/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Melissa S.
07/21/2014

Donna was a wonderful instructor, loved that she used her own personal experiences to help us out the material into perspective.

Overall rating

Jason D.
07/20/2014

The course content was informative and interactive. The mediator tailored much of the content to reflect personal situations that enrollees where experiencing. This approach made it much easier for me to be engaged and see how others handle various situations.

Overall rating

James T.
07/16/2014

Overall rating

Jim R.
07/12/2014

The class was really good. Actually good is not a valid comment. It was excellent. Instructor was the best I have had in a long time. I would attend and recommend the course to anyone and everyone

Overall rating

Joan G.
07/08/2014

Overall rating

kelly N.
07/03/2014

This was my first seminar. It made me look at things a whole new way. The instruction was awsome and kept your attention and made you look at every angle of the situation.

Overall rating

Janet K.
07/03/2014

This seminar gave me some tips for being a new manager. The role playing helped in real life situations.

Overall rating

Tieg M.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

John F.
06/30/2014

If you are a first time manager, this course if for you. This course provides examples and possible solutions to many issues you will face as a manager. It also offers opportunities to practice dealing with these issues. Many people don't like role playing, myself included. But the small amount of role playing in this seminar is helpful in determining your own personal management style.
I also want to personally recommend Michae. He is very knowledgeable and personable. He brought great, real-life examples into the discussions. One of the best proctors I have seen in these types of seminars.

Overall rating

Karen L.
06/30/2014

Loved the content, teacher was very engaging, and I learned a lot!

Overall rating

Richard C.
06/25/2014

Overall rating

Pat F.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Summer G.
06/23/2014

Very engaging instructor!

Overall rating

Craig S.
06/23/2014

Instructor was very knowledgeable and thorough the class was very helpful.

Overall rating

Ade O.
06/19/2014

The instructor did an excellent job of illustrating the concepts being covered, using situations from her extensive work and life experiences. The management effectiveness formula and the Situational Leadership module were the biggest take-aways for me.

Overall rating

Scott C.
06/16/2014

Stevie was an excellent speaker. She provided us with real life experiences that were relateable.
She effectively kept the groups attention through many developmental exercises to engage one on one interaction.
All documentation material will definitely be a useful tool to reference situational leadership moving forward.

Overall rating

Erin N.
06/16/2014

This course was excellent. I got great, practical advice, lots of concrete tools and tips I can immediately implement, and good role-playing experience. It was exactly what I was looking for.

Overall rating

Christopher H.
06/16/2014

This seminar has given me an excellent foundation for moving forward in my position. Not only by filling in "gaps" in everyday knowledge but by providing approaches and ideas that one would not pick up in "on-the-job" training.

Overall rating

Zuleika M.
06/14/2014

This seminar was outstanding! I left feeling highly motivated and eager to utilize the models and techniques that were taught within this class. Well done AMA, I cannot wait to attend another!

Overall rating

Mike S.
06/14/2014

My teacher Bonnie kept it interesting.
I could not have asked for a better time.
The facility was great also people were very friendly.
My one complaint would be that the AMA needs to do a better job of explaining where parking is. On your confirmation sheet.

Overall rating

Cruz M.
06/09/2014

I thought the class could have been a little longer to allow for more Q&A. It seemed like it was a little rushed to meet the 3day deadline.

Overall rating

Aditya J.
06/09/2014

Made me think a lot. Great new learnings. Most of the discussions around task-based management styles and not so much around work place attitude based management styles. This course was true to its title - Skills for New Managers. What I was also looking for was how to be a Leader. How to lead as an example.

I believe management is more of an art form. The course was taught as a Science course with specific principles around every situation.

Overall rating

Brien G.
06/09/2014

My only criticism was that the instructor read from the text. This is not always bad, but was noticable. She also mixed in a lot of extra material, I just find this a bit distracting. Overall good course.

