/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Joe C.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jeff B.
09/21/2016

The class was very energetic and very detailed. I don't recall ever being bored the entire time there. Alvin made the class interesting. Never a dull moment. This information obtained in this class will help assist me for years to come.

Overall rating

Joe M.
09/21/2016

Instructor very knowledgeable and teaching style engaging.

Overall rating

Tina G.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Brenda H.
09/21/2016

I feel the course provided useful and practical information. Not all will apply universally and the instructor was good about saying so.

Overall rating

Taryn B.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Amber H.
09/21/2016

This class was informative and gave great practice by using many role playing activities.

Overall rating

Santiago J.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

David B.
09/21/2016

Instructor engages her audience and creates a really pleasant class environment, she is knowledgable and very approachable.

Overall rating

Jacob K.
09/21/2016

I really enjoyed this class. Being that Ive been in management for 10+yrs and the information gained here will defiantly help me become a more effective manager.

Overall rating

Kunal K.
09/21/2016

Very structured and process oriented course that'll help in almost all scenarios.

Overall rating

David K.
09/21/2016

I enjoyed the interactive style of this seminar. The instructor was very engaging, which led a high level of participation and contribution over the course of the entire three days. Although I feel like the class was geared more toward supervising those in the office environment, I feel like I gained enough from this class to help me in my day to day functions.

Overall rating

Keith D.
09/21/2016

This training will help me significantly in my career as a manager. The instructor was great and really understood the real life scenerios and offer valuable feedback on various situations.

Overall rating

Allison P.
09/21/2016

It was such a wonderful overview of the various challenges and responsibilities of management. And Susan was wonderful. A ray of sunshine!

Overall rating

HOLLY B.
09/21/2016

Great content, fantastic exercises to support learning, and a wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable instructor! The only area for improvement would be the generation video-- it's dated (already behind with a copyright of 2010), the script was contrived, and the different generations were presented in an overall negative fashion. If everything about the course was A+, the video would be a D-.

Overall rating

Evan D.
09/21/2016

Susan was a fantastic instructor. She clearly has both expertise and passion for management instruction.

Overall rating

Brian D.
09/21/2016

Instructor was great, thorough, and responsive. The course provided a number of helpful tips.

Overall rating

Kevin R.
09/21/2016

The training was very informative, and well taught. The only issue I encountered was the setting was very different than what I experience in that this was a selling atmosphere topic. Communication methods we used are rarely handled through email. also ethnocentrism tripped me up (?) I understand the meaning

Overall rating

Sean C.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Ashley M.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Roberta B.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Trisha R.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Tim W.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jacques N.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Jesse P.
09/21/2016

pleasant teacher

Overall rating

Will L.
09/21/2016

Instructor was very engaging and informative.

Overall rating

Renato S.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Chris H.
09/21/2016

this course opened my eyes to a lot of things

Overall rating

Brian K.
09/21/2016

The class was fully involved and very informative. Highly recommended for anyone starting out in a supervisory position.

Overall rating

Angela D.
09/21/2016

Ryker was engaging and very knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Michael J.
09/21/2016

The online class layout was very easy to follow as well as the instructors

Overall rating

Susan G.
09/21/2016

The course was quiet engaging, it did not seem like 3 hours had passed.Full of useful insight and information, I was very pleased.

Overall rating

Jennifer C.
09/20/2016

The instructor was amazing and I could relate to her easily

Overall rating

Brenna G.
08/17/2016

Overall rating

Jeremy H.
08/17/2016

The course was great and so was Elizabeth!

Overall rating

Carol S.
08/17/2016

This seminar was great in that the topics were interesting and relevant. The instructor was great as she explained everything and added personal stories that helped us to put things in perspective.

Overall rating

Scot C.
08/17/2016

This class was great for new managers and supervisors.

Overall rating

Jason Y.
08/12/2016

I really enjoyed this training seminar. The instructor, Sue, was fantastic!

Overall rating

Clare B.
08/10/2016

Overall rating

Ana P.
08/08/2016

Sue was very inclusive and welcoming. Very apparent she was personally experienced in what she was teaching.

