/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Andrea M.
11/30/2016

Training had lots of group work so that we could really learn the material and put it to practice. I'm looking forward to using the techniques I learned here in the future.

Overall rating

Nelson A.
11/25/2016

instructor took time to answer each question very thoughtfully. instructor was very knowledgeable and in tune with current trends.

Overall rating

Jeremy K.
11/17/2016

Overall rating

Timothy K.
11/17/2016

Very useful information.

Overall rating

William B.
11/09/2016

Overall rating

Richard E.
11/07/2016

Overall rating

Jonathan L.
11/07/2016

It was great that there is drinks in the room. It would be even better if there is a few cookies or something to munch on.

Overall rating

Ellen K.
11/04/2016

Overall rating

William S.
11/04/2016

Overall rating

Tod S.
11/04/2016

Overall rating

Stephen P.
11/04/2016

Overall rating

Michael D.
11/04/2016

Larry and Karen were great

Overall rating

Patricia G.
11/04/2016

Overall rating

Jasmine Y.
10/31/2016

Overall rating

Douglas S.
10/31/2016

Overall rating

Jeff C.
10/31/2016

Overall rating

Tim D.
10/31/2016

n/a

Overall rating

Jon F.
10/28/2016

Overall rating

Hayley W.
10/27/2016

Good recap of tools that can be applied in every day life and work.

Overall rating

Eric T.
10/27/2016

I think AMA needs to work on the material for this class. The material as presented wasn't very clear or just didn't seem to inspire.

Overall rating

Mark F.
10/27/2016

Overall rating

Evan H.
10/27/2016

Information was very informative and engaging.Information provided was very beneficial to my job and will definitely help with creating better conversations and results.

Overall rating

Michael H.
10/27/2016

Interesting to see everyday life situations broken down into business processes.

Overall rating

Roman B.
10/20/2016

Overall rating

Mashari A.
10/20/2016

the instructor was knowledgeablethe attendees were vividI really enjoyed itthanks

Overall rating

Kem W.
10/19/2016

Interesting subject. Brent was an excellent instructor who ensured all participants stayed engaged. I would highly recommend course.

Overall rating

Gregg L.
10/19/2016

Overall rating

Lin T.
10/10/2016

Overall rating

Tyler W.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Shirley M.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Dawn S.
09/29/2016

Applies to current challenges

Overall rating

Liz C.
09/29/2016

Provided me with understanding of some behaviors and different ways to view the actions of people I work with. Also gave me some new strategies to try.

Overall rating

Gregory N.
09/29/2016

The course itself was fantastic and well led and facilitated.I suggest changing the location away from this hotel as its quality does not match the AMA standards as I understand them.

Overall rating

JoAnn B.
09/29/2016

Loved this class and instructor.

Overall rating

Rob K.
09/29/2016

Great course content.

Overall rating

Jay K.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Cristi T.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Robert F.
09/29/2016

Showed me how little knowledge I have about this subject which is critical to being an effective executive. We respond automatically without realizing it. There is much work for me to do in this area.

Overall rating

Frank M.
09/29/2016

Overall rating

Sean H.
09/22/2016

Overall rating

Clara S.
09/22/2016

thx

Overall rating

Jennifer G.
09/21/2016

Great real world examples and applications.

Overall rating

William H.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Andrea M.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Carena T.
09/21/2016

Great!

Overall rating

Junjie Y.
09/21/2016

nice training

Overall rating

Emma P.
09/21/2016

This is the first online webinar that I've taken and although he is an interesting presenter/speaker, it was hard to stay focused on the training.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
09/21/2016

I learned a lot of useful information to apply at work

Overall rating

Mike B.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Paul H.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jennifer A.
09/21/2016

Ted was the instructor and his knowledge in teaching the psychology of persuasion was excellent. There were 12 high level professionals from pharmaceuticals, financial institutions, insurance company's, retirement agencies, etc. and there were very few questions for Ted. He's that good!

Overall rating

Nikki E.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Evelyn C.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Cara F.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Mark S.
08/08/2016

Overall the course was good. I would have like to seen more instruction upfront then followed by group activities. A majority of the course was on group activities.