Overall rating

Michael A.
05/27/2014

Instructor was well organized and knowledgeable of the subject matter

Overall rating

Jason Z.
05/05/2014

My instructor was great! I will definitely benefit from her tremendous expertise and real world experiences. Will surely attend another AMA course.

Overall rating

Jake G.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Vipin S.
04/22/2014

Overall course was good, though I would like to see allocation of more time for group discussions. I don't think day need to end at 4 or 4:30, all participants are mature enough to understand value of time and if not then AMA need to add a value there.

Overall rating

Sherry P.
04/14/2014

Instructor did an excellent job. If I were to take any future seminars, I would request Larry! Content of the course will be very useful and helpful in making me a more successful manager.

Overall rating

Klaudia K.
04/07/2014

Overall rating

Ari S.
04/05/2014

Overall rating

Alexandra Z.
04/05/2014

Even though I have several years of management under my belt, the New Managers seminar was incredibly valuable. It helped to rationalize and reinforce some of the management skills I had formed on my own, while also helping me to think about new ways to develop myself and my direct reports.

Overall rating

Jeff L.
03/18/2014

Overall rating

Michael R.
03/14/2014

Great class that will help any manager be successful in managing a team..

Overall rating

Dory G.
02/25/2014

Don has a deep background in teaching. He can move a bit slow unless pushed to speed up...and when pushed, is quite responsive to feedback. The general course topics were very helpful. Don also made adjustments to enable the class to learn from others, which was much appreciated, especially given the large size (we had 23 students) and years of experience (many had been managing teams for 5+ years).

Overall rating

Julia T.
02/24/2014

Great information taught very well! The information was very helpful and will come in handy in real life situations.

Overall rating

Shawna R.
02/17/2014

I can't think of one topic that wasn't relevant to my job. I gained new skills and understanding of my role in managing my co-workers. Thank you AMA and Diana for a job well done.

Overall rating

Michael D.
02/10/2014

Overall rating

Rebecca M.
01/21/2014

Fantastic course! I highly recommend this for those that have just moved into a Management or Supervisory role, or those that have been in their role much longer.

Overall rating

Matthew D.
01/20/2014

Very informative, well paced and I had a lot of fun! The facilitator was helpful and kept my attention.

Overall rating

Shelby G.
12/27/2013

Overall rating

Anthony D.
12/23/2013

Overall rating

Latasha G.
12/23/2013

Very good experience. Very knowledgeable and helpful information. I will definitely use the information that was given going forward.

Overall rating

Roxana M.
12/21/2013

The Seminar was great! Good learnings that I cannot wait to apply. Would definitely recommend to any future managers in order to start their career the right way.
Roxana M

Overall rating

Margie P.
12/09/2013

The Instructor was exceptional and made the class both fun and informational.

Overall rating

Patrick P.
12/09/2013

Overall rating

Danny L.
11/25/2013

Overall rating

Laurent R.
11/23/2013

Overall rating

Amelia W.
11/21/2013

TJ was AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Her experience and insight was dead on, plus she was very patient and made sure every question/comment/concern was addressed. I learned a great deal that I will be able to utilize on a day to day basis in my professional and personal life.

Overall rating

Daniel F.
11/18/2013

I thought the seminar was very nicely set up, the instructor kept everyone involved and informed, it had a lot of great tools that we all could take back to our jobs and apply to it.

Overall rating

Michael J.
11/17/2013

Cery good seminar and Don did a great job facilitating the 3 days. Would have been good to perhaps have a some more role playing.

Overall rating

Christy C.
11/12/2013

Easy to follow, great interaction, great covered material!! Highly recommend!!

Overall rating

Colleen R.
11/11/2013

Really enjoyed this 3 day course, found a lot of the takeaway tools very beneficial to my role at work.

Overall rating

Jason S.
11/11/2013

Very good course. Makes you think about your managing techniques and provides great information on how to improve those management skills that are lacking.