Overall rating

Matthew M.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Martin W.
08/01/2016

I was notified of pre-seminar activities, yet I did not receive any information on this, and nothing was mentioned in the seminar itself.I feel a few items were left out which should have been more formally discussed such as conducting a staff meeting, holding one on one update meetings, seeking feedback from reports, the importance of connecting personally with reports, more in depth in dealing with problem employees and conflict resolution, and more in depth on interviewing theory.I really liked the discussion on generations in the workplace, and the legal/HR aspects we discussed.Susan did a really nice job.

Overall rating

Marianne T.
08/01/2016

The course was well organized and covered every area I could envision in my role as manager.

Overall rating

Amy A.
07/29/2016

Overall rating

Shuda L.
07/29/2016

This class gave me a set of tools and an overall framework that I will be able to use as a new supervisor. I was nervous about management before this course, but I feel a lot more confident now that I will be able to learn and improve my management skills.

Overall rating

Brian Y.
07/29/2016

The instructor was extremely knowledgeable of the subject matter with many years of experience in the field. Came off very open and honest creating a very welcome atmosphere for learning and growth.

Overall rating

Vince C.
07/25/2016

Desiree real life experience's made her and the seminar more credible.

Overall rating

Mark M.
07/25/2016

I was extremely pleased with how Desiree provided the information.. She was able to share with the group her personal experiences that were good and bad. What worked and what didn't work. Being for such a long time just a regular employee, this training gave me the skills and understanding on how to transition to a supervisor.

Overall rating

Sun C.
07/25/2016

they are well prepared and very nice people. I have no problem to study and learn my subject. And contents that I learn during the class, it is awesome and 2 thumbs up !!!! thank you for all

Overall rating

Angie W.
07/21/2016

This was my first seminar like this and I was extremely pleased. I walked in not really knowing what to expect. I gained a ton of knowledge and skill that I will continue to use throughout my career.

Overall rating

Shandon C.
07/21/2016

I thought the training was greatIt some instances it may be best to separate corporate managers vs. production/line managers, as some of the situations and problems are a bit different

Overall rating

Shannon T.
07/21/2016

The training was very educating and well worth the time. In the future I will take another AMA course and recommend to my co-workers.

Overall rating

Rachel G.
07/21/2016

The training was very informative. The interaction/listening balance was excellent. I believe I will sign-up for more training in the near future.

Overall rating

David C.
07/21/2016

Really helpful, and covered situations that I deal with on a day to day basis

Overall rating

Eddie W.
07/21/2016

Love the group participation

Overall rating

James S.
07/18/2016

Overall rating

Brendan W.
07/18/2016

The training was very engaging and well structured.I did not like the fact that the hotel charged $30/day for WiFi access and $37/day for parking. I felt that should have been included as part of the course cost. As should catered lunch or snacks, most other training classes include these.

Overall rating

Geraldine M.
07/18/2016

Overall rating

Brenda C.
07/11/2016

I found the instructor to be very engaging. I took a lot away from the class that I feel will be beneficial once put into practice.

Overall rating

Daniel L.
07/11/2016

Excellent teacher - will be taking future classes

Overall rating

Trae R.
06/29/2016

Overall rating

Roger L.
06/29/2016

I thought the class was well organized and offered alternative views on relevant material. Lacked a steady pace at times and slightly overpriced.

Overall rating

Jim C.
06/28/2016

Overall rating

Peter B.
06/27/2016

Monica was very enthusiastic and used many great interactive activities to help us learn about important management skills.However, considering the cost of the seminar, I believe that we should have been provided with some food for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea.

Overall rating

Hugues N.
06/27/2016

The teacher was awesome. She really help us to understand that the position we are in is to help the teammate, coach them, and care about them.

Overall rating

Cherie L.
06/27/2016

the material was presented in a very engaging way, very pro-active. It made us think, analyze, create and learn. The instructor's sense of humor along with her knowledge and expertise made this the best seminar I have ever participated in. I would love to take another class with her. This class gave me the foundation to become a very good supervisor.

Overall rating

Justin S.
06/27/2016

Very good training. Some information that you see everyday put just never think of in the way it is shown in the class. Lots of good knowledge from the book as well as extras Monica threw in. Especially enjoyed the piece on generational differences She kept the class exciting and interesting as well would definately recommend this as well as any other class she puts on.

