/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Scott M.
09/30/2016

Overall rating

Raminder B.
09/26/2016

The presentation over the screen and a six students size class was indeed great for topic discussions and interface with the instructor.

Overall rating

Elvira C.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

Jamey W.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

John G.
09/26/2016

There was a lot of information presented. While I understand that this is a fairly basic topic, Kimberly went a little too fast for me to keep up. Granted I was the weakest on the subject, so she really was just following the overall understanding of the group. She did nothing wrong, and was very helpful/thoughtful with responding to my questions. The only suggestion I can provide would be to somehow make the teams interact a little more. As the class continued the teams did not work as well and so I retained less. Again, not being critical, just an observation. It was worth every penny, and I did walk away with a much better understanding of how bookkeeping processes work. When it came to analysis of a company's worth and future value, I kind of lost the battle. Maybe a little more preparation on my part would have alleviated this, so it was more self inflicted than any fault of the course. Kimberly was very professional and understanding, so I would rate her presentation with an A-. Thanks Kimberly!

Overall rating

Kevin H.
09/26/2016

Instructor took the time to ask each student if they had in specific questions or expectations for the class or learning objectives. We were encouraged to ask questions and instructor did his best to provide answers and relevant examples.

Overall rating

Stephenie W.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Corey D.
09/21/2016

Class went at a good pace, plenty of examples and learning by doing.

Overall rating

Janet E.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Kelly G.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Bryan L.
09/21/2016

A lot of Information. Not sure it applicable for Government Funded Facility.

Overall rating

Veronica L.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Yunjie Z.
09/21/2016

Feedback for William BrockhausStop forcing students to split up into groups and silently read through course materials and then teach each other the course materials.Stop giving long rambling anecdotes that have no relevance to the topic at hand.Feedback for CourseGet rid of this instructor.

Overall rating

AUDREY G.
09/21/2016

I didn't learn anything in this class. I'm upset with the instructor. It was not worth the cost

Overall rating

Peter M.
09/21/2016

The facilitation of this program was poor. Being a Sales Training professional I was very displeased with the program and due to it, left one day early (I was not the only person to do so). I called the AMA offices to complain (I spoke to Dawn) and I am expecting a follow up call to resolve the issues, of which include the money spent on such a poorly lead program. All in, I spent approx $4,000 due the cost to attend, flight, hotel, and food. My return on investment is terrible . . . not to mention the soft cost of my being out of office during this period of time. To validate that I am not being an extremist, my peers in the class felt the same (Joe, Debra, Julia, Kelly, etc).

Overall rating

Gregory W.
09/21/2016

Overall I was very dissatisfied with this course. My manager and several co-workers recommended this course as they have previously taken it and got a lot out of it. Over a 3rd of the attendees in this course left the class early and did not come back because they weren't getting anything out of it and were very frustrated, I however, decided to stay. Every attendee seemed to have the same frustration. It seems my frustration was with the instructor and not necessarily the material. He didn't seem to know the material or know how to relay (teach) the information to the attendees, explain what some terms meant and what they mean in the real world, understand the examples, etc. We spent a lot of time reading certain sections and telling the rest of the group what we learned and he didn't give much more information besides what others said. We also spent a lot of time sitting and doing nothing and he didn't effectively utilize the time we were in class. When questions were asked, you had to repeat them several times because he couldn't hear you or he didn't understand and then he wasn't able to answer them for the most part. I would have gotten more information if I would have just read the book and skipped the class. I recommend AMA sit in random attendees to their courses so they can evaluate the instructors.

Overall rating

Janice G.
09/21/2016

Instructor's knowledge was excellent and he was able to communicate this knowledge and experience to us in an understandable manner.

Overall rating

Carolyn R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

John W.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Mohammed A.
09/21/2016

Coors Excellent

Overall rating

Lesa C.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Shawn K.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Brima K.
09/21/2016

A perfect start for those of supervising finance and finance related employees as it opens an insight into the fundamentals of accounting and assessments of projects based on financial ratios and indicators

Overall rating

Bill R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Mike D.
09/21/2016

Bernard was a pleasure. The material was easily understood and carefully explained. The class time was fluid and information packed. I can't say enough about Bernard. Never a dull moment.

Overall rating

David C.
09/21/2016

I thought the instructor did an excellent job in covering the broad contents.

Overall rating

troy m.
09/21/2016

Instructor seemed to have a very good knowledge of Accounting.

Overall rating

Robert M.
09/21/2016

The training met or exceed all my expectations. The curriculum was very good and Bernard added value to the curriculum with his presentation style, personal experiences, and expertise.

Overall rating

Todd M.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Carol C.
09/20/2016

Overall, it was a good course. It touched on pretty much all basic aspects of accounting.

Overall rating

Joseph P.
08/17/2016

Overall rating

Kristie C.
08/17/2016

The instructor was awesome, very effective and knowledgeable!

