/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Gregory R.
11/20/2017

I enjoyed the class and will recommend the course to others.

Overall rating

Steve C.
11/20/2017

Susan was a great instructor. Engaging without being forceful.

Overall rating

Sabrina G.
11/20/2017

Overall rating

Brent H.
11/08/2017

The trainer and the material was exactly what I was looking for in this class. We covered a huge amount of information that will help me make better informed decisions at my job. I really appreciated the way Phil could relate to any question or part of the context in the book and teach us through his personal experience as told in a wonderful story. He also kept participation high with each student using his uncanny memory to connect with us, even on the first day.One thing I would like to see would be a better tool for him to show the formulas and math work. Such as a screen on his computer that he can write on and is projected on the overhead for all to see. I've seen something like this before, and it really helps the student follow along.

Overall rating

Matthew S.
11/08/2017

Philip has a great facilitator of this seminar. Very engaging and full of knowledge.

Overall rating

Mark W.
11/07/2017

The class was useful and helped me understand the basic financial statements from a company.

Overall rating

Gregory T.
11/07/2017

This was a great class. I have to deal with accountants quite often and now I understand what they are doing.

Overall rating

Paula P.
11/06/2017

Overall rating

Darek H.
11/06/2017

Instructor was knowledgeable and I enjoyed his analogies to real world.

Overall rating

Brad B.
11/06/2017

Best instructor I ever had.

Overall rating

Jacqueline M.
10/30/2017

The instructor was the most knowledgeable instructor I have ever had. She had real world examples that made the learning meaningful.

Overall rating

Christine D.
10/30/2017

Overall rating

Frank L.
08/23/2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the class and got a lot out of it. The instructor was very knowledgeable and funny. He made a dry topic very interesting with real world examples, including some from his personal and professional life. By doing so, he ensured that the lessons had resonance and real world applications to all of us. He kept everyone engaged without embarrassing anyone and kept the class moving at a good pace. He really made the difference and I can't say enough about him - very good teacher and very passionate about the topic and his class.

Overall rating

Sean R.
08/21/2017

Joe did a wonderful job at getting us to interact and do work to reinforce the concepts.

Overall rating

Lawrence Y.
08/21/2017

Joe was great

Overall rating

Warren S.
08/21/2017

Overall rating

Rocco P.
08/21/2017

Joseph made a boring subject very very interesting. I enjoyed every minute of the class and found it extremely interesting and relevant.

Overall rating

Jasper Ikedi A.
08/21/2017

Very educating and informing. Love the interacting nature of the class and the course leaders approach of teaching

Overall rating

Patrick L.
08/21/2017

Great experience. Took a ton away. Joe is perfect for this course.

Overall rating

Charles V.
07/26/2017

I am a COO with limited financial experience. I spent over 29 years in law enforcement before joining a private sector company. I found that for me, the first 2 1/2 days of the class were the most beneficial. The last 2 days of the class seemed to cover areas I was not really interested in. The instructor was knowledgable and kept the class moving at a great pace.

Overall rating

Michelle W.
07/25/2017

Overall rating

Joseph M.
07/24/2017

great faculty, very knowledgable and good transmitting the ideas and explaining. staff was helpful

Overall rating

Robert V.
07/24/2017

Overall rating

William I.
07/24/2017

Jerry was able to make complex concepts simple and straightforward. He incorporated our real-life business situations into the examples. Exceptional instructor.

Overall rating

Kristin P.
05/24/2017

Bill was excellent. Very knowledgeable and went above and beyond the training book material which was a great bonus!

Overall rating

Jeff K.
05/24/2017

Great format and excellent instruction

Overall rating

Paul A.
05/24/2017

Overall rating

Kermit F.
05/24/2017

Overall rating

Brad R.
04/26/2017

Very informative class helping me understand financial reports better.

Overall rating

Thomas M.
04/26/2017

Good repetition of the principals and a good mix of lecture and interactive examples.

Overall rating

Jose P.
04/26/2017

Good presentation of financial concepts, great ability to answer questions. Very useful case studies

Overall rating

Holger L.
04/20/2017

Joe held this training very professionally and entertaining. He filtered very well what knowledge we participants need in our jobs. He had lots of good examples / stories which "stick" much better than the plain theory of business financials.