Overall rating

Noel H.
06/27/2016

The instructor Monica was very interactive and engaging with her instruction, I learned allot and had allot of opportunity to Network. The location chosen was my only complaint as the traffic in Dallas during the times of this class were horrible and I had to pay additional for parking- It would be nice if it were right outside of Dallas next time.

Overall rating

Omar G.
06/27/2016

Overall rating

Tim A.
06/27/2016

The content of the class was great. Very interesting and common sense but good queues to start, change, or stop certain habits. The interaction between others was great and good exposure to other experiences from other industries.One challenge I had was that one of my clients also attended the course. It was a surprise and random occurrence that we both would be in the same course but it happened. Luckily nothing was said to negatively impact our relationship but it could lead to undesired consequences in future classes. Not sure if there is a way to prevent that situation.

Overall rating

Tara S.
06/27/2016

The instructor was amazing. She handled the class well and kept everyone engaged. I learned so much from this seminar and can immediately see how this will improve my management skills when I return to work.

Overall rating

Nick A.
06/22/2016

I learned so many helpful tools: coaching/counseling, DISC, interviewing, etc.

Overall rating

Lorisa F.
06/22/2016

Great course! The instructor presented the material in a way that was fun and memorable. He catered to different learning styles instead of reading off of a powerpoint presentation. The instructor also broke up the sessions by having group activities which was very helpful.

Overall rating

Briana W.
06/22/2016

Overall rating

Michael C.
06/21/2016

Overall rating

Lisa R.
06/20/2016

Thomas was a terrific instructor. He effectively taught all of the material while making the training interesting and engaging.

Overall rating

Ryan B.
06/20/2016

Thomas is an energetic and knowledgeable individual. Very engaging and easy to listen to.

Overall rating

Joey E.
06/20/2016

I thought that the training was facilitated great. The old T.V.'s did not make it feel like a State of the art facility as advertised.

Overall rating

David S.
06/17/2016

Location was well planned out and easy to navigate. Support materials, books were readily available. Bathrooms, coffee, water all located in convenient areas.

Overall rating

Lisa B.
06/16/2016

Overall rating

Michael C.
06/16/2016

Good material and interaction from the class

Overall rating

Kathy O.
06/13/2016

The material covered seemed to be put together by an organization who has an 'Idea' of what management is, but I walked away from it not convinced that they ever put these ideas into practice outside of the consulting world. I would have preferred some further understanding to how I can apply the 'Idea' to my own organization. Exercises were timed and we moved on if completed or not. Challenging questions to the 'Idea' was not welcomed and shot down. With this AMA course and the course I took previously I felt like I was dealing with used car salesmen, because other courses AMA provided were brought into the discussion way too often. For example, if someone talked about an area that they struggle with in time management, a great course that AMA offers on time management was then recommended. Also just like the previous course I took (Transitioning from team member to Supervisor) the instructor sold themselves way too much. I did not come there to learn about their singing career, radio shows, books published or your YouTube channels... (all of which told me nothing about direct reports and who they managed) I came to learn about management skills, and I wish they would have talked more about their own MANAGEMENT EXPERIENCE and not just their teaching and consulting experience. I've taken classes with MRA and there is a huge difference in the level of expertise in the instructors. I found that the written material was difficult to read and the instruction was unclear. I o

Overall rating

Jumoke H.
06/13/2016

Overall rating

Naite H.
06/10/2016

Overall rating

Travis S.
06/10/2016

Overall rating

Emmerson R.
06/10/2016

The training was comprehensive and offed several useful tools and technique to aid in becoming a more effective manager.

Overall rating

Kevin P.
06/10/2016

Overall rating

Matthew V.
06/02/2016

Overall rating

Kanika P.
06/02/2016

David was good at keeping the class engaged for the entire 3 days. I learned a lot from the course. I have already begun implementing what I learned at work and amazingly it is helping with communication with people outside of my job.

Overall rating

Evangela P.
06/02/2016

Overall rating

Nina R.
06/01/2016

He taught us many tools that I will be able to take back and use in my career.

Overall rating

Keith L.
06/01/2016

Great class with a very good learning environment.

