/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Sergio B.
09/21/2016

I thought that both the seminar and the material presented during the seminar were great. Pete did a great job keeping everyone engaged, and I really liked how interactive the seminar was. I do believe that the material covered is a little too much for 3 days. I think that this seminar could easily be a 4 day seminar or a week long seminar to get even more out of the material. I liked the book that was provided, but I also thought that a separate notebook from AMA to keep all the notes from the seminar in one place would had been really nice. Overall, I was very happy with the seminar.

Overall rating

Brady P.
09/21/2016

Couldn't have been happier with the overall experience. I've used AMA for advanced training in the past, but this was by far the best overall learning experience (facility, trainer, material).

Overall rating

Aaron V.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jeff B.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Brian H.
09/21/2016

Excellent for any industry, organization, or business unit.

Overall rating

Greg R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Chuck H.
09/21/2016

Pete's method for engaging the class was very effective and refreshing. I never was bored or tempted to tune out at any point.

Overall rating

Lance S.
09/21/2016

Pete did a great job presenting the material and understood the subject matter.

Overall rating

Paulo W.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Katie E.
09/21/2016

great instructor

Overall rating

Armine A.
09/21/2016

I really liked her experience, knowledge, versatile company knowledge. The classroom was little dark.

Overall rating

David D.
09/21/2016

Great Instructor, keeps class moving. Good real world examples I can use on the job.

Overall rating

Joel D.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

JACOB B.
09/21/2016

Great tips and tools to implement at any size organization.

Overall rating

Louis O.
09/21/2016

Found Jennifer to be a very good coach and transmitted the information in a very understandable manner.

Overall rating

Doryce M.
08/15/2016

Wonderful information, presented well

Overall rating

Maggie S.
08/15/2016

I was impressed by the diversity of exercises to mix up the groups, and facilitation techniques to engage different learning styles.

Overall rating

Sheila B.
08/15/2016

The instructor did a nice job keeping the class engaged. Would highly recommend this class to others.

Overall rating

Angela T.
08/15/2016

Overall rating

Carl B.
08/12/2016

Overall rating

Jeremy C.
08/12/2016

Overall rating

Hamad A.
08/12/2016

Very informative and well managed workshopThank you

Overall rating

Janet P.
08/12/2016

Best course I've ever had. The instructor was engaging, the exercises were all applicable, and I learned more than I thought I would.

Overall rating

Katherine B.
08/12/2016

There was an ideal balance of lecture, team work, and individual work. The course was very interactive, and the instructor certainly knew his material.We were encouraged to move around the class and constantly worked in different teams. I liked how we kept referring to the case study, as it helped to illustrate the material in a real-life example.

Overall rating

Soldad B.
07/21/2016

I believe this course could be reduced to 2 days. There was a lot of discussion on macro drivers, which in general is done at a higher level in the organization and might not be as relevant for plans at a manager/ director level.

Overall rating

Susan S.
07/21/2016

The materials, instruction, and class interactions more than met my expectations, provided tangible concepts for implementation, and broadened the concept well beyond the "black and white"

Overall rating

Victor T.
06/29/2016

Overall rating

Willy Y.
06/28/2016

Overall rating

Ben T.
06/27/2016

Jennifer is a tremendous instructor who is able to inspire creative thinking and keep the class moving according to the agenda.

Overall rating

Kerry H.
06/06/2016

Overall rating

Minh O.
06/02/2016

Great balance between academics and real world experience. Provides you with tools that you can use after the seminar is complete and some insight on how to apply them.

Overall rating

Jason H.
06/02/2016

The instructor Jodi was excellent. It was clear she was truly an expert on the topic having advised companies through strategic planning process over many years and facilitated planning meetings in different industries and economic environments. She was completely professional and sensitive to the energy level of the group and adjusted her pace accordingly. Very effective communicator. My neutral rating has to do with the curriculum and attendees this session attracted. First, the curriculum has many group exercises which felt redundant especially when the same case study was used to ask questions that seemed repetitive. Second, the material is at a basic level and did not seem suitable for the very senior managers such as CEOs, CFOs, which the marketing material seemed to target. Third, given that we're spending three days, it was surprising (as some of the other reviewers commented) that we did not review an actual example of a strategic plan. Finally, due to the basic nature of the material, the course seems to attract junior employees, especially in technology-and PR-oriented departments. The level of business savvy varied widely within the groups I was part of and answering basic questions in group settings sometimes felt like bringing people up to speed on basic business concepts rather than sharing insights. I would recommend a shorter version of this class for middle level managers. I would not recommend the full version (three days!) for the very senior managers

Overall rating

Robin W.
06/01/2016

Overall rating

Susannah G.
06/01/2016

Really enjoyed the class. Good group discussions. Good mix of different types of companies (fed, city, nonprofit, for profit) where there were good examples to be used to learn different aspects of the course.Jody was energetic and engaging, even in the after-lunch slump! Jody had a wealth of knowledge to be able to pull examples or explanations to inform the class. Jody encouraged questions and discussion. I found the class set up in a good way - able to get concepts first, then apply concepts to "real world". Jody made good use of multiple materials for learning (slides, flipcharts, handouts).Desks felt a little crowded with 5 people, not sure if that was because the room seemed narrow or the way the desks were set up.

