/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Akua C.
09/14/2018

Kirby was an excellent instructor. He is very knowledgable but also takes into account the different needs of each student. He instructed the class in a way in which it would help each participant. He was organized yet allowed for questions and discussions which made learning very unique and engaging.

Overall rating

Steven H.
09/13/2018

Great course made even better by the fact that the small group setting (4 students) allowed for a personalized and applied learning environment. Kirby kept the coursework engaging and was very receptive to my questions and course expectations.

Overall rating

Lara G.
09/13/2018

Helpful refresher and pick up some new things to try as well.

Overall rating

Kansas J.
08/23/2018

Overall, this session felt more like a review of project management. The content of the course did not cover the anticipated knowledge, information, metrics, tools or techniques for successfully managing multiple projects as the course description would lead a person to believe. The refresher course was beneficial but I am disappointed that the material did not adequately cover the material advertised.

Overall rating

Scott H.
08/17/2018

Extremely knowledgeable proctor, content was too basic however. 75% of the class was spent reviewing basic Project Management material instead of methods for managing multiple projects. Presumably if a person is managing multiple projects at one time then they already know the basics of project management. I was expecting more advanced material.

Overall rating

Alex W.
08/16/2018

I took the "managing multiple projects" class. I am the director of a PMO, and brought along 3 of my project managers. I was under the impression that we would cover how to manage multiple projects. However, the AMA course focused more on remedial how-to-run-one-project material. While the transition slides mentioned multiple projects, the actual meat of the work was one-project focused. Further, when multiple projects were mentioned, the exercises were more appropriate for program management activities, or management of projects that are RELATED. This courseware frankly read like someone took the basic Project Management class and added an exercise on meta-charters. And changed the title slides. I recommend a re-look at the courseware. Make it more advanced and apropos. Add more on stakeholder management and communication management, would be my recommendation. By the way, the instructor was great and did supplement the courseware, in a good way.

Overall rating

Daniel K.
08/15/2018

The Instructor kept the class engaged with real life examples and experiences as it related to class content.

Overall rating

Ashley H.
08/13/2018

Overall rating

Levi J.
08/08/2018

Overall rating

Lisa Z.
08/03/2018

Overall rating

Olga G.
08/03/2018

Valuable knowledge

Overall rating

Sherri T.
06/20/2018

I thought the information delivered in the book and the instructor was very clear and perfectly outlined. Robert kept things on track and made sure he answered all questions as people had them. He encouraged full class participation, which made the experience much more enjoyable, since we were all included and not just one or two people answering all questions.

Overall rating

Kevin J.
06/18/2018

Good content and instructor was knowledgeable about the subject.

Overall rating

Amanda F.
06/14/2018

Robert was attentive ago all questions & comments. The class was not boring by any means and he got the information across clearly!

Overall rating

Melanie G.
06/14/2018

Instructor was engaging with applicable stories to help relay the topics being covered. I was completely engaged with the discussions over the full 2 days of the seminar

Overall rating

Lisa W.
06/14/2018

Class was very well done. Teachers experience, knowledge and delivery were great. i will take away a lot from this class

Overall rating

Jason T.
05/10/2018

Instructor had thorough knowledge of subject and conveyed it well. He used great examples to show relevance and importance of principles.

Overall rating

Matt C.
05/10/2018

He was very knowledgeable and provided real world examples to tie in with the lecture.

Overall rating

Dubie D.
04/02/2018

One of the best classes I have taken with AMA. Great instructor, great attendees, and great experience!

Overall rating

Kyle B.
03/28/2018

Joe was a wonderful instructor. The material was top notch as well.

Overall rating

Cyrus J.
12/12/2017

The instructor appeared not to be familiar with the materials, and often skipped past the instruction to move to barely-related personal anecdotes. She lamented many times how little time we had and that we'd have to stay "high-level," then she'd spend an inordinate amount of time on unrelated personal issues. Additionally, there were several instances where she stated "I haven't read the material," which frankly just won't do. In my opinion I gathered as much real knowledge over the two days as I would have spending 30 minutes with google and Wikipedia. I will not return to a course taught by this instructor.

Overall rating

Matt W.
12/12/2017

Overall rating

Matthew F.
12/12/2017

I am very pleased with the quality of the class and the instructor.

Overall rating

Tom G.
11/08/2017

Overall rating

Jason S.
11/06/2017

Teaches excellent project management skills through interactive experiences. This seemed to be very effective.

Overall rating

Robert M.
10/23/2017

Overall rating

Jon M.
10/20/2017

Overall rating

Sara P.
10/20/2017

I found the training materials to be very interesting and the instructor to be knowledgable and approachable.

