/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Patricio R.
10/31/2017

I thought it was a very good seminar, insightful and presented well.

Overall rating

Lynn F.
10/30/2017

I felt the content was outdated and didn't apply to as many as it probably used to. Since there was a cost associated with it, that probably made me ever more critical of the 90 minutes spent in the seminar. What would have benefitted me even more would have been discussion about virtual meetings, being responsible for taking minutes as well as running a meeting and the concept of multi-tasking as that's the world we work in.
What I heard supported many of the things my team is already doing, which is good, but I was definitely hoping for more learnings.

Overall rating

Holly S.
10/30/2017

This seminar is meant for administrative people taking notes at meeting.

Overall rating

Debbie P.
10/06/2017

The course was fast paced and understandable. Great points about speedwriting. Will be very helpful in my work.

Overall rating

Peter R.
10/04/2017

The title of the Webinar was very misleading. The 'Meeting' term should have emphasized that of an official and formal Board type meeting. We were looking for tips and hints on actually taking meeting minutes. I think there was one or two slides and 5 minutes on what we were seeking. Pretty much a near waste of our time.

Overall rating

Cheryl H.
10/02/2017

I appreciated the handouts. And the quick read of our comments. Overall, the seminar helped me to understand how I can make my minutes much better.

Overall rating

Jennifer N.
10/02/2017

After attending this webinar, I feel confident that I could write great meeting notes by referencing the material provided.

I was hoping that more of the skills would be transferable to general note taking. I did capture some gems that will really help me though.

Overall rating

Susy M.
08/04/2017

Too much on agenda building.

Overall rating

Human R.
08/04/2017

The webinar sounds more like record than live webinar. In addition, it's very hard to follow.

Overall rating

Krystal B.
06/29/2017

Interactive webinar with multiple speakers

Tools - relatable; useful; greatly appreciated

Overall rating

Erika B.
06/27/2017

Overall rating

Lascelle M.
06/27/2017

Overall rating

Kenneth G.
06/27/2017

I didn't realize this would be for such formal meetings and most of it didn't apply to what I was hoping to gain. That could be my fault if I missed it in the description though.

Overall rating

Vernelle S.
06/26/2017

Overall rating

Tiffany C.
06/26/2017

Very informative and even though I have been taking minutes for a couple of years, this Webinar gave me excellent ideas to better my skills.

Overall rating

Lisa W.
06/26/2017

I don't know how this seminar was because I didn't notice it was in eastern time and I missed over 50% of it. I find it odd that you gave me a date/time in a zone other than central. When I used your chat to advise you that I missed the seminar I was told to read the archives. I would like to have been offered to take this again another time because now I am unable to ask questions if I only listen to the archives.

Overall rating

Sandra S.
06/26/2017

Christy Woods was a wonderful presenter She provided the key steps involved in the minute-taking process which involves pre-meeting preparation all through finalizing the minutes. In addition, she referenced the Robert's Rules of Order, provided best practices for note-taking and summarizing minutes, and provided handouts containing useful information.

Overall rating

MARY J.
06/26/2017

Overall rating

Elaine P.
04/07/2017

I gained a lot of insight from taking this seminar. Although I have been taking meeting minutes for a long time, I never quite understand how and what I should be capturing and how to then transcribe it into the accurate readable minutes. I love all of the ideas of providing us with certain key words to use and how to best keep ourselves organized before and after taking the meeting minutes.

Also being able to see how to use the correct tense throughout the meeting minutes was a big help as well. I would totally recommend this seminar to anyone who needs to be in the role of note taker.

Overall rating

Tracey R.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Maricr B.
04/07/2017

The course was very informational and useful. I would definitely recommend this course for those want to learn how or having issues in taking meeting minutes.

Overall rating

Shekima W.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Lucy S.
04/07/2017

This is a comprehensive course on minute taking, and Q&A afterward was very valuable for all participants.

-clearly defined difference between note-taking during meetings and producing minutes afterward
-we will be adding day-of-week, along with date to help avoid confusion in both our minutes and in our invitations to meetings
-lots of other handy tips to make minute-taking easier and even enjoyable

Thank you!

Overall rating

Donovan E.
04/07/2017

Great course with very useful information and I really appreciate the large PDF we got for attending the webinar. The one thing that I believe could use some adjustment would be the polls that are done. I know they are simple however I believe that due to wording that they skew the information you would really like to gather.

Many minute takers are first level/entry level employees and even if they are experienced the organizations and Boards typically dictate the minutes. I would encourage you to create a poll to determine how consistently many of the minute takers fall into the above category I gave and to see how much control they actually have over the minutes format. You may find that a course to educate organizations and business' about minute taking costs may be quite beneficial and extremely practical for them to attend. Thank you.

Overall rating

Beth H.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Lynelle W.
04/05/2017

Overall rating

LILLIAN B.
02/13/2017

Great webinar. I'll definitely use tips when preparing future meeting minutes.

Overall rating

Anne M.
02/13/2017

Overall rating

Julie C.
02/13/2017

Learned some basics in minutes recording, i.e. don't need to know who said what, just that it was said. Good suggestions on shortcuts to make the most of my time.

Overall rating

John C.
02/12/2017

Excellent instructor! Concise Instructions!

It will be even better if it's done by video.

Overall rating

Patricia G.
12/19/2016

Overall rating

Sheila S.
12/19/2016

Overall rating

Toni B.
12/16/2016

I found the length of the seminar to be just right. The topics were covered well but not overkill.

Overall rating

Leslie C.
12/16/2016

Very informative and spot on for taking minutes

Overall rating

Denise Q.
12/16/2016

Overall rating

Lauren D.
10/03/2016

Overall rating

Amy J.
10/03/2016

Ms. Woods is clearly very knowledgeable and experienced in this arena. She did a great job going through the presentation and also offering anecdotes from her personal experience, which was very helpful.

Overall rating

Stephanie G.
10/03/2016

This webinar was very informative and educational. Thank you.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.