/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Tim M.
08/18/2014

I don't think the AMA does a very good job of describing this class. It should have the name "for publicly held companies" in the name of the class. It was NOT in any way for a privately held corp. The materials and the presenter were very clear of who this class is for. There were 3 of us from "small business, privately held companies". I sat next to one and he was equally disappointed. When questioning this with the presenter there were no apologies, he was quite clear (and probably rightfully so) who this class was structured for. I have no problem with it being for publicly held, i have a problem with AMA not being clear.
I left the class after 1 and a half days, with great disappointment and confused on how AMA is right for us.
I am being kind by rating this class two stars.

Overall rating

Cliff H.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Smart O.
07/28/2014

The training gave an indepth analysis of what I have not been aware of working in finance. The course content , materials and tutor delivered a lasting knowledge on me skills. I now know what to look for, how to interpret the annual report and the relationship between finance and accounting.

Overall rating

Wendy K.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Joel C.
07/21/2014

Keep in mind that this is a high level overview of many financial topics. Therefore, at times it may seem like you are drinking from a fire hose. The course goes quickly with the flow of many topics and exercises, and I like the fact that the online format breaks it into manageable time chunks.

Overall rating

Stephanie L.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Marci B.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Michael B.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Salvatore L.
06/16/2014

First time using AMA and it was one of the best training classes that I have ever attended. Fast paced and great learning experience. Kimberly was very knowledgable and did a super job presenting the information.

Overall rating

Mark M.
06/16/2014

Very impactful, Engaging, and useful to my position.

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
06/09/2014

Joe delivered an incredibly practical, informative and interesting training!

Overall rating

Ann S.
05/16/2014

Very good information but it really should take more time on lesson 2

Overall rating

Oliver S.
05/12/2014

The lecture kept the class engaged and explained everything well.

Overall rating

Nicole S.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Stephen I.
04/29/2014

The material was presented in an easily-understood format and reinforced by exercises with immediate feedback. I learned something new from every section and came away with a much better understanding of the accounting and financial fundamentals than I had going into this seminar.

Overall rating

Mike S.
04/28/2014

Overall rating

Janet V.
04/21/2014

I was actually surprised at how much I learned over the short course. I look forward to reading more on the topics covered and applying the information at work and in my personal life.

Overall rating

Dave H.
04/07/2014

Going into the class, I was concerned that the topic would be a bit dry. Susan did a great job keeping everyones attention. She was able to relate the topic to my position. I would recommend this class going forward.

Overall rating

Denise J.
03/28/2014

The virtual class I attend was informative; however the name of the class is “Fundamentals of Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers” I was expecting a little more detail of business related terms, meaning and how to use the information. The class assumes you know some finance but over all this was a good class if you had some finance back ground. The instructor was very well versed in the subjects and was able to guide the class well.

Overall rating

David B.
03/25/2014

Overall rating

Cheryl P.
02/10/2014

Good refressher course - content was concise and well targeted to the learning needs of the group.

Overall rating

Robert P.
02/10/2014

Overall rating

Bernard P.
02/01/2014

the content of seminar reached my expectations and excellent relationship with the teacher .

Overall rating

Mike P.
01/21/2014

The course provided a good understanding. It took some time to understand the logic usedin the spreadsheets.

Overall rating

Patricia F.
01/20/2014

Overall rating

Rachel P.
12/16/2013

Very good course

Overall rating

Ana M.
11/26/2013

Instructor was very knowledgeable of the topic and did great job making otherwise dry and complex topic more pliable for the attendees.

Overall rating

Stuart S.
11/25/2013

Best three days invested in years. Highly recommend this course for anyone looking to get a better understanding of how the numbers flow through and organization. You will walk away with a back pocket full of useful tools.

Overall rating

Sam E.
11/25/2013

This was an excellent course that significantly exceeded my expectations. The content was very well chosen, effectively presented, and on target for my needs. Richard was a tremendous instructor; his insights and examples coupled with the content organization in the course handbook made a very meaningful learning experience.

Overall rating

Melissa R.
11/11/2013

I was interested primarily in the accounting portion of the class. A lot more time was spent on Finance. Therefore, I don't feel it was the best match for my needs.