Overall rating

Dawn G.
11/04/2013

overall it was informative and the videos were extremely valuable in teaching the concepts however: the webinar itself was more "fluff" than "meat". Often times our instructor would pause while somebody was typing instead of continuing to speak which was a waste of time. We couldn't access the printouts until the seminar started so we didn't have them to reference. Also the website is confusing to log onto each time.

Overall rating

Tina P.
11/03/2013

The class was very well organized with practical lessons that can easily applied in real life situations. The length of the class was also perfect and class always ran on time.

Overall rating

Nadirah B.
10/28/2013

Chris was very knowledgeable and offered relevant feedback to specific scenarios and questions that were posed.

Overall rating

Gregory K.
10/19/2013

Deanne is just exceptional! Training can be a dreaded word, invoking thoughts of hours and days spent pulling yorself out of daydream after daydream attempting to give attention to the boring, monotonous speaker deludedly believing he/she is imparting monumental wisdom. Deanne is just obviously a master at maintaining people's interest in a subject, never remaining on any one subject for so long you're looking at your watch or finding yourself in a daydream, meandering in and out of personal stories completely related to the subject at hand. I am a yawner. Tired or not tired, I yawn all day long. I can't recall ever yawning in three days with Deanne. And, icing on the cake, I drove home with a satchel full of ideas and ways to improve managing my direct reports. Win, win!

Overall rating

Renee L. B.
10/17/2013

Excellent course for anyone who wants to be better equipped to develop their skills in communicating with their direct reports, motivating and coaching their employees, and improving their team's performance.

Overall rating

Peter F.
10/15/2013

I thought it was verry informative and helpful. The interaction with others during seminar was verry helpful.

Overall rating

Amir Y.
10/07/2013

Overall rating

Heather M.
10/07/2013

TJ was an incredible speaker, excellent delivery and a wealth of knowledge from both experience and other resources. The course covered many topics, all of which were applicable. I would recommend this course to those who may want to move into a management position and those who are already in management, regardless of the amount of time they have been in it.

Overall rating

Norman T.
10/04/2013

Overall rating

Jeffrey D.
09/30/2013

Overall rating

Patti O.
09/27/2013

Overall rating

Donna K.
09/24/2013

Overall rating

Lisa V.
09/23/2013

Content: relevant (except for two outdated videos - those should be removed/updated - the VHS tapes from the 80's/90's) - The TED video is EXCELLENT!

Instructor: knowledgeable, but would recommend the following: let participants work through what they are trying to explain before trying to guess several times. Refrain from interrupting participants, move on to the next topic once it has become clear that the participants understand instead of continuing to rehash the topic over and over.

Course Structure: the flow of the course should be modified to incorporate "2 min tech breaks" as this would help prevent participants from constantly trying to "sneak" and check their phones. Ppt deck should be modified so it actually adds value. Currently it just presents the exact same text/information that is listed in the book. Would help if it were either more visual OR just reduced to the slides that actually provide info not in the book.

Would recommend the cou

Overall rating

Geraldine A.
09/23/2013

Exactly what I was hoping for! Very helpful.

Overall rating

John M.
09/23/2013

This class was perfect for retraining your brain to be a manger. If your new to management or have no formal training it is GREAT! You learn tips and techniques that will help you understand and communicate with a diverse (in so many ways from skill level, generational, to personalities) workforce. It puts so many tools in your tool belt and will help you advance your career, by not only being a better manager, but being a better employee to your manager. The class uses multiple teaching techniques that keep you engaged, and creates a nice team environment with your class, allowing you the opportunity to have a support group of people going through the same struggles as you are from different companies. It is truly an engaging experience.

Overall rating

Sara E.
09/21/2013

The course topics were engaging and the instructor was able to answer any question I had. Overall, it was a great learning experience.

Overall rating

Martin S.
09/09/2013

Overall rating

Gwendolyn M.
08/26/2013

The instructor was phenomenal! There was never a dull moment. The models and tools provided were very easy to understand and apply to current issues we face as managers.

