/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Harm P.
12/08/2014

Overall rating

Darlene G.
06/10/2014

Great session. The examples Andres used help each student relate the data to our current work environment. I would have like more time working with infographics.

Overall rating

Lisa R.
04/14/2014

Great information and shortcuts.

Overall rating

Jing-Jing Z.
03/24/2014

Overall rating

Daniela T.
03/24/2014

The seminar was great. Very suitable for controller and analysts and a little above and beyond what I needed for my job as a Contract Manager. But I took some very useful "rules" and "current best practices" with me I sure will implement the next time I have to present something to my upper management.

Overall rating

Mark G.
03/17/2014

Shared a lot of great tools that could be used to enhance presentations. The Instructor was very enthusiastic about the subject and shared some great examples. The guest speaker really added to the seminar and reinforced the overall message of the class.

Overall rating

Claire S.
03/10/2014

Overall rating

Jeremey D.
03/10/2014

Overall rating

Jennifer D.
12/09/2013

Great course on how different charts and graphs can make your data more compelling.

Overall rating

John A.
11/11/2013

Need to be clearer that a PC with Microsoft Office is required. It is mentioned once (not prominently) in the course description, and not at all in the e-mailed confirmation ("Get Maximum Value from your AMA Seminar"). I happened to see it and brought a PC, but several people in the seminar did not.

While I did pick up some useful knowledge and tips from the seminar, I cannot say that I could not have achieved the same on my own, with a textbook and about a day to work through it. Thus, I don't feel that the seminar was a very good value.

There was an exercise (creating a dashboard on why Boston would be a good place to locate your business) in which we had to spend some time gathering data via the internet prior to formatting and building the dashboard. This research did not seem like a good use of our time, since the the dashboard and the tables/charts on it were the actual point of the exercise.

The instructor was very personable and engaging, in

Overall rating

Grace P.
11/11/2013

The instructor was not as prepared as he could have been. The presentation excercise was not coordinated properly and too much time was spent on trying to pull data rather than learning the how to prepare a presenation using the data. The classroom was not as engaged as it could have been.

Half the class was not prepared in advance as we were not told to bring a laptop.

Overall rating

Thomas L.
11/01/2013

I learned several different techniques, however, I don't think it was worth the cost of the seminar.

Overall rating

Laura B.
10/22/2013

The class was excellent and there were people of all skill levels in this class so I came away with great ideas and lessons not only from the instructor but also the other participants in the class during group presentations.

Overall rating

Steve J.
10/21/2013

Class material was too elementary. I knew how to make graphs in Excel and Powerpoint before attending class. Not enough time was spent on what makes an effective or ineffective graph and/presentation. For example, should one use the default legends, or should one insert a text box in a line graph near the line and label the line. Examples of effective or ineffective graphs and presentations should have been presented and discussed. Dr. Fortino was an effective presentor and did a good job in leading class interaction and discussion.

Overall rating

Lara W.
10/21/2013

Overall rating

Bradley H.
09/30/2013

Lauri's real world experiences helped frame otherwise very difficult theories. Can't wait to get back to the office and put to use the things i learned.

Overall rating

Tony T.
04/12/2013

This seminar provided me with the knowledge of some new ways to take the standard data reports I pull for our agency, and generate the charts and images that tell the true story and paint a picture that simple numbers just can't do alone. The instructors for the course were very knowledgeable, and offered not only the expected course content, but also the encouragement and resources needed to prove to each of the attendees that we could also produce visual presentations of data that would "wow" individuals within our respective organizations.

Overall rating

Latoya W.
03/11/2013

For a first-time class offering, I thought that the class was good. Some of the participants, including myself, had already been working with the Tableau Software that was key to the training. As a result, I felt like I already knew much of what was demonstrated during the course. So, having basic, intermediate and more advanced exercises would have been helpful. Also, the class was entitled "How to Turn Data into Compelling Visualizations." I would have liked to have seen more examples of compelling visualizations and more of a class discussion about what makes a visual compelling/effective. It could have been useful to see more examples of effective versus ineffective visuals and have a discussion during the class. I thought that the videos shown during the seminar were useful and will reference the class workbook. I do have a new lens to look at our data visualizations after taking this seminar.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.