/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Dan U.
08/10/2017

The word "right" had to have been said at least 1,000+ times on the first day of the course. This made listening to the instructor extremely distracting. The second day was a little better because there was more group work, however, the extreme use of the word "right" continued.

Overall rating

Jessica S.
08/10/2017

Overall rating

Laura C.
08/09/2017

Very helpful in determining whether or not data is valid and how to present findings.

Overall rating

Agata S.
08/04/2017

Overall rating

Therese P.
08/03/2017

Excellent! It is remarkable to think I had only 16 hours (4 classes, 4 hours each) to learn a technique, work with 3 people I didn't know from different parts of the country, and develop a persuasive presentation on implementing a program within a corporation. And we completed it successfully.That's only 2 working days! The information presented will definitely help me in future analysis and presentations.

Overall rating

Michael C.
08/03/2017

good information and good conclusion to the course.

Overall rating

Stephanie T.
08/03/2017

The presenters were great, the technical issues made it so I didn't score a 5.

Overall rating

Julia W.
08/03/2017

The project work was helpful

Overall rating

Marilyn R.
08/03/2017

This was my first AMA online experience. I enjoyed the quick and to the point sharing of ideas especially in the fast environment that we are in

Overall rating

Michael D.
08/03/2017

Nice content, and timing was perfect.

Overall rating

Pierce W.
07/19/2017

1. The class description did not meet my expectations2. The trainer spent too much time on the case study and not enough time explaining the theory from the book.

Overall rating

Rahena K.
07/17/2017

This was my first time taking an AMA course. I enjoyed the instructors pace and enthusiasm. I learned a lot and will certainly use some of the points in my work analysis.

Overall rating

JEFFREY K.
07/17/2017

Overall rating

John G.
07/10/2017

Pace was good. Instructor was excellent in how she presented the material and engaged the class.

Overall rating

Shannon B.
07/07/2017

This course is very basic and this is not communicated until you are in the classroom. I do not recommend this course if you have been in an analytical role for over two years.

Overall rating

Catherine K.
07/05/2017

The overall course content was organized and informative. This was a very good intro level class for those who wanted an understanding of gathering and presenting data.

Overall rating

Noreen K.
07/03/2017

I found the training to be very informative. The class interaction exercises were very helpful. The instructor Dianne was very knowledgeable and provided the class with excellent feedback pertaining to our required presentations. I would recommend this class and instructor to my co-workers.

Overall rating

Christen D.
07/03/2017

The course was great, and provided some really nice generic tools to use in beginning an analytical project. I would like to see a more involved and higher level analytical course.

Overall rating

Ashley S.
06/30/2017

Overall rating

Terry W.
06/16/2017

Sharon is a great presenter. She obviously knows her stuff, and the class was very engaging.

Overall rating

Michael M.
06/15/2017

Group interaction was great.

Overall rating

Peter K.
06/14/2017

Well delivered material, good team discussion, good for an intro course.

Overall rating

Neville P.
06/13/2017

Overall rating

David C.
06/12/2017

Excellent instructor led course. Would like to have gotten into more detail, but excellent deliveries

Overall rating

Aisha H.
06/12/2017

I like the way Diane made the topic applicable

Overall rating

Cindy W.
06/12/2017

Great course for beginners through experienced analysts.

Overall rating

David L.
05/18/2017

Overall rating

Aimee H.
05/18/2017

Overall, I learned a lot from this course. The instructor was very knowledgeable, friendly and interesting to listen to.

Overall rating

Michelle H.
05/08/2017

When I entered the course: Developing Your Analytical Skills: How to Gather and Present Information on Monday, May 1, 2017, my knowledge base was very minimal. Roughly about three weeks ago I was given a deliverable to write a 3-5 paper on a QFR Workflow Efficiency Analysis paper. I had know idea on how to begin to write this paper. However, now after just completing the course I feel that I can use what Dianne has taught me and take it from the ground running. Diane thank you for an "Awesome Job." Diane I look forward to attending some of additional training workshops.

Overall rating

Barry T.
05/08/2017

The course and instructor both exceeded my expectations. Dianne made the material so interesting and easy to comprehend. She engaged everyone in the class and allowed each of us to use our own real world examples when discussing the course tools. I have already started utilizing some of the processes she taught us back at the office this morning. I am looking at sending serval other employees within my organization to this same course and I hope they are fortunate enough to have Dianne as their instructor.

