/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Mike C.
11/20/2017

The instructor was very well prepared and made sure that everyone was engaged in the learning process. I thought it was especially effective that everyone was able to work on a solution to a real problem they were currently facing in the workplace.

Overall rating

Osiris P.
11/20/2017

This training is essential for any professional, parent or whoever deal with personnel.I enjoyed all the comments and the expirieces everyone brought to the class.

Overall rating

Paul R.
11/17/2017

Overall rating

Vernon C.
11/17/2017

Overall rating

Jay Y.
10/25/2017

Overall rating

Vivian K.
10/23/2017

informative, but relevant/important material could probably have been condensed into 2 days.

Overall rating

Jeff W.
09/26/2017

Classroom Materials and Instructor were clear and provided interaction to practice putting skills learned to work. Instructor kept class highly engaged with her teaching style.

Overall rating

Cathlina D.
09/25/2017

Overall rating

Becky W.
09/25/2017

Jennifer was very engaging and had such a wealth of knowledge to answer any question sent her way. She was encouraging and shared personal experiences that brought the course material alive.Only downside to this course was the facility. Though it was in a nice location and the building was clean and modern, the actual room the 7 of us were in was quite small and a little stuffy. It was also torture to see other training groups that were not AMA have lavish breakfasts, lunches and snacks laid out for them that were not an option for the AMA attendees to partake in even if paid for.

Overall rating

Caroline C.
09/07/2017

The AMA staff were very helpful and friendly. Our instructor was very energetic and knowledgeable in the subject of the class.

Overall rating

Tracy P.
09/05/2017

Great discussions

Overall rating

Peter C.
08/24/2017

"The course was excellent, but was probably more appropriate for a younger professional audience. Many of the concepts were things I am already practicing, since I have a 20+ year career in community relations and have learned them through trial and error. Mark did a great job presenting the material and I no doubt learned new techniques that will be helpful I just think the course should broken up into ""Assertiveness 101"" and ""Assertiveness for the Experienced Professional""."

Overall rating

Cory M.
08/21/2017

Very knowledgeable instructor. Used varying teaching methods and media to facilitate training course. My attention was kept the entire time. Going to use this on the job immediately.

Overall rating

Katrina D.
08/21/2017

I felt the material in the course was very helpful and thorough, and the instructor was very knowledgeable and engaging.

Overall rating

Rebekah Y.
08/21/2017

Mark did a great job of varying the teaching method throughout the course to keep us all engaged and to enable us to get a deeper understanding of the material. I enjoyed his story-telling and use of video clips.

Overall rating

Marie Michelle P.
07/26/2017

I was satisfied. the Instructor did an excellent job. I am definitely going to use the broken record method at work to become more assertive.

Overall rating

Patricia S.
07/19/2017

I wish, I could give Jennifer Web a 10 score...she was a fantastic instructor. She gave us lots of tools to use in and out of the workplace. She was not boring, she always gave us real life situations to think about and to work as a group.

Overall rating

Deanna W.
07/19/2017

Excellent instructor and course. I have been back in the office for less than 2 hours and I've already put some of what I learned to use. I cannot thank Jennifer enough for all that she taught us.

Overall rating

Nithin M.
06/01/2017

In class activities were often confusing and proper instructions were not given.

Overall rating

Jonathan Y.
05/29/2017

It is great that there are many practice scenarios and skits.

Overall rating

Divya S.
05/26/2017

Tracy was a wonderful instructor. She is energetic, very collaborative and easy to approach.

Overall rating

Christopher O.
05/26/2017

Customization of class needs 'on the fly' was really effective. Great class!