Overall rating

Marc R.
06/01/2016

The course covered all the issues I was interested in. David Melvin was an excellent facilitator and teacher

Overall rating

Bienvenida T.
06/01/2016

Great course and really good group of professionals who shared wonderful life experiences

Overall rating

Frank G.
05/17/2016

Mike was an engaging teacher who kept the class moving and interactive for 3 whole days.

Broke down topics into relatable chunks to remember mixed with real world anecdotes and hands-on experience. It was well worth my time.

Class size of 15 was ideal to facilitate team build and discussion. Wise to mix our tables once during the sessions, so that by the end all 15 people were engaged and comfortable interacting.

Well done!

Overall rating

Jeff P.
04/27/2016

Overall rating

Steven W.
04/27/2016

Bob was a great instructor. Very well spoken and kept everyone engaged. I would definitely recommend this course to others and would even attend future courses. Thank you!

Overall rating

Jermaine L.
04/10/2016

Overall rating

Larry H.
04/06/2016

Overall rating

Craig M.
03/28/2016

Overall rating

Irma D.
03/21/2016

The instructor was OUTSTANDING

Overall rating

NEIL B.
03/16/2016

I really enjoyed the class. It was very informative and the instructor kept it interesting and kept everyone involved. I have only been a supervisor here for one month and the information from the class will help me everyday.
Thank you.

Overall rating

Steve A.
03/16/2016

Overall rating

Stephanie D.
03/16/2016

Michael was exceptional with his presentation. He kept us engaged and active in conversation which encouraged others to talk about their experiences as manager/supervisor.

Overall rating

Noel V.
03/16/2016

Michael did an excellent job in keeping the class informative and engaged. Definitely came out of the class with some new knowledge. I would recommend this class for any new or existing supervisors/managers.

Overall rating

Hang K.
03/15/2016

Overall rating

David C.
03/14/2016

Mike was captivating and very knowledgable. A great mentor. I highly recommend AMA. It gave me a lot of tools and inter-personal skills, as well as porformance expectations.

Overall rating

James R.
02/26/2016

The online training course was very insightful and the training materials very informative. I was vey impressed with the instructor and how knowledgeable and patient he was during my course. I would recommend the AMA courses to be a standard for all industries.

Overall rating

Diane H.
02/08/2016

Overall rating

Stacey G.
02/03/2016

I thought the information we covered was helpful, and I really gained some valuable skills and knowledge from the course. I am actually using some of those skills already! I enjoyed going over the case studies that we were asked to submit - I thought those were really helpful real-world situations to which we could apply our new knowledge. Dianne was a great instructor - she was able to let us explore topics, but also made sure we stayed on schedule. It was really interesting to see how the different skills might be applied in different industries and types of work environments. One thing that surprised me was the amount of time we spent going over EEO, FMLA & legal requirements. While those are absolutely critical, I think those would be better in a different course because they aren't technically skills. I would have preferred to spend more time on the management skills themselves and perhaps adding some.

Overall rating

Kelly W.
02/03/2016

Dianne's teaching style is what made this course. She kept things moving and interesting. Her ability to combine team interaction, self-assessment, Power Point presentation materials and group discussion formed an excellent vehicle with which to convey the course content.

The AMA handbook associated with the session was comprehensive and easy to follow. There were many useful take-aways from the course which I plan to apply in my every day career as a law office administrator. I highly recommend the course for continued professional development.

Overall rating

Padraic E.
01/20/2016

I learned a lot of new information that will help me improve my leadersghip style.

Overall rating

Maria G.
01/13/2016

Overall rating

Bruce W.
01/03/2016

Instructor was great! Great group of students / New Supervisors. Some was very beginner course level, but good review of basics.

Overall rating

Felix M.
12/21/2015

Overall rating

Justin W.
12/16/2015

Overall rating

Raquel C.
12/09/2015

Was a great learning experience!

Overall rating

Melissa C.
12/09/2015

Overall rating

Luma A.
11/19/2015

Overall rating

Jim F.
11/18/2015

Dianne was an excellant instuctor keeping everyone engaged. The material is helpful. The class room was comfortable and clean. Will use the skills presented in the class.

Overall rating

Samantha B.
11/18/2015

Overall rating

Alex K.
11/16/2015

I think the class was very beneficial to me as a manager of just over 1 year. I learned a lot about how to become a better manager. The class was structured in a way that helped me learn. Yvonne was an excellent teacher and I would recommend new managers take this class.

