/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Monica T.
09/26/2016

Well planned, facilitator very knowledgeable. Support (Mike Aguilar) ready on top of his game.

Overall rating

Marcus O.
09/21/2016

The instructor did not make a deep dive into the material. Content was use more as reference points and we only scratched the surface of critical thinking. Less organized/structured and more improv.

Overall rating

Daniel R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Allin P.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Breann H.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Douglas O.
08/17/2016

Seminar instructor was well versed in the subject matter, with practical knowledge in industry that she could refer to throughout the seminar in order to make salient point during the presentation of the course material.

Overall rating

Rene O.
08/17/2016

Overall rating

Marcie H.
08/15/2016

Overall rating

Shilpa K.
08/10/2016

Participant materials could have been rearranged better; other classes in the past did it better.

Overall rating

Caroline S.
08/10/2016

I definitely learned some key points from the class.

Overall rating

Jamika J.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Paul B.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Amanda T.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Forrest T.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Holly W.
08/05/2016

Instructor never lost a student, not even after lunch:)Interesting examples supported the material being taught, there was a good balance of lecture, self-reflection and group work time, and the class met the stated objectives.

Overall rating

Mike H.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Angella M.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Patrick W.
08/05/2016

Overall rating

Cynthia F.
08/04/2016

Overall rating

Shannon K.
08/04/2016

Great class with great instruction! The instructor gave insight and perspective to the materials that really helped me understand how to think more critically in all situations.

Overall rating

Ayush S.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Cynthia G.
07/25/2016

Overall rating

Beatrice H.
07/25/2016

Everything was excellent, the instructor, the materials, the tech support, the virtual setup was easy to use, intuitive.Maybe test some other headsets & mic devices and recommend something higher end for better experience.

Overall rating

Julie W.
07/22/2016

Presented lots of good ideas for me to take back and apply. It does take me a little while to absorb all these, though. I need to read through them a couple of times.

Overall rating

Megan W.
07/22/2016

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

Overall rating

Deb N.
07/22/2016

I found the case study presented at the end easier to work with than coming in with my own dilemma. Because your classmates don't have all the details on the problem and your situation, it's hard for them to comment sometimes.

Overall rating

Jing Jing L.
07/21/2016

practical

Overall rating

Lai-King M.
07/21/2016

Scale down reading the materials given and lecture, spend more time on exercises and practices.

Overall rating

Dan J.
07/21/2016

Knowledgable and well spoken course leader. Somewhat dry material 2nd day.

Overall rating

Brian A.
07/14/2016

Overall rating

Pamela H.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Brian S.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Orlene H.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Donald V.
07/13/2016

Overall rating

Kimberly C.
07/11/2016

Overall rating

Steve J.
07/11/2016

Great class and the instructor was phenomenal!

Overall rating

Doug M.
07/04/2016

Instructor was very knowledgeable and did a great job facilitating the course.

Overall rating

TJ M.
06/29/2016

Overall rating

Gerald W.
06/28/2016

Good info, Good instructor, can use training to be a better critical thinker

Overall rating

Latoyia G.
06/28/2016

Overall rating

Gerald B.
06/28/2016

Instructor seemed strict at first, but had our best interest in mind. Very personable and professional.

Overall rating

Victor Y.
06/27/2016

Eye opening, honest information. Well presented and non-judgmental. This was a hard topic for most to discuss. Most important, AMA should limit the number of people from the same company in this class. Participants were very reluctant to share in front of coworkers.

Overall rating

Tiffany N.
06/27/2016

Carole was very knowledgeable and had a lot of experience to share. She is friendly and personable as well which made the training feel more personal.

Overall rating

Mike P.
06/27/2016

Overall rating

Thomas M.
06/22/2016

Karen was an excellent instructor able to adjust to the needs of her students as the training progressed.

Overall rating

Deborah P.
06/21/2016

Excellent course!! Instructor was very knowledgeable of the material and other topics that flowed into critical thinking. Class was good mix of lecture, case studies and working with others in the class. I would highly recommend to my colleagues as you definitely leave a better thinker!

Overall rating

Puya P.
06/17/2016

Small group, good discussion, good trainer. Could be a bit more demanding.

Overall rating

Fred S.
06/16/2016

Well done

Overall rating

Debra F.
06/16/2016

Great tools. Love the cards

Overall rating

Nancy S.
05/24/2016

This is definitely a course that would provide more benefits it if was in-person, given the experiences everyone had to offer.

