/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Marc W.
05/04/2018

Marcus provided a variety of tools to use to help create our own stories, for different purposes and audiences. A busy two days, but I can start using this as soon as I get back to the office.

Overall rating

Roxanne B.
04/19/2018

Overall rating

Matthew M.
04/18/2018

I thought it was a good training. I got a few nuggets, but I really think it could have been a lot more since we had 2 full days. The bulk of the training was us talking about ourselves. I like hearing about stats and research, but there were none of that. Overall, the instructor was phenomenal and from the few stats he provided, he showed us how it could be applied in real life

Overall rating

SONIA A.
03/15/2018

Michael was very knowledgeable and shared stories and experiences that made the course very relevant and memorable.

Overall rating

Christina F.
02/15/2018

Material was interesting

Overall rating

Vicki H.
02/14/2018

Excellent presenter, he did a great job of engaging us and making the two days very fun and informative! I learned a great deal.

Overall rating

Ariel M.
02/14/2018

Really enjoyed the class, got a lot out of the experience and I will apply what I have learned to my presentations and stories.

Overall rating

Anna T.
02/12/2018

I would say this class would be beneficial if you are interested in spending two days identifying stories to share and practicing sharing them in front of a group. You will learn some basic principles of stories and suggestions of where you might want to pull them from. For someone who does a lot of public speaking and is looking to really take their storytelling to the next level, they might find this class a little slow and frustrating.

Overall rating

Christa M.
02/12/2018

Overall rating

Andrew K.
02/12/2018

Overall rating

Elise P.
12/22/2017

Not only did I learn how develop great stories and incorporate them into my writing, I also had a blast. It was worth the cancelled flights and misplaced luggage!

Overall rating

Morgan T.
12/22/2017

I was hesitant at first but found the small class size helped with the learning objectives and in instilling confidence with the content.

Overall rating

John M.
12/21/2017

Brent brings much more than the course would’ve offered. Without his adds, this would’ve been a 3.

Overall rating

William P.
11/20/2017

This course was an excellent course and had a wonderful instructor who knew the material and how to present it. The instructor went above and beyond to ensure that the material was understood, applied and stored for future use. An excellent overall experience and I would recommend the course and instructor to all!

Overall rating

Maria Luisa C.
11/20/2017

I learned that knowing how to tell a story is more important than I thought. As mentioned by Mr. Knight"People that tells stories have a tendency to survive" A good story history can raise your credibility.

Overall rating

Sylvia W.
11/20/2017

Dan is great instructor, he takes the time to coach.you and gives you feedback in how to improve, i realle appreciate his advice on my story telling presentation, he told me to slow down, pause and ennunciate, I will treasure forever his advice and appreciate his valuable feedback.

Overall rating

Naureen A.
11/20/2017

Good interactive course. A lot of participant engagement. Nice breaks n good pace.

Overall rating

Kelly M.
11/20/2017

I was engaged the entire time! I really loved the techniques Dan shared outside of the content of the course. He kept us on track! I would have like to work with different partners in the future. Overall, it was fantastic and could be applied in both work and personal lives! Thank you!

Overall rating

Wesley B.
10/12/2017

Overall rating

Eugen M.
10/11/2017

I liked the pace and the activities including switching up teams. This keeps the interest level and involvement up.

Overall rating

Sarah K.
10/06/2017

The sample and practice stories should have been tied back to a work place issue.

Overall rating

Pam E.
10/06/2017

Instructor was accessible and engaging - gave us plenty of oppertunities to practice without feeling too much pressure to perform.. Was able to create an inviting, accepting atmosphere within the group

Overall rating

Modeane W.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

Catherine I.
08/24/2017

The seminar was not what I was expecting. It wasn't clear to me from the description that this was all oral storytelling. I assumed it would be more about how to tell stories about your organization or company's work, but instead it was focused on using your own personal stories in presentations or in person meetings. And even in that regard, it felt redundant; we each would tell one story and then have to listen to eight more with roughly the same feedback.

Overall rating

Terri M.
08/17/2017

Very effective class. Interesting to see my own improvement as well as my classmates' improvement.

Overall rating

Paul R.
08/11/2017

Good class. Instructor seemed a bit scattered at times and I felt stressed at times. Probably not much different than real life situations.

Overall rating

Sarah K.
06/29/2017

For someone in the communications field, the content was too basic and simplistic. I don't feel as if the course description was accurately portrayed in the classroom as there was a lack of connecting the content to actual professional communications' storytelling. The focus was more about personal relationship building than crafting a compelling message for your target audience.

Overall rating

Rose S.
06/27/2017

This course helped me develop a story framework to enhance my business meetings with personal and related stories. I have reasons to develop stories starting immediately to motivate and inspire collaboration.

Overall rating

Robert S.
06/26/2017

Dan is a great story teller, and very helpful, but the class was not well structured and not well lead. Not enough time for us to prepare and present stories - i.e., practice. Too many different types of stories. Would be better to just focus on 3 types of stories that we could prepare for and practice. Then just learn about the other 3. I left the class with some new knowledge but little confidence or ability to apply the knowledge. Day 2 we spent time on a group exercise about what we learned which was fun but useless and wasted over an hour. A group exercise on Day 1 to help everyone get to know each other would have been better and sufficient.

Overall rating

Christopher G.
06/26/2017

Our company drives 4 and a half hours to go to these and stay at a hotel. That is how worth while they are.

Overall rating

Jeannie R.
06/26/2017

I found this class to be less than fulfilling because I don't think there was enough time allocated for learning new techniques for delivering a meaningful story. The class could have been extended an additional day to allow more time for practicing and getting feedback. I took away a few nuggets for improving my story telling skills in the work environment but I would like to have gained more confidence in my ability to deliver.

Overall rating

Lauren H.
06/26/2017

The straightforward tips and customized feedback provided by the instructor, Daniel, were most valuable. I was able to debrief my manager and HR with several valuable tools, tips and takeaways.

Overall rating

Naiffer R.
06/22/2017

The content of the course was bit abstract for me but Dan was a great instructor and tried to illustrate with demonstrations and real examples the key points of the material

Overall rating

Redona D.
06/22/2017

Overall rating

Nalinee R.
04/17/2017

Overall rating

Merri E.
04/17/2017

It wasn't what I expected but once I understood the objective it fully delivered.

Overall rating

Bradford N.
04/17/2017

I had an expectation gap and misconception of difference between presentation and story.

Overall rating

Jack H.
04/17/2017

Overall rating

Flower H.
02/15/2017

Easy to apply my learning- Can use this just able anywhere and anytime

Overall rating

Joshua C.
02/14/2017

First day was too slow

Overall rating

Gloria C.
02/13/2017

It was excellent and the lessons were valuable.

Overall rating

Stan S.
02/13/2017

The class time went by quickly. The instructor, was clear in the objectives of the class. He first gave examples of what he was looking for in storytelling and challenged us to come up with our own stories using the provided templates. I noticed gradual improvements in the presentations of my fellow classmates. This class was what I needed in order to be effective in my job as a training specialist.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.