Overall rating

Alison R.
11/09/2015

Well paced seminar, relevant content and great networking opportunity

Overall rating

Dolores F.
11/02/2015

I had a very positive experience at the Management Skills for New Supervisors seminar in San Francisco. The presenter, Nannette, did an excellent job leading the class through the different segments of the seminar. The topics were interesting and engaging. My fellow participants were very eager to learn and pleasant to collaborate with. I had fun and am looking forward to taking more seminars.

Overall rating

Edre M.
10/28/2015

Overall rating

Venessa P.
10/26/2015

Overall I had a good experience and seemed to pick up some important skills to use a manager.

Overall rating

Zafar M.
10/21/2015

The seminar was great and the instructor was very upbeat. I got some great tips that would be beneficial in my role. Even better was the reinforcement of how I have been managing my team. Being a new supervisor, it was good to hear from a professional that I have been making the right decisions and heading in the right direction.

Overall rating

Catherine L.
10/21/2015

Overall there was good content. It was a little tricky navigating all the different "types" of supervisors so I felt some things did not apply to me.

Overall rating

Jon E.
10/06/2015

Excellent course. Very well taught by the instructor and the course material was very beneficial for the topic and level of people attending. Plenty of group interaction to reinforce what was being presented.

Overall rating

Reatta F.
10/05/2015

The instructor was EXCELLENT! I really enjoyed her knowledge and personality. I have referred her to other managers.

Overall rating

Philip B.
09/30/2015

Great seminar. Very informative and interactive.

Overall rating

Misty H.
09/30/2015

I learned a lot in the class and the instructor used real life examples and how to overcome dealing with issues that new managers face. Yvonne displayed her wealth of knowledge and expertise in supervising people.

Overall rating

Mbye N.
09/22/2015

It was an excellent seminar within a very conducive learning environment and wonderful facilitator

Overall rating

Shaun P.
09/02/2015

I thought that the seminar was excellent. It was very informative and I learned a lot of great things. The course used a combination of lectures, working in groups, and videos. That really made the course more interesting and less repetitive. I would recommend this course to any new supervisors.

Overall rating

Dana B.
09/02/2015

Mark was an excellent instructor. He used valid, real world experience as examples to highlight important course objectives.

Overall rating

Sean L.
09/02/2015

Overall rating

Ashley T.
09/02/2015

The 3 day seminar of Management Skills for New Supervisors, exceeded my expectations and I would recommend this seminar to any new or current Supervisor. Mark did an amazing job relating the material to the students. Overall, wonderful experience.

Overall rating

Beth R.
08/31/2015

Overall rating

Aisha H.
08/27/2015

Overall rating

Michael P.
08/12/2015

Overall rating

Joni G.
08/10/2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the seminar. The instructor was very knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Sara B.
07/24/2015

I found this course extremely beneficial. The topics were relevant, the class size was great, the instructor was engaged, and the location was good. The class is recommended for people who have been supervising for about 2 years - I have only been a supervisor for 4 months, but I was able to keep up with the class just fine. The class was very interactive (which I was nervous about at first), but the class is so small that I loosened up on Day 1 and was able to share my experiences with the group with some great feedback. Very glad I attended - highly recommended.

Overall rating

Julio B.
07/22/2015

This class was so beneficial and was able to learned so much my instructor

Overall rating

Nathan B.
07/01/2015

Best seminar I have attended through work. The one-on-one approach that AMA provided really helped re-enforce the knowledge and you get to put what you learn into action with role playing. AMA also provides great coaches - Thank you Sue!

Overall rating

Bruce C.
06/30/2015

I learned a lot about my management style and ways to improve my management skills.

Overall rating

Jose P.
06/10/2015

The instructor, Mike, was very informative and kept it interesting

Overall rating

Roger M.
05/26/2015

Overall rating

Teresa B.
05/20/2015

Overall rating

Cynthia H.
05/18/2015

I really enjoyed the class. The interactive setting made it easier to see results from the presented actions. Also, meeting individuals from other companies with similar issues and different experiences added to the learning experience.