Overall rating

Michael B.
05/26/2017

Great information and contact

Overall rating

Andrew D.
05/26/2017

Class could have been so much better with two things:A slightly more structured program and a deeper dive in the Instructional Materials.The focus on the class was engagement and activity with the students. As a percentage of the class I would estimate that 20% of the class was spent on lecture and 80% of the class was spent on activities or preparation for activities.I believe essential learning time was lost primarily as a result of excessive amounts of activity. The class was either preparing to do a learning activity, or concluding a learning activity. I would have liked to have seen more theory of the principals being taught.Additionally, the Instructional materials were woefully inadequate. Like the instruction, the materials were a mix of a few bullets, followed by some activities, followed by a few more bullets and buzzwords to define each module. If I were to refer back to my Student Guide from this course 6 months from now, I would have to rely exclusively on my notes, due to the insufficient amount of material provided (There are less than 30 slides used for the entire 3 day class).I, myself, teach a 3-day course, and my materials include 350 animated slides with embedded multimedia content, a lab book filled with 20 exercises complete with step-by-step instructions, description of intended goals, and any related reference material the student may need to complete a lab.I am giving the overall rating for the ILT training delivered a "4" ONLY and PRIMARILY becaus

Overall rating

Ross S.
04/14/2017

I liked the openness and lively discussions. Some instructions had multiple steps and slightly hard to follow.

Overall rating

Emily O.
04/14/2017

Tracy was patient and kind and well informed. She held each student in high regard for their learning styles

Overall rating

David N.
04/14/2017

class was presented well, however sometime there was not a clear understanding of the exercise.

Overall rating

Jozlyn W.
04/14/2017

Tracy was very knowledgeable and provided the course information is an easy-to-understand way. I thought the material was very well written and the course was excellent to becoming more assertive in business and in our personal lives.

Overall rating

RICH M.
04/14/2017

Tracy kept the content interesting with a constant change in how we tackle the material. She was fun and intelligent on more than just the content at hand.

Overall rating

Abraham Y.
03/16/2017

Overall rating

Yvonne C.
03/15/2017

I enjoyed the course subject; information will be helpful with my work life balance. Karen is a GREAT instructor, concerned that all students were advancing at similar pace. I truly benefited from the classroom interaction.

Overall rating

Te'Niijah B.
03/15/2017

Overall rating

Jessica K.
02/20/2017

Overall rating

Leslie K.
02/16/2017

I enjoyed the interaction and role playing. Also, rotating several times was nice and helped each attendee to know each other and how they interacted at work moving forward on deadlines, responding to emails, etc.

Overall rating

Josh C.
02/15/2017

Overall rating

Armen C.
02/15/2017

The Instructor was well qualified, energetic, and involved the class in the training.

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
02/15/2017

Overall rating

Katelyn C.
02/15/2017

Anne, the instructor, was knowledgeable and friendly. She helped foster an open, trustworthy atmosphere. I was also lucky to have an amiable group of professionals taking the training with me. I learned tools I can use immediately at work. I'm so glad I took the course and I believe it will help me take the next steps in my career.

Overall rating

Zubiadah L.
02/15/2017

I learned a lot during the session. I learned the basic principles of DESC and AEIOU. In addition, I learned one of the most important components with Assertiveness is to express my own wants and needs while respecting the rights of others.

Overall rating

Abateneh M.
02/15/2017

The training was best, very usefufuture and help me for future career

Overall rating

Christopher P.
02/14/2017

Teacher was excellent. Course material was broad, and many good tools were provided, along with insight to understand the value and application of each.

Overall rating

Joseph M.
02/14/2017

Overall rating

David L.
12/14/2016

well taught and good info

Overall rating

Rick M.
12/12/2016

Well presented with relevant material.

Overall rating

william w.
12/09/2016

Fantastic course. I am recommending this to my peers.

Overall rating

Thomas K.
12/08/2016

Mark, was a excellent instructor

Overall rating

Eric R.
12/08/2016

This was a very interesting and engaging seminar.

Overall rating

Jim B.
12/08/2016

Great instructor with a wealth of related personal examples. Mark did a fantastic job

Overall rating

Cassie M.
12/07/2016

Overall rating

Brandon K.
12/07/2016

This was a great seminar. The instructor provided a vary lively discussion and encouraged participation among all who attended.

Overall rating

Susan V.
12/07/2016

Mark was very engaging and a fun teacher.

Overall rating

Brandon T.
12/07/2016

Overall rating

Fredy I.
12/07/2016

Great class learned a lot from the teacher gave a lot of real life situations which was very helpful.

