/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Kimberly R.
10/08/2014

Great course. Lots of hands-on learning, relevant examples, and practice. Would definitely recommend if you have a specific person at work that you are having trouble getting results from. Make sure to come with that person or situation in mind.

Overall rating

Siobhain M.
10/07/2014

What a great class. Can bring back all I have learned from class to the Real World. I thought it would be boring but to my surprise the 3 day class went by quickly. We had all different kinds of activities and the teacher Mary was AWESOME. Thank You AMA for a Job well done.

Overall rating

ZACHARY C.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Guy P.
09/15/2014

It was a very informative and engaging class. I must admit that the 1st day I had my doubts, but the 2nd and 3rd days were key, and everything came together for me. All became clear the further we delved into the material.

The instructor was expert at keeping the class focused and the ideas flowing. She also knew how to draw the more reticent participants out of themselves without making them feel in the "spotlight" or on the hot seat. Ms, Carver was also particularly adept at using real life examples when discussing the text which to me brought the information to life. Kudos to Ms. Carver!

I have already recommended it to a number of my colleagues at work.

Overall rating

Rossiel H.
09/03/2014

The instructor was great. Tips that you can use for work and at home!

Overall rating

Sean C.
09/02/2014

Super seminar, that was very informative. I picked up skills I hope to use every day.

Overall rating

Manuela M.
09/02/2014

Overall rating

Jeremy H.
08/20/2014

I felt that this class is very necessary for everybody to attend. Not only do you find out more about yourself, but you find out how to best deal with others. The section of the class on persuasion was eyeopening and a great experience for me.

Overall rating

Cayci C.
08/19/2014

The instructor and facility were top notch! Learned valuable tools to help me both in work and in life.

Overall rating

Paul F.
08/19/2014

Overall rating

Gary S.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Monica W.
07/20/2014

I like the format of the live online seminars. It is very convenient and economical to not travel for training (our closest venue is approximately 6 hours by car, and is in a very expensive metropolitan area. Travel, lodging and meals runs close to the cost of training, plus 2 extra days away from work for travel....). I think the break out sessions would be more beneficial in person. The live online breakouts...no one is quite sure what they are doing and is very tentative to talk at first. I also noticed that if two people speak at one time, neither is heard...so that would be a technological suggestion I would make...

Content was very good and very helpful to me in my day to day work.

Overall rating

Melissa R.
07/20/2014

Overall rating

Linda R.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Liz W.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Natalie V.
06/16/2014

Bill was awesome - just the right amount of examples mixed with principles. Best teacher I've had with AMA.

Overall rating

David S.
06/16/2014

Overall rating

Shankar S.
06/12/2014

Very well taught class that covered many practical lessons even outside the scope of the class topic. Very valuable lessons many of which I can begin implementing immediately

Overall rating

Todd P.
06/06/2014

Overall rating

Catherine S.
05/19/2014

This was my first time at one of these courses. As a medical professional, I wasn't sure how much I would gain from this, but I learned quite a bit that I can hopefully apply to my job. The group activities were fun but unfortunately, the last activity became a bit too competitive and left a slightly sour aftertaste as we finished the course but overall it was still a very valuable experience.

Overall rating

Daniel M.
05/12/2014

Exceeded my expectations, very relevant to my job.

Overall rating

Alex R.
05/09/2014

Great seminar, great instructor, well worth it!

Overall rating

Judy S.
04/28/2014

Love Mary's style. She kept the whole class engaged and made it fun while presenting info that can be used in our everyday jobs.

Overall rating

Lova F.
04/17/2014

The instructor's examples and activities brought the material to life and provided practical uses and ways of applying the information immediately. Great seminar. I recommend it to anyone.

Overall rating

Laura F.
04/14/2014

I think the instructor, Bill, for "Getting Results Without Authority" was great. He provided concrete, practical examples and provided opportunities to role play. He encouraged us to create an action plan to put this to work right away. I found the material helpful to both my professional and personal life. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone seeking to improve their performance.

Overall rating

Patrick R.
04/14/2014

The class when you read the description was different than the actual class, which was a pleasant surprise. Bill was excellent and very knowledgable. While we went through some areas faster than we liked, he always offered to come back or ask questions. I found it extremely helpful to my job, and in speaking with the others in the class came away with different ways of thinking and solutions than before.

