/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Brent T.
08/31/2015

Too much time spent reading the book in class. Too little time spent talking about best practices. Time was not used wisely. The material could have been covered in a day and a half. The book can be read outside of class. This experience did not leave me feeling that I wanted to return for more training.

Overall rating

Meredith P.
08/22/2015

Overall rating

Abdulaziz A.
08/19/2015

I'm glad to attend this seminar. It's new experience that I was involved in. I gained new skills that I'm going to apply in my job.

Overall rating

Nathan T.
08/19/2015

Denise was an enthusiastic presenter who brought real world solutions and examples to the class. It was engaging and easy to follow and understand. I am not a forth coming person and by the end of day one I was raising my hand and adding to the classroom. I gained a lot of valuable lessons to bring back in the way I manage my team. I've recommended this class to several other teammates.

Overall rating

Brad H.
08/04/2015

The course was well presented, it was far more basic than I expected.

Overall rating

neil c.
07/29/2015

Patrick did a awesome job making real issues MANAGABLE with practical approaches.
I can say that I learned a lot and it works, because I have tested a few already.

Overall rating

Mark W.
07/28/2015

The instructor really made this class. I am uncertain if I would have had such a great experience without Pat instructing.

Overall rating

Stephanie O.
07/25/2015

Great instructor - very knowledgeable and open-minded.

Overall rating

Annaradha S.
07/22/2015

Excellent experience. Not only did I learn alot; I was also able to network with people that share the same interests as myself. Highly recommended!

Overall rating

Michael H.
07/15/2015

I had the pleasure of having a large group of 20+ in the meeting to gain perspectives of both the instructor and all the great people attending the event. Very much liked that the instructor didn't just read straight from the book, and instead used it more as a guide to offer perspective and get the conversation going. There was tons of great info shared and I'm still referencing my many notes from the seminar.

Overall rating

Julie M.
07/15/2015

There was a lot of information that was very interesting as well as something that I could apply to my work environment, with both my direct reports as well as my coworkers. The small classroom size was very beneficial as I thought it allowed for more dialogue as peers. The instructor was AWESOME! she made the 3-days interesting and didn't just read from the book or slides.

Overall rating

Carmen A.
07/13/2015

Overall rating

Brandon D.
07/13/2015

Was very informative. Great tools like DISC to help analyze the team. I really enjoyed Mike as the faciltator, he shared many great expierences and had great enthusiasm.

Overall rating

Rebecca B.
06/26/2015

Overall rating

Jesse F.
06/22/2015

Overall rating

Joanne P.
06/18/2015

This Seminar was informational and very enlightening . The facilitator was very engaging and provided challenging interactive work secessions to allow more hands learning and personal discovery . I left this seminar with a greater level of emotional intelligence and self awareness including techniques for conflict resolution .

Thank you for your level of Integrity, openness and assessment tools provided . My time was well spent and all that I have learned will be use to craft a greater level of Managing as well as in personal interactions outside the office .

Overall rating

Eqab A.
06/09/2015

A must course to attend, Course Leader had succeeded in explaining and viewing all Practical & Real life methods in managing people across many variety of industry and authorities (hierarchy), also in focusing and ensuring fruitful engagement of all participants

Overall rating

Brian A.
06/08/2015

“Successfully Managing People’’ exceeded my expectations in no small part due to the instructor, specifically his knowledge and the vast experience he was able to pull from. He kept me engaged and strengthened my desire to continue my pursuit of better communication, leadership and management skills.

Many of the ideas and techniques discussed are suitable in and outside the workplace.

Overall rating

Kimberly R.
06/08/2015

Terrific seminar. Very helpful and great discussions within the group. The materials were insightful and relevant to the topic and Yael was terrific. I would attend another seminar with this instructor.

Overall rating

Ruben Daniel M.
06/08/2015

The trainer (George) made all the difference!!

Overall rating

Melody C.
06/08/2015

Excellent! I kept thinking how many others in my organization would benefit from this seminar. Great exercises for professional development - should last long after I forget where I put the book from the class!

Overall rating

Kelly W.
05/20/2015

Overall rating

Rebecca B.
05/20/2015

I really enjoyed this seminar! I learned a lot about my management style as well as different strategies and tactics I can use to become a better leader for my team.