Overall rating

Brigitte C.
08/17/2016

Frank really teaches and makes lectures interesting. He is accommodating to all questions and makes it a point that all attendee inquiries are answered and thoroughly explained. He has made appreciating finance and accounting easier.

Overall rating

David H.
08/17/2016

Overall rating

Johnny L.
08/16/2016

Overall rating

Nick B.
08/16/2016

Overall rating

Francis K.
08/16/2016

The facilitator (Frank Abbot) is a very skilled trainer who made the content both interesting and relevant to a broad group of students

Overall rating

Michelle B.
08/16/2016

Trainer was excellent

Overall rating

Ashton R.
08/15/2016

Overall rating

Bonnie L.
08/15/2016

First time attending an AMA seminar, loved the small class size.

Overall rating

Kate D.
08/12/2016

Excellent class for fundamentals!

Overall rating

Gadiel R.
08/12/2016

Great instructor, very knowledgeable and capable, great facilities!

Overall rating

Austin C.
08/11/2016

The training was expertly and concisely done. The trainer was knowledgeable in her field and communicated the subject matter very thoughtfully.

Overall rating

Erik R.
08/10/2016

Susan's excellent experience and knowledge allows her to connect this material at very deep levels.

Overall rating

Tom M.
08/08/2016

Susan was amazing - a great instructor.

Overall rating

Mark W.
08/08/2016

I felt training was very effective. In terms of the course material I appreciate for the sections were linked to help build on what was being learned.

Overall rating

Lee S.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Jacob S.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Michael W.
07/25/2016

Overall rating

Robert B.
07/25/2016

My brain is full - I learned quite a bit and the class helped de-mystify certain areas that had been more challenging for me in the past to understand. I was surprised by how in depth the class went in certain areas, was expecting more high level. However, I ended up appreciating that occurring.

Overall rating

Laura P.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Chris W.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Ellen D.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Tammi B.
07/21/2016

The facilities were excellent. The instructor was wonderful. She was extremely knowledgeable regarding the material and kept the class very interesting. The exercises were appropriate and challenging.

Overall rating

Jason Y.
07/21/2016

The course was well managed and facilitated. However I think it was a little heavy on annual reports. I would have liked more practical accounting practices regarding P&L, and daily reporting.

Overall rating

Scott D.
07/21/2016

While I realize the course was finance and accounting, I felt like the course was primarily a lecture. There were a few group/individual activities each day but there was very little dialogue as a group. Susan did 95% of the speaking and did not care to engage the group in much dialogue. I always enjoy hearing from other participants about how their companies do things and that did not occur. I tried on a few occasions to engage and Susan was pretty quick to shut it down.

Overall rating

Rosemary M.
07/21/2016

Very informative. There were many key critical items that I learned that will greatly help me in my career. I enjoyed the hand-on exercises to prove out if I was retaining the information being taught.

Overall rating

Jennifer H.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Aaron S.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Mark K.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Christopher P.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Stefanie J.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Christine S.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

John L.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Nicole R.
07/18/2016

Overall rating

Eberhardt K.
07/18/2016

Very good basic training.

Overall rating

Kevin C.
07/18/2016

Overall rating

Ira N.
07/18/2016

Frank was very informative as well as the information that was shared.

Overall rating

Ralph D.
07/18/2016

Having limited experience in accounting and finance; the Instructor's teaching methods and group exercises provided a fun and absorbent learning environment.

Overall rating

Megan P.
07/14/2016

I felt that the instructor was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job facilitating the discussion and encouraging involvement and understanding among all participants. The class materials could have supported the the flow of the sessions a bit better - I think it would have been helpful to have labeled exercise sheets that we could walk through together, rather than doing it messily on a flipchart without labels and everyone trying to take their own notes while also keeping up with the discussion.

Overall rating

Cesar T.
07/14/2016

Overall rating

Raymond G.
07/14/2016

Anna has/had the ability to take a very dry material based session and make it very interesting. She took the time to explain the vocabulary used within the class, helping everyone to stay connected...very professional.

Overall rating

Michael N.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Vicci K.
07/13/2016

Our instructor, Frank Abbot, was very helpful and explained the information in a way we could all understand and relate back to our different positions and occupations.

Overall rating

John M.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Jack C.
07/11/2016

Frank is very knowledgeable and an excellent instructor.

Overall rating

Kelly O.
07/11/2016

Frank did a wonderful job!

Overall rating

Steve J.
07/11/2016

Great class!

Overall rating

ROSS E.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Jorge P.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Deion C.
07/04/2016

William was great. He truly was able to constructively assist us in working through the samples in the workbook. I don't know how this course would have been done via teleconference. It is way more beneficial in person.

Overall rating

Doug M.
07/04/2016

Outstanding presentation and subject knowledge!

