/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Benjamin W.
04/15/2014

Overall rating

William R.
04/14/2014

Overall rating

Debbie P.
04/14/2014

Great learning experience. Instructor kept it interesting.

Overall rating

Josh W.
03/31/2014

The course proved to be practical and informative.

Overall rating

Irina P.
03/24/2014

Overall rating

Wayne M.
03/04/2014

Facilitator was excellent. Great communication and presentation skills. Material was presented at a good pace. Kept sessions flowing well. Subject matter was very valuable to my personal experience and will be immediately applied.

Overall rating

Adly A.
03/03/2014

very interesting course, providing insight into personality style
valuable tips that I will apply back at work
diverse participants made the course interesting

Overall rating

Timothy K.
03/03/2014

Overall rating

Elisa M.
03/03/2014

The Class was very insightfull. Although I knew these things, it made me really think and evaluate.
Thank you Taylor.

Overall rating

Ed N.
03/01/2014

Far exceeded my expectations. I look forward to more classes with Ed. In fact, I am registered for the online class Managing IT Professionals in August. I hope you will have Ed teaching that class.

Overall rating

Geno D.
02/28/2014

I found the seminar very rewarding and informative. I have learned a great deal during this three day seminar and plan on using this knowledge to successfully manage my personnel & to communicate better with other departments. Jeff was very knowledgable and really enjoyed his one on one conversations with the candidates in the class to answer any questions they may have had. I would not hesitate if asked to attend another training seminar that AMA offers which would fit my career objectives.

Overall rating

Reid V.
02/19/2014

The course was very informative and the instructor did a great job of integrating classroom teaching with real world examples. I would recommend this course to anyone who is involved with managing people.

Overall rating

Jeff C.
02/17/2014

The course content, materials and instructor were excellent and better than I could ever hope for. I think the class was extremely valuable and enhanced my leadership skills, management thought process and overall how I interact in the workplace. I learned a lot about myself and how I can help others deal with their problems.

Overall rating

Stephen B.
12/23/2013

The seminar was better than I expected because of the valuable insights shared by the other attendees.

Overall rating

Crit F.
12/16/2013

The instructor, Ms. Downs was very nice but the course material was basic. Recommended by our AMA rep Brian team was more experienced and had covered the material in other AMA courses. Class that we took last year was a recommended as a follow-up to this one. Quite disappointed!

Secondly, there were too many sidebar discussions to solve particular problems that didnt relate to entire class or our individual issues. Too much time was taken up.

AV was horrible. VCR didn't work. The projector pulsated and was distracting. Finally there was a buzzing noise every day that was very very distracting. Not fixed even after Ms. Downs borught it to the attention of the staff.

Overall, disappointed and will probably not be be back, or allow team to attend future seminars.

Overall rating

Clinton R.
12/14/2013

Overall rating

Matt M.
11/27/2013

Overall rating

Shannon B.
11/25/2013

I am very disappointed in this seminar as it truly was a waste of my time. Jeff was great, and by no means does this reflect on his instructing ability. He was very engaging had great stories to share. However, I completed Management skills for new managers in April 2013 and felt the information was very redundant.

I actually left 3 hours early on the last day as I was very disappointed in the content. while speaking with a class mate, she informed me that her team had a discussion with an AMA representative prior to taking this class. They were told to take EITHER the new skills for new managers OR how to successfully manage people, as the content was very similar. I am disappointed that I was NOT given this information prior to taking 3 days out of my job to attend such duplicate information.
Repeat information included:
DISC
conflict resolution/ feedback
SMART
Delegation

I would like a call back from AMA to discuss a refund and or

Overall rating

Ying Z.
11/21/2013

Overall rating

Lynda H.
11/20/2013

Yael was very engaging and inclusive for all members of the audience. Occasionally she let some people talk a little too long, but she eventually took control. It was a great session and I have already suggested it to people in my organization. Really glad I came in person, it was hard to get out of the office, but I got a lot of of being there in person.

Overall rating

Denise V.
11/20/2013

This was a very detailed and easy to follow course. Our instructor was excellent to work with and she made this course fun, entertaining as well as informative. I've already begun using techniques with my team and will continue working towards the goals I set when I was in training. I would certainly recommend this course for anyone that manages people- we were able to look at our real life/world situations, get feedback from other managers on how to handle, all with using the techniques we learned at the seminar.

