/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Nicolle O.
10/18/2017

Overall rating

Marvis H.
10/18/2017

Awesome Instructor taught class very well.

Overall rating

Pamela C.
10/17/2017

Great interactive course; definitely learned a lot!

Overall rating

Jordan W.
10/16/2017

Jim was an amazingly impactful, informative instructor.The value of the course depends on how I utilize the information I've learned. However, I now have the materials required to massively impact my team and positively affect the direction of my company.

Overall rating

Randy N.
10/16/2017

Great Topics, Great format

Overall rating

Adam O.
10/16/2017

Useful and relevant

Overall rating

Nathaniel J.
10/16/2017

This class was overall very helpful. I learned a lot about my self and management style. Rafael was an excellent instructor.

Overall rating

Dave G.
10/16/2017

I thought it was excellent, it had a lot of information and I enjoyed the applicable information on the last 2 days, maybe make the first day a bit more situational, but it was excellent!

Overall rating

Valdir R.
10/16/2017

Very well planned class. Couldn't ask for more. definitely what i needed.

Overall rating

Cammie M.
10/16/2017

The instructor was very well-versed in the subject matter, and it's clear that he enjoys teaching the course.

Overall rating

Tyieka L.
10/16/2017

Good class very good tools to use

Overall rating

Talaina B.
10/16/2017

It is often hard to sit through three days of training and not worry about work (and not get bored). However, I think the structure and pace of the training allowed for a great deal of learning and prompted a lot of thinking.

Overall rating

Duane L.
10/16/2017

Very good instructor.

Overall rating

Varalakshmi M.
10/16/2017

The course very well met the needs of new managers. Very helpful.

Overall rating

David C.
10/16/2017

Class is very good refresher.

Overall rating

Anthony P.
10/16/2017

Overall rating

Jacob H.
10/13/2017

I think the training was very effective and i liked the interaction with others in the class.

Overall rating

Tammie H.
10/12/2017

Overall rating

Amy W.
10/11/2017

Overall rating

Matthew H.
10/11/2017

Training was excellent. Karen was very knowledgeable about the subject. Really enjoyed the situational leadership section.

Overall rating

Jenny S.
10/11/2017

Excellent and thorough training . Wonderful role playing and examples.

Overall rating

Helga L.
10/11/2017

The class was very informative. The instructor was well informed and knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Amanda D.
10/09/2017

I really enjoyed this course. The content was relevant to my job and provides me with new techniques to be more effective.

Overall rating

John T.
10/09/2017

This is a great course for new managers. Very informative.

Overall rating

Sara A.
10/09/2017

The instructor provided clear instructions for tools that can be immediately and effectively used in a real world environment. I left the course with a since of confidence that I will be a better manager and leader for my team.

Overall rating

Adil A.
10/09/2017

Overall rating

James G.
10/09/2017

I am new to this managers position and Karen provided some awesome real scenarios (some of which i have already dealt with) that gave me so much insight. I will definitely be signing up in the future.

Overall rating

Laura H.
10/02/2017

Overall rating

Blessan B.
09/29/2017

Overall the training was fine

Overall rating

Nicolle K.
09/29/2017

Overall rating

Linda R.
09/29/2017

Overall rating

Weiwan W.
09/28/2017

Overall rating

Lukasz O.
09/28/2017

Very well prepared instructor. Knowledgeable in both academic and real life application of management skills

Overall rating

Cathy N.
09/28/2017

Overall rating

Chuan Z.
09/25/2017

He is very knowledgeable and was keeping us engaged all the time. I felt that I have learned so much on the 3 day training and definitely will use the skills on my day to day work. He is a wonderful instructor!

Overall rating

Andrew H.
09/25/2017

David was a wonderful instructor and the course was exactly what I needed to improve my skills and advance my career.

Overall rating

Gwen L.
09/25/2017

Overall rating

Ocean E.
09/25/2017

David, Smashed it. His instruction was very liquid, adjusting to the needs of the class daily. He was very patient in answering our questions and making sure that we understood what he was trying to communicate. Overall feelings about this class is that is should be taught to everyone, managers and subordinates alike. These lessons of communication, delegation and the basic principles of situational leadership are critical for all levels of the company. Beyond the company, these insights are useful for personal relationships and parenting. Thank you, David. For providing your insight and helping me to be a better communicator and in turn a better manager.

Overall rating

Meagan K.
09/25/2017

I think David is a great course leader and has some interesting insight in to this course

Overall rating

Karen M.
09/25/2017

Refeal was very knowledgeable, detailed and interesting.