Overall rating

Faisal A.
04/20/2017

Overall rating

Bill S.
04/19/2017

This course exceeded my expectations in every way. All of the examples and exercises were hands on and personal and the limited use of Powerpoint and lecture made this a very informative, energizing and worthwhile seminar. Joe the instructor was a ball of energy and he kept everyone involved with insightful comments, timely jokes and real-life examples. I am not sure I would have gotten as much out of the course with a different instructor. He was that good.

Overall rating

Bryant W.
04/19/2017

The instructor was very good. He made a very boring topic "Finance for nonfinancial Leaders" very entertaining. His style of teaching was very inductive to learning. I enjoyed the class and learned quite a bit.

Overall rating

Heather M.
04/05/2017

Very good and comprehensive overview of business accounting. Was very helpful to me. At points I would have liked it to be broken down just a tad more or go a bit slower.

Overall rating

Ashley K.
03/30/2017

This was a really great class. The instructor was very knowledgeable and led the class really well. I learned a lot from definitions of terms to how to apply equations to real life reports. He was willing to go back and spend more time on things that weren't clear as well as do a refresher before building on the earlier principals. The class itself was small and very interactive too.

Overall rating

Amanda S.
03/29/2017

Overall rating

Cory B.
03/27/2017

instructor was knowledgeable of the content, but less competent as a teacher

Overall rating

Roland D.
03/27/2017

Overall rating

David C.
03/27/2017

Overall rating

Gregory A.
02/20/2017

Overall rating

CJ B.
12/21/2016

The instructor for this course very knowledgeable and kept the subject interesting and interactive. The training space was very cramped and not suitable for the number of students.

Overall rating

Jordan D.
12/21/2016

Very good training, covering every aspects of finance I needed to learn. the instructor was very good and dynamic, using examples of everyday life which made it easier to understand.

Overall rating

Stephanie F.
12/19/2016

I really appreciate the structure and depth of this workshop. The interactive and real life examples gave me a greater understanding of financial concepts and terms of which I plan to use in my professional and personal life. Joe is an excellent instructor!

Overall rating

Frank L.
12/19/2016

It was in general well brought by Joe. I liked the storyline and how simplified things were explained while still keeping enough debt of the matter.

Overall rating

Shawna P.
11/08/2016

Overall rating

Brad M.
11/07/2016

Overall rating

Alex W.
11/02/2016

The instructor, William, was excellent. He was thorough and informative, thoughtful and respectful. He led the course with a good pace and allowed time to fully comprehend all concepts discussed. The content of the course was relevent and applicable to any business. The workbook was spotty with it's effectiveness; some of the examples and exercises did not make sense even after being explained the rationale for the book answer.

Overall rating

Tim D.
10/31/2016

Content was interesting, the instructor did a good job of reinforcing the content and added some good content up front that helped understand the information.

Overall rating

Darcy L.
10/31/2016

frustrating that book format/techniques did not match instructors direction. Was sometimes difficult to follow.

Overall rating

Enza R.
09/29/2016

I really appreciated Phi's extensive wisdom on the subject and his focus on what matters for us to take away

Overall rating

Sarah L.
09/26/2016

The small class size was great. It allowed the instructor to get to know each of us and understand our individual goals for attending the class.

Overall rating

William W.
09/26/2016

Phil is the perfect instructor for this course. He is very friendly with a great sense of humor. He is also very knowledgeable and experienced and is able to explain the concepts very simply with excellent examples.

Overall rating

Wally B.
09/26/2016

The instructor (Subject Matter Expert) made the subject very interesting.

Overall rating

Ted W.
09/21/2016

Jerry is knowledgeable, vastly experienced and personable. The examples he gives and the course materials are combined well and the timing of each section is very well paced.

Overall rating

Catherine B.
09/21/2016

Jerry was great teacher. He managed our expectations very well and covered the material at the right pace for the class. The course material was perfect to lay the foundations for non financial leaders.