Overall rating

Charlie M.
05/18/2016

Overall rating

Randi L.
05/18/2016

Good instructor, very interesting topic. I learned quite a bit that will be applicable to my work. Struggled with the amount of group work (especially when others were not prepare. Found the chat interaction very valuable and a good way to interact.

Overall rating

William W.
04/25/2016

Overall rating

Edward M.
04/25/2016

Overall rating

Jasen K.
04/06/2016

Overall rating

Rebecca W.
03/22/2016

Erik was an excellent teacher.

Overall rating

Abid K.
03/21/2016

Overall rating

Tze Lee P.
03/21/2016

Overall rating

Frank G.
01/13/2016

Diana was an excellent teacher. Incredibly knowledgeable and fun to work with!

Overall rating

Elbert D.
12/31/2015

Seminar was a good baseline training activity to frame the concept of Critical Thinking and how to utilize various evaluative tools to assess and improve individual, team and organizational performance.

Overall rating

Lacy A.
12/21/2015

Very engaging instructor. Plenty of activities to keep things interesting. I learned a lot!

Overall rating

David N.
12/21/2015

Overall rating

Luis C.
12/18/2015

Overall rating

Nicky C.
12/13/2015

this was the best seminar I've had through the AMA

Overall rating

Eric A.
12/04/2015

Overall rating

Veronica E.
12/01/2015

Overall rating

Deborah C.
11/25/2015

Overall rating

Kathleen R.
11/04/2015

Excellent content. Excellent presenter!

Overall rating

Steve M.
10/26/2015

Overall rating

Natalia M.
10/05/2015

Great class! It was very interesting and useful to talk with people from different professions and backgrounds, and to solve critical thinking problems :)

Overall rating

David E.
09/30/2015

As far as the three I have attended, I believe I would rank this class third. That is not saying it was bad, reference my 4 stars. The material was OK and we had plenty of exercises to work through. Good take home material.

Overall rating

Amanda C.
09/30/2015

Overall rating

Christine M.
09/25/2015

AMA always offers a professional setting and learning experience. The class was hands on and well thought out. There were helpful interactive exercises and group discussions. Methodology was discussed and applied to real life work examples. It was a great seminar.

Overall rating

Alfredo A.
09/23/2015

The course provided a lot of information which I can see applying on a day to day basis. Easy going course with multiple activities that will have you thinking and test they way you think.

Great course.

Overall rating

Debbie L.
08/10/2015

This class was truly excellent, due in large part to the instructor, Robert. He was fabulous!

Overall rating

Rafael N.
07/27/2015

Overall rating

Evan R.
07/26/2015

This seminar was spot on and met my needs as a manager. It allowed me to think outside the box and see challenges from different angles. Thanks

Overall rating

Daniel T.
07/20/2015

Overall rating

Robert C.
07/20/2015

Overall rating

Sandra G.
07/20/2015

Based on the description, I expected more of the class. We kept going over the same things too many times, class could have been completed in a day instead of two if that was going to be the case.

Overall rating

Ida A.
07/15/2015

Overall rating

James M.
06/28/2015

This was a great seminar. I started using critical thinking techniques that I learned when I returned to the office and noticed results right away. I hope to take Jane again in a future seminar.

Overall rating

Donna P.
06/25/2015

Very informative seminar- I highly recommend

Overall rating

Dominique V.
06/16/2015

Overall rating

Matthew Y.
05/26/2015

The first day was a little bit more of an information download as opposed to the second day where we did more hands-on learning and groupwork. I believe there is an opportunity with this course to make it more interactive the first day.

Overall rating

Mike N.
05/20/2015

The materials and instructor were excellent. However, in my opinion we focused more on how a situation got a a certain point rather than how to move the situation forward. In my mind, critical thinking would be more forward focused. Also, in my opinion we did not spend enough time analyzing how to improve our worst thinking styles or how to leverage our best styles.
The #1 idea I came away with was mind-mapping. It will help me move from linear to spatial thinking.
All in all, a good class. Great accomodations.

Overall rating

Pam R.
04/20/2015

The Washington Area AMA Center was first class. The staff was friendly and helpful. The classroom was set up nicely with adequate supplies. The beverage stations had something for everyone. The instructor did an excellent job of engaging our group and the course material delivered as promised.

Overall rating

Monica B.
03/26/2015

Overall rating

William K.
03/25/2015

The material was interesting, but the delivery lacked the significance needed to impart its importance. My biggest issue was the presenter’s monotonic pace and intonation. It was as if he was slowing things down so that he would hit the appropriate timing marks. The worst was when he’d go into some story which seemed related, but by the time he finished, I had gotten lost in the mundane and then he would ask a question related to the story and no one would answer, because we were all lost.