Overall rating

Dionne H.
05/08/2017

The facilitator was very knowledge about what she was teaching and provided excellent and specific insight/feedback to what we needed in relation to our daily roles at work.

Overall rating

Bonnie M.
05/08/2017

Dianne was a wonderful instructor. The course was well written and she didn't skip a beat. Very easy to follow and kept your attention throughout the entire course. What an intelligent lady! I will easily be able to adapt everything I have learned from her to my company and both my company and I will benefit.

Overall rating

Sharon G.
05/05/2017

Dianne created a safe and comfortable learning environment. She provided "space" for you to process the information, ask questions and gave great feedback. Her focus on ensuring our real world examples were discussed and providing us with tools and solutions that would help us in returning to the workplace better equipped is invaluable/

Overall rating

Jonathan M.
04/17/2017

Rachel is very knowledgeable in the area of Analytics.

Overall rating

Kathy D.
04/17/2017

Overall rating

Jim K.
04/14/2017

Great Course. Presented new tools and ideas to fill in the gaps for many of my business research and analysis techniques.

Overall rating

Julie H.
04/13/2017

Overall rating

Zack W.
04/13/2017

The title and description of the course seemed misleading to me. As an analyst, I was hoping to deepen my skill set, but this was more introductory in nature. The content was good and solid, but again, introductory in nature. I would not recommend if you have been an analyst for over a year.

Overall rating

Balaji S.
04/10/2017

Overall rating

Hubert W.
04/10/2017

Overall rating

Allin P.
04/10/2017

Overall rating

RICHARD Z.
04/07/2017

Course outline and instructor knowledge were excellent. My personnel issue in not rating my overall satisfaction higher has to do with the limited time (2 days) to comprehend and complete the project to my satisfaction. The pace was just too fast for the material being covered. One additional day would be a major improvement.

Overall rating

Kevin B.
04/07/2017

There were some problems with the arrangement of the material in my book but the leader gave me another and so there is no problem. The training was excellent and the instructor was outstanding.

Overall rating

Patrick P.
04/03/2017

Course was great

Overall rating

Jake G.
04/03/2017

Overall rating

Ulughbek M.
04/03/2017

I really learnt how to make information work for me, especially how to make laser focus and to manipulate information. This seminar made some corrections on my life way, so in future I can find good strategy to find my destiny.

Overall rating

Jeff K.
04/03/2017

The course made me feel more confident in presenting to upper management in my organization.

Overall rating

Autumn C.
03/29/2017

I think this class could benefit from including examples of each tool with data from a sample scenario.

Overall rating

Valerie C.
03/22/2017

I appreciated the instructor making the information relevant to my particular situation (informational data vs. numbers). The group was the perfect size -- fun interactive team exercises reinforced lessons. Instructor did a great job of reading his students to maximize engagement. Module reviews were most helpful.

Overall rating

Natallia P.
02/09/2017

Overall rating

Anthony D.
02/09/2017

Very informative and well presented.

Overall rating

Karen B.
02/09/2017

Course was good, not fullynwhat I expected it to be.

Overall rating

Eileen M.
02/09/2017

Overall rating

Yilbert M.
02/09/2017

Great course

Overall rating

Jordan S.
02/09/2017

Overall rating

Adriena G.
12/22/2016

I enjoyed the class & the instuctor was just wonderful. Very knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile when asking questions

Overall rating

Jennifer V.
12/22/2016

I think I was expecting a different kind of analytical training, however the course was still prepared and ran well.

Overall rating

Jennifer W.
12/22/2016

This was a great course, very interactive.

Overall rating

Doreen L.
12/19/2016

the trainer was very informative, pleasant and helpful.

Overall rating

Richard L.
12/19/2016

Class was great.

Overall rating

Norisel S.
12/16/2016

Andres was engaging and very active. He captured everyone's attention and promoted participation in the classroom.

Overall rating

Earskel C.
12/15/2016

Daniel was a subject matter expert. His attention to detail led to one of my many memorable courses I have taken with AMA. During the course the instructor took the time to address all attendees concerns and questions. I recommend allowing him to provide an additional day to the training to allow more time to cover topics covered.

Overall rating

Megan D.
12/14/2016

Overall rating

Chad F.
12/12/2016

This class was very helpful in providing the skills, tools, and framework necessary to systematically work through how to Plan Analyze and Conclude a project to key stakeholders.

Overall rating

Alejandro H.
12/12/2016

Overall course has been excellent. After completion I believe I now have the skills and tools to better analyze and present data.