Overall rating

MOHAMMAD A.
08/04/2016

Good seminar. Learned a lot of techniques.

Overall rating

James G.
08/01/2016

I thought the instructor did a great job, but I wasn't crazy about the curriculum. It's exclusively focused on sales with no practical examples of how to apply this in a non sales environment. The instructor tried to augment the material with real world examples, but the curriculum needs to be reworked for broader application. The format of the curriculum also got very tiresome. Information is presented, then we immediately have to do some busy work exercises in the workbook. Especially considering the exercises were usually sales focused, it felt like a waste of time. This was my first AMA course, and I'm not sure I would take another.

Overall rating

Denise P.
07/18/2016

I gained a new perspective from the people I met. I enjoyed the hands on participation activities. And I enjoyed learning about different companies. The pace of the course could have been faster. Several people left early and I found it disruptive to the group. Great location in Chicago!

Overall rating

Angela C.
07/14/2016

This course was gear more to Sales.

Overall rating

Jessica C.
07/13/2016

The couse was helpful and I will be able to apply the learnings.

Overall rating

Kristen E.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Jason S.
07/13/2016

Great content and instructor. Good participation from entire class and everyone was willing to help others with specific situations that they are dealing with at their own jobs.

Overall rating

Savannah M.
07/13/2016

I really enjoyed the class :)

Overall rating

Alphonso J.
07/13/2016

Rate a 4 on the training itself. Although the subject matter is not very "sexy" I believe it is beneficial to my work. I rate the instructor's method a 3. The course dragged at times during the 1st day. Thought it was mostly due to the instructor not getting much sleep the night before (he informed us that he was up at 3am that morning). Day two started off much better but not for long. The instructor often attempted to related a story but would forget or not remember some parts of it. Each time this occurred the pace of the training would slow. A little more prep time would not have hurt. I rated this prerequisite material a 1 because I just received the pre-seminar notification today..... 3 days after the training.

Overall rating

James S.
07/13/2016

Subjects covered were more situational, I was expecting a deeper dive into the Psychology aspect. i.e. a Dr. of Psychology would be the instructor. A better title for the class would be "Using Influence and Persuasion techniques".

Overall rating

Jonathan B.
07/11/2016

there was no need for two course books. It would have been easier to follow and clearer to have just one book. Brent was very personable and easy to converse with.

Overall rating

Larry W.
07/04/2016

Drawn out and colloquial. The instructor insulted almost every Title 7 group for two straight days.

Overall rating

Maynard C.
07/01/2016

Overall rating

Tim M.
07/01/2016

Overall rating

Lisa P.
07/01/2016

Michael was excellent. He is a credible instructor who was respectful, not denigrating nor dismissive. He illustrated course materials with examples from his professional experience that well complemented the core materials. I strongly recommend Michael as an instructor.

Overall rating

James S.
07/01/2016

It was a good course overall. some of the material was light. Chapter two in the book looks like the author took a Mulligan. The first half doesn't do more than say "Here it is." with an anedote and a few examples. The second half didn't reate & nothing indicated how it was of value. The editor should have tossed taht one back. I haven't read the rest of the book.

Overall rating

Eric S.
06/21/2016

The pace of the course was extremely slow. The content that was interesting and applicable was some that we did not go through in depth. I think self evaluations of DISC as pre-work would help. I also felt that the majority of the 2nd day we were just reading from the book ourselves and doing repetitive exercises.

Overall rating

Scott G.
06/21/2016

I felt Day One was flat and unengaging. The second day picked and up by being more interactive and dynamic.

Overall rating

Emily A.
06/21/2016

Overall rating

Peter B.
06/21/2016

Very informative, the group activities were engaging and insightful, but most importantly applicable to real world events. This course took knowledge I already had and broke down everyday examples into much more detail, allowing me to view what aspects I can further emphasize to be more persuasive in a professional setting.

Overall rating

Harum M.
06/14/2016

The course wasn't intellectually engaging enough, although I admit my participation was weak-- mainly due to the former reason.