Overall rating

Stephane T.
12/01/2016

This training will help for my professional communication and will also have a positive impact on my personal life - as such this training went beyond expectations.

Overall rating

Charles R.
11/24/2016

Overall rating

Yuchun L.
11/21/2016

The instructor is knowledgeable to the topic. The class format is well paced and organized.

Overall rating

Eric S.
11/21/2016

I think there are helpful tips for those with no previous empowerment knowledge or training, but the group exercises and coursework in the notebook do not really represent real world situations - at least, not in my experience. The instructor, however, is excellent.

Overall rating

Abdullah B.
10/24/2016

Many insightful details on assertiveness and conflict management were shared in a safe environment for true situational dialogue and practical application.

Overall rating

Dennis M.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Riad Q.
10/21/2016

Was very relative to my work skills

Overall rating

Theresa S.
09/30/2016

Karen was a wonderful instructor! I appreciated the real life scenarios she brought to the classroom. Our class only contained eight students - I thought it was the perfect size to freely express your thoughts and experiences in a private settings.I forget the gentleman's name, but we also had a host for our sessions that assisted us with registration. He had many suggestions for lunch and parking for the students that were attending from our of town. He is very friendly and a great resource!

Overall rating

Alice F.
09/29/2016

Pat is a revelation.

Overall rating

Ophelia J.
09/21/2016

The course was excellent and will help me while working with difficult colleagues,

Overall rating

Peter D.
09/21/2016

Delivery was great and consistent

Overall rating

Kenneth B.
09/21/2016

The class size was too large for this course, which requires participation from everyone in order to be effective. Audio/Visual materials to illustrate some of the key points would be very helpful. It was surprising that something on par with the audio/visuals that were a part of the advance preparation pre-test were not available as part of the class itself. Instructor was very good, and did the best possible given these two obstacles to an ideal class.

Overall rating

Joanna P.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Cory K.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Kuni S.
09/21/2016

The course was very useful in understanding what it means to be assertive, what the benefits and risks are to being assertive, and how to apply it in the workplace. It offered several techniques that are easy to implement that I have already seen as beneficial to my professional interactions.

Overall rating

David S.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Anderson W.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Tina P.
08/15/2016

I enjoyed the interactions and discussions. The course covered a lot of material wrapped around assertiveness with different personalities, conflict management, saying "No", a couple of models on how to be more assertive, and word choices. I appreciated the small class size because it allowed us to go deep into the topics we wanted to go into.

Overall rating

Andrea W.
07/29/2016

Overall rating

Laura E.
07/21/2016

Linda was very knowledgeable in the course and communicated very well. Thanks Linda for an excellent job!!

Overall rating

Danielle L.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Edward R.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Stephen R.
07/21/2016

Excellent course content. Excellent instructor. Enjoyed being in New York City for a few days.

Overall rating

Eric G.
07/21/2016

Could have been made into a two day seminar. Good content and role playing activities. Definitely need to update the video content played as it appeared to be videos from the 80-90's.

Overall rating

Alexandria O.
07/21/2016

Linda was an excellent instructor. She made the class information, inclusive, and interesting. I learned so many new things and gained great skills to bring back to my job!

Overall rating

Ellen W.
07/18/2016

Instructor created great bond among the group and maintained her energy and enthusiasm throughout.

Overall rating

Rick S.
04/13/2016

The training course was very productive due to both the instructor's real-life experiences and the interaction with the other participants in the course.

Overall rating

Katy L.
12/08/2015

I learned so many techniques for being more assertive. Karen was a wonderful instructor who used many great examples from real life to make all of the skills easier to learn. I would take any other class she was teaching.

Overall rating

Maggie L.
12/08/2015

Overall rating

William T.
11/11/2015

Really great course - lots of valuable information and helpful exercises. Our course leader George was highly enthusiastic and engaging. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who feels they are lacking assertiveness.

Overall rating

David L.
11/04/2015

The seminar was very informative, provided good examples, and had group exercises to reinforce ideas.

Overall rating

Sami A.
10/26/2015

Overall rating

Patrice P.
08/31/2015

Very knowledgeable instructor. Great interactive sessions. I learned a lot, and I highly recommend this seminar.