Overall rating

Sandra F.
11/04/2013

This was a very well put together, informative class. It compressed a semester of college course learning into 3 days! But, the delivery from the instructor was outstanding and made it very easy to learn. Great class for those that need to know about finance and accounting on a not-so regular basis.

Overall rating

Steve F.
11/04/2013

Good pacing of material for a very mixed crowd of people. Might have learned more from the class if it was a group of people with similar experience/knowledge (maybe based on the pretest). However, the seminar followed the outline closely, so it was exactly what I expected. Lots of time for questions and the instructor was always available at breaks or pre/post class. The book will be a good reference guide in the future, it is put together well.

Overall rating

Michael L.
10/28/2013

Overall rating

Mildred L.
10/15/2013

The Live on Line course was excellent. It was educational, and enjoyable at the same time. Faculty were very professional, worked in a good team with the AMA Production Manager. My only concern was that i could not join for session 4, due to the fact that my computer (laptop) no longer recognised the headset that had been perfect during session 1-3. But AMA quickly recorded the session so that i can listen to it at a later stage.

Overall rating

Jeff D.
09/19/2013

very good trainer. Material well presented. I would give it a five except I felt the material did not quite fit the expectation of a training for non-Financial managers. I wanted to understand the lingo not necessary be able to do ratios, etc., myself.

Overall rating

Ruben L.
09/16/2013

Overall rating

Larry M.
09/09/2013

Overall rating

William R.
09/09/2013

Outstanding instructor! I found the class to be relevant, well paced, and in line with most of my needs.

Overall rating

Douglas S.
08/26/2013

Overall rating

JENNIFER H.
08/19/2013

Excellent content, Fantastic leader!

Overall rating

Garima G.
08/19/2013

Overall rating

Jason J.
08/05/2013

Overall rating

Jill T.
07/23/2013

Bob did an excellant job. He was very knowledgable and made the class fun.

Overall rating

Josefu O.
07/22/2013

Overall rating

Lisa L.
07/22/2013

Course was challenging as the instructor was more concerned with covering the necessary amount of information needed for accredidation vs. the knowledge levels and learning of the class. Group activities were short in time and not having an instructor to walk with you through the acitivies was a challenge. Perhaps this all comes with this format, but if so, I would not use this format again.

Overall rating

Keith B.
07/22/2013

Overall rating

Eileen G.
07/15/2013

Teacher was very engaging and kept class motivated and on track.

Overall rating

Bruce D.
07/01/2013

I thought the Finance and Accounting Seminar was a great benefit to my personal education, and can see where it will greatly benefit my business. Edward was a great teacher. He gave invaluable insights and brought personal examples that really helped with the understanding of the concepts of the class.

Overall rating

Jeffrey W.
06/24/2013

Kimberly did a very nice job of covering the course work and ensuring that each student's learning objectives (collected at the start of the class) were addressed.

The most valuable portion of the seminar from my perspective was the latter parts dealing with financial analysis. I don't know if there is a follow up course dealing with financial analysis, I would think that a Financial Analysis for non Financial Mgrs. course would be a popular offering.

Overall rating

Jeff H.
06/24/2013

The course was an excellent way to gain financial knowledge in only three days of class. The course leader was passionate about the topic and presented the material in a way everyone could understand. Overall it was a great class!

Overall rating

Deborah M.
06/11/2013

Overall rating

Quinton S.
06/10/2013

Overall rating

Reed T.
05/28/2013

Overall rating

Deborah M.
05/23/2013

Excellent instructor.

Overall rating

Frankie M.
05/20/2013

I truly enjoyed the class. I had one goal in mind. That goal was to learn the "financial language" to better assist me in my professional life. The class far exceeded that and the instructor was outstanding.

Overall rating

Lorenzo J.
05/18/2013

The instructor was great realy got alot out this class I think it should be a new standard for managers to have to take this class. thanks Lorenzo Jones

Overall rating

James B.
05/14/2013

The instructor was clearly a subject matter expert with experience delivering the course content. She made the class interesting and fun in spite of the subject matter (Finance and Accounting). The technical support was professional and met all of my expectations.