Overall rating

Susan D.
05/08/2015

This was a comprehensive seminar that was appropriate to the needs of my team. The instructor, Denise, was dynamic in her presentation and knowledgeable in the subject matter. I would recommend this seminar for any manager in business today.

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
04/20/2015

I thought that Denise did a great job! I know that some in the group thought maybe the discussion went on a tangent but I thought that the personal experiences were a great way to understand some of the topics that I struggle to use everyday.

Overall rating

Dawn W.
04/13/2015

Overall rating

Chuck C.
04/06/2015

Material and real world examples were good.

Overall rating

Mohammad A.
03/26/2015

It was a useful and fruitful session with useful information. My feedback are:
1- The venue needs to be equipped with comfortable seats (ergonomic);
2- The audio and visual aids were NOT ideal;
3- It would be better to offer light snacks during lunch time, in order to save time during the break, and have enough time to relax, rather than searching in the area for a food shop;
4- Provide a list of terminologies used prior to seminar commencement for non-native English speaking candidates.

Overall rating

Nancy S.
03/23/2015

I went into this seminar and immediately felt overwhelmed...staring at me was a multi chapter workbook...how could we cover all of this information in 3 days? From the start,the course leader, took the topics one step at a time, clearly explaining each and assuring us that any questions we had would be answered. I was thrilled to attend a class that not only informed us, but gave us tools as well as an action plan that we could implement immediately. I left the seminar excited and looking forward to returning to work to share my excitement with the team!

Overall rating

Lydia F.
03/23/2015


Overall the course was an informative course, trainer was excellent.

Would like to comment on the poor service provided by the front desk, examples detailed below:

1. When we asked for the meals information/coupon/ discount voucher, instead of giving us a copy, we were asked to take from the various pamphlets on display, so we had to look through all of them and guess which was the right one!

2. The beverage dispensers were empty most of the time, not sure who is responsible for them, to be refilled.

3. When we requested for drinking water, they asked us to check for the 'drinking water' outlet, would appreciate it if the staff would provide better service by accompanying their guests to give them the information requested in a better and more cordial manner.

Thank you for looking into this.

Overall rating

Cecilia S.
03/22/2015

It was my first course in US and, as a foreign, I had a great welcome and felt very comfortable in the class. Denise conducted the seminar dynamically and at a good pace!

Overall rating

Franklyn S.
03/21/2015

The course managed to get to the core of who i am as a person, coworker and manager. I, without question, left this workshop a better person and manger. STRONGLY SUGGEST TAKING THIS WORKSHOP

Overall rating

John M.
03/16/2015

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
03/13/2015

Overall rating

Cynthia T.
02/24/2015

Great seminar, very insightful, and I've taken away a ton of constructive tools that I can immediately put into action and share with my colleagues.

Overall rating

Dennis L.
02/23/2015

Overall rating

Michael L.
02/19/2015

This management class was well worth it, I'm back in the office and focused on using what I've learned. I had a great instructor that gave us a lot of knowledge from her experiences.

This was my first AMA class and I liked how it was presented and the participation of all attendees.

Now, I look forward to scheduling another AMA class.

Overall rating

Aisha H.
02/18/2015

Overall rating

Kent H.
02/18/2015

Enjoyed the seminar and liked the structure and interaction the instructor created.
Found the content very useful and thought provoking.

The exercises were on point and relevant.

Overall rating

Matt V.
02/17/2015

Some of the content was new to me, some I learned somewhere along the way. At the same time, there is a difference between reading management concepts in a book and going to a live classroom. I believe I can implement most, if not all, of the concepts presented during the seminar.

The instructor, Cheryl,was phenomenal. I never got bored during the three full days of training.

Thanks.

Overall rating

Michael W.
02/04/2015

One of the better courses I have taken over the last decade. Came out of the class energized and motivated to take the new found skills and knowledge back to the work environment and start making real world changes.

I found the material (values, motivation, working with different personalities, and etc) current and relative to my job and situation.

The instructor was outstanding. While the course already had excellent ingredients, he was an EXCELLENT chef. He was able to transform the material from words to real world relatable experiences. He keep the class moving at a good pace and managed the amount of lecture and class activity very well.
I have already recommended this course to several others and am already planning my next AMA course!