If you only have a voice to communicate with, it needs to have some kind of excitement to keep people engaged.

Also, the course should not be measured by time, but by how well the material is received. If you hit your timing marks, but miss your audience, what have you really achieved?

This experience leaves me less likely to take another online course from AMA.

Overall rating

Gina B.
03/20/2015

Overall rating

Kimberly J.
03/20/2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the Critical Thinking seminar. I walked away with extremely valuable tools that I began using first day back in the office. The instructor; Carole was extremely engaging and informative. The recommended reading materials are what I am looking forward to reviewing. I highly recommend this seminar and the instructor.

Overall rating

Janice V.
01/21/2015

Excellent course! Enjoyed the Live Online learning.

Overall rating

George M.
12/23/2014

Seminar was what I expected. The instructor was very talented. The subject was presented in a very engaging manner. I would like to see this as a 3 day siminar in order to "drill down" a bit more into some of the skills.

Overall rating

Kenneth M.
12/22/2014

Overall rating

Jody L.
12/16/2014

Not enough information for two days.

Overall rating

Carmelita S.
12/03/2014

Overall rating

Jan P.
11/14/2014

This course provided a methodology to get to better thinking, better decisions, and better self-understanding. I found the contest interesting, and sharing experiences with other participants was valuable. The instructor was very knowledgable and facilitated the learning process. Another home run AMA course!

Overall rating

Stacey W.
10/29/2014

Overall rating

Billy B.
10/17/2014

The class on Critical thinking was eye opening. It was very enlightening when it came to the areas in my thinking process that needed to be sharpened. I found the tools given in the class were very helpful for the issues that i presently face in the workplace. I was happy with the class facilitator who took the time to share his experiences which helped to give us better insight into what critical thinking could do when the tools were put into practice. Each one of us had opporntuity to express ourselves and role play in order to get familiar with the process tools given.

Overall rating

Susan H.
09/29/2014

Overall rating

Serena K.
09/29/2014

Overall rating

Maria M.
09/14/2014

Lots of great insight. I learned a lot, and the in-class exercises were useful! I am already using the tools I learned at home and work. Thanks for a great class.

Overall rating

Nora O.
08/25/2014

the critical thinking seminar was excellent; the material was insightful, accessible, and useful and the leader was a good facilitator. there was more to the course than critical thinking, such as "active listening" which i had learned before, but the skill is very useful for relationship building and i think everyone should know it and also improve their skill with it. I like interacting with other participants because i learn so much about others while learning more about myself. the process of critical thinking is now not a mystery to me and i learned how i can apply the process to improve my skills at work. i highly recommend this course.

Overall rating

Neyra R.
08/04/2014

The instructor was incredible. Very thoughtful and engaging.

Overall rating

Lisa C.
07/11/2014

Janine was fantastic as an instructor and really took the time to explain complex ideas and methodologies.

Overall rating

Thelma E.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Monika W.
06/30/2014

Overall rating

Lillie H.
06/23/2014

Dear AMA,

I thoroughly enjoyed Mrs. Carole's presentation. It was so engaging I lost track of time. Thus, I will intake all the different approach ways of thinking she delivered.

I think everyone felt that she did a superb job, because they interacted the full two days until closing time.

To conclude, I would recommend this class to any of my coworkers, as it would help expand their knowledge of clear thinking and communication approach.

Kind Regard,

Lillie G. Henry
Senior Underwriting Assistant

Overall rating

Audace M.
04/20/2014

In terms of class,
- we were just seven, a real reduced group, what makes interaction effective,
- we were of different background, though five of us were from America (perspective and experience)
- the hall was quiet enough to hear from each other,

In terms of instruction,
- Mr. Daniel is hugely expert, with skills in diverse fields.
- He moderated wonderfully our exercises, interactions, additionally to what he taught us (good material and tools)

Though, as someone from oversees, I kept a question : even if the train can't be afforded by anybody (money), how is this program known in the world?
I thought that it could be helpful to people from all over the world.

Suggestion : what do you think of providin same program in some different languages?

Overall rating

Mark L.
03/17/2014

Fully met my professionally development needs. The presenter was energetic and engaging, The seminar class exercises were also well developed and appropriately maintained my full attention. Extremely effective use of my time. I am confident what I learned will provide both a personal and professional ROI!

Overall rating

Glauco D.
03/17/2014

Overall rating

Roberta G.
01/21/2014

Very good structure for learning - read ahead, case study, interactive activities helped reinforce the concepts.