Overall rating

Mubing L.
09/22/2017

Refael is an excellent instructor. I can tell he put a lot of thinking in terms of putting all the materials together.All the contents are nicely constructed, the instructor made everyone engaged, in a very good way. He has good sense of humor so going thru all the stuff wasn't boring at all.

Overall rating

Daniel B.
09/22/2017

It was a great pace. There was an appropriate mix of lecture and exercises to apply the material to our real life.I really appreciated the opportunity to interact with other students about their specific situations.

Overall rating

Efstratia G.
09/22/2017

The instructor was fabulous. He was really invested in our success and understanding. Another day would be helpful so we can cover more, spend more time on practicing

Overall rating

Jeremy D.
09/22/2017

Very engaging instructor. Great examples and stories

Overall rating

Tammy H.
09/22/2017

Refi's knowledge and presentation style of the course content kept me engaged and focused throughout the entire course. His course is inclusive with the attendees in group activities and allows the group to share their experiences.

Overall rating

Marlene D.
09/22/2017

The instructor was very engaging and offered many real life examples. He was easy to relate to. The class was very interesting.

Overall rating

Alicia B.
09/22/2017

Overall rating

Sarah T.
09/21/2017

Insightful course with overall many tools I can use to be a more effective people manager. However, I don't feel it was necessary to be three days long and there is a lot of room for improvement. The training provided great tools I can use back at work, but I feel the course could've been two days max.Important to note that the course was attended by mainly very junior people managers and as a result, I didn't find the group activities or table discussions particularly helpful or insightful. Also, by not having any men in the class, the viewpoints shared were of junior and inexperienced women and some worked for conservative companies, some worked for more casual and laid back companies, so the feedback and insights you received in return by the class wasn't overly helpful.The videos they show in class are also laughably - and sadly - outdated. I find it hard to believe that there's no budget for new training videos in over 20 years seeing as each attendee pays about $2,500. Although the management advice was mostly still applicable, they didn't depict current work situations or environments. There was little to no discussion on virtual work environments.Deb spent a lot of time drawing upon her personal experiences with her husband and to bring the training tools to life. I found this to be completely irrelevant and not at all applicable to the workplace. Almost every single example she gave was with her husband. She eased up on a bit by the third day, but it was annoying

Overall rating

Catherine T.
09/20/2017

Overall rating

Natalie M.
09/20/2017

Excellent instructor delivered valuable information using interesting and engaging methods. She also has a presence that seemed to make everyone feel comfortable.

Overall rating

Bryan B.
09/20/2017

I really enjoyed the enthusiasm of the instructor. His flip charts were nicely done and integrated well.

Overall rating

Marek S.
09/20/2017

The instructors personal experienced added a lot to the seminar

Overall rating

Greg L.
09/18/2017

Overall rating

Windy D.
09/18/2017

Overall rating

Jessica M.
09/18/2017

Larry was very engaging and interesting.

Overall rating

Anthony W.
09/18/2017

Training and accommodations were good, and the instructor was great. Hurricane conditions made the first day a little hectic where the instruction was being held that could have led to a lot of confusion/missing the first day.

Overall rating

Jared C.
09/15/2017

I really enjoyed Harry. His knowledge and experience made the course very interesting and exciting. He was engaging, professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the topics. I would recommend him to anyone

Overall rating

Tracy W.
09/15/2017

Instructor was excellent

Overall rating

Peter A.
09/15/2017

Overall rating

Judith G.
09/15/2017

Course is very helpful to understand management effectiveness, motivation, coaching, situational leadership, delegation. I feel I have practical tools at Handys apply in my daily work. Videos are outdated.

Overall rating

Judith C.
09/15/2017

Overall rating

Krissy B.
09/15/2017

Overall rating

Walter D.
09/15/2017

Relevant, engaging and informative

Overall rating

Oscar D.
09/15/2017

Ruthe was awesome and made it worh our time

Overall rating

Brian H.
09/13/2017

Overall rating

Jason L.
09/07/2017

David was very helpful in getting us to understand the topics being presented, and overall, the course was a valuable experience. The Pre/Post evaluation materials were overly specific, and some of the questions were vague or ambiguous.

Overall rating

Rebecca B.
09/04/2017

Unfortunately I was extremely disappointed with the class instructor. I left every day feeling uninspired and bored. His style was extremely odd. For example instead of giving us handouts, he wrote on white sheets of paper (pertinent info) that he expected us to capture with our cell phone cameras. Also he did not mix up our small groups frequently. We were stuck with the same small group for 1.5 days - not a good thing when you aren't with a chatty group. Also I had trouble hearing him and the morning of Day 2 I asked if I could sit up front - he said no, I had to stay at my table (which was in the far back of the class). Most everything he taught was in generic, vague terms. I was longing to hear some specific real-life examples, and to hear others in the room share their stories. I would not recommend this class to others and I feel disappointed with my experience.