Overall rating

Mariana D.
10/22/2013

Seminar was great, instructor was knowledgeable. wish we had more time for activities that reinforce concepts.

Overall rating

John P.
09/30/2013

Overall rating

JoAnn B.
09/23/2013

Awesome Class and Teacher. Would definitely recommend!

Overall rating

Sharon W.
09/23/2013

My ONLY disappointment was that the last day there wasn't enough time to go into as much detail as I would have liked to cover EI.

Overall rating

Nicholas A.
09/09/2013

Overall rating

Mary M.
08/26/2013

The instructor was very good and the dynamics of the class provided opportunities to learn from the other attendees as well as the instructor. San Francisco's facility is nice and the classroom comfortable.

I have recommended AMA training to a collegue who is also seeking management training. This seminar exceeded my expectations.

Overall rating

Jack M.
08/26/2013

Overall rating

Niurka N.
08/26/2013

Great class content.

Overall rating

Cara S.
07/26/2013

Overall rating

Adam H.
07/25/2013

The trainer was extremely knowledgeable in the subject area as well as adding in a ton of information to relate it to neurology and the way the human mind works.

Overall rating

Angie V.
07/24/2013

Robin did a FANTASTIC job teaching Successfully Managing People - I would love to attend other courses that she teaches. Nicely done, Robin; you made this seminar a huge success!!

Overall rating

Sheridahl L.
07/20/2013

I felt that the instructor was well versed in the subject matter and made the class interesting and interactive. The material was useful and insightful. Many of the areas we discussed I can use in my current position.

Overall rating

Francis D.
06/25/2013

Overall rating

Carrie E.
06/24/2013

Overall rating

Brian T.
06/22/2013

Overall rating

Teresa T.
06/17/2013

The instructor, Jeff was terrific and supplemented the seminar information with a lot of his own experiences gleaned from his varied consulting background - and this made for very interesting sessions. The seminar information was a great comprehensive package for managers, especially for new managers.

Overall rating

Joerg Z.
06/14/2013

very diverse intreractive sessions

Overall rating

Kathryn P.
06/12/2013

This 3 day course was well delivered and provided engaging conversations and discussions with the well diverse class. Our instructor Mildred, was a true professional and knowledgeable about the content. Never a dull moment and I felt challenged throughout the entire experience.

Overall rating

Annette A.
06/11/2013

I found the seminar to be an "eye opening experience".
Mildred is a fantastic instructor. I hope to implement some of the strategies I learned during this seminar. The topics were very helpful for me as a new Director dealing with staff used to a prior Director.

I look forward to taking other seminars offered by AMA.

Overall rating

Joshua H.
06/10/2013

Relevant Content, insightful tools, and a Superb instructor! This was much more informative and less painful than I was anticipating. I will be recommending this course to many of my peers.

Overall rating

Aldo M.
06/10/2013

Great course content and awesome Instructor!!

Overall rating

Preston B.
06/08/2013

Great seminar. Useful content and an interesting instructor.

Overall rating

Dave E.
05/04/2013

Good info

Overall rating

Emil M.
04/16/2013

Overall rating

Donald W.
04/15/2013

And I thought THEY were the problem...I mean "opportunity" when the opportunity really begins with me! What a great class except for this one student I know really well...but there is hope for me, I mean him!

I highly reccomend this course to anyone who does not have any problem employees and those that do. Fill your toolbox as I did and remember to keep the tools polished!

Best wishes to future attendees!

Don Weyhrauch, Safety Manager

Overall rating

Renee L.
04/06/2013

I finally got it! I took away practical steps from the course that I could put to use right away.

Overall rating

Sandra L.
01/29/2013

The instructor, Rich, was exceptional! The class was well thought out, well presented, very informative, and at times, even entertaining.

Overall rating

Dane C.
01/29/2013

Really thought Ron did an outstanding job of relaying information and kept everyone engaged in the process. Thank you!

Overall rating

Steve B.
01/28/2013

The class itself exceeded my expectations. Ron did a superb job with the material and involving all in the class. One the other hand, the pre and post tests (online) contain questions that are very vague which make it difficult to answer correctly. I don't feel it provides the best opportunity to gauge learning after the class is complete.

Overall rating

CARLOS R.
01/28/2013

The class was excellent.Dianne did a great job at meeting the goals we set up for the class and keeping the class on board and tuned in with the concepts.