Overall rating

Betty Anne M.
04/07/2014

Overall rating

Alonso M.
04/02/2014

Overall rating

Gregory S.
03/18/2014

Dianne Hardison did a great job adjusting to a smaller than intended class. She kept everyone engaged and the individual presentations were helpful in assessing and utilizing the techniques involved. Dianne managed the class well, kept it moving along at a good pace and most importantly kept it interesting. I would definitely attend another one of her seminars in the future.

Overall rating

Debra S.
03/04/2014

The instructor is fabulous. She has endless energy and real-life examples of situations that apply to the course material. She is also flexible and adaptable.

I have a different perspective on the process of persuasion and negotiation as a result of taking this seminar. I think it will enhance my effectiveness, particularly with my negotiating skills.

Overall rating

Luann L.
02/25/2014

The instructor was excellent! He was very knowledgable and keep the class engaged. He took an interest in each student and make sure everyone was participating.

Overall rating

Kim G.
01/28/2014

Overall rating

Deanna M.
01/27/2014

Great class! The instructor and technical support were awesome. The material was exactly what I needed and I got a lot out of the real world examples we used during the lessons. I loved the online environment and the interactive aspects. Very easy to use. I wish my online college classes were set up like this. Looking forward to taking more AMA classes in the future.

Overall rating

Autumn C.
01/27/2014

I left this seminar with better skills on understanding the personal styles and how to better persuand and negotiate. I feel that I gained a bit more courage for going into work situations based on that knowledge.

Overall rating

Thelma E.
01/27/2014

I was very pleased with the presentation and delivery of the seminar; I learned so much that I can use in and outside of work as well. We had the privilege of having a very small class (only 4 attendees) which allowed for a very hands-on, interactive and tailored learning experience. Mary Hubbard Lewis is very successful, not only in the area of technical knowledge, but she does an excellent job of engaging each of the participants so that, for me, the class was more about applied knowledge in the real world than book knowledge that we couldn't use.
I've taken advantage of the AMA Annual Pass, so I will be taking a number of seminars in the next few months. I sincerely hope I have the pleasure of having Mary as my instructor in one or more of these.

Overall rating

Kathryn S.
01/22/2014

Overall rating

Deborah S.
11/25/2013

The pace of the workshop was very slow, after Day 1 the instructure acknowledged written feedback from the daily survey that it was to slow - it only seemed to get slower.

The instructor didn't vary from the text, even when asked. No creative or customized thought

I asked a question about a group exercise we were asked to complete - the instructor came over to me and read the directions to me - literally read the directions out of the book to me; very odd.


I then asked another question and was told I had to wait until tomorrow for the answer. A Short time later another attendee asked a question and was also told to wait until we covered the material in the text - again, seemed hesitant to vary even a little to meet the attendees needs.

I did not return for a third day.

The instructor was very nice and personable, but seemed very inflexible in his teaching style. Not what I am use to encountering with an AMA semina

Overall rating

Viorel D.
11/12/2013

Overall rating

Brandi D.
11/11/2013

Fantastic course! Mike presented the course in a very engaging and clear manner. I looked forward to the course every morning and it just flew by. Although there was a lot of information, he did a very good job of tying it all together. He also provided a very helpful overview which I know I will refer to when using this information back in the office.

Overall rating

Emma d.
11/11/2013

i really liked the instructor and thought he really knew what he was teaching. good examples and made the class interesting.
it would also be good to get feedback about what he thought our weakness might be or anything else.

Overall rating

Marc S.
10/29/2013

Overall rating

Joe R.
10/29/2013

Wonderful interaction with the 9 others associated with the course. Seminar had a good cross section of personality types which made it highly effective. Ms. Copeland modified the course flow to maximize the benefit for the knowledge in the room. 1st course for me with AMA and I would do it again in a minute.

Overall rating

Jeanetta S.
10/14/2013

Overall rating

Randy H.
10/07/2013

Overall rating

Danny D.
10/07/2013

Overall the seminar was good and applicable to my job. The instructor was very personable and made things interesting and time go by quickly. For the most part, class interaction was good but I was quite disappointed in how one of the class excercises played out in that although the class was based on learning how to facilitate a win / win situation for everyone, several in our class were still trying to achieve the best "what's in it for me" outcome.
The facilty was ok, but we had to request that the temperature be adjusted every morning. AMA did not provide any snacks (except for drinks) in class, and nothing was easily accessible to our room.
I have attended many courses along these lines hoping to take back some new learning, but it seems that in the end, they all tend to go back to figuring out the personality traits of yourself and the people on your team and adapting to them. I would like to see more real world examples in courses like this.