Overall rating

Tracy A.
08/25/2013

Overall rating

Andries M.
08/19/2013

Well designed course with lots of good interaction between the presenter and the audience. Very applicable to almost any work situation.

Overall rating

Richard D.
08/19/2013

Material was excellent, particularly Situational Leadership. Instructor was decent, although perhaps a bit too personal. Would have preferred the pace to be faster in order to fit slightly more content in to 3 days.

Overall rating

Laurie D.
08/19/2013

Deanne is a phenomenal trainer and knows her content. The subject matter was spot on and extremely useful.

If I can get funding, I will look to take other AMA classes in the future.

Overall rating

Kathlyn H.
08/19/2013

Overall rating

Bev M.
08/12/2013

I started with a new company that sends all new managers to this seminar. I have been managing for over 10 years and was not expecting to get anything out of these 3 days. I was pleasantly surprised. It is always good to have reminders and to hear somethings again that you may not have put into practice yet. The presenter did an excellent job of keeping the material interesting and the flow of discussion moving.

Overall rating

Alberto M.
07/22/2013

The course was highly engaging and was able to apply the new skills acquired immediately!! If you're a new manager I would highly recommend taking this course.

-Albert

Overall rating

Jen W.
07/22/2013

Great seminar! Instructor tailored the content to the experiences and challenges of the group. She had a great pace / lots of interaction.

Overall rating

Rene M.
07/17/2013

The seminar provided me with tools, skills and information that I can use to improve my management skills. The Situational Leadership and Performance Management modules were the most helpful. The leader's 5%ers were excelent tidbits of information that will also be very helpful. We progressed at a comfortable pace and the activities were relevent and supportive of the subject matter.

Overall rating

Learline B.
07/15/2013

Overall rating

Jessie M.
07/15/2013

Pat was sensational! As I told my manager, the past year has been a series of single "lightbulb moments" - this seminar was a rapid series of flashes - one lightbulb moment after the next. I truly appreciate the well-thought out course and the engaging material. Thank you Pat & AMA.

Overall rating

Luci D.
07/03/2013

The seminar offered me a lot of insight on how to properly manage people. I was given the opporturnity to learn things which now can be used as tools to better assess and evaluate people. The 3 day seminar was a challenge and also an opportunity to work in a team and think from a employee and manager's perspective.
I find myself now in a better position, I feel I gained more confidence and I now can easily approach the delegation process.
Overall a very good and helpful experience.

Overall rating

Kristie S.
07/02/2013

I found the course very interesting and providing some great takeaways that I could bring back and utilize within my department, as well as with my indirect reports. Our instructor, Michael, was great and used his life experiences and stories to make the material more meaningful to us.

Overall rating

Lori S.
07/01/2013

Overall rating

Michael W.
07/01/2013

The instructor was highly knowlegable and engaging.

Overall rating

Alina M.
06/23/2013

Exceptional value that I took back on my daily work. It was an eye-opener. Exceptional leader it was a new level of experience, the only regret is that was only 3 days - on the complexity of the subject I feel that is necessary to have a 5 day class.

Overall rating

Joel K.
06/17/2013

The instructor was very engaging and knowledgeable. This was a great class I am glad I was able to take because it organized the thought process of being a manager and how to develop the people that report to you.

Overall rating

Laura O.
06/10/2013

Overall rating

Dorothy S.
06/10/2013

It was a great course. I learned a lot about how others think and how to manage different types of people. The role playing helped in communicating feedback to employees. David was a terrific instructor.

Overall rating

Natalia K.
05/28/2013

This was a good course but it was pretty California-specific so not necessarily very useful for trainees from other states. The classroom conditions were poor as a proper room was not booked and it was rather crammed. No lunch or snacks were provided. Limited amounts of sodas, no juices and overall lack of attention to the comfort of the trainees who were in the room for 8 hours worsened the experience somewhat.

