/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Cassandra C.
11/17/2016

Tom was engaging and kept the classes very interesting. It can be hard to sit through full days of classes and there was not one moment where I was bored or uninterested in what he was teaching/discussing with the class. I learned an incredible amount of information and he gave me an amazing boost of motivation to improve the purchasing department at my current job as well as work on professional development for my future career in purchasing. Thank you so much Tom!

Overall rating

Munawar S.
11/11/2016

Excellent course experience and had a wonderful instructor.

Overall rating

Gladys M.
11/09/2016

The course was very informative and an eye opening on many issues that I have always taken fore granted as a Procurement expert

Overall rating

Kim Z.
11/09/2016

Overall rating

Ryan C.
11/07/2016

Overall rating

Justin S.
11/07/2016

The course was very informative and detailed.

Overall rating

Elizabeth R.
10/21/2016

Overall rating

Wallace D.
10/20/2016

Course leader Michael was excellent.

Overall rating

Noah M.
10/19/2016

I really enjoyed the whole seminar. For once, I actually took a class that was completely relevant with what I am doing.

Overall rating

Brian B.
10/18/2016

Overall rating

Mark L.
10/17/2016

Overall rating

Stephanie S.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jerome J.
09/21/2016

"Excellent is the rating specific to the training and the Instructor." Unfortunately, the venue has drawbacks. Participants were routed to different locations to pick up bar-coded badges and staff seemed to be always in a hurry and not as helpful as they could have been.

Overall rating

Bill C.
09/21/2016

Excellent educational opportunity

Overall rating

Jeania S.
09/21/2016

Toi was a great teacher. It was obvious she had a lot of buying experience.

Overall rating

Jason S.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Andrew B.
08/01/2016

I am very pleased that the instructor was able to give examples (real-life in some cases) that helped make certain topics clear.

Overall rating

Danielle D.
07/29/2016

Mr. Fisher was extremely thorough with going over the material.

Overall rating

Jenny M.
07/08/2016

Overall rating

Ben C.
07/07/2016

Overall rating

Savitha K.
07/07/2016

Overall rating

Lisa A.
07/04/2016

This was my first AMA conference to go to and I believe overall it was very good.

Overall rating

Jessica H.
07/04/2016

The class was great, we covered a lot of material, but all of it was very relatable and easy to follow. It was great to hear from other professionals that seem to have the same questions and concerns I face. I'm taking another AMA course (Successful Product Management) in August and I am very excited to learn more.

Overall rating

Alex K.
07/04/2016

The course was well laid out. The instructor was very knowledgeable and articulate. I was very impressed at how well we were able to cover and retain so much material in three short days.

Overall rating

Tenika M.
07/04/2016

My biggest criticism would be having a book that was written in 2008. You cannot have current real-life training on an 8 year old book that talks about facsimile's and "the internet". Very dated. Our instructor would talk about how certain things really needed to be updated....AMA certainly needs to just buck up and do it.

Overall rating

Jordan J.
07/04/2016

Overall good training. At certain times, it seemed that we spent too much time on very simple, common sense subjects. I would have liked to move quickly through basic concepts or concepts that should have been learned already in most college degrees, and focused more on strategy and philosophy.

Overall rating

Scott K.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Ryan D.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Dana M.
07/04/2016

Not all areas pertained to myself and my company, but I did take a few things away from the course that I can use at the office. I would have liked a little more content on inventory management in this course.

Overall rating

Matthew F.
07/04/2016

the course was very effective. I learned a lot of new terms and practices I will be able to take back to my company and use.

Overall rating

Cecil R.
07/01/2016

Overall rating

Stephanie F.
03/14/2016

I felt that there was a condensed amount of material covered, and that it could have been broken up with more activities intermixed with the content. There were some, but it was hard to maintain focus with the length of time spent on just core content.

Overall rating

Chris W.
03/14/2016

Overall rating

LYNN D.
02/04/2016

Instructor was very organized and knew the book very good since he wrote it.
I enjoyed the class very much, being a new buyer it helped me understand all the different areas of the job.

Overall rating

Shawn H.
02/03/2016

Recently attended a seminar lead by Thomas. He shared his experiences and knowledge of various areas of purchasing. I walked away from this seminar feeling empowered and ready to add more value to my company. He took the time to field any and all questions. Also provided his email so we could contact him later with any questions that might come up after the seminar. This was a professionally run seminar that provided valuable training and experience.