Overall rating

Bob D.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Joseph P.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Tim H.
05/13/2013

Very informative seminar and the instructor was excellent!

Overall rating

Kerry J.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Luis M.
04/29/2013

Overall rating

Sajida H.
04/29/2013

It was an informational course. If you're looking to learn more about Accounting, this is the course for you!

Overall rating

Thomas J.
04/28/2013

The instructor was able to relate the calculations and concepts to the firms the students worked for as he discussed following a dollar through a transaction between companies. The pace of the class was quick enough to retain day-long interest amongst all students and a large volume of useful material was covered and then reviewed over the 3 days.

Overall rating

Elizabeth M.
04/24/2013

Bob was an excellent instructor and facilitator. He somehow managed to engage a very diverse group, with what many would consider challenging content, from start to finish. Bob was incredibly knowledgeable, approachable and thorough. I came away from the course with immediately applicable information, knowledge and know-how. Thanks to Bob and to my classmates who made the experience worthwhile, enriching and fun.

Overall rating

Heather S.
04/22/2013

Ed was very knowledgeable and provided some very useful insight and information.

Overall rating

Roger M.
04/22/2013

This seminar hit the bullseye based on its description. If you are looking to "speak the speak" this class teaches you everything you need to know to be proficient in making good business decisions for your organization.

There is just the right amount of depth so that you can learn the material in a short period while also giving you the confidence needed to engage colleagues.

Overall rating

Blair G.
04/15/2013

I not only learned a good deal, but the instruction was so good and entertaining, that my attention was riveted on the coursework and the instructor. I thought that Bernie gave from his own personal experience, which inspired me to be a better and more intentional steward of my own resources, as well as my company's. Bernie is a great instructor and I would recommend his course to anyone. Thank you.

Overall rating

Jeff P.
03/26/2013

Overall rating

Robert P.
03/25/2013

Overall rating

Shaunda M.
02/11/2013

The only draw back about the training is that I was not informed before the training that no snacks or lunch would be provided. I was not prepared for this but made sure after the first day I had snacks to carry me throughout the day. I think for the cost at the very minumum snacks should be provided as well.

Overall rating

Richard A.
02/04/2013

Seminar leader was very good.

I was never able to get connected to the site AMA setup for pre-seminar study (I was able to get on the AMA website but the user name/pw did not work).

On the first day of the Seminar, AMA was not prepared for the number of people enrolled in the class. Although not a killer, it was somewhat disruptive. Also, the DVD of the CEO greeting the students did not work well and was discontinued (but we were forced to watch the DVD the next morning).

All in all - the Seminar Instructor did a very good job although I have noticed a decline in AMA's preparedness/quality.

Overall rating

Mathieu G.
01/28/2013

Overall rating

Chad O.
12/26/2012

I really enjoyed the course. It provided a basic financial understanding that I was seeking. 1) provided a working knowledge of the language used in financial reports. 2) It discussed financial ratios and their implications. 3) Provided some real world exercises using real world annual reports from "blue chip" companies.

Overall rating

Lacey N.
12/26/2012

The Finance and Accounting course was excellent. I just needed the basic concepts around accounting and a general idea of the ratios associated with finance. This class gave me exactly what I had wanted. Karen instructed the class and she really knew the material and made it interesting and relavent to our own lives. Definitely a good basics class.

Overall rating

Warren S.
12/20/2012

Overall rating

Melissa M.
12/17/2012

Excellent course led by the most knowledgeable instructor I have had to date. She made it very easy to understand the course objectives and explained all topics in an understandable way. I feel I am much better equipped to understand, analyze and generate financial reports for my organization. I would highly recommend this course to others.

Overall rating

Jeremy N.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Brittany S.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Laura T.
12/15/2012

Overall rating

Gregg D.
12/11/2012

Overall rating

Daksh V.
12/08/2012

Great short course for persons with little fianance/accounting knowledge. Course materials are applicable to real life data and improve understanding of financial performance of a business.

Overall rating

Lukasz N.
12/04/2012

Overall rating

Alexander B.
11/20/2012

Overall rating

Alpaslan D.
11/12/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.