Overall rating

Diane Y.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Sandra W.
07/04/2016

It was great. William answered all questions and gave examples so that we could better understand.

Overall rating

Joshua M.
06/29/2016

Overall rating

Gricelia C.
06/27/2016

Overall rating

Christian F.
06/27/2016

Very satisfied, very practical with an excellent faculty

Overall rating

Kristina L.
06/24/2016

The pace was a little fast for me since I have no background with finance and accounting

Overall rating

Andy S.
06/22/2016

would have liked some kind of snack selection in the room

Overall rating

Angelia S.
06/22/2016

The Instructor was very knowledgeable in this area. The instructor show patience and answers all questions.

Overall rating

Dean M.
06/22/2016

May have diverged from the intended syllabus more than was good for the class. Appears pre-test results was not taken into account when delivering material - to advanced for some of the students to keep up. Felt the class was "good", but did not deliver the "core" fundamentals of finance for non-finance managers.

Overall rating

Amanda C.
06/21/2016

Overall rating

Brian N.
06/21/2016

I learned some concepts and ratios that will help me in my job. Learning moved very fast and some people had a hard time keeping up.

Overall rating

PATRICIA G.
06/20/2016

There was a lot of good information, however it was very fast paced.

Overall rating

Loni C.
06/16/2016

Miles was extremely passionate about his field and brought real life situations and experiences to the class. He was very energetic and made learning the material much more pleasant. He was very thorough no matter how little experience a class member had however lost the attention of those with more experience.

Overall rating

Matt C.
06/13/2016

Very good instructor

Overall rating

Becky L.
06/02/2016

The fact that AMA refused to provide Wifi for the class was completely unprofessional. It is reasonable to say that Wifi is not needed when you are taking a 1-day course for $199, but when someone enrolls in a 3-day course for $2500 providing Wifi is a basic necessity.

Overall rating

Megan K.
06/01/2016

great topic and was the right level of material. Enjoyed the instructor. Not having wifi in the classroom was unexpected and made it difficult to catch up to my responsibilities back at work during breaks and lunch.

Overall rating

Nicole D.
06/01/2016

we needed internet in the room to better learn the material

Overall rating

Ross Y.
06/01/2016

Class and instructor were effective. Lack of wifi access was an issue and hampered overall learning experience.

Overall rating

Karen W.
06/01/2016

The hotel did not have free Wi-Fi. A less expensive hotel with free Wi-Fi would have been better.

Overall rating

Rick S.
06/01/2016

Great delivery and presentation material. Very relevant discussions. AMA supplied Wifi is a must for all classes. The instructor should not need to pay for our class Wifi (materials).

Overall rating

Melanie F.
05/23/2016

The instructor was not focused on the material, and instead spent a significant amount of time on personal stories and anecdotes that provided little value to the course. The entire amount of learning could have been done in 12 hours instead of 24 at the level at which it was covered, due to the inability to remain focused. The course material in itself was valuable, but I wish it had been taught more in depth.

Overall rating

Berney S.
05/19/2016

Overall rating

Tamara S.
05/11/2016

Overall rating

Sarah H.
04/20/2016

Overall rating

Mark M.
04/20/2016

Overall rating

Daniel S.
03/21/2016

Very informative seminar. The instructor was very knowledgeable and made the class interesting.

Overall rating

Beatrice C.
03/17/2016

A great introduction to the financial basis with a lot of definitions but not enough practice of the different concepts.

Overall rating

Tim L.
03/01/2016

Enjoyed the content and the instructor, facility was very easy to get in an out of from the VRE.

Overall rating

Gregorio L.
02/17/2016

Kimberly is a great instructor and brings real world experience supporting the accounting and financial fundamentals. the material provides a good foundation for further training.

Overall rating

Robert M.
02/10/2016

The course material was excellent and relative to my needs. The instructor had a lot of practical knowledge to share and used related analogies to give a better understanding of the applications.
Overall, it was an excellent course and presentation and very worthwhile. I would highly recommend it to others.

Overall rating

Doreen D.
01/27/2016

Susan is a great instructor. "Fundamentals of Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers" was an excellent class. Once you get in the groove, it really is interesting. It is like going back to school and relearning what you took for granted.

Overall rating

Ricardo A.
01/20/2016

Knowledgable instructor, excellent manage of the class pace.
Information presented in a very practical way.
I enjoyed the group exercises and discussions.

Overall rating

Mohamed Ashraf M.
01/20/2016

very good seminar and highly recommended

Overall rating

Deborah C.
12/17/2015

There was a lot of information, particularly for someone who doesn't have a financial background. However, the course and instructor were very organized and the concepts were presented in a way they could be easily understood. The instructor also provided adhoc information which helped tremendously.

Overall rating

Keith R.
12/14/2015

Overall rating

Kelsey W.
12/14/2015

Overall rating

Dawn O.
12/14/2015

Overall rating

Marvin A.
12/10/2015

Overall rating

David R.
12/09/2015

I learned a great deal. Thank you for helping me with my career!