Overall rating

Jason V.
06/01/2016

Great Class and instructor. Matches my planning job well.

Overall rating

Sharifa B.
06/01/2016

Overall rating

Mariame T.
06/01/2016

This was the most "challenging" (in the best sense of the term) training I've had in a very long time. I couldn't wait to revisit the concepts and start implementing them. Wonderful job, Judy!

Overall rating

Carl K.
06/01/2016

This was very thorough and covered a great deal of material at a very reasonable and digestible pace.

Overall rating

Uran E.
06/01/2016

Well structured, clear and useful course. The Lecturer knows the subject well, very experienced and use a variety of techniques for engaging participants to the studying process. The handbook materials are apprehensive and make accessible the learning process

Overall rating

Sajid N.
06/01/2016

Informative

Overall rating

Yoshiaki H.
05/18/2016

Overall rating

Scott B.
05/02/2016

A very interesting and detailed course. I was looking for a process to follow and came away with thought provoking ideas that will aid in more than just a process to follow. Very detailed, it will take a few days of self study/review to put all of the pieces of Strategic Planning together.

Overall rating

Ken S.
04/20/2016

Michelle did an AWESOME job of making the content actionable and relevant. The course was a very good mix of thought and practical application. The dynamic mix of attendees also brought a good blend of thought and experience to the course, helping each of us think in different ways about overall Strategic Planning. Well worth the time and expense.

Overall rating

Brent S.
04/06/2016

Overall, it was a great seminar and the instructor was great. When you complete the seminar, you have a process and framework for documenting and implementing a strategic plan. The only downside of the seminar is that it doesn't spend a lot of time on the thinking processes involved with coming up with a strategic plan.

Overall rating

Quang L.
02/28/2016

Our instructor provided real world insights into the Strategic Planning process which is invaluable. Our instructor really guided and pushed us to think beyond the surface issues and dig deep. Everyone had an opportunity to work their personal strategic plans during class for review and critique by our peers and the instructor. This is probably one of the most valuable part of the learning since I was able to take my personal experience and challenges from my real world and work through it during this class to gain feedback.

Overall rating

Milaika C.
02/25/2016

Martin was an excellent instructor. Everybody was engaged.
One of the best training that I've attended.

Overall rating

Michael A.
01/27/2016

The 3 day session was a great experience. The instructor kept the group engaged with work sessions and by tailoring the discussion to the industries important to the group. Prior to attending I was famliar with some of the topics, but this class did a deeper dive into those areas and also introduced new concepts and approaches. I would definitely recommend this class to others.

Overall rating

John B.
11/16/2015

Jennifer our instructor was engaging and informative. She kept us on track.

Overall rating

Carole A.
11/11/2015

Good course! Started with the basics then quickly moved through to more advanced ideas. Adequate amount of time allowed for applying concepts to individual participant's company situations, which makes the class most effective!

Overall rating

John C.
08/12/2015

well done- good presentation- excellent materials- good teaching techniques- got a lot out of it

Overall rating

Scott D.
08/12/2015

Overall rating

Chris C.
08/10/2015

Overall rating

Joshua G.
08/10/2015

Denise knows her stuff. I've had quite a bit of experience in this field, but her experience is so deep and relevant that simply having her instruct the material made this a five star course.

Overall rating

Jerome D.
06/22/2015

Overall rating

Emily B.
06/03/2015

Overall rating

Lakshmi B.
04/22/2015

Overall rating

Jamaal M.
04/06/2015

Jennifer was great. I learned a lot from the class and it was nice to see how other industries and types of organizations used Strategic Planning.

Overall rating

Terri W.
02/23/2015

Overall rating

Chris B.
02/02/2015

Overall rating

Janet P.
01/28/2015

Overall rating

Juan P.
01/27/2015

This class was amazing. High energy, very engaging and thought provoking. Our instructor was great...she knew her stuff and had a sense of humor. My class was filled with a lot of people from all walks of life with great experience, insight, involvement, discussion and wonderful personality. I highly recommend this class to anyone but you get out what you put in.