Overall rating

Michelle H.
10/07/2013

Overall rating

Scott D.
10/04/2013

I thought the instructor was very knowledgable, very good insight with past history and experience. Great personality...very good course.

Overall rating

Joey M.
10/04/2013

Overall rating

Dave G.
09/23/2013

Excellent class format and excellent instructor!

Overall rating

Breeze B.
09/16/2013

Overall rating

Marty B.
09/09/2013

Michael was extremely knowledgeable about the subject and clearly experienced in teaching. He was able to cram a ton of information into the sessions, but at a reasonable pace so it was not overwhelming. There were quite a few things that were revelatory for me and I plan to start using them immediately.

Overall rating

Y W.
09/02/2013

Most of the topics learnt in MBA courses and management training within company. Practical knowledge and application needed.

Overall rating

Mark G.
08/26/2013

Instructor was very good. We had a small class. She kept things rolling along with little or no "snooze time".

Overall rating

Anna B.
07/30/2013

This class was very empowering and helped me have a whole new outlook on how to approach many things about my job. I learned how to implement persuasion, work effectively with people who have different personalities and really focus on the benefits of the proposal I'm offering. I learned many other things but would strongly recommend this course to everyone, even if you have a powerful position, so you can influence your employees and people you work with.

Overall rating

Irene B.
07/29/2013

I rated it as "5" or excellent. The instructor Michael was outstanding in presenting material that is difficult to absorb and made it a very engaging seminar. I would highly recommend it to any managers that rely on others in their company who are not their direct reports to get results. I would also recommend Michael as an instructor of any course that the AMA offers.

Overall rating

Jesus R.
07/23/2013

Mary did a fantastic job. The seminar was attended by 8 people from different industries. At the begining we captured our wishlist ranging from building self-confidence to how to influence though people.

At the end of the seminars we were requested to evaluate Mary's job and the fulfillment of our wishlist and she got an A+ from all participants.

Highly recommended seminar.

Overall rating

Shelby L.
07/15/2013

I don't think the name matches the class. But it was really enjoyable, and a lot can be taken from it.

Overall rating

Jianmin L.
06/28/2013

Overall rating

Elisa B.
05/25/2013

I immediately put my lessons learned to action, the day after I returned to work. Our instructor was very enthusiastic and interactive which made the learning experience a success. Thank you!

Overall rating

Mike B.
05/21/2013

Overall rating

Lynne B.
05/06/2013

I have already attended a seminar with this instructor. His anecdotes were charming the first time around, however the same stories, quotes, and ideas were stale the second time around. I was hoping for new information. The third day was almost a complete waste of time. I don't feel that I received good value for the cost.

Overall rating

Darlene C.
05/06/2013

Awesome class in a very nice city. Enjoyed my experience.

Overall rating

Tammy B.
04/29/2013

Patricia is a top level instructor. Not only did Patricia keep us engaged, she was very knowledgeable and was able to answer our questions by sharing her own life experiences. The insight she gave with regards to persuading, influencing, and negotiating was very valuable. The personal styles portion of this seminar provided me tips with dealing with relationships in both my professional and personal life that I will use for years to come.

Overall rating

Vernon J.
04/18/2013

The course material was timely and presented very well

Overall rating

Kevin T.
04/08/2013

Overall rating

Alfred C.
04/03/2013

Overall rating

Raj S.
03/01/2013

Overall rating

Don Q.
02/18/2013

Great course for learning the basic building blocks of Persuasion and Negotiations...

Overall rating

Sharon S.
02/11/2013

I really loved the experience. Our group was small enough to bond and work together and our instructor, Karen was truly excellent. She was able to understand our individual challenges, and guide the curriculum accordingly. Even when something wasn't relevant to an individual, she was able to make it relate-able.

Many of the struggles my colleagues faced in the discussion were not similar to my scenario. So, that was the only negative (and the only reason it wasn't 5 stars). I still got a lot of information from it, that I believe I will be able to use within my organization to help others (and myself as well).