Overall rating

Trista K.
12/09/2015

This seminar was very helpful and informative. The class activities were a great way for us to learn and made it exciting and fun! The instructor was amazing and he was very knowledgeable and answered any questions promptly. Overall I would give this seminar an A++++++!!!!!! Look forward to taking many more with AMA! :)

Overall rating

Paul B.
12/07/2015

Overall rating

Sabrina Y.
11/12/2015

Couldn't be better! I loved the seminar, found it very valuable and thought the instructor was excellent! I bought her book at the AMA bookstore because I was extremely impressed with her presentation and the overall flow and structure of the course. I'm currently reading the book and know that it will be a great resource to me in the future.

Overall rating

Anna P.
11/12/2015

Overall rating

Jaime A.
11/11/2015

The seminar provides the knowledge of new tools to rate and compare the performance of your company and identify areas of improvement.

Overall rating

Laura W.
11/09/2015

The material reviewed was very helpful. After attending the 3-day training I will not say I am an expert, but I am more comfortable with financial terms being used and what they represent. It was a worthwhile seminar and would recommend it to my peers.

Overall rating

Adam H.
10/20/2015

Overall rating

Dan W.
10/19/2015

The seminar was very informative and the Instructor was excellent. A lot of information covered in a very short time frame. The teaching techniques used aided in understanding of the subject matter, and information retention.

Overall rating

Andrea Z.
10/14/2015

The instructor's power point did not match the printed material so it was very difficult to keep up. This made it impossible to refer to any of it for exercises or general understanding. The instructor read all slides to us which is incredibly boring and not at all engaging. I sat at a table with 4 others who were equally flustered and frustrated yet the instructor did not notice - or didn't care or didn't know how to handle - that 25% of the class could not keep up. The instructor called me out as disruptive (when I asked to review answers slower a 3rd time because we didn't have all the info) yet allowed a classmate's rude remark about my inability to understand pass without comment. This was my 6th AMA class in 6 months and the first that was not excellent so I understand that I have high expectations. I recently took Training the Trainer and so was keenly aware of how much of this class was NOT best practices. I was disturbed by the lack of respect shown toward true beginners.

Overall rating

Regina G.
10/14/2015

Overall rating

Brent T.
10/14/2015

Overall rating

Sunni M.
09/28/2015

Highly recommended.

Overall rating

Mark H.
09/28/2015

Overall rating

Bill B.
09/11/2015

Overall rating

Heather Z.
09/02/2015

Overall rating

Menka Q.
08/19/2015

I learned so much that I could take back to my job and immediately apply. Perfect pace, great use of examples to make the material "stick" and good engagement of the entire class. Bill was an excellent instructor. Highly recommend this class.

Overall rating

Britton D.
08/19/2015

Overall rating

Gustavo G.
08/19/2015

I was very pleased with the instructor and how he related the information to real time companies he had personally worked for. He was very patient and was welling to listen to all of our questions. He also e-mailed all of us his power point presentation which allowed me to listen rather than trying to take a lot of notes. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in helping their company be more efficient and profitable. I did buy a couple of books from your book store to help me continue to learn and practice what I learned.
Thank you very much for offering such a great class for us to advance our financial knowledge.

Gustavo Gutierrez

Overall rating

Khaled Ziad A.
08/18/2015

The seminar should be a 4 to 5 days one....extensive information in short time

Overall rating

Allison P.
08/17/2015

Overall rating

Lori D.
08/11/2015

Overall rating

Krista Y.
08/11/2015

Overall rating

Jennifer W.
08/10/2015

We had a small group of 8 total. It was excellent. We covered a lot of material, but also dove into specifics for some folks' companies. Great dynamic. I won't lie, there were some parts that were dry, but, overall, I thought this was very well taught and executed.

Overall rating

Tyrena J.
08/05/2015

Even though the class was named "Fundamentals of Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers" I think it would have been beneficial to anyone in a financial setting.

Overall rating

Bobby D.
08/05/2015

Excellent course for the novice and the more advanced participents.

Overall rating

Slade M.
07/23/2015

One of the best seminars I have personally attended. Would love to have gone deeper into my companies financial statements/annual report.

Also, would love to have learned more about the future courses being offered and to have reviewed these in more detail. I know we can look through the magazine/website but would have enjoyed walking through this.

Again, this was wonderful and so thankful for this experience. Everyone was wonderful (presenter to onsite staff)!!

Overall rating

Steve O.
07/23/2015

Overall rating

Marianne C.
07/23/2015

I truly enjoyed the seminar. I did not go into it thinking I would be an expert after, but I obviously gained some knowledge based on my pretest to post-test scores.

Overall rating

Chad D.
07/22/2015

Very knowledgeable instructor. I felt I learned a lot in a very short amount of time.