Overall rating

Juan Miguel H.
02/02/2015

I learned a lot in this seminar. The material was easy to read and understand. The instructor had a lot of knowledge of the materials and was able to present the scenarios so we can better understand what he was teaching. The trainer was very well spoken. I enjoyed the seminar. What I have learned in this seminar I can use in my professional life as well as my personal life. Given my experience in this class. I am now interested in attending other seminars that are offered by AMA.

Overall rating

Krista J.
01/31/2015

Overall rating

Lynna R.
01/27/2015

I was impressed with the wealth of knowledge the leader shared and also the practical tools she gave us. She was able to communicate ideas and facilitate a great learning enviornment for everyone in our very diverse class. I would recommend this class and this instructor.

Overall rating

Salem A.
01/26/2015

This seminar will help me to mange the people with different modules to make a successfuly achievement

Overall rating

John P.
12/20/2014

I felt Larry was one of the most informative instructors I have ever had the privilege of learning from. I've gained a vast amount of knowledge and practices for which I plan to use throughout my career as a manager. I thoroughly enjoyed the seminar and hope to have the privilege of attending more of his classes in the future.

Overall rating

Eric K.
12/17/2014

The seminar "Successfully Managing People" was a terrific experience. It offered tangible tools and I gained insight to members of my team as well as my own strengths and weaknesses. The instructor was very knowledgeable and the on-line environment was engaging and refreshingly different than the traditional classroom format.

Overall rating

Jonathan P.
12/09/2014

The seminar opened up a whole new understanding of the dynamics of business and how to manage people. It has helped me focus on the important concerns and not trivial matters. I feel better prepared to respond to daily issues.

Overall rating

Riyadh A.
11/19/2014

Overall rating

Cindy W.
11/17/2014

This was an excellent course for anyone who manages people whether you've been managing for years or are new to management. Monica is a dynamic instructor with the ability to keep the class involved and excited about learning new skills. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone who manages people.

Overall rating

Patrick R.
11/16/2014

Yael was great. The other managers participating were great. The class though, crammed too much content into the 3 days. In my opinion, not enough time was spent on more important topics than others. In the future, a better balance of topics is needed so nothing is skipped or breezed over.

Overall rating

Gerald R.
11/11/2014

Outstanding. The instructor, Robin, was engaging, interesting, knowledgable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

Overall rating

Cherolee W.
10/20/2014

Group discussions were excellent, everyone participated. Teacher was knowlegeable and shared relatable stories that really helped to get the point across. Enjoyed the group activities as well.

Overall rating

Mariann M.
10/07/2014

The Seminar was Excellent. I have learned a lot on managing my co workers along with great feedback from others in this seminar.

Overall rating

Yetunde O.
10/06/2014

This seminar was great! Duffy Spencer was an awesome instructor who provided in-depth information as well as techniques to help you learn how to manage people along with learning how to manage yourself. I would highly recommend this seminar.

Overall rating

Earle H.
10/06/2014

Very informative and relative to todays office environment- overall an excellent course

Overall rating

Anna G.
10/06/2014

The instructor was excellent, the materials were very appropriate for my situation and I found the discussion very helpful. Overall, a very worthwhile course to take. I learned a lot and the instructor's approach and knowledge and background were a huge part of my learning.

Overall rating

Eric R.
10/02/2014

Overall rating

Dan G.
10/02/2014

Robert was a great instructor.

Overall rating

John M.
09/18/2014

Micheal was an Excellent instructor that kept the entire groups attention. The Information and manual for the training was a great refresher. The values and action plan are items I plan on implementing. I will continue to use my manual as a reminder so not to slip due to intense industry I am in.

Overall rating

Kelli W.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Melissa N.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Cristina R.
09/09/2014

Monica was amazing. I really enjoyed the class setting and she made sure everyone was comfortable and really made sure we understood what we were being taught. I would love to go to more seminars in the future.

Overall rating

Anna Marie B.
09/09/2014

Overall rating

Charles M.
09/08/2014

I found the Successfully Managing People seminar quite informative and helpful. The small class size and the overall engaging nature of the instructor made the experience much more enjoyable than some of the larger seminars I have participated in, in the past. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to develop new tools for handling the ever-evolving state of the American workplace today.