Overall rating

Teresa S.
02/11/2013

I am disappointed with AMA for booking at a hotel where the sleeping rooms were sold out already.

Overall rating

John L.
02/04/2013

Excellent seminar.

Overall rating

Gary F.
01/28/2013

I think your seminar was very informative and proof that even at 61 there are things that I can still learn. Jaye was an excellent instructor and I would recommend her to anyonw.

Overall rating

Linda I.
01/28/2013

Overall rating

Steven K.
01/24/2013

This was an exceptional seminar; I used a current work situation as the case study called for during the seminar and worked out a best approach to the situation and got lots of valuable feedback both from the instructor and my classmates. The instructor was excellent: engaging, knowledgeable, respectful, challenging, personable and professional. I thoroughly enjoyed the seminar, have applied its concepts at work already, and expect to continue to do so for the forseeable future. Thank you!

Overall rating

Robert P.
01/23/2013

I enjoyed the Getting Results Without Authority seminar, and feel that I was able to take away pertinent information to better influencing others who are not under my authority. I feel the small group atmosophere was critical in the results I received within this workshop.

Overall rating

Betsy P.
01/23/2013

Good information and tools.

Overall rating

Keasha J.
01/21/2013

I think the class was extrodinary and the instructor was well versed in the material and was able to add more to provided material and answer questions with such indepth knowledge. Really enjoyed the course alot.

Overall rating

Andy T.
01/21/2013

Excellent content. The class size allowed for discussion and feedback throughout the course. I was able to immediately use the information and several techniques provided.

Overall rating

German G.
12/26/2012

Our class was small enough for us to really have a lot of idea exchange. Our instructor is very well versed on the subject matter. He also promotes open discussions, which are very useful, these discussions are about our work environment and the various situations we encounter. I can think if several people in my organization that could benefit from this training sessions. In my particular case, we have great people, but we certainly need to influence them in a more positive fashion, so as to develop a more cooperative and task oriented philosophy.

Overall rating

Toto A.
12/19/2012

The seminar offered practical suggestion to everyday challenges in dealing with peers, superiors and customers. The instructor managed to facilitate a lively discussion of ideas among the participants. He was also on point in offering soft skill wisdoms gained through a life time of teaching and management experience.

Overall rating

Thomas M.
12/18/2012

The seminar was excellent as well as the instructor. Mary did a wonderful job covering all the areas. This is a course others should find time to take.

Overall rating

Christine M.
12/10/2012

The instructor, Michael made this course. The materials were helpful and insightful, but his knowledge, personality and expertise made the course what it was. The pre-course assessment made the course seem very difficult and unapproachable. After I took the pre test I was very nervous for the class and had no idea what to expect. In reality, the course was very approachable but the pre test did not make it seem that way. The post test I found valuable and I think the continued learning courses will be as well.

Overall rating

Dori K.
11/20/2012

Overall rating

Vincent C.
11/19/2012

Overall rating

Hilary L.
11/19/2012

Enjoyed the seminar and got alot out of it. Much better than I anticipated. Moderator did an excellent job of presenting materials and keeping the seminar moving along.

Overall rating

Kathy R.
11/12/2012

The seminar talked mainly about knowing your audience and making persuasive speeches. This is not the kind of information I was looking for when signing up for this topic. There are many instances when you need to get results and the situation has nothing to do with presentations. A colleague of mine took the class last month and did not have any presentations to give, while we had both a 3 min and 5 min presentation mandatory. I would have liked to have some other format such as role playing in groups to discuss work-related issues and other techniques for getting results besides being persuasive. This class should have been called 'The Art of Persuasion'... not 'Getting Results Without Authority'. I think this was a serious mismanagement of my time and my company's funds.

Overall rating

David P.
11/10/2012

The instructor , Michael Kmeck, did a wonderful job of tying together all the factors involved in getting results when you are without the authority to compel compliance. He had just the proper mix of expertise and humor to make the seminar an educational as well as entertaining experience. Three cheers for Mike!!!

Overall rating

Lawrence M.
10/14/2012

Really enjoyed the seminar. The instructor was very knowledgable on the subject and kept the entire group engaged.

Overall rating

Ali S.
10/13/2012

Instructor was good. He was knowledgable and provided a good perspective on the subject. Room was hot. Exercise at end was fun. Integration of the personality types was good to help change perspective that people are all different and we need to embrace differences.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.