Overall rating

Shannon S.
09/01/2017

Overall rating

Janice D.
09/01/2017

David was very engaging and communicated content clearly. I enjoyed the smaller group activities as it allowed me a view of the challenges / solutions in other organizations. David kept things on track and provided group feedback during our discussions. Very informative!

Overall rating

Anthony D.
09/01/2017

Learned a lot of skills from the class that I can apply to my job. The instructor was very well spoken and informative.

Overall rating

Tiffani H.
09/01/2017

I thought the class included great information that was improved by the instructor when he allowed for more class-led discussion (as opposed to group only) and when he came around to provide feedback to group conversations. His insight during the group conversations he joined was great.

Overall rating

Jason D.
09/01/2017

Overall rating

Liz M.
09/01/2017

Extremely practical and very applicable to my job. I am taking away many strategies that I plan to implement starting tomorrow when I return to work. I feel much more confident in my abilities to be a supervisor and lead my department. David was extremely effective, enjoyable to be around, and facilitated the course well. He encouraged appropriate levels of dialogue with coursemates and added a lot of value by sharing the material in a variety of ways. I am an "enthusiastic beginner" which primed me well for the content! I am very excited to take this back with me to help our company and my team grow.

Overall rating

Andrew C.
09/01/2017

More group discussion, examples of similar issues across wildly different industries often reveals unexpected solutions.

Overall rating

Emily M.
09/01/2017

Really enjoyed the breadth of information covered in this course.

Overall rating

Katherine M.
09/01/2017

David was wonderful, and really lovely. I suspect that he'd have been able to provide additional value and insight if we'd had more time. I particularly appreciate how he tailored handouts and discussion to meet the expectations of participants.

Overall rating

Larry S.
08/30/2017

It was good.

Overall rating

Justin R.
08/30/2017

Overall rating

Jim Z.
08/30/2017

Having attended multiple AMA courses in the past I had high expectations looking forward to this course. I have always enjoyed AMA courses. My biggest disappointment was with the AMA instructor. After responding to a question the first morning about who was familiar with Situational Leadership I was singled out in front of the class multiple times, that since I knew about Situational leadership, "Jim is going to come up and teach the class." This was a little strange and uncomfortable to the point I felt I had to make a comment in front of the class the second day to ask her to stop. I certainly never expected that. Next there was a partner exercise where I was involved in a conversation where the instructor approached, interrupted me and attempted to "fix" my partner's situation. (We were only completing the exercise exactly how we were instructed) She then turned away and told us it was time to return to class. Wanting to complete my thought with him after being interrupted, I responded, "We will be right there," as she walked back into the classroom. She returned 15-20 seconds later to tell us again to return to the class, she was ready to get started. My partner was as puzzled as I was. It was simply rude. What made this more shocking is when we returned to our seats, she continued a conversation with another student in front of the class for 2-3 minutes about the benefits of TSA pre-check and how much she pays and how easy it is for her to travel, etc. The only expl

Overall rating

Josh S.
08/28/2017

The trainer was very knowledgeable and informative on the topics.

Overall rating

Karyn H.
08/28/2017

Mary and Latasha worked very well together and kept things moving nicely, which allowed us to maximize training time.

Overall rating

Russell A.
08/28/2017

Overall rating

Rhonda M.
08/28/2017

It would be better to change groups at least every day. If you're in a quiet group, it is sort of hard.

Overall rating

Angela B.
08/28/2017

The course was very informative and easy to navigate through. The break out groups were helpful and often fun. Mary did a great job at providing various scenarios that we may encounter along the way.

Overall rating

Mark S.
08/28/2017

Overall rating

Eric D.
08/25/2017

Overall rating

Matthew D.
08/25/2017

Excellent instruction. Well communicated and the practice exercises were actually helpful in reinforcing the material shared.

Overall rating

Kristine S.
08/25/2017

hallway was loud and if lunch were provided it would have been perfect

Overall rating

John P.
08/25/2017

Videos old and out of date otherwise very infomative

Overall rating

Jamie J.
08/25/2017

Sitting down for this long is not a great training method that works for me, so I will have to make note of that for future trainings.

Overall rating

Christine M.
08/25/2017

Very thorough

Overall rating

Jamie F.
08/25/2017

Faculty very personable and shared real life examples

Overall rating

Travis C.
08/25/2017

The class was very interactive.