Overall rating

Rob R.
07/16/2015

Very informative class. There were lots of Terms/Language that I was unfamiliar with, prior to attending the class. The information provided in the classroom helped explain those terms w/examples from the work book & personal experiences by the instructor. Well worth the time for anyone interested in learning basic financial matters.

Overall rating

naomi n.
07/13/2015

The course content would probably have been good but I didn't feel like the instructor taught it well. She would give out the answers to problems before we had a chance to look into how to work them out and then talk us through how to solve them but not let us work them out for ourselves. She told too many kooky stories and anecdotes for my liking and always seemed to want to finish the day early.
My company invested a lot of money in this training course and the travel that went along with it and I didn't feel like I got a lot out of it. The workbook is good though and I'm sure that I will use this as a reference as things come up.
I did like the real world business examples that our instructor used.

Overall rating

Erika R.
07/06/2015

The instructor was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable, she kept the class interesting, and encouraged lots of group work and group discussion. I really felt like the 3 days spent in the seminar were well spent. I gained a lot and have been able to use what I've learned back in the office.

Overall rating

Sean K.
06/29/2015

Overall rating

Dawn F.
06/15/2015

She was knowledgeable and share deep insights especially from an audit viewpoint. She also cared a great deal about whether students understood the material. She went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable, prepared and ready to re-enter our day to day worlds more capable.

Overall rating

Mark Q.
06/03/2015

Overall rating

Jean-Luc R.
06/03/2015

Very well done.
Clear, dynamic and balaced.
Course leader is perfect.

Overall rating

Sara G.
05/21/2015

Overall rating

Eric M.
05/21/2015

Instructor was very knowledgable and kept the entire class engaged.

Overall rating

Jeffrey S.
05/20/2015

This class was excellent because of the instructor. I must emphasize that strongly. The class was excellent because the instructor was extraordinarily good.

Overall rating

Esther S.
05/14/2015

Overall rating

Mike P.
05/13/2015

This class was very beneficial. The instructor, Susan, was amazing and made everyone feel comfortable asking questions and speaking up.

Overall rating

Judith K.
04/15/2015

The seminar was very engaging and informative. The pace was great. Working on the case studies with the table teams was very helpful and a great way to reinforce the lessons being taught. I thoroughly enjoyed this seminar and it has made me consider taking other AMA classes.

Overall rating

Nicole L.
04/06/2015

I thought it was well-organized and the instructor Pauline knew her material very well.

Overall rating

Carrie M.
03/26/2015

The course was a really great overview of the fundamentals of finance, with excellent reference materials to go back and review as needed afterwards.

Overall rating

Deborah B.
03/24/2015

The course was excellent - the instructor was very knowledgeable and I will likely take another AMA course. It was much better organized than other seminars that I have attended, and I feel I received much more out of it as well.

Overall rating

Dawn S.
03/17/2015

The instructor was very knowlegable and was very good at keeping the class engaged.
I would definately recommend this class.

Overall rating

Kevin L.
03/01/2015

This was a very helpful introduction to the concepts of finance and accounting. The instructor was fabulous!

Overall rating

Luis C.
02/19/2015

Overall rating

Ann G.
02/19/2015

So much information, wish I had one more day. Class was exceptional.

Overall rating

Kristy A.
02/17/2015

Overall rating

D'Dee K.
02/16/2015

This was a fantastic class! We covered a lot of information in just 3 days but there were many things we learned that I have been able to immediately put to use back here at work.
The instructor did a great job of keeping everyone focused and preventing us from jumping ahead of ourselves. I highly recommend this class to everyone, it will give you a new prospective on the way your accounting dept. thinks and interprets information. I have a whole ne respect for our Controller and will send her flowers tomorrow!!

Overall rating

Diane D.
02/16/2015

Overall rating

Steven V.
02/09/2015

I learned a lot in a minimal amount of time! Instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

michael m.
01/26/2015

As a senior level executive, I knew there would be a certain amount of content that I would already know. However to my surprise, there was much more that I did not know, and I am so thankful I took the class. The presenter was excellent. It's difficult to talk about numbers for 3 straight days and keep everyone's attention, but she did! The class size was small, so it allowed tons of participant interaction with specific questions to each individuals company.

If you read financial statements, AND want to understand really what the numbers mean in terms of an organizations financial health, then this is the course for you!