Overall rating

Robert R.
08/25/2014

The course description seemed a nice, well-rounded class that would hit on all the high points of individual courses I have attended with AMA. I expected to gain a few new insights, a few new tips and tricks. Instead, I received much, much more, and I believe that has a lot to do with the instructor, George. George's background in brain science and psychology really created a lot of "aha" moments for me and I found myself absolutely enthralled with the psychology behind how my thoughts, feelings and behaviors projected to my management style. It is my intention to send the 3 supervisors who report to me to this course, with George as their instructor. Great class, lots of interaction, activities, and an awesome instructor. Thanks again.

Overall rating

Tim H.
08/25/2014

I learned a lot. The instructor is very knowledgable and a lively presenter.

As an "I/S" in the DISC profile assessment, I sometimes felt rushed, and I think there was enough time allotted for the sessions to slow down once in a while to accommodate different paces of learning and processing of information.. The instructor's profile is "D/I," and perhaps my pace and desire to question and mull was hard to accommodate. The majority of the class was faster than I, so this is purely feedback on my own experience.

I enjoyed the course, and got a lot out of it. Thank you.

Overall rating

Kate M.
08/18/2014

Good broad discussion of the issues. I had trouble relating the points to my actual life.

Overall rating

Darren E.
08/18/2014

Overall rating

Valerie K.
08/11/2014

Overall rating

Mark F.
07/29/2014

Overall rating

Anna G.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Bradley F.
07/20/2014

This class which was instructed by Jeff in my opinion was a very engaging class with out all of the classic text book reading. Jeff kept the flow moving in a manner that kept the students in a more interactive setting. Would definitely take more classes from Jeff again.
What I learned will be put to use when I'm back to work.

Overall rating

Andy P.
06/23/2014

Best Management seminar I have attended in a long while. It seemed like it was catered to my specific needs. The facilitator was very knowledgeable about subjects we covered. I highly recommend this to any one who is wanting to be an efficient Manager and a Leader.

Overall rating

Craig S.
06/23/2014

This class was very helpful and gives a lot of insight for dealing with people. The instructor was very considerate with giving details and examples for all the various career oriented students.

Overall rating

Wendy C.
06/09/2014

Overall rating

Rob B.
06/07/2014

Overall rating

Kelly S.
05/27/2014

Overall rating

Dan T.
05/27/2014

Overall rating

Jim S.
05/19/2014

Overall rating

Artem G.
05/19/2014

Very insightful course, DiSC was an eye opener for me. Instruction and technical support were great as well.

Overall rating

Jacob B.
05/19/2014

Overall rating

Jerrold K.
05/09/2014

This was a very informative and interesting seminar.The instructor Monica did a great job showing facts and ideas to help with managing a wide range of people. I would highly recommend it.

Overall rating

Kyle A.
05/06/2014

The class was one of the best that I have ever attended. I feel what I have learned from the class that I will be able to use daily with the position I am in.

Overall rating

David S.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Scott F.
05/05/2014

I learned so much from this seminar; including practical skills to apply at work. It is one thing to learn skills, it is another to find a company that can teach you how to apply them. AMA does this well and the reason our company chooses AMA for our training needs

Overall rating

Kevin B.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Zehra M.
05/04/2014

This seminar was intense and very interactive. I came back to work rejuvenated. I have learned so much about myself and feel confident to approach and solve any problem on my way in every day work environment. Our instructor, Kelly, was the best.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
04/29/2014

This seminar was extremely useful and I've already put a lot of what I learned into practice. Having time to analyze my own values and motivations, the values of my organization, and the motivations and values of my staff was a critical step in becoming a more productive and supportive manager. I highly recommend this session for all managers.

Overall rating

Randee L.
04/28/2014

I enjoyed the different approaches to individualize the material.

Overall rating

Benjamin W.
04/15/2014

Overall rating

William R.
04/14/2014

Overall rating

Debbie P.
04/14/2014

Great learning experience. Instructor kept it interesting.

Overall rating

Josh W.
03/31/2014

The course proved to be practical and informative.

Overall rating

Irina P.
03/24/2014

Overall rating

Wayne M.
03/04/2014

Facilitator was excellent. Great communication and presentation skills. Material was presented at a good pace. Kept sessions flowing well. Subject matter was very valuable to my personal experience and will be immediately applied.