Overall rating

Ken S.
08/25/2017

Mary was very knowledgeable and thorough of the material she was teaching.

Overall rating

Anne M.
08/24/2017

"great class, but would have like to have gotten out ""on time"" the first 2 days. We were let out 10 15 minutes late which really makes a difference on the DFW traffic patterns. Please be cognizant of class members life outside of work hours."

Overall rating

MICHAEL H.
08/24/2017

I thought each module was presented in full with so much enthusiasm.I walked out encouraged I could handle any situation I might encounter as a new manager.

Overall rating

Khai Y.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Jiney A.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

James C.
08/24/2017

Great course, great teacher, very insightful and useful in the real world

Overall rating

Aaron M.
08/24/2017

Overall good course. Provided some good foundational insights. Would have personally preferred sessions to be a little less lecture and more interactive

Overall rating

Tonia H.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Cecilia Z.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Katherine P.
08/24/2017

Stevie was organized, clear and highly professional. She is an excellent facilitator and clearly cares about her students and their growth.

Overall rating

Ashley L.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Scott S.
08/24/2017

Well presented material with a very knowledgeable instructor.

Overall rating

Karla M.
08/23/2017

The course is provided me with beneficial information and techniques that I am certain will strengthen my ability and effectiveness as both a leader and manager.

Overall rating

Amit P.
08/23/2017

Overall rating

Eric M.
08/23/2017

No complaints at all with the facility.

Overall rating

Latosha R.
08/23/2017

Overall rating

Scott S.
08/21/2017

Overall rating

Jamie P.
08/21/2017

Wonderful class and a great instructor.

Overall rating

Tomeka B.
08/21/2017

Overall rating

Meghan H.
08/21/2017

Rafi was an excellent, engaging seminar leader.

Overall rating

Terrence H.
08/17/2017

Overall rating

Jamye S.
08/14/2017

Teacher was amazing with her presentation of the information. She knows the material and knows how to present the information to many different learning styles. No one felt left out or overwhelmed.

Overall rating

Scott S.
08/14/2017

This course was worth every penny! The first day, I was a little overwhelmed, but after really diving into the course work and breaking the various methods down and working through them with the instructor and other attendees, I felt more at ease. The course allowed me to learn new effective techniques for managing and delegating tasks to our staff. It also caused me to self reflect on how I have handled situations in the past and opened my eyes to areas where I have not dealt with issues in an effective manner and caused an impact to staff moral and production.I was also able to see where I have done well in the past and have a good foundation to build upon and improve on my personal and profession dealings with other to get the results that I am looking for and need.Thank you Gwen for an excellent educational seminar.

Overall rating

Carl B.
08/14/2017

The training covered very appropriate topics appropriate to new managers but there was too much didactic teaching. This session would work much better with less emphasis on the power point slides and more class involvement. The instructor had many stories from her experience and success that she shared with the class and many were helpful in our learning but there wasn't enough of a focus on drawing out participant comments and questions. At some points the instructor read off the slides and we were sitting just going through the material in the book. This type of time and cost commitment should result in more inclusive training. I would put a % on didactic vs. class involvement at 65% vs 35%. Also, I would put the instructor speaking vs. class participation at 70% vs 30%. In my opinion, to have a more effective training these numbers need to be closer to 50%/50%.

Overall rating

Steve R.
08/14/2017

Pat is an amazing teacher. She made every minute interesting and relevant.

Overall rating

Rumduol V.
08/11/2017

The training was wonderfully presented and offered helpful feedback for real life problems. The presenter created a comfortable environment so all participant felt safe to share their own experiences.

Overall rating

Tanya G.
08/10/2017

Overall rating

Krystal O.
08/10/2017

The instruction was beyond that of any prior training I have taken. I now understand why AMA is so highly praised. Stevie was wonderful and I hope to work with her again.

Overall rating

Cooper R.
08/09/2017

Overall rating

Denelle B.
08/09/2017

Overall rating

JOHN M.
08/07/2017

Excellent course. All main topics were covered and in great detail. Shawn was very knowledgeable in the subject matter and brought his real world experience in order to really drive home each topic of discussion. This course along with Shawn's excellent teaching style will undoubabley help make me a better manager moving forward.

Overall rating

Jamie M.
08/04/2017

I feel like I learned a lot of new skills I can take back to improve my team and myself

Overall rating

Glen S.
08/04/2017

Fantastic course given by a very dynamic, knowledgeable facilitator.

Overall rating

Gregory A.
08/04/2017

Shawn is an exceptional speaker, highly motivated and absolute expert who eagerly engages attendees in an upbeat manner facilitating a strong learning environment.