Overall rating

Brian Z.
12/18/2013

The seminar was informative and very good. I have been to a number of your seminars for accredidation purposes. There are too many breakouts for small groups where I believe going thru these cases or interactions would be better if only two individuals played it out in front of the class or have the class have one interaction all together. Some small groups are fine but I believe we would get more out of it if we interacted together. Thank you.

Overall rating

Jim C.
12/14/2013

Very good class. Found out I need to improve on my critical thinking abilities. The instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

Lametra O.
11/20/2013

Overall rating

Terrence H.
11/18/2013

Great training! Great Instructor! This training taught me a lot about critical thinking.

Overall rating

Glen E.
11/11/2013

Very well done, lots of student participation, great recommendations and ideas to bring back to the workplace.

Overall rating

Tom L.
11/08/2013

Overall rating

Mody B.
10/25/2013

The course just seemed to be comprised of the same information, reiterated over and over. Often the same way. This was good info, but I found myself really tuning out after a while. I could see this course being a one day or half day thing. The only real challenge came from the Watson Glaser questionaire. I had to seriously think hard to make my way through. I realize that the integrity of the questionaire requires it be kept confidential but It would have been valuable to have similar questions to work through for better understanding in the one area (Assumptions) that I scored average on. I get the bit about asking questions, but I still don't clearly see where I went wrong in the questionaire, where my thought process was weak, based on the WG questionaire. Not sure if what I am trying to say is coming through clear. No criticism to the instructor or producer. Both were wonderful and I had no technical problems whatsoever. Thanks!

Overall rating

Bruce D.
10/21/2013

This was quite a awakening seminar that was challenging and very awarding

Overall rating

Anthony M.
10/21/2013

Overall rating

Betty J.
09/30/2013

Overall rating

Kimberly D.
09/24/2013

Overall rating

Timothy A.
09/10/2013

This was an excellent class that gave practical tools that could be used immediately. In fact, I used them within a couple weeks of class!

Overall rating

John M.
08/28/2013

This seminar forever changed the way I think and make decisions for the better!

Overall rating

Robert G.
08/28/2013

Overall rating

Faith S.
08/28/2013

The course Instructor did a great job incorporating the team projects as well as classroom work and reading. We applied real world scenarios and used his techniques to solve them. I believe it was his former and professional knowledge allowed him to be able to teach the class at a level where students were able to take something away with them. I'd recommend this class to others!

Overall rating

Tom H.
08/19/2013

I found the web directions of what needed to be done and when confusing. It may just be "operatror error".

The web page took alot of deciphering to understand what had to be done.

The course content and the instructor were excellant.

Overall rating

Linda P.
06/25/2013

Overall rating

Mike F.
06/24/2013

This is a great class and would highly recommend it. The tools and techniques taught can be easily applied to most job situations on a daily basis.

Overall rating

Marie B.
06/24/2013

Overall rating

Peng-Wai W.
06/22/2013

A great online seminar with a good instructor.

Overall rating

Jim S.
05/28/2013

the seminar was both helpful and useful. The group work setting helped to better understand the Critial Thinking concept. Not only will i be using this at work but also in my personal life

Overall rating

Jenny L.
05/24/2013

My expectations far exceeded with this class. I thoroughly enjoyed this class. The instructor fully captured my attention during the full two days of instruction. I will definitely benefit & use the tools learned in class for my personal & more importantly my career. I would definitely recommend this course to future students!
Thank you!

Overall rating

Raymond A.
05/20/2013

Overall rating

Joe K.
05/10/2013

was a worthwhile course.

would like more examples of HOW to think critically

Overall rating

Linda R.
05/06/2013

Overall rating

Steve S.
03/26/2013

Overall rating

Phi N.
02/04/2013

Overall rating

Scott R.
02/04/2013

Really enjoyed the class. Thought the facilities were well managed and the instructor was top notch. Keep up the good work.

Overall rating

Jae-Young Y.
01/19/2013

Yery great and could'nt be better. emphasize critical point of critical thinking Explains easy all contents and leads class proactively, facilitating with full energy of her. Everything Okay not only high level of facilitation skill but also good structure of content.

Overall rating

Charudatt K.
01/18/2013

Overall rating

Pat T.
12/10/2012

I thought the seminar was great and I look forward to attending more in 2013. The instructor was very good at holding your attention and delivered the information in a professional way. Pat

Overall rating

Charles M.
12/10/2012

Lots of material in a short amount of time. Not sure the expense of $2300 is justified. Watson Glaser was quite interesting.

Overall rating

Jerry D.
12/06/2012

I enjoyed the class because the instructor held my attention and kept it at an interesting pace.

Overall rating

Larry E.
12/03/2012

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.