/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Gregory H.
06/02/2014

The elements of a strategic plan were listed as mission, vision, goals, objectives, strategies and tactics but the course only discussed mission, vision and goals and never discussed strategies. A complete example plan would be useful to illustrate the concepts. Also, providing data sources for the macro-environment and a knowledge of competitive intelligence software would be useful. Finally, for the price we should have at least received lunches catered into the conference room.

Overall rating

Nancy M.
06/02/2014

Michelle was an OUTSTANDING teacher, leader, and facilitator. Her examples were current and relevant (which made them unforgettable to me!) and very easy to follow. She maintained control of a sometimes "enthusiastic" audience and did an excellent job of directing everyone's energy in the right place! Pace was perfect, materials were perfect.

I have already recommended this class to many of my colleagues!

Thanks!

Overall rating

Jose Pascoal I.
05/29/2014

The training was well presented and the topics were interesting, but I was expeting to have a final exercise that could incorporate all the tools presented during the training.

Overall rating

Kimberly A.
05/13/2014

This was my first class with AMA. Unfortunately, this course did not meet my expectations. A lot of the information that was covered, I already had knowledge of. In addition, some of the other information that was covered wasn't relevant to my line of work. Based on the description and objectives of the course, I thought that it would be a well rounded course for any industry, but in my opinion it wasn't. On the last day, it seemed to start getting interesting because we actually started to hear more about what the strategic plan should look like. Overall, I thought that this would've been a more intense course in which I could've walked away with an actual plan to implement back at my organization. For the cost, I expected more.

Overall rating

Christina D.
05/12/2014

Overall rating

Francesco M.
04/21/2014

Excellent Program

Overall rating

Melissa P.
02/18/2014

This was one of the best classes that I have attended. The instructor was very engaging and really knew the subject well. The course is designed for group learning and team exercises which allows you to learn from others and get a new perspective. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has little to no experience with strategic planning. It provided a great foundation for the process and how to move forward from there.

Overall rating

Scott M.
02/15/2014

Overall rating

Jeff M.
01/30/2014

The instructor (Michelle) was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and encouraged class participation. She did an excellent job of checking for clarity and made sure all our questions were answered satisfactorily. She also provided valuable outside resources in addition to the AMA material.

However, I was dissatisfied with the curriculum itself. It relied too heavily on group exercises to introduce topics, with little or no actual instruction prior to those exercises. Also, I found it incredible that a 3 day class on strategic planning would not involve looking at even one strategic plan. Not an actual plan, a notional plan or even a template. I realize that the course isn't intended to be a "by the numbers" manual for planning, but a glimpse of some possible end products would provide much needed context to the material. Perhaps a running case study might be effective, so the class builds a plan while learning the process.

Overall rating

Holly C.
01/20/2014

I took the NY class with Denise. Unbelievable. Would love to take it again.

Overall rating

Syed Sarmad H.
12/10/2013

It was a very good learning experience for me. The trainer was quite experienced and overall setting was very comfortable. I found the training material to be very useful. Small group of participants ensured intensive involvement of all.

One suggestion I have is to consider including review and analysis of one/two good strategic plans so that participants can see the end product.

Overall rating

Dallas T.
11/11/2013

Subject matter was excellent, presentor Michelle was excellent.
Class size was perfect (9)...small enough to be heard and share but large enough for a wide variety of opinions.

Overall rating

Steve P.
10/28/2013

The Strategic Planning seminar provided a breadth of coverage that helped me to validate my understanding of several strategic concepts and move past certain misconceptions that were holding me back.

Overall rating

Lesley K.
10/08/2013

Overall rating

Darren L.
10/07/2013

Overall rating

Ana C.
09/30/2013

Training was excellent. Instructor did an excellent job tailoring the class to our businesses to help us better understand the processes.

Overall rating

Alan H.
08/05/2013

Overall rating

Valerie D.
07/15/2013

The leader was very energetic and gave great real-life examples of course materials.

Overall rating

Bob D.
07/15/2013

Denise is an exceptional facilitator with a wealth of knowledge that took the book material to an even more relevant level. This seminar helped fill in the gaps to my understanding of strategy and strategic planning.

Overall rating

Catherine C.
07/14/2013

Course flow and overall momentum was excellent, instructor generated a great deal of class participation and kept the class focus. The case study was a bit dry.

Overall rating

PERMETHIUS A.
05/20/2013

Overall rating

Matthew W.
05/20/2013

Overall rating

James C.
05/20/2013

Instructor was fantastic and engaging. Very knowledgable about the subject matter, and we will be able to take back the information we learned and put it to work.

Overall rating

Phyliss W.
05/03/2013

I enjoyed the seminar and received a lot of great information. My hopes was some of the focus would have been based on team/department basis and not at an organizational level.

Overall rating

Phil R.
04/09/2013

The course was well laid out & very interactive. The instructor was knowledgeable and kept us engaged at all times. He also added to the material in the course book (as opposed to just merely reading along with it). The class brought clarity to my previously murky understanding of Strategic Planning. The cost is a bit high for a three-day course, but other than that it was all positives.

Overall rating

Cheryl M.
04/06/2013

While the content of the course looked excellent and the text will help me, I was very disappointed by the quality of the teaching itself. The seminar leader did not teach or lead. He alternated between storytelling that was not entirely relevant to the material, reading the slides himself, or having us read the slides. There was little discussion or value added to the material. He skipped most of the group exercises and, instead, had each of the eight attendees relate to the class as a whole their "aha moments" for each section. It would have been so much more fruitful if we had been able to drill down with a partner on the topics at hand, after a clear and concise description of the material in each section. He did not provide definitions for terms, other than what was in the book, saying things like "you all know the difference between inductive and deductive reasoning so we'll skip that." All in all, this was the worst AMA seminar I've attended and I am frustrated at waste.

Overall rating

Ron R.
02/18/2013

Good interaction between seminar participants.
Seminar leader kept it going and on tract.
Good set-up at San Francisco location.

Overall rating

MuhammadHanif G.
01/21/2013

The seminar on 'Strategic Planning' helped me think deeply and reflectively about my own professional challenges in the public sector. Denise is profoundly engaging leader and she helped us think strategically drawing upon our own unique experiences and intuitive insights. I really enjoyed the methodology and input from the other members. The cordiality and openness of the atmosphere further facilitated our interaction and we were able to share our perspective without any hinderance. Denise organized the seminar quite strategically and designed the training material quite skillfully in a manner that along with the journey through academic concepts, our practical experiences are blended, so that we may realize the extents and limitations of different approaches and school of thoughts. I will rate my experience as outstanding.

Overall rating

Ahmed A.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

Scott F.
01/21/2013

This seminar was very valuable to me and my professional development. The class allowed me to think outside my current box and see far beyond my current vision. Thanks for such a great experience.

Overall rating

Lawrence D.
12/18/2012

This was an excellent seminar!! I would highly recommend it to other organizations.. Was thoughtful , detailed and comprehensive in the content and delivery of the information. Thank you AMA!!

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.