/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Steve C.
02/18/2019

The content was very well presented, there was a lot of information to cover, but Mr. Marino did a wonderful job of pacing the presentation and making sure that all questions were answered, or addressed before moving on to the next topic.

Overall rating

Brian L.
02/18/2019

Overall rating

David B.
02/18/2019

Very informative. Mr. Marino is very knowledgeable and explains the concepts very well

Overall rating

Rosie O.
02/11/2019

Objectives were achieved!

Overall rating

Connie W.
02/11/2019

Overall rating

Art V.
02/06/2019

I thought the class was very well organized and the group discussions were a perfect way to learn the material.

Overall rating

Cynthia W.
02/06/2019

Great information but could have been a day longer to cover move material.

Overall rating

Khalil H.
02/01/2019

Overall rating

Sabrina W.
02/01/2019

The class moved along at a good pace. Karen always stopped along the way to be sure that everyone's questions were answered. The pre-conference videos are intimidating. Some of us discussed in class that we had concerns about the class being too advanced for us based on the videos.On another note, the AMA offices are beautiful and well appointed. I was impressed with beverage station and comfort of the classroom. Also, the rest room is very nice.

Overall rating

Maura Y.
02/01/2019

Karen was a wonderful instructor! I walked in the door a little nervous knowing nothing about accounting or finance, and left feeling comfortable with the material. The class covered the basics well and incorporated current events to talk about why it's important. I'm now able to make better business decisions thanks to this class. Thanks!

Overall rating

Michelle H.
02/01/2019

The presenter covered all subjects as promised, and made sure that veryone in the class understood so that no one was left behind. She did not consider any question as "stupid", and answered till there was a complete understanding. She had interesting facts that got your brain working between breaks to try to keep students attention.

Overall rating

Pavel K.
01/31/2019

Overall rating

Sharon N.
01/31/2019

Gained knowledge of the difference between the Income Statement, and the Balance Sheet. Learned how to properly record items on the Balance sheet.

Overall rating

Clinton D.
01/30/2019

This training was the most useful training that I have received in my career. I highly recommend this to anyone that is responsible for a budget.

Overall rating

Brianna M.
01/28/2019

Overall rating

Curtis O.
01/28/2019

First day building lost power. This was out of their control and instructor adjusted accordingly by utilizing natural lighting.

Overall rating

William H.
01/28/2019

Great Instructor, First Class Service as Usual.

Overall rating

Vicky S.
01/28/2019

This was one of the best training sessions I have attended. The facilitator and training material were engaging and informative.

Overall rating

Alison B.
01/28/2019

Overall rating

Chad P.
01/28/2019

Great information. At times I felt it was a bit too in-depth for non-financial managers, but overall the content was helpful.

Overall rating

Todd R.
01/28/2019

It was a lot of material to cover in 2 days

Overall rating

Tim H.
01/28/2019

Material was good and relevant. The teacher was just OK.

Overall rating

John W.
01/28/2019

Outstanding instructor! The instructor, although very good, had to move at a breakneck pace in order to get everything presented in 2 days. It was entirely too much information to digest. I have taken 3 other courses of the past 8 months and was very please with those courses. I can't express strongly enough how disappointed I was with how this class was presented. If this remains a 2 day course, I would never recommend it to anyone. If it was a 3 day class, I would recommend it. Everyone in the class complained that the amount of information was too much in such a short period of time. To do the MBA Program, which I would like to do, I feel like I would have to retake this class in order to be prepared. That would be very costly for travel, hotel and food.

Overall rating

Tahra N.
01/28/2019

The class was delivered as promised — accounting for the non financial mind. The instructor had significant expertise and could break down the material so that we clearly understood! She even had relevant and interesting examples. I also thought that the class had a good balance of the concepts and the practical applications (math problems for example). Lastly, the instructor was VERY engaging and the days went quickly...my brain was tired by day two not surprisingly!I have constructive feedback in one area — focus more on the concepts for chapter 6 (profitability) and then the math problems to a lesser extent.

Overall rating

Craig P.
01/28/2019

Very well presented. I feel it could use come more practical application training. Also the support documents could be more organized and easier to use.