Overall rating

Rina S.
06/14/2016

Overall rating

Josh C.
06/13/2016

The material organization could have been better. I had to print the material off the internet and trying to match the presenters powerpoint with the worksheets got confusing at times. Having the materials sent in a binder would help me with storing the material on my book shelf and reviewing content periodically.

Overall rating

Marisela V.
06/13/2016

This was my 1st online curse from AMA, and it was amazing...thank you Kurt you rock!!

Overall rating

Perry T.
06/13/2016

Overall rating

Heather T.
06/13/2016

Very informative, time well spent.

Overall rating

Nancy T.
06/13/2016

Overall rating

Debbie H.
06/13/2016

Knowledgeable instructor

Overall rating

Olga B.
06/13/2016

Overall rating

Julie F.
03/28/2016

Overall rating

Tom E.
03/28/2016

The seminar was well prepared and presented. Very thought provoking. It provided many techniques to consider going forward. Well done.

Overall rating

Melissa B.
03/24/2016

This was one of the best seminars i have attended, Kurt really kept the audience alive & involved. Learning the different laws was an eye opener. The idea of breaking it down and starting small has really helped me in my current position. Great Class - thank you.

Overall rating

Brendan B.
03/24/2016

Overall rating

Sandy L.
02/29/2016

The presenter was funny and told stories related to the topic.

Overall rating

Marina G.
11/19/2015

Overall rating

Graham H.
11/18/2015

Good facilitator, good material. Boston continues to be a poor location with no wifi.

Overall rating

Anthony N.
11/18/2015

Great instructor, the class provided a lot of good information and good interaction among the students. I would definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in expanding their skills in the Psychology of Persuasion.

Overall rating

Pamela S.
09/24/2015

I thought the course was great.... I just wish I had not read the book first because the whole course was Kurt teaching exactly what was in the book. I thought that after reading the book Kurt was then going to teach additional information to add to what was in the book. The information was still helpful and relevant and I have been able to use it in my work environment.

Kurt was energetic and he kept the class engaged and interested.

Overall rating

Jeffrey W.
09/24/2015

This was a very insightful class. The subject matter can be applied to all area's of your life and business. The instructor was very engaging because she could apply the theory to real life situations.

Overall rating

Porter W.
09/21/2015

Overall rating

Lee Ann M.
09/02/2015

Renee is a fabulous instructor, very engaging and kept my interest high throughout the 2-day course. I don't think I've ever attended a course where the days seemed to go by very quickly - I attribute this to the ability of the instructor to teach using real-world experiences from herself as well as from members of the class......so valuable.

Overall rating

Ping F.
08/10/2015

Overall rating

Joseph T.
07/06/2015

Brent is a great instructor that is vey engaged with teaching. I recommend this course or any other course taught by him.

Overall rating

Tim M.
05/06/2015

The instructor and the material were very engaging. I learned a couple of new tactics that I will be able to apply to my position immediately.

Overall rating

Peng-Wai W.
04/22/2015

A very interesting seminar. The strategies discussed can be applied at work immediately.

Overall rating

Stephanie S.
04/22/2015

The course was engaging and dynamic.

Overall rating

Scott D.
04/22/2015

Overall rating

Manish M.
03/26/2015

It was more of listening seminar than an interactive one. However, I learned few interesting things.

Overall rating

Floyd B.
03/26/2015

Good organizational tools for getting more out of Outlook. Not enough time spent on application of Tasks functions.

Overall rating

Tafadzwa M.
03/26/2015

Genius concepts and clear concept to reality illustrations. Confidence builder.

Overall rating

Justin B.
02/16/2015

I thought the content was great. I feel the instructor could have been a little more engaging. We spent a large amount of time reading the material on our own and filling in questions. She felt more like a workbook facilitator than an instructor. I still learned a great deal, which is what you hope the outcome will be.

Overall rating

Dale Y.
02/16/2015

The first of the twelve 'laws of persuasion' is involvement, and the teaching style (and overall tenor of the class) was very involving. As one with six years of outside sales experience there was some repackaging of sales techniques, but largely the material was fresh.