Overall rating

Adly A.
03/03/2014

very interesting course, providing insight into personality style
valuable tips that I will apply back at work
diverse participants made the course interesting

Overall rating

Timothy K.
03/03/2014

Overall rating

Elisa M.
03/03/2014

The Class was very insightfull. Although I knew these things, it made me really think and evaluate.
Thank you Taylor.

Overall rating

Ed N.
03/01/2014

Far exceeded my expectations. I look forward to more classes with Ed. In fact, I am registered for the online class Managing IT Professionals in August. I hope you will have Ed teaching that class.

Overall rating

Geno D.
02/28/2014

I found the seminar very rewarding and informative. I have learned a great deal during this three day seminar and plan on using this knowledge to successfully manage my personnel & to communicate better with other departments. Jeff was very knowledgable and really enjoyed his one on one conversations with the candidates in the class to answer any questions they may have had. I would not hesitate if asked to attend another training seminar that AMA offers which would fit my career objectives.

Overall rating

Reid V.
02/19/2014

The course was very informative and the instructor did a great job of integrating classroom teaching with real world examples. I would recommend this course to anyone who is involved with managing people.

Overall rating

Jeff C.
02/17/2014

The course content, materials and instructor were excellent and better than I could ever hope for. I think the class was extremely valuable and enhanced my leadership skills, management thought process and overall how I interact in the workplace. I learned a lot about myself and how I can help others deal with their problems.

Overall rating

Stephen B.
12/23/2013

The seminar was better than I expected because of the valuable insights shared by the other attendees.

Overall rating

Crit F.
12/16/2013

The instructor, Ms. Downs was very nice but the course material was basic. Recommended by our AMA rep Brian team was more experienced and had covered the material in other AMA courses. Class that we took last year was a recommended as a follow-up to this one. Quite disappointed!

Secondly, there were too many sidebar discussions to solve particular problems that didnt relate to entire class or our individual issues. Too much time was taken up.

AV was horrible. VCR didn't work. The projector pulsated and was distracting. Finally there was a buzzing noise every day that was very very distracting. Not fixed even after Ms. Downs borught it to the attention of the staff.

Overall, disappointed and will probably not be be back, or allow team to attend future seminars.

Overall rating

Clinton R.
12/14/2013

Overall rating

Matt M.
11/27/2013

Overall rating

Shannon B.
11/25/2013

I am very disappointed in this seminar as it truly was a waste of my time. Jeff was great, and by no means does this reflect on his instructing ability. He was very engaging had great stories to share. However, I completed Management skills for new managers in April 2013 and felt the information was very redundant.

I actually left 3 hours early on the last day as I was very disappointed in the content. while speaking with a class mate, she informed me that her team had a discussion with an AMA representative prior to taking this class. They were told to take EITHER the new skills for new managers OR how to successfully manage people, as the content was very similar. I am disappointed that I was NOT given this information prior to taking 3 days out of my job to attend such duplicate information.
Repeat information included:
DISC
conflict resolution/ feedback
SMART
Delegation

I would like a call back from AMA to discuss a refund and or

Overall rating

Ying Z.
11/21/2013

Overall rating

Lynda H.
11/20/2013

Yael was very engaging and inclusive for all members of the audience. Occasionally she let some people talk a little too long, but she eventually took control. It was a great session and I have already suggested it to people in my organization. Really glad I came in person, it was hard to get out of the office, but I got a lot of of being there in person.

Overall rating

Denise V.
11/20/2013

This was a very detailed and easy to follow course. Our instructor was excellent to work with and she made this course fun, entertaining as well as informative. I've already begun using techniques with my team and will continue working towards the goals I set when I was in training. I would certainly recommend this course for anyone that manages people- we were able to look at our real life/world situations, get feedback from other managers on how to handle, all with using the techniques we learned at the seminar.

Overall rating

Mariana D.
10/22/2013

Seminar was great, instructor was knowledgeable. wish we had more time for activities that reinforce concepts.

Overall rating

John P.
09/30/2013

Overall rating

JoAnn B.
09/23/2013

Awesome Class and Teacher. Would definitely recommend!

Overall rating

Sharon W.
09/23/2013

My ONLY disappointment was that the last day there wasn't enough time to go into as much detail as I would have liked to cover EI.