Overall rating

Jim B.
01/28/2019

Joseph was excellent. He was engaging and entertaining and his real-life examples of financial principles in action were enlightening and encouraged a practical appreciation of them.The content of the two pre-course videos was very good, but the presentation felt somewhat rushed, that it quickly became more technical than expected.

Overall rating

Jacqueline O.
01/16/2019

I really enjoyed the classroom part of this seminar. The instructor was very personable and gave real world examples. I did not enjoy the prerequisite videos though. I found that it went too in depth and would have preferred a third day in the classroom instead.

Overall rating

Iris H.
01/14/2019

I want to say "thank you" for teaching this course as I discovered that you are an excellent teacher. I found this course very rewarding and practical.I was very unhappy with the online video. I am a person that need to be in a class room environment.

Overall rating

J Madhavi L.
01/14/2019

Joseph was sharp, witty and delivered a dry topic in a very engaging manner. The fundamentals of accounting and finance were clear in the hands on approach he took to instruct it. It really should be a three day class. The preclass video was very difficult to access.

Overall rating

vivian w.
01/14/2019

Joe was an awesome instructor.. His presentation enabled me to understand the subject matter, as well as have fun learning the materials

Overall rating

Patti T.
01/14/2019

Overall rating

Ebey K.
12/24/2018

I learned a lot about corporate finance especially around cost estimations and budgeting.

Overall rating

Chris R.
12/21/2018

I enjoyed the 2 day class and thought Karen did an excellent job in teaching the material.

Overall rating

Deborah C.
12/20/2018

Overall rating

Mike S.
12/20/2018

Overall rating

Marie T.
12/19/2018

Overall rating

Matthew C.
12/19/2018

Overall rating

Matt B.
12/19/2018

I was getting a bit nervous a few weeks away from the class because I had received nothing regarding the class up front. I receive adds everyday for AMA’s array of classes but had to dig for a contact to ask for information about the class I had already signed up for, like where it specifically was to be held, etc. Another student told me the same thing.

Overall rating

Mary B.
12/19/2018

Overall rating

Leilani W.
12/19/2018

Overall rating

Brett B.
12/19/2018

Overall rating

Tiffany R.
12/19/2018

Great information and delivery was at the right pace.

Overall rating

Al T.
12/19/2018

A lot of information in a short period of time. I felt there were some parts of the course that were not fully reviewed due to time constraints.

Overall rating

Kim C.
12/10/2018

The class would be "excellent" if I had more knowledge ahead of time. There was almost too much to learn for a complete newbie. Maybe some upfront easy youtube's and other readings to catch up to the level of this class.

Overall rating

Rachel B.
12/10/2018

the content is very difficult, but Lauri and Mike did a great job

Overall rating

Pilar D.
12/10/2018

Too much information in a short period of time

Overall rating

Quincy M.
12/07/2018

Overall rating

Saji P.
12/07/2018

Overall rating

Santhosh C.
12/06/2018

Overall rating

Brian L.
12/06/2018

This was a great class. Ton's of new information. Jerome bring years of great learning to the table. I would not mind if this had been 3 days. We were doing a bit of the drinking from a firehose.

Overall rating

Vincent D.
12/05/2018

instructor was clear and gave great examples of how the topic being covered worked and even gave examples from his experience to help me understand different topics.

Overall rating

Michael H.
12/05/2018

Good course overall, only change might be a little less of calculating the equations and more on why they are used (meaning behind them).

Overall rating

Chas B.
12/04/2018

Overall this training was great. Very informative

Overall rating

Randy D.
12/03/2018

Bernie has great experience and presents the material in a way that is clear. He also associates the material with real world examples.

Overall rating

Patricia W.
12/03/2018

This seminar was very helpful. I feel I better understand financial reports.

Overall rating

Diana C.
11/29/2018

I think the course is designed well, and I think the material is good. It is too much for two days for people who have no concept of the overall material. Instructor was very knowledgeable but did not connect well with the class, read from the book a lot, and the fact that it was now a two day course seem to throw him off a bit.

Overall rating

Jeremy B.
11/22/2018

Instructor was phenomenal, but the varied experiences of the attendees made it very difficult, some had never had any financial training, while others were fairly progressed.

Overall rating

James H.
11/21/2018

Best instructor I've ever had for an AMA course

Overall rating

Brian R.
11/21/2018

This was excellent. Thank you so much!