Overall rating

Jan Michael S.
12/12/2016

the biggest impact from this seminar are the tools that were introduced that will improve my performance in my job.

Overall rating

Sharon R.
12/12/2016

Great course, very interactive. Acquired many new tools.Much more prepared to complete a project, including how to present the information. Was able to gain great insight from other participants.

Overall rating

Eva M.
11/25/2016

Karen was excellent and Ben was helpful when technical issues arose- which happened a lot with me.

Overall rating

Catherine B.
11/24/2016

Karen was very engaging and encouraging. I found the information very valuable!Ben was very patient and excellent on the technical support!

Overall rating

Kim S.
11/24/2016

Overall rating

Rajean B.
11/24/2016

I prefer face-to-face training yet I found this effective.

Overall rating

Alphonso J.
11/11/2016

Overall rating

Mai V.
11/11/2016

Overall rating

Brandon D.
11/07/2016

Instructor was very engaging, very knowledgeable and made a dry subject entertaining

Overall rating

TONY M.
11/07/2016

good tools, could have had more focus on working with data

Overall rating

Sylvia P.
11/07/2016

She was nice, professional, and very knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Jennifer B.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Richard M.
10/13/2016

Overall enjoyed the class, Also the coordinator for the Seattle Area classes does a great job.

Overall rating

Kirby R.
10/13/2016

Instructor was knowledgeable and made the training experience valuable and enjoyable. I am currently trying to make sure other employees from my company get a chance to attend this valuable training opportunity in the future.

Overall rating

Susan H.
10/11/2016

Ann was very helpful in giving real life examples that we all could relate. She constantly summarized what was just taught and asked for us to share with her our thoughts to make sure we did understand the topic at hand.

Overall rating

Jamika J.
10/03/2016

Overall rating

Tod S.
10/03/2016

Overall rating

Ruth B.
09/30/2016

Overall rating

Lynette F.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Farrade H.
09/29/2016

The break out work and group discuss were great

Overall rating

Anita C.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

Jeff C.
09/26/2016

Fine. No earth-shattering content or groundbreaking information.

Overall rating

Antonia C.
09/26/2016

Class went too fast. It needs an extra day to really get the value. The instructor did not use the slides to guide the discussion so it was a little hard to keep pace.

Overall rating

Eric K.
09/26/2016

Very informative, and knowledgable on the subject

Overall rating

Lorraine S.
09/26/2016

Excellent learning

Overall rating

Melissa A.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

Jessica R.
09/26/2016

Overall found the class enjoyable. Would recommend a case study available to those who can't get a problem to solve.

Overall rating

David J.
09/26/2016

Wonderful practical exercises!

Overall rating

Krystal R.
09/26/2016

Perfect course for beginners but even though I am seasoned I still had some good take aways.

Overall rating

Renez Y.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

Katherine S.
09/26/2016

Overall rating

Amy E.
09/21/2016

While the instructor was great and the material good, there was too much information for just a two day course. With the amount of information provided, the material would be better served over a three to four day course in order to really understand and not feel so pressured.

Overall rating

Armine A.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Christina L.
08/04/2016

Overall rating

Maryann G.
08/04/2016

Karen was very knowledgeable and fun to deal with.

Overall rating

Danny S.
08/01/2016

Great class, good pace of information, and some excellent process take aways that will apply to my activity in the organization.

Overall rating

Lourdes H.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Vernett D.
07/21/2016

We should have been reminded or informed before arriving to think of a real life situation or case that we could apply the principles to. Having a computer lab for student use would have been helpful so students could work on their presentations, which BTW should be longer than 3"; thus extending class for a 3rd day til midday might accommodate more time to develop the presentation. We were given a thumbdrive, but I could not access it on the one available computer @ AMA. The brochure indicated we should bring our laptops. I carried my laptop (which is heavy) only to find out afterward from the instructor that it wasn't necessary. As for using information generated from the course exercises, the instructor used the computer to input/record/display student responses/reactions, but the information was not regenerated for student use (i.e., saving, printing, distributing for ea student) but could have been. Perhaps bring a bit more energy and technology into the class setting for students. I thought the curriculum would have focused more working with actual data and producing the analysis of it, as opposed to how to organize it and make a presentation.