Overall rating

Charles M.
01/08/2015

Overall rating

John G.
12/19/2014

Overall rating

Pamela B.
12/14/2014

Overall rating

Bryan R.
12/08/2014

I was pleased with the amount of knowledge I now have thanks to this class. I thought it was put together well and our instructor Howard was great. I would recommend this training to anyone who is unfamilar with the Finance process

Overall rating

Keely D.
11/24/2014

As the course states, it is mainly fundamentals. While I believe there was good information, the pace was slow and depth of content was limited. I have a background in Economics (liberal arts, not business) and found the course to teach me new business finance knowledge but the economics of the break even analysis were very basic and based upon linear charts. Overall, I needed to be introduced to the concepts in the book but was hoping for a deeper analysis of the information. I believe the information realistically could have all been taught on day one with day 2-3 being about deeper analysis. The instructor was knowledgeable and appeared to have a strong understanding of concepts but was keeping the pace slow for some of the participants. I went to college and graduated within the past two years and maybe that had an effect on my ability in comparison to others.

Overall rating

Delbert P.
11/13/2014

Great training for people with limited financial expertise. I now understand financial statements better and will be able to link key performance indicators to performance on our income statements.

Overall rating

Bryan W.
11/13/2014

Overall rating

Jennifer V.
11/10/2014

Overall rating

Kimberly B.
10/06/2014

The instructor was wonderful. I have not been that excited about a conference ever. Originally I did not know what to expect. After the conference I could not wait to get back to work to use my newly discovered skills.

Overall rating

Michelle G.
10/06/2014

I thought the seminar was great. The material was proficient to what I was looking for and I walked away with feeling like I learned quite a bit. The facilitator kept the class engaged whole time.

Awesom Job!

Thank you,
Michelle Green

Overall rating

Gregory K.
10/01/2014

Overall rating

Dwayne B.
09/22/2014

Well educated instructor with exceptional depth of knowledge and depth of life experiences

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
09/18/2014

Overall rating

Herb E.
09/09/2014

Overall rating

wes m.
09/08/2014

The Fundamentals of Finance and Accounting class was excellent. As owner of a private business this call gave me much more confidence with Balance Sheets and Cash Flow Statements as well as a general understanding of accounting and finance. I would strongly recommend this class to any business owner.

Overall rating

Robert H.
09/01/2014

The seminar was very helpful in understanding the "math" behind all the numbers. Being a manufacturing manager alot of the time the numbers are lost in trying to meet production. This seminar helped me understand why they are so important

Overall rating

Tim M.
08/18/2014

I don't think the AMA does a very good job of describing this class. It should have the name "for publicly held companies" in the name of the class. It was NOT in any way for a privately held corp. The materials and the presenter were very clear of who this class is for. There were 3 of us from "small business, privately held companies". I sat next to one and he was equally disappointed. When questioning this with the presenter there were no apologies, he was quite clear (and probably rightfully so) who this class was structured for. I have no problem with it being for publicly held, i have a problem with AMA not being clear.
I left the class after 1 and a half days, with great disappointment and confused on how AMA is right for us.
I am being kind by rating this class two stars.

Overall rating

Cliff H.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Smart O.
07/28/2014

The training gave an indepth analysis of what I have not been aware of working in finance. The course content , materials and tutor delivered a lasting knowledge on me skills. I now know what to look for, how to interpret the annual report and the relationship between finance and accounting.

Overall rating

Wendy K.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Joel C.
07/21/2014

Keep in mind that this is a high level overview of many financial topics. Therefore, at times it may seem like you are drinking from a fire hose. The course goes quickly with the flow of many topics and exercises, and I like the fact that the online format breaks it into manageable time chunks.

Overall rating

Stephanie L.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Marci B.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Michael B.
06/23/2014

Overall rating

Salvatore L.
06/16/2014

First time using AMA and it was one of the best training classes that I have ever attended. Fast paced and great learning experience. Kimberly was very knowledgable and did a super job presenting the information.

Overall rating

Mark M.
06/16/2014

Very impactful, Engaging, and useful to my position.

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
06/09/2014

Joe delivered an incredibly practical, informative and interesting training!

Overall rating

Ann S.
05/16/2014

Very good information but it really should take more time on lesson 2

Overall rating

Oliver S.
05/12/2014

The lecture kept the class engaged and explained everything well.

Overall rating

Nicole S.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Stephen I.
04/29/2014

The material was presented in an easily-understood format and reinforced by exercises with immediate feedback. I learned something new from every section and came away with a much better understanding of the accounting and financial fundamentals than I had going into this seminar.

Overall rating

Mike S.
04/28/2014

Overall rating

Janet V.
04/21/2014

I was actually surprised at how much I learned over the short course. I look forward to reading more on the topics covered and applying the information at work and in my personal life.

Overall rating

Dave H.
04/07/2014

Going into the class, I was concerned that the topic would be a bit dry. Susan did a great job keeping everyones attention. She was able to relate the topic to my position. I would recommend this class going forward.

Overall rating

Denise J.
03/28/2014

The virtual class I attend was informative; however the name of the class is “Fundamentals of Finance and Accounting for Non-Financial Managers” I was expecting a little more detail of business related terms, meaning and how to use the information. The class assumes you know some finance but over all this was a good class if you had some finance back ground. The instructor was very well versed in the subjects and was able to guide the class well.