Overall rating

Alexander W.
11/21/2018

This course professionally addressed many of my knowledge gaps in a structured manner, I now feel more compatible with my colleagues and fully able to speak the language of finance.

Overall rating

Mark P.
11/21/2018

Overall rating

Jim C.
11/20/2018

It was at just the right level for me. I was able to learn new concepts while building on what I had already learned coming in.

Overall rating

Lorena D.
11/19/2018

I learned much more than I anticipated and it was very engaging.

Overall rating

Peggy K.
11/19/2018

I would have liked to see examples of service based industries. Also I would like more time on all of the subjects to understand them better so if this was split up in two courses instead of one. All that said, I did enjoy the course!

Overall rating

Constance H.
11/19/2018

Would have liked a little more time during the exercises.

Overall rating

Nissa R.
11/19/2018

Overall rating

Izabella M.
11/19/2018

Overall rating

Celia G.
11/19/2018

Peter was so knowledgeable and used real world examples for us to understand the subject better. I appreciated on day 3-4 when he said "there's a lot to digest" as I was losing confidence in what I remembered from the previous session. I didn't leave the class fretting, rather empowered and WAY more knowledgeable. Mike was amazing too in running the show and was always prepared.

Overall rating

Neil E.
11/16/2018

Overall rating

Suzi K.
11/16/2018

Overall rating

Jeri Lynne B.
11/16/2018

Overall rating

James M.
11/15/2018

Great class. Joe is a very knowledgeable, yet fun and interesting instructor.

Overall rating

Frank P.
11/15/2018

Joe’s real world examples keep the class engaging

Overall rating

Karie H.
11/15/2018

Joe was fabulous!

Overall rating

Joe F.
11/15/2018

Overall rating

Tammy R.
11/15/2018

Excellent course and instructor! I would definitely consider taking another class with this instructor. His style of teaching was great! I learned a lot!

Overall rating

Elisa M.
11/15/2018

Instructor did a wonderful job of keeping the class engaged. Not your typical sit and listen lecture.

Overall rating

Zina J.
11/14/2018

Overall rating

ELEODORA A.
11/14/2018

Liked the instructor and the material was well explained, but based on the title of this course, I was expecting more people without Finance background. I felt I was the only one in the group without it, and could not participate actively on the discussions. If this course is for those without Financial background, the delivery and discussions needs to be adjusted

Overall rating

Brian M.
11/12/2018

Frank is an excellent instructor. Really knew his stuff and presented in a fun, dynamic way. The pre-seminar videos were not as helpful as the in-class training. They were pretty bad, in fact. Would recommend redoing those or eliminating all-together. Also, while the in-class training was excellent, it was a little more advanced than I anticipated. It felt like we jumped right in the middle, with some assumption that we already had some accounting/finance background.

Overall rating

Mike .
11/12/2018

Great introduction to fundamentals of finance/accounting. Pretty much exactly the level of detail I hoped for.I'm a tough audience, but Frank was a perfect 10. Engaging and able to field questions about people's particular and widely different situations.

Overall rating

Andrew A.
11/07/2018

Overall rating

Keith R.
11/07/2018

William did an excellent job at presenting the material in laymen terms. There were many opportunities to work out the data so you could gain further understanding.

Overall rating

Nathan D.
11/05/2018

I didn’t know much about finance and accounting. This class went in depth of both subjects. I can now understand what my finance and accounting team is telling me.

Overall rating

Mitchell L.
11/05/2018

The course did exactly what was indicated in the synopsis.

Overall rating

Leroy K.
11/02/2018

Had Technical difficulties that made it harder to follow

Overall rating

Delilah M.
11/02/2018

Content was great along with the instructor. A lot of material covered that probably needs more time than the total 12 hours for the session if you have not had any finance classes before this one.

Overall rating

Dan J.
10/29/2018

Very informative and helpful in understanding the fundamentals of accunting and finance

Overall rating

Tucker T.
10/29/2018

Overall rating

Thomas D.
10/29/2018

Overall rating

Thomas B.
10/29/2018

Overall rating

Doug R.
10/29/2018

Very informative course, taught by very knowledgeable Instructor.Highly relevant.Very enjoyable!

Overall rating

Marie-Ange Z.
10/29/2018

Provided a lot of good information, and helped me feel more comfortable with the terminology.