Overall rating

Peggy L.
10/22/2015

The instructor had vast knowledge and experience in the business world, yet for this course he was able to distill this knowledge into focused and relevant points related to purchasing. Sharing of his personal experiences in business was invaluable as we were able to learn through real-life examples. Last but not least, his humorous and engaging teaching style created a fun environment in which it was a joy to learn.

Overall rating

Mark C.
10/21/2015

Overall rating

Echo M.
09/16/2015

I can truly say that I had a great time. It was nice to see that some of the issues that I have in buying other people have. It was also nice to be able to bounce ideas back in forth to solve current problems that buyers face. the instructor was very knowledgeable, this seminar is one to take whether you have been a buyer for awhile or just starting out.

Overall rating

Brian S.
09/16/2015

This was a good seminar. Instructor was very solid in his knowledge. I think it may have been better to have it fit into 2 days and some of the math sections left out.

Overall rating

Theresa H.
08/24/2015

I enjoyed the class, I learned a lot of new information and a lot that could be applied from previous jobs to new ones. The instructor was very knowledgeable and the class was fun! I would definitely be interested in more AMA classes and suggesting this class to others.

Overall rating

Ali H.
08/24/2015

Overall rating

Sal R.
08/24/2015

The course covered a wide range of topics that are important to the procurement profession. 3 days was just enough time to talk through the topics. Some topics were discussed more in depth compared to others. The course was definately geared more towards larger procurement operations.

Overall rating

Rolando L.
06/17/2015

Overall rating

Barbie W.
05/26/2015

This was a very informational class and Tori the instuctor did a great job.

Overall rating

Lynnette J.
05/26/2015

Wish it was more in-depth - I know it said Fundamentals, but when I called they said is was much more than fundamentals - I disagree.
This is most certainly for the new buyer.

Overall rating

imtiaz a.
05/17/2015

very infornative and educative seminar

Overall rating

Dana P.
04/13/2015

The content of the course was great. It covered everything I could think an individual entering into the purchasing field would want to know. The instructor, Thomas, was very knowledgeable with the course and had "real world" experience, which was a great resource to pull from. The only drawback was the lack of role play in the training sessions. I would have benefited greatly from practicing a negotiation session in a learning environment.

Overall rating

Liz E.
12/07/2014

Wonderful conglomeration of all subject matter that is pertinent to my current position. Well taught by a knowledgeable instructor with real world experience.

Overall rating

Jordan S.
12/06/2014

Overall rating

Lakesha S.
10/20/2014

Overall rating

Maria Z.
10/11/2014

Everything that was outlined was covered in depth and I was able to take so much out of it to bring back and will be able to apply.
The group of people in the class were very interactive and a lot of conversation on how different aspects apply to different industries.

Overall rating

Kirstie K.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Lindsay D.
04/14/2014

Fundamentals of Purchasing for the New Buyer was very informative. It was a 3 day seminar and even after day 1, I felt more confident and educated. Prior to the seminar I completed a learning objective agenda and upon completion of the seminar, all of my objectives were covered, and then some. The instructor kept the seminar lively by using true to life examples he had encountered in his career. There truly was not a dull moment. I feel confident that I can add more value to my position and organization. I would absolutely recommend this seminar to any new Buyers, and I look forward to attending more AMA seminars.

Overall rating

Rhonda S.
03/17/2014

Overall rating

Rachel W.
09/23/2013

Overall rating

Sarah W.
09/23/2013

Overall rating

Matt A.
08/27/2013

Instructor was very knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Tammie H.
08/26/2013

The Fundamentals of Purchasing for the New Buyer seminar was excellent. I learned many new techniques for dealing with vendors and negotiating.

Overall rating

Mat C.
07/01/2013

Very engaging, but if I had anything to say as to the negative, it would be that the seminar seems largely focused on purchasing in a manufacturing firm's capacity. Not too much integration of purchasing situations in construction, for instance. Otherwise, very good seminar.

Overall rating

Jose C.
05/20/2013

I was given the responsibility of managing a group of buyers and I actually question my boss over it, being that I have had no prior experience in the field. This seminar was very appropriate for my lack of knowledge and gave me some good insight on what to expect from both my group as well as potential vendors.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.