Overall rating

Nasser A.
01/26/2015

Excellent and very insightful course.
Course Leader was very enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and energetic.

Overall rating

Humberto P.
01/26/2015

Please align the pre and post course test’s terminology with that of the course itself. As for the pre/post course test, consider adding a title to each of the test’s page…just as you report the results once the test has been taken.

Overall rating

Kimberly C.
12/02/2014

Overall rating

Mitchell S.
11/25/2014

The Strategic Planning seminar was excellent. The instructor was engaging and extremely knowledgeable and professional, the course material was up-to-date and relevant, and the facility was very comfortable and convenient. I will certainly use AMA for my future training needs.

Overall rating

Mohammad Jamal A.
11/03/2014

It was the best instructor and the best course I've ever had

Overall rating

Scott C.
11/03/2014

From the perspective of a strategic planner within a corporation, the material was comprehensive and insightful. The instructor was knowledgeable and carried many years of experience in the business world.

Overall rating

Michael P.
10/07/2014

The course was very productive and educational. I found the learnings to be critical for delivering key results through strategic planning.

Overall rating

Jessica M.
10/06/2014

The instructor was excellent. I learned a lot of new skills for my job. My only suggestion is on a Friday in NYC, end the course at 4pm so people can miss traffic to the airport.

Overall rating

Yolanda S.
09/29/2014

Michelle was our Instructor. She was awesome. She gave everyone time to get the full understanding of what was presented. She also had a great pace. She allowed for group interacting and allowed for feedback. This was the best class that I have taken in a long time.
Thanks Michelle.

Overall rating

Suzana M.
08/31/2014

Seminar was at the basic level.

Overall rating

Mohammed K.
08/07/2014

Overall rating

Ignacio S.
08/05/2014

Excellent seminar. the presaenter demonstrated a very good knowledge of the seminar's topics, was engaging on her presentation, and made every effort possible to include all participants equally.
I would highly recommend this seminar to anybody interested in andvancing their knowledge of Strategic Planning.

Overall rating

Paul F.
07/28/2014

Overall, I found the seminar to provide useful tools and techniques that I can incorporate into my next strategic planning process that will make it more comprehensive assessment.

Overall rating

Gregory H.
06/02/2014

The elements of a strategic plan were listed as mission, vision, goals, objectives, strategies and tactics but the course only discussed mission, vision and goals and never discussed strategies. A complete example plan would be useful to illustrate the concepts. Also, providing data sources for the macro-environment and a knowledge of competitive intelligence software would be useful. Finally, for the price we should have at least received lunches catered into the conference room.

Overall rating

Nancy M.
06/02/2014

Michelle was an OUTSTANDING teacher, leader, and facilitator. Her examples were current and relevant (which made them unforgettable to me!) and very easy to follow. She maintained control of a sometimes "enthusiastic" audience and did an excellent job of directing everyone's energy in the right place! Pace was perfect, materials were perfect.

I have already recommended this class to many of my colleagues!

Thanks!

Overall rating

Jose Pascoal I.
05/29/2014

The training was well presented and the topics were interesting, but I was expeting to have a final exercise that could incorporate all the tools presented during the training.

Overall rating

Kimberly A.
05/13/2014

This was my first class with AMA. Unfortunately, this course did not meet my expectations. A lot of the information that was covered, I already had knowledge of. In addition, some of the other information that was covered wasn't relevant to my line of work. Based on the description and objectives of the course, I thought that it would be a well rounded course for any industry, but in my opinion it wasn't. On the last day, it seemed to start getting interesting because we actually started to hear more about what the strategic plan should look like. Overall, I thought that this would've been a more intense course in which I could've walked away with an actual plan to implement back at my organization. For the cost, I expected more.

Overall rating

Christina D.
05/12/2014

Overall rating

Francesco M.
04/21/2014

Excellent Program

Overall rating

Melissa P.
02/18/2014

This was one of the best classes that I have attended. The instructor was very engaging and really knew the subject well. The course is designed for group learning and team exercises which allows you to learn from others and get a new perspective. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has little to no experience with strategic planning. It provided a great foundation for the process and how to move forward from there.

Overall rating

Scott M.
02/15/2014

Overall rating

Jeff M.
01/30/2014

The instructor (Michelle) was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and encouraged class participation. She did an excellent job of checking for clarity and made sure all our questions were answered satisfactorily. She also provided valuable outside resources in addition to the AMA material.