Overall rating

Anthony M.
05/22/2013

Great Instructor!
Great Course!

Overall rating

Atin S.
05/12/2013

Overall rating

Caroline C.
05/06/2013

I really enjoyed the course, it gave me very positive insight into the areas I am able to improve and ideas for different case scenarios etc. The instructor was fantastic and the class was well led. The different exercises, individually and in teams, were also very productive.

Overall rating

Muriel M.
05/06/2013

I would have lacked a slower pace on some of the subject matter that was more in line with my personal challenges. The role playing and demostrations really brought the class to life and I look forward to further advance training with you in the future. The two minute challenge will be one of the things I will truly treasure and put into action ASAP.

Overall rating

Andrea M.
04/22/2013

I loved the course. The information was on-point and thorough. The instructor was really great as well. She was very engaging and provided great knowledge.

Overall rating

Maria B.
04/22/2013

Overall rating

Jan V.
04/22/2013

Overall rating

Cintia O.
04/15/2013

Overall rating

Mike G.
04/15/2013

I thought the seminar was quite effective, covering a few different management topics to a sufficient depth, reinforced with class interactive excercises.

Overall rating

William T.
03/30/2013

Great class, excellent instructor, I really enjoyed myself and have put into practice already many of the things I have learned.

Overall rating

Vanessa M.
03/24/2013

Seminar content was extraordinarily relevant to my job. This is the first seminar I attended where I could truly use the tools I learned immediately. Demonstrating our new knowledge through role playing enhanced the learning; I actually used information learned in Situational Leadership II the day I got back to the office. Michael is an outstanding facilitator. He demonstrated expertise and confidence in all information shared. I would highly recommend this seminar to new managers. I look forward to attending more AMA seminars in the very near future.

Overall rating

Scott W.
03/19/2013

This was one of the best training classes I have ever attended. Instructor was knowledgable and content was excellent. Would definately recommend.

Overall rating

Vashaun W.
03/11/2013

I truly enjoyed the seminar, it was not what I expected, but that was a great thing! I even told the instructior Mr. Harry that not only has the information helped me in my office environment, but also in my personal life. He did a fantastic job!

Overall rating

Richard N.
03/11/2013

Overall rating

Erik H.
02/04/2013

Delighted to learn that 'true' Management skills are about people.

Overall rating

Jaylyn L.
02/04/2013

I've been a new manager for seven months. Wish I would have taken this seminar during the first month on the job. Very helpful information, great presentation, and I'm returning to the office with a new toolkit of management skills. Thank you, AMA.

Overall rating

Jillian A.
01/29/2013

Excellent Seminar. Improved my confidence as a manager and provided me with a baseline from which to work from and solve problems. Would recommend this seminar to any new manager.

Overall rating

Scott M.
01/29/2013

Our facilitator Pat did a wonderful job conveying the information and keeping everyone engaged through the day... The material seemed timely and useful and I've already put some of the skills I learned into practice... The hotel, while downtown, was a good choice and added a feel of importance to the class. The only criticism I can give is that some of the photos in the material seem a little dated - not a huge issue, but something that can take away the feel of timeliness from the material...

As a new manager it was good getting to meet with other new managers to learn new concepts, and to share our common issues...

Overall rating

Fernando S.
01/28/2013

Overall rating

Nathan H.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

John Q.
01/21/2013

THe course content was excellent, well organized and presented by an awesome instructor. Ms. Bonnie was, entertaining and knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Malcolm H.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

Eileen L.
12/23/2012

I was very excited going into this seminar and could not have been more pleased with the outcome. I have already begun using some of the skills and ideas that were presented and it gave me a great perspective on what it is to be a manager. Thanks to Ruthe for facilitating such a great learning experience!