There was an underlying emphasis on practical 'how to I apply this to the real world', and working in smaller groups these techniques are applicable to a very wide range of individual situations. If you are facing challenges of getting agreements in work (and non-work) situations this class definitely can benefit.

One 'take-home' lesson I learned was why appearance is so important, whether on a cold-call or up on stage. I was able to come up with a list of practical applications during the course - it exceeded my expectations.

Overall rating

Jessica P.
01/29/2015

Overall rating

Paul F.
01/29/2015

I think this should be a required course for every new manager or even experienced leader to bring out the maximum growth and potential of their employees. This was an excellent course due to the passionate instructor, the learning materials, and the opportunities to practice coaching through various situational coaching exercises.

Overall rating

Edna H.
12/15/2014

I felt lost... Not just because we had the issue with the trainer, but because I had the feeling that we did not covered the points in the book and both trainers have different approach on how to teach or cover.

Overall rating

Michael C.
12/10/2014

The course was well presented and informative.

Overall rating

Steve B.
11/21/2014

Overall rating

Brian M.
10/20/2014

Overall rating

Jody H.
09/02/2014

Lots of interaction and full class participation.

Overall rating

Jewell M.
08/29/2014

Overall rating

Kate M.
08/04/2014

This was a good review for me.Kurt has a lot of personality and is obviously quite knowledgeable on this subject - which made the class very interesting and entertaining. His book is a natural companion and goes into detail on the topics discussed in the class.

Overall rating

Alena W.
08/04/2014

This course is fantastic in that it applies both to one's personal & professional life. I appreciated the use of humor & multiple examples to ground the principals taught; our instructor, Brentr, did a good job making sure everyone had the opportunity to participate by applying our own personal work examples, and was encouraging in group and partner activities. The activities and role playing, especially with personal action plans, were a great tool to actively practice applying the learned principles- good stuff, it was broken down and made easy to grasp by open structured discussion & I look forward to applying what I've learned in my professional and personal life!

Overall rating

David M.
08/04/2014

Overall rating

Anamay S.
04/02/2014

I felt like this seminar was a good way to show how different people react to the different types of persuasion. It helped to show me how my own reactions and emotions can affect a situation. This also gave me a better understanding of when and why to use the many methods. The classes were fun and the hosts did a great job in keeping up the momentum and class participation.

Overall rating

Alysia F.
02/10/2014

Overall rating

Dawn B.
12/04/2013

I thought the course was well presented and thought the instructor did a great job. However, I thought the 2 day duration of the course was not ample time to review and discuss all the material presented. I believe the course would benefit students more by extending the duration of the course.

Overall rating

Thim C.
11/29/2013

Overall rating

Paula T.
11/27/2013

Overall rating

April L.
11/22/2013

Overall rating

Vicki P.
10/23/2013

The content was good. I enjoyed the setup of the class and the interaction with the other students. I also enjoyed how the instructor handled covering multiple laws of persuasion in a shorter amount of time (having people from each group go to other groups to explain what they learned while performing their group activity). The only issue was that there may have been too many group activities. It often felt we were being rushed to finish up what we were working on, when were were asked to do a considerable amount of work as a team (which always takes longer to come to a consensus!).

Overall rating

Melissa C.
09/09/2013

The training provided by Kurt was absolutely phenomenal! I feel like I was immediately able to make some changes to improve my ability to influence and persuade others around me both in my personal and professional life. The materials were very well prepared and the instructor made each "law" very relevant to our situations. I would recommend him in a heart beat to anyone!

Overall rating

Michael L.
12/17/2012

Excellent course and an even better instructor (Brent).

Overall rating

Benjamin H.
11/14/2012

***If you decide to share this review please do not include my last name or govt organization name. Thank you. This was one of the most relevant and useful trainings that I have taken in my career. It's applicable to every business and social situation. The instructor was also very knowledgeable and customized the class to provide the maximum benefit to each of the participants. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

Overall rating

Katrina S.
09/25/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.