Overall rating

Chi-Keung L.
07/21/2016

The interactive class exercises/sessions were very useful and helped illustrate the instructor's teaching points

Overall rating

Colleen S.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Lorraine S.
07/21/2016

Learned some tools to utilize

Overall rating

Pat M.
07/21/2016

Great instructor and class, I learned a lot that I can apply in my job

Overall rating

Karen F.
07/21/2016

Trainer was good but course content was way too basic. It should be more clearly explained in the catalog that this is for people who have never had any formal training in how to analyze. I was expecting this to be more about statistical analysis of data.

Overall rating

Brad F.
07/04/2016

Sharon was a wonderful instructor. However the course was not what I and most of the class expected. We were looking for going into more depth of data analysis skills and improving them, where this class felt more like an introduction to data analysis class. I already knew the techniques and was looking to better my skill set, I do not believe that was acheived. Again, I have no fault with Sharon she was helping us with our needs, but the course itself was a little misleading. I would not recommend this class for anyone in my company, unless they are a fresh hire with no experience.

Overall rating

Sheila D.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Kenneth H.
06/20/2016

The teacher was very engaging and the material was of particular interest to me.

Overall rating

VICTORIA E.
06/20/2016

The class and Patricia was very good, although I thought the class would be a little different- guess I thought more about data exporting and how to analyze it. but I did learn from the training and it will also help me in my job.

Overall rating

Prakash S.
06/17/2016

Very good programme with strong delivery.

Overall rating

Shaquena C.
06/16/2016

I enjoyed the course but not what I expected. I wanted to learn more about how to put data together visually rather than just analyzing it.

Overall rating

James C.
06/16/2016

Overall rating

Thomas G.
06/16/2016

Enough detail, but not too much

Overall rating

Vincent M.
06/16/2016

Very well done . Would have liked if the groups could have been shuffled once but understand why not.

Overall rating

Gina R.
06/16/2016

Excellent course and would recommend to colleagues.

Overall rating

Danielle D.
06/16/2016

I thought the information provided was very relevant to what I do in a day to day basis and will therefore help my daily success in my job.

Overall rating

Chenelle H.
05/09/2016

Perfect size class, level of material and engagement levels for me. I began utilizing the concept and tools on day 1 of returning to the office.

Dianne, our trainer, was great!

Overall rating

Judy C.
04/08/2016

This was a very informative class and the instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

Sandra O.
03/30/2016

Overall rating

Jeremy G.
03/29/2016

The concept of using power point as a research notebook was a new interesting idea.

Overall rating

Rosie J.
02/01/2016

The instructor made this seminar!
She did an amazing job at engaging each of the participants with information being taught.

Overall rating

Kimberly W.
12/31/2015

This seminar was exactly what I was hoping for when I signed up for it. The high level of interaction and "hands on" approach kept me engaged for the entire time. The prep work in between sessions was minimal and did not interfere with any of my normal day to day activities but was enough to keep the prior lesson in mind when returning for the next session. Ann was a very knowledgeable as well as pleasant instructor and kept the seminar running smoothly at an appropriate pace. If you are looking to fine tune your analytical skills, I would definitely recommend this course.

Overall rating

Jim L.
12/21/2015

Overall rating

Stacy A.
11/23/2015

I worked on a project with multiple data points and my summary results made upper management's eyes glaze over. Because of that, I took this class. It showed me how to organize my research and present it in a much better format.

Overall rating

Ryan R.
09/28/2015

Overall rating

Doreen S.
08/06/2015

Overall rating

Lisa B.
08/04/2015

Overall rating

Jesse C.
08/03/2015

While the information in this seminar is relevant to information analysis, the vast majority of it was either very basic (using pie graphs) or so intuitive that it does not require instruction. For people right out of college or people who have absolutely no experience with this type of work I think it could be useful. But for the people it is advertised to (business professionals with some degree of experience) I did not find it valuable enough to justify the investment of time and cost.

Overall rating

Sarah H.
06/22/2015

Not what I had expected at all. I had initially enrolled in this course to learn how to analyze actual data and was disappointed when we skimmed over this section. The focus of the class was on presenting (to include PowerPoint and Excel tips) although some good points were made about clarifying purpose and key points when taking on a new project. The set-up of the class is what I enjoyed most, within the first 10 minutes each group had to get comfortable presenting their first team project, which culminated into a series of presentations that lead to the development of the final presentation using the modules presented. I felt that the class was applicable to all types of professionals (not just those in the business industry) and kept me engaged. But in the end I still struggled with how to turn data points into a table that demonstrates the effectiveness of the results.