Overall rating

Nicholas A.
09/09/2013

Overall rating

Mary M.
08/26/2013

The instructor was very good and the dynamics of the class provided opportunities to learn from the other attendees as well as the instructor. San Francisco's facility is nice and the classroom comfortable.

I have recommended AMA training to a collegue who is also seeking management training. This seminar exceeded my expectations.

Overall rating

Jack M.
08/26/2013

Overall rating

Niurka N.
08/26/2013

Great class content.

Overall rating

Cara S.
07/26/2013

Overall rating

Adam H.
07/25/2013

The trainer was extremely knowledgeable in the subject area as well as adding in a ton of information to relate it to neurology and the way the human mind works.

Overall rating

Angie V.
07/24/2013

Robin did a FANTASTIC job teaching Successfully Managing People - I would love to attend other courses that she teaches. Nicely done, Robin; you made this seminar a huge success!!

Overall rating

Sheridahl L.
07/20/2013

I felt that the instructor was well versed in the subject matter and made the class interesting and interactive. The material was useful and insightful. Many of the areas we discussed I can use in my current position.

Overall rating

Francis D.
06/25/2013

Overall rating

Carrie E.
06/24/2013

Overall rating

Brian T.
06/22/2013

Overall rating

Teresa T.
06/17/2013

The instructor, Jeff was terrific and supplemented the seminar information with a lot of his own experiences gleaned from his varied consulting background - and this made for very interesting sessions. The seminar information was a great comprehensive package for managers, especially for new managers.

Overall rating

Joerg Z.
06/14/2013

very diverse intreractive sessions

Overall rating

Kathryn P.
06/12/2013

This 3 day course was well delivered and provided engaging conversations and discussions with the well diverse class. Our instructor Mildred, was a true professional and knowledgeable about the content. Never a dull moment and I felt challenged throughout the entire experience.

Overall rating

Annette A.
06/11/2013

I found the seminar to be an "eye opening experience".
Mildred is a fantastic instructor. I hope to implement some of the strategies I learned during this seminar. The topics were very helpful for me as a new Director dealing with staff used to a prior Director.

I look forward to taking other seminars offered by AMA.

Overall rating

Joshua H.
06/10/2013

Relevant Content, insightful tools, and a Superb instructor! This was much more informative and less painful than I was anticipating. I will be recommending this course to many of my peers.

Overall rating

Aldo M.
06/10/2013

Great course content and awesome Instructor!!

Overall rating

Preston B.
06/08/2013

Great seminar. Useful content and an interesting instructor.

Overall rating

Dave E.
05/04/2013

Good info

Overall rating

Emil M.
04/16/2013

Overall rating

Donald W.
04/15/2013

And I thought THEY were the problem...I mean "opportunity" when the opportunity really begins with me! What a great class except for this one student I know really well...but there is hope for me, I mean him!

I highly reccomend this course to anyone who does not have any problem employees and those that do. Fill your toolbox as I did and remember to keep the tools polished!

Best wishes to future attendees!

Don Weyhrauch, Safety Manager

Overall rating

Renee L.
04/06/2013

I finally got it! I took away practical steps from the course that I could put to use right away.

Overall rating

Sandra L.
01/29/2013

The instructor, Rich, was exceptional! The class was well thought out, well presented, very informative, and at times, even entertaining.

Overall rating

Dane C.
01/29/2013

Really thought Ron did an outstanding job of relaying information and kept everyone engaged in the process. Thank you!

Overall rating

Steve B.
01/28/2013

The class itself exceeded my expectations. Ron did a superb job with the material and involving all in the class. One the other hand, the pre and post tests (online) contain questions that are very vague which make it difficult to answer correctly. I don't feel it provides the best opportunity to gauge learning after the class is complete.

Overall rating

CARLOS R.
01/28/2013

The class was excellent.Dianne did a great job at meeting the goals we set up for the class and keeping the class on board and tuned in with the concepts.

Overall rating

Adam S.
01/22/2013

Overall rating

Oleta M.
01/13/2013

TJ is an excellent instructor. The class was a perfect balance of theory and real life situational examples. Though I am not a fan of role-playing in classes, even these tasks had purpose and added value to the training. The class was a mixture of willing and unwilling (required to attend) participants, and she was able to break through to even the most reluctant of participants who by the end of the training were engaged and thinking of what they could do next to improve their skill sets. The training was well worth the expense and the time away from the office. Give TJ a raise!