Overall rating

Fiona G.
10/29/2018

Great class

Overall rating

Isaias R.
10/26/2018

It was a lot of good material. I only wished we had at least 3 days to fully cover all materials.

Overall rating

Laura M.
10/25/2018

Pete was great in facilitating the course with relevance to the audience and we all agreed that he kept us all engaged and I feel more informed b/c of his class.

Overall rating

Brandon J.
10/24/2018

Awesome trainer. Very engaging and thorough.

Overall rating

Chris R.
10/22/2018

Very informative and presented in a manner easily understood

Overall rating

Joel S.
10/22/2018

Great training. It brought together the terms I have heard, and understand better their impact to different financial documents

Overall rating

Brett S.
10/22/2018

Frank Abbott, our instructor, truly knows his stuff and not only does he know it, he is adept at training others, in terms and with examples that they understand!

Overall rating

Jeffery F.
10/17/2018

The class felt really rushed and for those attending with a very limited background in finance it was difficult to follow along at some points.

Overall rating

Cyrus C.
10/17/2018

Outstanding

Overall rating

Crystal S.
10/17/2018

The amount of content seemed like it was packed into 2 days which I believe forced the instructor to teach at a fast pace. Instructor was awesome and knew her stuff but I felt would have been more effective had she been given more time.

Overall rating

Linnea L.
10/15/2018

Overall rating

Christina H.
10/10/2018

Miles extensive background and real life experiences made this class come to life. For a non-finance major this is a very dry topic and he found a way to make it fun and break it down into terms the class could stay engaged.

Overall rating

James D.
10/10/2018

This course was a great refresher for me since obtaining a business minor 6+ years ago. I currently am not in charge of any financial decisions within my organization, but the course provided great insight into factors that need to be considered for such decisions. The instructor, Miles, was excellent! He provided the attendees with such wealth and breadth of real world accounting knowledge. I look forward to taking more business courses with Miles.

Overall rating

Lance W.
10/08/2018

Miles was full of information and definitely has the enthusiastic needed. By far the test teacher and class I have ever had. Will be looking up to see what classes Miles is teaching for future classes.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
10/08/2018

Miles made this course very interesting and helped the lessons take real gold in my brain. He made sure each of us can apply the knowledge to our own situations as well.

Overall rating

Kevin B.
10/08/2018

Enjoyed the course, learned a lot, instructor was very informative and well versed in subject

Overall rating

Garfield L.
10/08/2018

I love the real world examples.

Overall rating

Kristin W.
10/08/2018

Chia-Li was an excellent instructor! She used lots of real life scenarios that engaged the class.

Overall rating

Jesus Manuel R.
10/08/2018

Excellent information and the teacher has a lot of knowledge in this course.

Overall rating

Eric B.
10/08/2018

Miles was very personable and made the lessons very easy to relate back to my own company.

Overall rating

Nancy H.
10/05/2018

a little fast paced - would have preferred the 3 days that were originally scheduled.

Overall rating

Cynthia B.
10/04/2018

Overall rating

Brian H.
10/01/2018

The course was delivered in a logical fashion, building throughout the class. The instructor delivered the material well and provided relevant and interesting real world examples. Considering the material isn't the most exciting, the class for me held my attention and I learned a great deal.

Overall rating

Irene V.
10/01/2018

The reason I rated the course a "4" is because although I appreciated that it was only required to be away from work for only a couple of days, I would have appreciated a little more time to dig a little deeper into the Financial topics. Also, the fundamentals of FInance were more relevant to what I needed vs. the Accounting. My expecations were captured on the first day, however I do not beleive I received the explanations for 2 of the 3 topics. It was not because of the instructor, who I appreciated very much, but rather due to the amount of time dedicated to cover the topics.Also, I might have missed it, but I do ot recall receiving any instructions to prepare for the course - other participants apparently had.

Overall rating

Calvin T.
10/01/2018

Well put together class very informative.

Overall rating

Anissa W.
09/27/2018

The Facilitator made the information relatable and easy to understand.

Overall rating

troy g.
09/27/2018

Good knowledge and teachings. Helps me to lay a stronger foundation. Could be longer as a lot of info packed in short time frame and numbers makes it harder.