Overall rating

Adam S.
01/22/2013

Overall rating

Oleta M.
01/13/2013

TJ is an excellent instructor. The class was a perfect balance of theory and real life situational examples. Though I am not a fan of role-playing in classes, even these tasks had purpose and added value to the training. The class was a mixture of willing and unwilling (required to attend) participants, and she was able to break through to even the most reluctant of participants who by the end of the training were engaged and thinking of what they could do next to improve their skill sets. The training was well worth the expense and the time away from the office. Give TJ a raise!

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
12/28/2012

Great class, great instructor. I just wish I took it earlier in my career.

Overall rating

Mark M.
12/18/2012

The class covered a lot of good information and Dr. had a very good way of explaining everything well and in a manner that we could understand and put into practical use.

Overall rating

Penny G.
12/17/2012

I left a detailed summary with Barbara. I have a yearly pass and this is the only seminar that I have taken that I was upset with. The instructor's attitude and way that he addressed the class was very upsetting to me and many classmates that attended. I told my classmates that were upset, to not let this seminar mold their AMA expectations or views, as all the other seminars and instructors have been amazing for me. After the seminar, I sat and shared some of my feedback with Barbara. She was very nice and took the time to listen. She offered for me to take another class but I already have a yearly pass and I don't know if my company would pay the hotel for an extra course. I know that there were several in the class that this was their first time attending an AMA course. They shared their disappointment, especially with the instructor¿s attitude, with me. I believe in AMA and always before was so pleased. My hope is that they will give AMA another chance, so that they too can experience some of the great things of AMA. When my manager asked me what I took and learned from the seminar; I told her that the main thing I learned was how not to treat someone and that to be aware of the perceptions of others. Our behavior is on display every day.

Overall rating

Andy S.
12/17/2012

Course covered all of the expected areas as defined in the syllabus, and most importantly, the instructor (Dr.) did an excellent job of facilitating the class. Her facilitation made the difference between it just being good and instead being great.

Overall rating

Lisa W.
12/10/2012

Overall rating

Linda N.
12/08/2012

The seminar was very informative and well balanced. The instructor was very good at involving the entire class and prompting everyone to share their experiences. I actually learned a lot about myself and how I manage my staff. I have already started implementing my new knowledge and look forward to being a better manager.

Overall rating

Cathy C.
12/04/2012

I had a very informative experience. The class was well structured and delivered everything that was expected from the description. The facility was beautiful and very clean.

Overall rating

Sharon M.
11/05/2012

This course was very dynamic and touched on all of the hot spots of today's management challenges. It brings managers back to the basic concepts and in doing so, cut through all of the jargon you often find in the "management by book of the month." Being a manager for over 25 years, I thought I'd see pretty much all there was to see in the way of effective training. I was pleasantly surprised to find a renewal of old mixed with new and innovative methods. I was very glad I invested in Successfully Managing People.

Overall rating

Dan B.
11/05/2012

I felt that the instructor was knowledgeable of the material and did an excellent job keeping the class interesting.

Overall rating

Neil S.
10/22/2012

The training was set up very well. Certain things i really liked were that we had alot of group exercises which created alot of interactions and ideas. I think the presenter was thorough but could have been slightly more professional in her views of others. She was not unprofessional mind you, but i did see a student who was upset with how she was treated. (Mind you, she was not the greatest student either) The training was explained as an overview and we were told often that we would be covering many topics and using different assesments. My training would have been better for me if i had attended perhaps more singled out topics for growth and i will pass that information on to my H.R. administrator. All in all i was very pleased with the environment, the people, and the training. Thanks to your staff for making great efforts and having a great facility. The environment was very comfortable though i do think there was a need to offer slightly longer breaks and a touch more on one on one discussion with the trainer outside of the classroom environement.

Overall rating

Molly D.
10/22/2012

My experience with the AMA's Successfully Managing People course was excellent. The instructor was knowledgeable and helpful, the class was interactive, and the course covered a number of theories and methodolgies that can be used in being a more successful manager. I was hoping to gain examples of good leadership and management challenges during the course, and I did indeed learn from my classmates and from the instructor. While not every module was always entirely applicable to my direct reports, I still was able to learn from others. I would recommend this course to others.

Overall rating

Patricia K.
10/22/2012

I was enthralled and engaged by Pauline from day 1. The Modules used to cover different areas reflected daily experiences for me. Teaching me to categorize, work through and resolve them was empowering.
Thank you AMA and Pauline.

Patricia Kinchen

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.