

Overall rating

Devin P.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Elia B.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Earl B.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Anne-Marie M.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Jessica P.
08/05/2016

Good topics covered. Very helpful starting point but too much to review well in 3 days. Instructor got off topic easily and told a lot of stories that slowed us down. Helpful but made it hard to get through all content.

Overall rating

Jorge P.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Stuart M.
07/13/2016

Great class. Mike had a lot of experience.

Overall rating

Keon J.
07/11/2016

The training provided was fantastic.

Overall rating

Jesse P.
07/11/2016

Good balance of academic and real world experience. Other participants in the class provided a wide breadth of savior an experience.

Overall rating

Cherlyn M.
07/11/2016

I thought it would be different. I learned the sizing tool and validating data and that was the most helpful to me.

Overall rating

Beth L.
07/11/2016

Mike was a great teacher and the group provided great discussion. I really enjoyed the seminar.

Overall rating

Anthony E.
03/23/2016

Great class, great content, great teacher. This course exceeded my expectations, and Michael was excellent at communicating the concepts as well as answering questions and providing examples. I was thrilled with the experience, and plan to attend future courses of this nature.

Overall rating

waiel o.
12/14/2015

Overall rating

Adam B.
11/18/2015

Overall rating

Jesus B.
08/26/2015

Excellent.

Overall rating

Michael D.
07/22/2015

Overall rating

Justin H.
04/13/2015

Overall rating

Ray N.
09/22/2014

Had a enjoyable time and came away with a lot of good tools that I can apply to my job. Instructor was professional and knowledgeable. The curriculum was very relevant to my job responsibility. Great job!

Overall rating

SHARON W.
07/28/2014

Enjoyed class tremendously. Instructor having working knowledge made interaction and examples so valuable. Would recommend this class/instructor for future clients exploring PM Training Seminar.

Overall rating

Andrew R.
06/16/2014

The class was well presented and I found the content to be up-to-date for the most part. It is a full three days of class and we moved through the material quickly. I could say they continue with the established format and work to make sure the information presented is the latest and greatest (take out references to CD-ROMs and update with Apps, website and other blogs that would be useful to a PM).

I have been in my role for two years and this class and reinvigorated me and provided me with a number of key skills I will need moving forward.

Overall rating

Julie G.
11/18/2013

For the new product manager, or those collaborating with product managers; this was a great class. It covers specific tasks on which a product manager should focus & gives examples on how to perform those tasks - especially analysis tools.

I came back with lots of ideas on how I want to improve product management in our company and even how I'd like to change the main focus points of my job.

Overall rating

Jenna F.
10/07/2013

Great instructor but some of the printed materials seemed slightly out of date (noted 2005).

Overall rating

Abigail H.
05/20/2013

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.