Overall rating

Pamela M.
09/27/2018

Overall rating

James S.
09/27/2018

Overall rating

Wayne E.
09/27/2018

Overall rating

Jim H.
09/26/2018

Good Information very well taught,

Overall rating

Minyoun W.
09/26/2018

Frank was a delight!

Overall rating

Adam H.
09/24/2018

Outstanding presentation with great information.

Overall rating

Jack H.
09/21/2018

a lot of information quick the course leader kept it interesting.

Overall rating

Russell K.
09/21/2018

Very understandable level of information. Covered a significant amount of material in a short time frame, but not so much that it was overwhelming. Excellent instruction. Well organized. Good visuals and materials, but probably could have been coordinated a little better, since we went back and forth between two-three documents as we we working though the training or an exercise. Consider incorporating all the handouts into the booklet. Wished we had used a private company instead of a public one as the example (even if it was fictional data). I think only 1 attendee out of 8 were in a public company. Instructor was very knowledgeable, articulate and inviting.

Overall rating

Chad J.
09/20/2018

This was a very valuable seminar! Frank explained the information clearly and with enthusiasm. Some how he was able to make finance and accounting "fun".

Overall rating

Emanuela B.
09/17/2018

The teacher is very knowledgeable and makes at a trait course interactive and relevant for attendees. Best part is Annual Report review

Overall rating

Antonio P.
09/17/2018

I think it was evident that the class had been cut from 3 to 2 days. The subject of operating budged was relegated to a web course to watch after the class was over with. And I have not been able to access that module.

Overall rating

Aya S.
09/17/2018

Vey informative and taught in a interactive fun way that you will be forced to always remember with realistic examples.

Overall rating

Louis S.
09/17/2018

I think there was a lot of material crammed into 2 days. When I signed up for the course it was 3 days. The fact that there was only 4 students in the class was a blessing otherwise we probably would not have made it through all the material.

Overall rating

Denise P.
09/13/2018

Very good introduction to this topic for folks who have little experience with Finance and Accounting, as well as a very good refresher for those of us with some experience.

Overall rating

Alan O.
09/13/2018

Pre-work emails got “lost” in all AMA Marketing emails. Get at least 1 email a day from AMA.

Overall rating

Russ H.
09/13/2018

Good learning experience, we covered a lot of material in 2 days

Overall rating

Monique S.
09/13/2018

Joe is fantastic. So much more engaging than the video prework. He was able to make the concepts relatable and got us all involved.

Overall rating

John M.
09/13/2018

Joe did a great job keeping the classes attention and making the material interesting and relatable.

Overall rating

Garrett K.
09/13/2018

Joseph is a fine, knowledgeable instructor. A true asset to the AMA.

Overall rating

Joseluis V.
09/13/2018

Lack of snacks

Overall rating

Nicole H.
09/13/2018

Overall I thought this was a very good course and really helped provide me with a better understanding of Finance and Accounting. Our facilitator Joseph made it very entertaining and kept my interest! His background and real life examples ‘made’ the class!!

Overall rating

Elizabeth S.
09/13/2018

Great presenter and very interactive and dynamic. Always kept me interested. Too fast paced, though, and would have liked to focus more on how to apply the finance portion on my everyday work.

Overall rating

Tim C.
09/13/2018

Overall rating

David B.
09/12/2018

I did not receive the pre-work and the instructional handout workbook for the course contained many inaccuracies/errors. Therefore, I do not have any reference material that is comprehensive and correct to study/learn from. Is it possible to send me the pre-work video and an updated course workbook once it has been corrected/updated? Thank you.

Overall rating

John M.
09/10/2018

Instructor was very Knowledgeable, enjoyed the class. Some of the reading material needs to be proofread.

Overall rating

Anthony H.
09/03/2018

Instructor was well versed and knowledgeable

Overall rating

Tom M.
09/03/2018

Overall rating

Dan K.
08/31/2018

Jody was really informative and made learning the concepts easy and fun

Overall rating

Angelique H.
08/31/2018

Great instructor, clear and easy to understand.

Overall rating

Carmelo S.
08/31/2018

A lot of material covered , very interesting and useful. Was very important to cover basic ground in order to absorb and understand the future topics.