Overall rating

Jennifer S.
12/28/2012

Great class, great instructor. I just wish I took it earlier in my career.

Overall rating

Mark M.
12/18/2012

The class covered a lot of good information and Dr. had a very good way of explaining everything well and in a manner that we could understand and put into practical use.

Overall rating

Penny G.
12/17/2012

I left a detailed summary with Barbara. I have a yearly pass and this is the only seminar that I have taken that I was upset with. The instructor's attitude and way that he addressed the class was very upsetting to me and many classmates that attended. I told my classmates that were upset, to not let this seminar mold their AMA expectations or views, as all the other seminars and instructors have been amazing for me. After the seminar, I sat and shared some of my feedback with Barbara. She was very nice and took the time to listen. She offered for me to take another class but I already have a yearly pass and I don't know if my company would pay the hotel for an extra course. I know that there were several in the class that this was their first time attending an AMA course. They shared their disappointment, especially with the instructor¿s attitude, with me. I believe in AMA and always before was so pleased. My hope is that they will give AMA another chance, so that they too can experience some of the great things of AMA. When my manager asked me what I took and learned from the seminar; I told her that the main thing I learned was how not to treat someone and that to be aware of the perceptions of others. Our behavior is on display every day.

Overall rating

Andy S.
12/17/2012

Course covered all of the expected areas as defined in the syllabus, and most importantly, the instructor (Dr.) did an excellent job of facilitating the class. Her facilitation made the difference between it just being good and instead being great.

Overall rating

Lisa W.
12/10/2012

Overall rating

Linda N.
12/08/2012

The seminar was very informative and well balanced. The instructor was very good at involving the entire class and prompting everyone to share their experiences. I actually learned a lot about myself and how I manage my staff. I have already started implementing my new knowledge and look forward to being a better manager.

Overall rating

Cathy C.
12/04/2012

I had a very informative experience. The class was well structured and delivered everything that was expected from the description. The facility was beautiful and very clean.

Overall rating

Sharon M.
11/05/2012

This course was very dynamic and touched on all of the hot spots of today's management challenges. It brings managers back to the basic concepts and in doing so, cut through all of the jargon you often find in the "management by book of the month." Being a manager for over 25 years, I thought I'd see pretty much all there was to see in the way of effective training. I was pleasantly surprised to find a renewal of old mixed with new and innovative methods. I was very glad I invested in Successfully Managing People.

Overall rating

Dan B.
11/05/2012

I felt that the instructor was knowledgeable of the material and did an excellent job keeping the class interesting.

Overall rating

Neil S.
10/22/2012

The training was set up very well. Certain things i really liked were that we had alot of group exercises which created alot of interactions and ideas. I think the presenter was thorough but could have been slightly more professional in her views of others. She was not unprofessional mind you, but i did see a student who was upset with how she was treated. (Mind you, she was not the greatest student either) The training was explained as an overview and we were told often that we would be covering many topics and using different assesments. My training would have been better for me if i had attended perhaps more singled out topics for growth and i will pass that information on to my H.R. administrator. All in all i was very pleased with the environment, the people, and the training. Thanks to your staff for making great efforts and having a great facility. The environment was very comfortable though i do think there was a need to offer slightly longer breaks and a touch more on one on one discussion with the trainer outside of the classroom environement.

Overall rating

Molly D.
10/22/2012

My experience with the AMA's Successfully Managing People course was excellent. The instructor was knowledgeable and helpful, the class was interactive, and the course covered a number of theories and methodolgies that can be used in being a more successful manager. I was hoping to gain examples of good leadership and management challenges during the course, and I did indeed learn from my classmates and from the instructor. While not every module was always entirely applicable to my direct reports, I still was able to learn from others. I would recommend this course to others.

Overall rating

Patricia K.
10/22/2012

I was enthralled and engaged by Pauline from day 1. The Modules used to cover different areas reflected daily experiences for me. Teaching me to categorize, work through and resolve them was empowering.
Thank you AMA and Pauline.

Patricia Kinchen

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.