Overall rating

Allison N.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Rachelle V.
09/21/2016

Jerry ensured we had full understanding of each topic before moving on to the next item.

Overall rating

Richard J D.
11/10/2015

This was an excellent seminar; very interactive, fun, but challenging. The small group atmosphere was ideal allowing close connections with class mates and the instructor. This class was what it was because of the instructor, Frank. He is an excellent teacher that really knows the topic, a rare combination. As an introductory class I couldn't have asked for more; this would even work for some with basic or intermediate knowledge of finance principles.

Overall rating

Daniel A.
10/13/2015

Overall rating

Kejo C.
09/29/2015

It was AWESOME! I learned more than I had ever expected and the training was fun and engaging. It truly was a blessing to have attended AMA because the financial wisdom gained is applicable to all facets of life. I highly recommend this seminar!

Overall rating

Stephen T.
07/29/2015

Phil was an engaging and knowledgeable instructor. Class size was small, and that made it better for me. We really learned a lot from each other as well as from Phil. The course booklet, as always, was and is a great resource.

Overall rating

Jessica N.
07/14/2015

Overall rating

Anita Jo P.
06/23/2015

I already completed a survey - is this a different one?

I was hoping it would be geared more to those without any financial background and also that it would cover more of the non profit world

the instructor did a good job of explaining and using examples for above.

Overall rating

Yulia B.
06/04/2015

Exactly what I expected and even more. Very tailored examples to the organization that I represent. Loved that all case studies were recent and relevant and participants background and current org challenges were considered and analyzed. Very effectively delivered in a personalized manner. Thank you. Was well worth it.

Overall rating

Alex W.
05/12/2015

Overall rating

Jason W.
03/02/2015

Overall rating

Graham H.
12/22/2014

The instructor, made this 4-day seminar an excellent experience. He was engaging, funny, and made sure everyone understood the material and was involved in the process.

Overall rating

Darren E.
12/14/2014

This was another excellent seminar. The training was pretty fast pace and complex at times but I learned a lot of new tools to implement at work.

Overall rating

Joshua M.
09/14/2014

Overall rating

Rebecca D.
07/14/2014

This was one of the best seminars I've ever attended. Phil was a great instructor. I learned things that will help me in my job and in my Board of Directors memberships.

Overall rating

Roxanna O.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Benjamin T.
05/05/2014

Excellent program for any non-accounting executives or senior managers that deal with balance sheets, have profit & loss responsibility, manage a cost center, etc. Heavy on accounting and finance concepts, but AMA does a great job of translating those concepts into your specific reality.

Overall rating

Rod W.
04/28/2014

Class was very good. Very logical progression of learning.

Overall rating

Matthew G.
04/28/2014

Overall rating

Dominic F.
12/16/2013

Overall rating

Debra A.
10/22/2013

Joe took this class to a different level. I'm one that learns by doing rather than ready a text book. He was able to apply the principles of the class to opening and managing a business utilizing the Accounting and Finance rules. By doing so, the attendee had the ability to associate the teaching objectives to every day life rather than simply presenting slides or reading text from a book. The dynamic personality of the instructor as well as his experience in life provided a very unique experience for me than any of the other AMA courses that I have recommended. I have already recommended Joe as an instructor to one of my colleagues and will continue to do so.

Overall rating

Gladys N.
10/22/2013

excellent seminar. I would recommend it to colleagues.

Specifically:
-timeframe appropriate
-materials used for the class were helpful
-instructor was very good at presenting the information in a simplified manner and comprehensively connecting it to real word scenarios to allow studenst to make comparison and derive job applications.

Overall rating

Jennifer W.
04/22/2013

I fully expected to be bored beyond tears with such a dry topic like finance. The instructor, Joe, was anything but boring! An outstanding teacher and master storyteller, he used real-life examples sprinkled liberally with humor and student participation to demonstrate accounting principles and financial rules. His irreverent, high-energy style kept my attention throughout the course, despite the siren call of emails, texts and other distractions inherent with IPhones. Anyone interested in this course should seek out Joe; I couldn't imagine a better experience!

Overall rating

Ashley C.
03/04/2013

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.