Overall rating

Sarah K.
12/17/2012

This course was extremely helpful and practical. It not only gave me tools and ideas for staff that I manage, but also gave me ideas about how to use the tools with my peers and those who manage me. The course instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

Richard C.
12/17/2012

A useful mix of topics which will give any new manager helpful tips on how to handle fairly common scenarios. Particularly enjoyed the situational leadership material and the related assessments.

Overall rating

Michael C.
12/17/2012

The program was excellent. Don was great as an instructor, and very committed to the success of his students.

Overall rating

Travis B.
12/10/2012

Michael was great, I had a good time during the class and learned a lot. The class setting was a good size and I felt very comfortable working with the teams.

Overall rating

Mohamad A.
12/10/2012

Overall rating

Shaun M.
12/10/2012

Overall rating

John P.
12/08/2012

Excellent seminar. The instructor kept everyone's attention and the coursework was easy to follow along with. Really enjoyed some of the role playing aspects.

Overall rating

Ramona G.
12/08/2012

The class was very exciting and full of knowledge. The teacher kept everyone's attention at all times, if she thought we was losing interest she changed it up. I learned alot that will help me in growing my team as a manager and give them specific and precise task to help them grow individually. I'd recommend this class to anyone that was becoming a new manager.

Overall rating

Matt V.
12/05/2012

I thought it was a very well rounded seminar that held my attention the whole time! Especially the interaction within others. The teacher was great!

Overall rating

Santosh B.
11/19/2012

Very Good

Overall rating

Rick F.
11/19/2012

Overall rating

Randy S.
11/18/2012

Overall rating

Chun-Cheng T.
11/04/2012

Overall rating

Tres W.
10/23/2012

Lots of practical advice, given by someone who obviously enjoys teaching others. Highly recommend!

Overall rating

Stefanie M.
10/22/2012

My recent seminar was very useful. I immediately started using my skills learned from this class. I can now identify developmental needs and apply situational leadership to each direct and indirect report. I am also comfortable delgating projects to team leads and supervisors to help them develop and grow in the company.

Overall rating

James T.
10/17/2012

Excellent course for new managers. All topics related to my new position and the things I was doing or not doing for that matter.

Overall rating

Chelsea M.
10/16/2012

Our class speaker, Desiree was amazing! She was informative, knowledgeable, paced the class well, answered any and all questions, very friendly! She was great, and I hope any other classes will be taught by her as well. The class was great! I left feeling encouraged and educated. The class was very interactive and I really liked the role playing. It helped put your knowledge to test, before applying it to your every day work life.

I can't wait to take more classes! Highly recommended to anyone who is a new manager or has been out of management for a few years, such as myself.

Overall rating

George L.
10/15/2012

Overall rating

Matthew H.
10/15/2012

This one of the most informative classes I have taken in while. The instructor was Excellent. Her knowledge base, way she taught, and had the entire class interacting together was amazing. I would take another AMA course in a heartbeat !!

Overall rating

David H.
10/10/2012

This is the first time I have ever taken a training that I've ABSOLUTELY needed at the time I took it. The course was put together very well and the process steps are going to be very useful. TJ (instructor) was wonderful. Her stories are great and relevant and she teaches with great enthusiasm and knowledge.

Overall rating

Roy W.
10/09/2012

Very informative and helpful for anyone new to management with direct reports.

Overall rating

Jesus R.
10/09/2012

T.G. is fantastic. She is extremely knowledgably on the topic and certainly has many years of experience developing leaders around the globe. Brenda who takes care of the logistics is has an extremely high sense of customer focus. The content of the course is of course is extremely easy to follow, up to date and the more important with immediate application in the field. During the seminar I managed to implemented and drive a very important change. All in All this is one of the best seminars I have ever taken with immediate results. Thank you T.G., Brenda, and AMA¿s team.

Overall rating

Robert A.
10/08/2012

This seminar opened my eyes to a ton of new ideas and ways of thinking about the people I manage and indirectly manage. Everything about the the seminar was first class. Thanks!

Overall rating

Meghan P.
09/26/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.