Overall rating

David B.
03/25/2014

Overall rating

Cheryl P.
02/10/2014

Good refressher course - content was concise and well targeted to the learning needs of the group.

Overall rating

Robert P.
02/10/2014

Overall rating

Bernard P.
02/01/2014

the content of seminar reached my expectations and excellent relationship with the teacher .

Overall rating

Mike P.
01/21/2014

The course provided a good understanding. It took some time to understand the logic usedin the spreadsheets.

Overall rating

Patricia F.
01/20/2014

Overall rating

Rachel P.
12/16/2013

Very good course

Overall rating

Ana M.
11/26/2013

Instructor was very knowledgeable of the topic and did great job making otherwise dry and complex topic more pliable for the attendees.

Overall rating

Stuart S.
11/25/2013

Best three days invested in years. Highly recommend this course for anyone looking to get a better understanding of how the numbers flow through and organization. You will walk away with a back pocket full of useful tools.

Overall rating

Sam E.
11/25/2013

This was an excellent course that significantly exceeded my expectations. The content was very well chosen, effectively presented, and on target for my needs. Richard was a tremendous instructor; his insights and examples coupled with the content organization in the course handbook made a very meaningful learning experience.

Overall rating

Melissa R.
11/11/2013

I was interested primarily in the accounting portion of the class. A lot more time was spent on Finance. Therefore, I don't feel it was the best match for my needs.

Overall rating

Sandra F.
11/04/2013

This was a very well put together, informative class. It compressed a semester of college course learning into 3 days! But, the delivery from the instructor was outstanding and made it very easy to learn. Great class for those that need to know about finance and accounting on a not-so regular basis.

Overall rating

Steve F.
11/04/2013

Good pacing of material for a very mixed crowd of people. Might have learned more from the class if it was a group of people with similar experience/knowledge (maybe based on the pretest). However, the seminar followed the outline closely, so it was exactly what I expected. Lots of time for questions and the instructor was always available at breaks or pre/post class. The book will be a good reference guide in the future, it is put together well.

Overall rating

Michael L.
10/28/2013

Overall rating

Mildred L.
10/15/2013

The Live on Line course was excellent. It was educational, and enjoyable at the same time. Faculty were very professional, worked in a good team with the AMA Production Manager. My only concern was that i could not join for session 4, due to the fact that my computer (laptop) no longer recognised the headset that had been perfect during session 1-3. But AMA quickly recorded the session so that i can listen to it at a later stage.

Overall rating

Jeff D.
09/19/2013

very good trainer. Material well presented. I would give it a five except I felt the material did not quite fit the expectation of a training for non-Financial managers. I wanted to understand the lingo not necessary be able to do ratios, etc., myself.

Overall rating

Ruben L.
09/16/2013

Overall rating

Larry M.
09/09/2013

Overall rating

William R.
09/09/2013

Outstanding instructor! I found the class to be relevant, well paced, and in line with most of my needs.

Overall rating

Douglas S.
08/26/2013

Overall rating

JENNIFER H.
08/19/2013

Excellent content, Fantastic leader!

Overall rating

Garima G.
08/19/2013

Overall rating

Jason J.
08/05/2013

Overall rating

Jill T.
07/23/2013

Bob did an excellant job. He was very knowledgable and made the class fun.

Overall rating

Josefu O.
07/22/2013

Overall rating

Lisa L.
07/22/2013

Course was challenging as the instructor was more concerned with covering the necessary amount of information needed for accredidation vs. the knowledge levels and learning of the class. Group activities were short in time and not having an instructor to walk with you through the acitivies was a challenge. Perhaps this all comes with this format, but if so, I would not use this format again.

Overall rating

Keith B.
07/22/2013

Overall rating

Eileen G.
07/15/2013

Teacher was very engaging and kept class motivated and on track.

Overall rating

Bruce D.
07/01/2013

I thought the Finance and Accounting Seminar was a great benefit to my personal education, and can see where it will greatly benefit my business. Edward was a great teacher. He gave invaluable insights and brought personal examples that really helped with the understanding of the concepts of the class.

Overall rating

Jeffrey W.
06/24/2013

Kimberly did a very nice job of covering the course work and ensuring that each student's learning objectives (collected at the start of the class) were addressed.

The most valuable portion of the seminar from my perspective was the latter parts dealing with financial analysis. I don't know if there is a follow up course dealing with financial analysis, I would think that a Financial Analysis for non Financial Mgrs. course would be a popular offering.

Overall rating

Jeff H.
06/24/2013

The course was an excellent way to gain financial knowledge in only three days of class. The course leader was passionate about the topic and presented the material in a way everyone could understand. Overall it was a great class!

Overall rating

Deborah M.
06/11/2013

Overall rating

Quinton S.
06/10/2013

Overall rating

Reed T.
05/28/2013

Overall rating

Deborah M.
05/23/2013

Excellent instructor.