Overall rating

Prasanth N.
08/31/2018

Covered all the topics with good explanation by giving some examples for each topic. Tutor has got good amount of experience. Really good to attend the 3 day course.

Overall rating

Stephen S.
08/22/2018

Excellent teacher with multiple years of on hands experience.

Overall rating

Kim M.
08/22/2018

Overall rating

Kristen E.
08/22/2018

Really good material and instructor. Great experience.

Overall rating

Anna S.
08/20/2018

The course and Instructor Peter were excellent. He taught the class with enthusiasm and was very knowledgeable. I would recommend this class to those who want to learn the basics of fundamentals of finance.

Overall rating

Kathy L.
08/20/2018

Overall rating

John O.
08/20/2018

Very good instructor

Overall rating

Brett P.
08/15/2018

Overall rating

Hector G.
08/15/2018

Good, practical and applicable content to my work.

Overall rating

Amber B.
08/15/2018

Overall rating

Randi G.
08/14/2018

Very good course, i recommend it to anyone looking to get a better understanding of accounting and finance.

Overall rating

Leslie R.
08/13/2018

Overall rating

Joe V.
08/13/2018

Very good content and the delivery of the materials was excellent

Overall rating

Mercedes V.
08/13/2018

Overall rating

Jeff P.
08/13/2018

Jerry did a good job reinforcing all the topics so everyone understood to the same level.

Overall rating

Diane L.
08/08/2018

Alexandra was very knowledgeable on this topic as well as being very patient will all of us as we tried to understand the information being taught to us.

Overall rating

Ryan F.
08/08/2018

Organized information presented very well.

Overall rating

Star Q.
07/26/2018

Susan delivered the information well, she was very knowledgeable on the material. Beings that I am from a much smaller nonpublic company she was able to help me look at my information so that I completely understood the information.

Overall rating

Krysta G.
07/25/2018

I believe it was a great course. However, I feel like it was at points, over my head as I went in with little to no knowledge on the Accounting and Finance. I feel as if this course should be longer so we could really focus on certain chapters.

Overall rating

Kandi N.
07/25/2018

Overall rating

Danielle L.
07/25/2018

Susan is an excellent instructor and the materials are well written.

Overall rating

Ashley M.
07/25/2018

Overall rating

Lisa C.
07/24/2018

I liked the instructor and my colleagues were wonderful. The course should have been more finance focused though..too much time on accounting. I also think that the instructor was good, but used teaching techniques more suitable for a younger audience not so much the working professional.

Overall rating

Lola E.
07/23/2018

I have taken an AMA course before, which is why I returned. The MBA course taught by Joe Giordano was amazing! I was hoping to have the same experience but was left disappointed. I understand there is a lot of content but I wish there were more examples and exercises led by the instructor instead of being left to attempt to figure it out. I didn't think it was a good use of time. I think the instructor is use to dealing with students instead of a class of adults with little financial experience. The instructor was no Joe Giordano.

Overall rating

Jeff W.
07/23/2018

Great class, covered a ton of material but in a way you could learn.

Overall rating

CYNTHIA G.
07/23/2018

As a non-accountant who has learned bits and pieces of accounting over the years to research financial statements, comply with accounting department requirements, process payrolls, and even make journal entries I wanted to understand how my knowledge fits. This seminar gave me context with a concise summary of the body of knowledge and allowed me to fit what I know into that big picture. I also look forward to better understanding of the periodic reports my company presents to all employees. And I hope to have opportunity to use some of my new knowledge. This was exactly what I wanted. I am very pleased that it delivered.

Overall rating

Christie H.
07/23/2018

Well run, well paced, and engaging.

Overall rating

Jared B.
07/23/2018

Lots of interesting/important material. Really liked the instructor.

Overall rating

Adam H.
07/20/2018

I thought Susan was interesting and knowledgeable. She was the right combination of academic and practical and seemed very comfortable presenting and knew the material incredibly well.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
07/20/2018

Overall rating

Susana S.
07/20/2018

I am very happy and grateful to have participated in this seminar. It has given me the opportunity to understand financial terms in a simple and very entertaining way. It has also given me the necessary tools to analyze the financial statements of my company, I can only say, thank you very much

Overall rating

Nate L.
07/20/2018

Left feeling more confident around financial analysis then I came in with.

Overall rating