/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Chie H.
03/08/2018

1. Some of the exercises could have been executed better. The one for practicing our responses to hostile questions was too chaotic for me. There were about 6 pairs of people speaking at the same time and I could not read or think at all because I can't think when there's a lot of environmental noise (I have a reading disability, so trying to read in a noisy environment is particularly hard. My cognitive function seem to decline in an environment like that as well). I had to walk out and not participate because I felt overwhelmed, and honestly embarrassed and humiliated that I couldn't process the question and formulate my response. It took a while for me to calm down and collect myself and return to the classroom. I suggest that AMA takes more care in being accommodating to people like me who have reading/learning disabilities because chances are, people who need training like this need it because they have a hard time excelling in the skills because of their disabilities. It may be helpful to ask (as part of the prep work, perhaps) if the participant needs special accommodations to get the most out of a training (do you need extra time to read? can you function in noisy, interactive environments?). I did very much appreciate the instructors care and attention to follow-up, though. She affirmed that what I did (walk out and take a break) was the right thing and that it was good that I was able to take care of myself that way.2) Some of the training materials didn't alig

Overall rating

Alycia W.
03/07/2018

Overall rating

Deborah N.
03/07/2018

The first day was a little slow and too high level needing more specific content. The second day was excellent! and the exercises were very good. Examples and teaching aids were well used and pertinent.

Overall rating

Jacqueline K.
03/06/2018

Janet did a great job teaching the subject and keeping the participants engaged.

Overall rating

Alex V.
03/05/2018

Overall rating

Christina B.
02/20/2018

Denise was fantastic - incredibly knowledgeable about many facets of communication. I really enjoyed this course.

Overall rating

Samantha B.
02/19/2018

The instructor Denise was awesome! She was very knowledgeable of the topic and provided additional techniques. The class size was perfect for learning. I loved the engaging exercises as well.

Overall rating

Stacy S.
02/19/2018

This course was excellent! The small group size enabled the instructor to target the individual needs of each participant.

Overall rating

Kris S.
02/16/2018

Overall rating

Anissa W.
02/16/2018

Great examples and class pace! Role plays very beneficial.

Overall rating

Yasemin S.
02/07/2018

It was an effective training overall. I think it would help to add some more 'in the moment' exercises to the agenda.

Overall rating

Theresa G.
02/02/2018

Overall the training was good. It would have been nice if the training included more quick activities to provide practice on the techniques presented. The subject matter is stressful so additional activities or perhaps short videos would have helped. I did a google search on spontaneous communication and found a lot of good ideas. This presentation in the link below also included some good exercises.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAnw168huqAIt also would have been nice if there were additional exercises where we (students) were video recorded. The one opportunity in the class was perfect for obtaining & providing feedback.Finally there weren't enough exercises on rapid communication. A few improv games would have been fun and helpful. It would have been nice if additional techniques and templates could have been provided.P.S. The venue did not provide any snacks other than drinks. It would have been nice if hard candy or light snacks were provided given the cost of the seminar.

Overall rating

Alicia C.
12/21/2017

The course was really good for mid-level manager in effectively communicating in the moment. It covered relevant work scenarios and the class was extremely interactive. I'd recommend, especially if Susan is teaching - great instructor!

Overall rating

Dustin C.
12/21/2017

Overall rating

Russell P.
12/21/2017

Overall rating

Kit N.
12/20/2017

Valuable content. Skilled and professional trainer. Clean and comfortable facility. I couldn't have asked for more.

Overall rating

Alicia S.
12/20/2017

Overall rating

Lori M.
11/15/2017

I thought this class was amazing! The exercises are practical and I will be incorporating some of the some of the techniques into my day to day. I also appreciated the practice and feedback provided in this 2 day class.

Overall rating

Amy P.
11/14/2017

Wonderful topic, content, and instructor!!! And much needed! One of the best AMA classes ever taken!

Overall rating

Gina A.
11/13/2017

Susan was organized, professional, and the material was relevant. She was engaging and followed the course content while keeping it very interesting.

Overall rating

Charlotte W.
11/13/2017

Susan was an excellent instructor. I felt comfortable and loved the situations and feedback. It was nice to know that I wasn't alone in my insecurities and doubts. I got a lot out of it and I am working on incorporating the methods I learned in my work and personal life.

Overall rating

Thomas O.
11/10/2017

Susan was amazing!

Overall rating

Karen R.
11/09/2017

Susan was a fantastic leader. She kept us on task well and was well engaged in supporting us and our learning.

Overall rating

Joanna M.
11/09/2017

I struggle with effectively and concisely delivering my message in certain circumstances (usually a larger audience and/or when very senior people are present). This class gave me some good tools to turn to, for framing my responses and staying on point. I have a lot of practice to do, but now know where to start!

Overall rating

Laura B.
09/28/2017

I would liked to have gone over or heard more example scenarios that were the "right way" to communicate. I also know it's not possible, but having scenarios in my fields would have been helpful. I had a hard time coming up with my scenarios that would benefit my lines of communication.

Overall rating

Kristine N.
09/25/2017

Overall rating

Dylan S.
09/25/2017

Overall rating

Carol W.
09/25/2017

Overall rating

David D.
07/24/2017

This was a very good course that has given me the foundation and mental templates that will allow me to better communicate in the moment

Overall rating

Sandra M.
07/21/2017

I really enjoyed this course - the instructor Susan had a lot of positive energy, and all the participants were very engaged. I learned a lot of useful techniques and look forward to using them in my day-to-day work.

Overall rating

Beverly W.
07/21/2017

The material was informative and presented in an interesting and engaging manner. The tools shares will be very helpful both professional and personally going forward. The instructor, Susan is very knowledgeable and a wonderful presenter.

Overall rating

Brent S.
07/21/2017

This was certainly a helpful class. I would have hoped there would have been a little more focus on email and phone interaction, as you do have to respond in the moment using those mediums as well. However, the course did help with face-to-face in the moment communication.

Overall rating

Renee M.
06/26/2017

Overall rating

Julie F.
06/14/2017

Instructor was a great teacher. I understood and learned a lot of new material that I can actually apply to my daily job.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.