However, I was dissatisfied with the curriculum itself. It relied too heavily on group exercises to introduce topics, with little or no actual instruction prior to those exercises. Also, I found it incredible that a 3 day class on strategic planning would not involve looking at even one strategic plan. Not an actual plan, a notional plan or even a template. I realize that the course isn't intended to be a "by the numbers" manual for planning, but a glimpse of some possible end products would provide much needed context to the material. Perhaps a running case study might be effective, so the class builds a plan while learning the process.

Overall rating

Holly C.
01/20/2014

I took the NY class with Denise. Unbelievable. Would love to take it again.

Overall rating

Syed Sarmad H.
12/10/2013

It was a very good learning experience for me. The trainer was quite experienced and overall setting was very comfortable. I found the training material to be very useful. Small group of participants ensured intensive involvement of all.

One suggestion I have is to consider including review and analysis of one/two good strategic plans so that participants can see the end product.

Overall rating

Dallas T.
11/11/2013

Subject matter was excellent, presentor Michelle was excellent.
Class size was perfect (9)...small enough to be heard and share but large enough for a wide variety of opinions.

Overall rating

Steve P.
10/28/2013

The Strategic Planning seminar provided a breadth of coverage that helped me to validate my understanding of several strategic concepts and move past certain misconceptions that were holding me back.

Overall rating

Lesley K.
10/08/2013

Overall rating

Darren L.
10/07/2013

Overall rating

Ana C.
09/30/2013

Training was excellent. Instructor did an excellent job tailoring the class to our businesses to help us better understand the processes.

Overall rating

Alan H.
08/05/2013

Overall rating

Valerie D.
07/15/2013

The leader was very energetic and gave great real-life examples of course materials.

Overall rating

Bob D.
07/15/2013

Denise is an exceptional facilitator with a wealth of knowledge that took the book material to an even more relevant level. This seminar helped fill in the gaps to my understanding of strategy and strategic planning.

Overall rating

Catherine C.
07/14/2013

Course flow and overall momentum was excellent, instructor generated a great deal of class participation and kept the class focus. The case study was a bit dry.

Overall rating

PERMETHIUS A.
05/20/2013

Overall rating

Matthew W.
05/20/2013

Overall rating

James C.
05/20/2013

Instructor was fantastic and engaging. Very knowledgable about the subject matter, and we will be able to take back the information we learned and put it to work.

Overall rating

Phyliss W.
05/03/2013

I enjoyed the seminar and received a lot of great information. My hopes was some of the focus would have been based on team/department basis and not at an organizational level.

Overall rating

Phil R.
04/09/2013

The course was well laid out & very interactive. The instructor was knowledgeable and kept us engaged at all times. He also added to the material in the course book (as opposed to just merely reading along with it). The class brought clarity to my previously murky understanding of Strategic Planning. The cost is a bit high for a three-day course, but other than that it was all positives.

Overall rating

Cheryl M.
04/06/2013

While the content of the course looked excellent and the text will help me, I was very disappointed by the quality of the teaching itself. The seminar leader did not teach or lead. He alternated between storytelling that was not entirely relevant to the material, reading the slides himself, or having us read the slides. There was little discussion or value added to the material. He skipped most of the group exercises and, instead, had each of the eight attendees relate to the class as a whole their "aha moments" for each section. It would have been so much more fruitful if we had been able to drill down with a partner on the topics at hand, after a clear and concise description of the material in each section. He did not provide definitions for terms, other than what was in the book, saying things like "you all know the difference between inductive and deductive reasoning so we'll skip that." All in all, this was the worst AMA seminar I've attended and I am frustrated at waste.

Overall rating

Ron R.
02/18/2013

Good interaction between seminar participants.
Seminar leader kept it going and on tract.
Good set-up at San Francisco location.

Overall rating

MuhammadHanif G.
01/21/2013

The seminar on 'Strategic Planning' helped me think deeply and reflectively about my own professional challenges in the public sector. Denise is profoundly engaging leader and she helped us think strategically drawing upon our own unique experiences and intuitive insights. I really enjoyed the methodology and input from the other members. The cordiality and openness of the atmosphere further facilitated our interaction and we were able to share our perspective without any hinderance. Denise organized the seminar quite strategically and designed the training material quite skillfully in a manner that along with the journey through academic concepts, our practical experiences are blended, so that we may realize the extents and limitations of different approaches and school of thoughts. I will rate my experience as outstanding.

Overall rating

Ahmed A.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

Scott F.
01/21/2013

This seminar was very valuable to me and my professional development. The class allowed me to think outside my current box and see far beyond my current vision. Thanks for such a great experience.

Overall rating

Lawrence D.
12/18/2012

This was an excellent seminar!! I would highly recommend it to other organizations.. Was thoughtful , detailed and comprehensive in the content and delivery of the information. Thank you AMA!!

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.