Overall rating

Ben S.
10/04/2017

Overall rating

Emily T.
10/02/2017

I really enjoyed Ms. Ensworth's teaching style. She was an excellent instruction and provided great examples to put the concepts into context.This course is focused on the creation of project plans and the integration of project plans when managing multiple projects. It does not address the topics of balancing or prioritizing the management or execution of projects outside of the management through project planning.

Overall rating

Padmini P.
10/02/2017

Pat judiciously taught his class. I learned new information related to project management.

Overall rating

Kim C.
10/02/2017

Training should be tailored towards information that is useful for the participants. I realize there are stated objectives, but if the information is not as applicable to course participants as expected, then the instructor should be flexible and course correct. You cannot be so rigid with the agenda and overlook the audiences needs.

Overall rating

Joy R.
10/02/2017

I really enjoy the hands on format of the class and the obvious experience of the instructor.

Overall rating

Ophelia J.
10/02/2017

Patricia taught the course with focus areas on “Best Practices for the Multi-Project Manager.” Patricia expertise enhanced her instructor’s knowledge along with the handouts and supplemental material and study guide, which greatly enhanced my learning skills and demonstrated clearer and more effective project management skills. Course is highly recommended.

Overall rating

Francisco L.
08/24/2017

I've always managed multiple projects at the same time, however, I've never been trained on how to handle these having a holistic view. I will definitely look forward to get a Program Management class to dig deeper on multi project management.

Overall rating

Edmundo A.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Kimberly A.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Stacy P.
08/24/2017

Though I did enjoy the content and I thought the instructor was engaging, at times I felt that instructions were not clear because we were rushed to complete so much in such a short period of time. At one point a comment was made that we were not using verbs in our examples (in fact, it kept being brought up like we were incompetent school children) but the truth of the matter is that the time crunch forced us to use short hand that we anticipated having the opportunity to explain rather then being called out in front of the group over. I also felt that at times the instructor went off topic or gave us additional information outside of the course material that just lead to confusion rather then to help broaden our understanding.

Overall rating

Brian O.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

JASREEN K.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Sara W.
08/14/2017

A very challenging class to teach with so many different levels and jobs. Instructor did a great job covering the basics to the advanced topics.

Overall rating

Lionel D.
08/14/2017

Mike was awesome.

Overall rating

Mark N.
07/21/2017

The instructor did a very good job of explaining the material. I think allowing more time for the team exercises would make it easier for the participants to soak in the information.

Overall rating

Allicia O.
07/21/2017

I was hoping for a seminar that helped me with maintaining strategic alignment of projects, communication and the use of dashboards. The instructor followed the curriculum and provided the mission statement as a way to stay aligned with strategy, one module on communication and offered brief insight into dashboards when asked.It seemed like the class also focused heavily on basics like work breakdown structure and precedence diagrams. It makes sense, those are black and white. Strategic alignment and communication are the gray areas.

Overall rating

Norbert O.
06/16/2017

Overall an informative and helpful experience. I learned how to apply management and organizational tools to my personal projects to reduce confusion and determine any unknowns before beginning work.I would have liked to see more real-world examples that assume that project scope is not yet defined, and personnel has not yet been assigned to the project.

Overall rating

Steven G.
06/16/2017

Overall rating

Chris W.
06/15/2017

Excellent overall, content, hands-on and instructor all exceeded my expectations, frankly. Excellent practical course, even if you have a strong background in PM, this course may give you additional tools to improve your operations.

Overall rating

Doug G.
05/29/2017

The course was too focused on single project and not multi-project. The instructor was not really open for discussions, but only gave "lip service" to comments or differing points of view.

Overall rating

Victor T.
05/26/2017

Overall rating

Michael Y.
03/29/2017

Enjoyed the instructor and the material.

Overall rating

Craig C.
03/29/2017

Joe did a great job keeping everyone engaged in the class, and covering a lot of ground in a brief duration. His real-world experience provided a wealth of knowledge for the class. It did feel a little rushed at 2 days, and I would suggest extending this out a little. Otherwise it covered a good range of concepts, and seemed to provide value for both seasoned PMP's and folks quite early in their professional careers.

Overall rating

Jhiam M.
03/29/2017

Very informative!

Overall rating

Ryan P.
02/09/2017

Mike was a great speaker, he was able to relate lots of the topics to real life problems. I very much enjoyed this seminar.

Overall rating

Scott R.
02/08/2017

Great instructor - very enthusiastic and informative.

Overall rating

Nolen N.
02/08/2017

Good training. Instructor was well-prepared. Training location was excellent.

Overall rating

Cynthia R.
02/08/2017

The information and examples were all very interesting, clear and consice. It allow me to better understand my current projects and find a more efficient option to manage them. This course also allowed me to reinforced and focus on what is most imortant to consider when managing multiple projects

Overall rating

Mary N.
12/29/2016

Overall rating

Wayne S.
12/26/2016

The instructor explained the purpose of the course well and provided real world examples and explanations of how project management works to us.