Overall rating

Harm P.
06/14/2015

In my opninion there was to much emphasis on presentations and presentation skills. If I would have wanted to improve those skills I should subscribed to a presentation training, what I certainly do not want.
Another comment is that during the training we had to search data for ourselves. To a certain extend that can be valuable, but it was my experience that we lost to much time which could have been used for improving the analytical skills.

Overall rating

Eugene L.
05/26/2015

Overall rating

Eunkyoung L.
04/22/2015

Overall rating

Joyce N.
04/07/2015

The instructor was very knowledgeable and well-educated. I appreciate that the class was structured to give participants ample time to practice the skills being taught. I feel I have tools to implement in my current position that will help me make decisions to positively impact my company.

Overall rating

Louis O.
12/05/2014

Started Slow, but it really delivered!

Overall rating

Dora N.
11/25/2014

I think the seminar was way too basic and the group activity felt more like a waste of time. I think the whole content could have been delivered in 3-4 hours. It would have been great for example to dig deeper and discuss a couple of frameworks management consultant firms use to break down a problem.

I think I spent a great amount of time researching the courses and still it was not clear to me how basic the seminar was going to be. Maybe it is helpful for someone who never studied business / never worked in such environment. I would suggest just trying to make it more clear on the website or maybe allow for switching seminars after the 1st session.

Overall rating

Mandy M.
11/03/2014

Great "hands on" learning experience. Touched on Microsoft Office features that I needed a refresher on and I didn't even expect it. The teacher was knowledgeable and willing to help with any problem that came up. Also, loved the opportunity to meet others through a small class size oriented toward individual AND group thinking/learning.

AMA's location is excellent for someone who is not from the area. Walking distance to several food options and lodging.

Overall rating

Michelle M.
11/03/2014

Presenter provided current, relatable, useful information. Having the seminar be hands on made remembering key points much easier. Interesting and useful.

Overall rating

Sager A.
10/18/2014

It is more a writing course, unfortunatly. Suitable for High school grads.

Overall rating

Erwin Y.
06/13/2014

Seminar content was not what I expected. The course content was too basic.

Overall rating

June N.
05/07/2014

Overall rating

Mike D.
04/11/2014

I found this seminar to be one of the best I have ever attended and the instructor did an excellent job of presenting the information and making sure everyone in the class understood the material.

Overall rating

Lenore R.
03/28/2014

Overall rating

Una G.
11/26/2013

I was a bit disappointed in the content. The seminar was not what I expected. A significant amount of time was spent on group work developing and answering a generic question that had nothing to do with what I was there to learn.

That being said I did learn about two excel chart/graph methods for data analysis that I was able to utilize immediately. If I return from a seminar with at least one thing that I can implement or improve upon then I consider the seminar a success. If the time spent on group work had been devoted to other data analysis tools I would have been more impressed.

Overall rating

donald f.
11/04/2013

very basic without any high tech illustrations or colorful presentations- this was more of a work book class where the spokes person at the table become more of a resource than the instructor

Overall rating

Tony D.
09/16/2013

Execellent instruction which kept my attention. Enjoyed working with and learning from those in my breakout group.

Overall rating

Natalie P.
09/13/2013

The program provided great tools which I can use in my everyday tasks as an Analyst. The tools included lists and charts that are user friendly and easy to understand.

Participating in an online session was more interactive than I imagined. I got to virtually know my classmates and would meet with them in person if the opportunity arose.

Thanks AMA for your great encouragement during the course. The instructors and coordinators were very professional, knowledgeable, and motivating.

Overall rating

Karen L.
07/26/2013

Overall rating

Krisitn W.
07/12/2013

Overall rating

Olimpio T.
06/28/2013

The AMA staff did a great job presenting and facilitating to course.

Overall rating

Kate K.
06/28/2013

Overall rating

Anna R.
04/12/2013

The instructor was good. The material was not. I was expecting to learn more advanced skills.

Overall rating

Ana S.
04/12/2013

Overall rating

Aruna R.
12/04/2012

Everything about the seminar was great except for one thing : The Content. If employees are taking 2-days off from work for a fully paid seminar, the content really had to be meatier and deeper. Starting at 9am, long introductions, long lunch breaks - could have all been shortened. This time could have been spent on doing 2 exercises instead of the single case-study we worked on. There were too many interactive group discussions which used up time. The single case study was a very basic exercise. This could have been an introduction and then used as a stepping stone to a second, more intense exercise.

Overall rating

Toni F.
11/05/2012

Overall rating

Yowanda R.
11/05/2012

Marcia is a great course leader!

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.