Overall rating

Shekhar K.
08/12/2015

The class and training material was wonderful. I felt the dynamics, the various backgrounds of the class participants and the experience and teaching style of the facilitator was beneficial. I hope to be challenge if future AMA courses. Also like the new location in the city.

Overall rating

Kip J.
07/29/2015

I really enjoyed the instructor. This is the second course that i have taken through AMA and i learned from both. I can't express enough how much i enjoyed the instructor.

Overall rating

Eugene T.
07/29/2015

Overall rating

KAREN H.
07/29/2015

Overall rating

Shira C.
06/09/2015

This was a very practical and worthwhile seminar. Alexis was an excellent coach and I would highly recommend it.

Overall rating

Jonah I.
06/08/2015

The Assertiveness Training that I received at AMA was different than I expected. It provided a deeper insight of where I was, and provided the tools I needed to improve in areas that were lacking.

Overall rating

Elizabeth D.
04/29/2015

This was a great course. I learned a lot. I now have skills that I can use in my professional life and personal life. I feel more confident and have a better outlook just knowing that I can be assertive and present myself in a positive, confident manner. I highly recommend this class.

Overall rating

Randy T.
03/09/2015

I should have taken it 20 years ago!

Overall rating

TRAVIS T.
01/12/2015

Great class and job well done on uncovering each of our needs. To maintain attention more media variety could have been used (video, audio, lecture, powerpoint etc.)

Overall rating

Sherry N.
11/10/2014

Overall rating

Scott H.
10/27/2014

I am ready to get back to working assertively now. The course leader, Michael was excellent. He engaged the class, helping me personally to overcome what it takes to be more assertive. He made sure to focus on the entire class's needs, yet it still seemed personalized to me.

Overall rating

Jennifer T.
10/16/2014

This was my first AMA seminar and it was a great experience. I learned a lot and enjoyed interacting with the other members of the class. Everyone had something different to offer that further enriched my learning experience. The instructor did an amazing job of keeping everyone engaged and providing real life examples for complex concepts. This class far exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to improve their communication style both in and outside of the workplace.

Overall rating

Heath M.
08/11/2014

Overall rating

Berthing Q.
04/28/2014

Overall rating

Katie G.
11/04/2013

Assertiveness Training was fantastic. I left the training with real tools that I could begin implementing on Monday. Our instructor, Carrie, was outstanding. She led the class in a perfect mix of group work and individual assessments. I felt very comfortable speaking honestly and openly about the issues I was facing and received constructive feedback on how I could translate the learnings into real business situations.

The only reason I subtracted a star is that the AMA did not provide any food during the 3-day session. I was unaware of this and it made day one tough waiting until lunch to get something to eat as I did not have time for breakfast that morning. I don't expect full meals to be served but a small snack would be nice for an energy boost.

Overall rating

Anthony H.
10/28/2013

Overall rating

William R.
10/28/2013

Excellent training, will allow to utilize new skills on my daily work.

Overall rating

Debra R.
10/17/2013

Tracy did a great job. I learned a lot about myself and other people and will follow up with the things I learned to gain confidence and improve my work relationships. For me, the most helpful part of the seminar was what I learned about how to improve my self-esteem.

Overall rating

Bryan K.
07/29/2013

Overall rating

Charles W.
06/10/2013

Great class with lots of practical tips. Tips include how to manage typical situations including the broken record, defensiveness, and those with sensitivity issues. Class draws clear distinctions between assertive and aggressive behaviors and how to manage both without going over the proverbial line.

Overall rating

Maissaa N.
05/25/2013

Overall rating

Joanna K.
03/11/2013

Overall rating

Brent B.
02/15/2013

Overall rating

Paul S.
12/15/2012

Tracy did an excellent job in making the content relavent, interesting and applicable.

Overall rating

Lisa C.
12/11/2012

I found the seminar to be very helpful. The instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

Brian D.
12/10/2012

Barbara was an excellent Course Leader. I was able to gather a great amount of information that I will be bringing back to my place of work to implement! Thank you AMA I will be telling my peers about the experience! Brian Drainville

Overall rating

Matthew M.
12/10/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.