Overall rating

Frankie M.
05/20/2013

I truly enjoyed the class. I had one goal in mind. That goal was to learn the "financial language" to better assist me in my professional life. The class far exceeded that and the instructor was outstanding.

Overall rating

Lorenzo J.
05/18/2013

The instructor was great realy got alot out this class I think it should be a new standard for managers to have to take this class. thanks, Lorenzo Jones

Overall rating

James B.
05/14/2013

The instructor was clearly a subject matter expert with experience delivering the course content. She made the class interesting and fun in spite of the subject matter (Finance and Accounting). The technical support was professional and met all of my expectations.

Overall rating

Bob D.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Joseph P.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Tim H.
05/13/2013

Very informative seminar and the instructor was excellent!

Overall rating

Kerry J.
05/13/2013

Overall rating

Luis M.
04/29/2013

Overall rating

Sajida H.
04/29/2013

It was an informational course. If you're looking to learn more about Accounting, this is the course for you!

Overall rating

Thomas J.
04/28/2013

The instructor was able to relate the calculations and concepts to the firms the students worked for as he discussed following a dollar through a transaction between companies. The pace of the class was quick enough to retain day-long interest amongst all students and a large volume of useful material was covered and then reviewed over the 3 days.

Overall rating

Elizabeth M.
04/24/2013

Bob was an excellent instructor and facilitator. He somehow managed to engage a very diverse group, with what many would consider challenging content, from start to finish. Bob was incredibly knowledgeable, approachable and thorough. I came away from the course with immediately applicable information, knowledge and know-how. Thanks to Bob and to my classmates who made the experience worthwhile, enriching and fun.

Overall rating

Heather S.
04/22/2013

Ed was very knowledgeable and provided some very useful insight and information.

Overall rating

Roger M.
04/22/2013

This seminar hit the bullseye based on its description. If you are looking to "speak the speak" this class teaches you everything you need to know to be proficient in making good business decisions for your organization.

There is just the right amount of depth so that you can learn the material in a short period while also giving you the confidence needed to engage colleagues.

Overall rating

Blair G.
04/15/2013

I not only learned a good deal, but the instruction was so good and entertaining, that my attention was riveted on the coursework and the instructor. I thought that Bernie gave from his own personal experience, which inspired me to be a better and more intentional steward of my own resources, as well as my company's. Bernie is a great instructor and I would recommend his course to anyone. Thank you.

Overall rating

Jeff P.
03/26/2013

Overall rating

Robert P.
03/25/2013

Overall rating

Shaunda M.
02/11/2013

The only draw back about the training is that I was not informed before the training that no snacks or lunch would be provided. I was not prepared for this but made sure after the first day I had snacks to carry me throughout the day. I think for the cost at the very minumum snacks should be provided as well.

Overall rating

Richard A.
02/04/2013

Seminar leader was very good.

I was never able to get connected to the site AMA setup for pre-seminar study (I was able to get on the AMA website but the user name/pw did not work).

On the first day of the Seminar, AMA was not prepared for the number of people enrolled in the class. Although not a killer, it was somewhat disruptive. Also, the DVD of the CEO greeting the students did not work well and was discontinued (but we were forced to watch the DVD the next morning).

All in all - the Seminar Instructor did a very good job although I have noticed a decline in AMA's preparedness/quality.

Overall rating

Mathieu G.
01/28/2013

Overall rating

Chad O.
12/26/2012

I really enjoyed the course. It provided a basic financial understanding that I was seeking. 1) provided a working knowledge of the language used in financial reports. 2) It discussed financial ratios and their implications. 3) Provided some real world exercises using real world annual reports from "blue chip" companies.

Overall rating

Lacey N.
12/26/2012

The Finance and Accounting course was excellent. I just needed the basic concepts around accounting and a general idea of the ratios associated with finance. This class gave me exactly what I had wanted. Karen instructed the class and she really knew the material and made it interesting and relavent to our own lives. Definitely a good basics class.

Overall rating

Warren S.
12/20/2012

Overall rating

Melissa M.
12/17/2012

Excellent course led by the most knowledgeable instructor I have had to date. She made it very easy to understand the course objectives and explained all topics in an understandable way. I feel I am much better equipped to understand, analyze and generate financial reports for my organization. I would highly recommend this course to others.

Overall rating

Jeremy N.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Brittany S.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Laura T.
12/15/2012

Overall rating

Gregg D.
12/11/2012

Overall rating

Daksh V.
12/08/2012

Great short course for persons with little fianance/accounting knowledge. Course materials are applicable to real life data and improve understanding of financial performance of a business.

Overall rating

Lukasz N.
12/04/2012

Overall rating

Alexander B.
11/20/2012

Overall rating

Alpaslan D.
11/12/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.