Overall rating

Dave O.
12/21/2016

The instructor was good; the content was good; but in several cases the exercises we did didn't enhance or further my comprehension of the content. For example: the negotiating exercise on Thursday afternoon, and the flat tire exercise on Friday morning - they really didn't further my understanding of the material. I would have preferred a deeper dive into some of the content. Also, using a generic case study as the bases for examining the various topics wasn't great. It would be much more useful if participants could come with their own case study example so that the content could be more immediately applied.

Overall rating

Yuliya A.
12/20/2016

Everything was fine, but I would like to receive better and more constructive feedback from the instructor to the in-class group activities

Overall rating

Jou-Ying L.
11/28/2016

The training content was easy to follow.

Overall rating

Lorenzo V.
08/17/2016

I liked that first day was strategic, and second day was tactical.

Overall rating

Justin E.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

SIMON K.
02/11/2016

Overall rating

Melanie R.
02/10/2016

The Instructor was excellent. She had practical real life experience in the subject, and was able to apply that to the theories and practices. The class keeps you captivated and engaged. I highly recommend the course.

Overall rating

Mark G.
01/04/2016

This Seminar provided me with some useful tools (Multi-Project Architecture, Charters, Scope, Work Breakdown Structure, Critical Path and Stakeholders) to implement into my Project Management responsibilities. The level of depth (of the Projects and exercises in this Seminar) is greater than most of my actual projects at this time but still useful as I analysis how to manage my multiple projects.
I really enjoyed the Class Participation and group work. We had a diverse group with all kinds of personalities that really meshed well and added to my learning. Joe encouraged us to be creative and followed up exercises with real world results and stories.

Overall rating

LInh N.
06/21/2015

Overall rating

Mark H.
06/04/2015

Day One was very helpful and on-target for Mulit-Project considerations. Day 2 had more-basic Project Management/Scheduling activities that was less-specific about Multi-projects.

Overall rating

Patrick G.
06/03/2015

Overall, the class was very good. I think maybe more beneficial for individuals without any project management training, but this was definitely a good refresher regarding best practices for settting up projects. There were some tools shared regarding resource allocation, but I think I was looking for more tools and techniques for managing multiple projects...

Overall rating

Thomas B.
06/03/2015

Seminar was a good review of previously learned techniques. There was little new that wasn't covered in the other Project Management courses. Instructor had a thorough knowledge of the subject matter and was informative and kept the course enjoyable.

Overall rating

Nootan S.
12/22/2014

Positive/ interactive.
Great learning and networking experience.

Overall rating

Julie C.
11/21/2014

The speaker was good, he engaged the participants however the material presented I didn't feel was as relevant as it could have been for PM who are faced with challenges of running multi projects. It was more focused on Project Management in theory not best practices in effeciently running multiple projects.

Overall rating

Kris M.
09/22/2014

The room was a little small.

The content was great!

The instructor made learning enjoyable.

Overall rating

Kimberly E.
02/10/2014

Great seminar!

Overall rating

Reema O.
11/26/2013

Overall rating

Ryan S.
11/22/2013

Stan was a great teacher for this course. He had an obvious knowledge of the subject material and brought a great energy and passion to the course. I would definitely go to another AMA course that he teaches.

Overall rating

Leslie T.
10/19/2013

I enjoyed the presentation style which created engagement of all the participants, and the real world situations used to emphasize the challenges of a multi-project environment

Overall rating

Erica N.
08/21/2013

The seminar was very informative. My instructor was extremely knowledgeable of the subject matter. She kept the class motivated with activities and role play which corresponded with the material being presented. The knowledge gained from "Best Practices for the Multi-Project Manager" was easy appplied in my daily work activities. I will definitely return to another AMA seminar in the future.

Overall rating

Cherie B.
08/19/2013

I felt that our instructor was extremely prepared and knowledgeable when it came to the topic we were discussing. At no point did he lose my attention or spend too much time on any one item. The flow of the training was smooth and it kept things moving forward.

Overall rating

Lenora M.
07/01/2013

The instructor was very knowledgable and she engaged the class which was very helpful.

 
AMA is one of the most widely recognized leaders in business training, having provided corporate training solutions for over 95 years. From leadership, communication and managerial training to sales, customer service and analytical skills, AMA has developed a vast array of content and training solutions to help individuals and organizations achieve business results . Each year, AMA delivers thousands of seminars and courses across the United States. With courses offered in a  classroom near you or live online, AMA is a flexible, convenient resource for all of your organization's talent development needs. AMA also offers customized solutions based on your specific talent development requirements.

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.