Overall rating

Donald H.
08/04/2017

The material was well covered and the instructor is clearly a subject matter expert.

Overall rating

Summer R.
08/04/2017

Shawn was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and approachable! He kept the course material interesting by using real world examples and injecting applicable personal experiences and outcomes into the mix. The coursework and role play was value add and definitely challenged my initial way of thinking! Im excited to apply the situational techniques in an effort to grow as a manager and empower my employees.

Overall rating

Sandra W.
08/03/2017

I really liked the hands on role playing (scenarios) and feed back that I received from other Managers. This was insightful & helped me more in practicing my skills then anything else. I loved the situational leadership II behavior analysis too.Thanks!

Overall rating

Karen S.
08/02/2017

Very thought provoking

Overall rating

Monica A.
08/02/2017

Really loved the group activities

Overall rating

Rachelle H.
07/31/2017

would have liked more break outs with other classmates - learned a lot from them as well - great feedback

Overall rating

Jaco S.
07/31/2017

Very informative

Overall rating

Julia K.
07/31/2017

Excellent course content, excellent instructor.

Overall rating

Douglas Z.
07/31/2017

I found this training to be very educational and informative. Class size( seven showed up) was great and the interaction/ role play was helpful. Mike was a great instructor, and very knowledgeable regarding the material.

Overall rating

Loraine B.
07/31/2017

Overall rating

Raquel C.
07/31/2017

Overall rating

Frank V.
07/27/2017

Overall rating

Rebekah G.
07/26/2017

Overall rating

Anita E.
07/26/2017

There are some very good tools for developing and managing employees in this training.

Overall rating

Chandra M.
07/26/2017

Howard was engaging and the material was not the same old thing we have heard over and over again.

Overall rating

Ian R.
07/26/2017

Overall rating

Vishakha D.
07/26/2017

Overall rating

Diane H.
07/24/2017

I enjoyed the class more than I had anticipated. I would have like a little less class discussion and more instruction, but it was very beneficial

Overall rating

Catherine C.
07/24/2017

Overall rating

Jack L.
07/24/2017

Overall rating

Andrea D.
07/24/2017

There was a great variety of content covered in the 3 day timeline. Susan was an EXCELLENT trainer -- she was very knowledgeable and engaging. She made specific points to cover topics that were also specific to each individual for more individualized learning as well. I would definitely take a training led by her again!!

Overall rating

Cheryl E.
07/24/2017

EXCELLENT!!!

Overall rating

Dustin E.
07/24/2017

Susan pulled from a wealth of experience and believed in the material.

Overall rating

Maura S.
07/24/2017

Howard was an outstanding instructor. Very knowledgeable, insightful and funny.?

Overall rating

Mark T.
07/24/2017

The coarse material was excellent. But what was of the most professional value were the tips, book references, and managerial advice Michael provided throughout the training. So glad I took this coarse.

Overall rating

Jermaine J.
07/24/2017

You were extremely detailed and gave clear instruction and feedback. gave us time to have great dialog with one another and really paid attention to the things we wanted to learn on how to be better as managers.

Overall rating

Gladys S.
07/24/2017

Overall rating

Dave R.
07/24/2017

I would have liked at the end of the 3rd day a short recap and summary of the whole session.

Overall rating

Paul B.
07/24/2017

The situational leadership model will be useful, it's a nice deconstruction that helps align management styles. The negatives are that the course material is hopelessly outdated. Instruction videos from 1996 with no consideration for management styles and requirements of the digital age. I requested preparation material before the course and it took weeks (and me chasing up AMA) to receive a reading list. Then the portal logins weren't shared. Haywood salvaged this situation though and made the course useful nonetheless - special thanks to him. Overall it seems that AMA needs a breathe of fresh air. The material and research it bases its theories on are over 20 years old. I would not recommend AMA to friends or colleagues.

Overall rating

Claire S.
07/24/2017

Howard is awesome!

Overall rating

Patricia S.
07/24/2017

Overall rating

Jason M.
07/21/2017

Overall rating

Danielle H.
07/21/2017

Class content was great, I'm looking forward to utilizing these skills with my team.

Overall rating

Mike C.
07/21/2017

I have been to many classes and some seminars and there is always a moment when the instructor loses the attention of the class and you cant wait for it to be over. That was not the case here. Larry engaged the audience right away. His ability to keep the attention of all members of the class was outstanding. His use of flip charts, white boards and keeping the members of the class moving from pod to pod was great. Besides the knowledge he shared, I found him to be inspirational. Well done Larry! I am happy to have met you.

Overall rating