Overall rating

Suzanne S.
05/13/2015

I thought the seminar was very informative and it gave us several opportunities to act out how we would handle some difficult situations.

Overall rating

Robin F.
05/13/2015

Overall rating

Richard B.
04/27/2015

The class was very informative and helpful. I feel like the instructor got off topic too often and let too many meaningless conversations go on and on to the point we ran out of time and had to rush through the last two chapters in 90 minutes on the last day. It basically ended up being a waste of time for that section. To remedy this I think if she would have remained on her original schedule and stuck to it and maybe we would have completed the program in a more timely manner. We could also save time by not having 70-80 minute lunch breaks.

Overall rating

Vanessa H.
04/20/2015

I left the class with a few take-aways and will incorporate them in my daily activities. I enjoyed the class room setting, the participation of everyone and the information the instructor presented. The instructor was very good getting everyone to participate and he knew the material. Great Job

Overall rating

Michael G.
04/20/2015

Very good class that provided a good bit of interaction with other attendees. Chairs were comfortable which is important when you spend so many hours sitting in one for the classes.

Overall rating

Codee M.
03/17/2015

I learned so much in Management Skills for New Supervisors! Our instructor was wonderful and taught us some useful techniques.

Overall rating

Dalia F.
03/16/2015

The course was not in-depth enough. To become a New Supervisor, many of the skills taught in the class, I had to already acquire. I wanted a quicker overview of the "common sense" topics and more focus on difficult situations, motivation techniques, and remote team situations. The role-play learning was a great way to practice skills in a safe setting with real time feedback; however, it doesn't work very well if your partner doesn't give much feedback. Overall, although the course wasn't a necessity for me, it was enjoyable.

Overall rating

CHERYL B.
03/16/2015

The course structure was vast however instructor spent a majority of the time incorporating her own teachings and the book was not thoroughly followed. Due to her teaching the class seemed very vague and only a few good points were given. Not happy with the course and instructor. I was very disappointed.

Overall rating

Linda H.
02/10/2015

Overall rating

Debbie W.
02/02/2015

Great instructor, good class discussion, lots of information.

Overall rating

Kisha S.
01/23/2015

The course was very engaging from start to finish. The instructor was excellent. Her real-world stories really brought the concepts to life.

Overall rating

Adam W.
01/20/2015

Great seminar - the class was very diverse and that led to a lot of unique perspectives being shared. It was to everyone's benefit to be able to learn from the different situations and perspectives. Dianne was great, the class was very interactive and she had a lot of real world personal examples to share from her past careers.

Overall rating

Yashika J.
01/19/2015

The trainer was very knowledgeable, and was able to explain all the concepts very nicely. This training was a good training for me. Thanks you.

Overall rating

Aaron M.
01/12/2015

My instructor was awesome!!

He kelp the class room fun and learning. Everyone that participated did so because they wanted too, not that they had too.

I would recommend Larry for my next seminar.

Overall rating

Theresa N.
12/08/2014

Overall rating

Jodi M.
11/20/2014

Overall rating

Joseph C.
11/20/2014

I've been a general manager for seven years, and this seminar helped me stop and think about the things I can improve on. Don't go into this seminar thinking that you know it all.
Thank you Yvonne.

Overall rating

Michelle K.
11/17/2014

The instructor was interesting and very informative.

Overall rating

Bret D.
11/17/2014

Overall rating

Amanda M.
11/10/2014

Speaker was very engaging and the small group was great for one on one training. Learned a lot in this seminar and would highly recommend for anyone interested in moving into a management position.

Overall rating

Jonah I.
11/04/2014

I was relieved to learn that the entire class was engaged during the seminar, and real world issues were covered. Hearing that others were having the same struggles and difficulties that am helped me to realize that I was not alone, and the instructor provided some helpful tools to help combat the issues.

Overall rating

Ashley E.
10/21/2014

Alexis was a fantastic teacher and moderator. There were times that our groups got carried away with the group project, and we needed to get back on track.

Overall rating

Myoshi F.
10/13/2014

Overall rating

Jose V.
09/29/2014

Great job, very informative.

Overall rating

Robert S.
09/29/2014

Management Skills for New Supervisors seminar was an excellent experience. The course leader Dianne was a terrific leader and used many examples from her previous work experiences to relate to course topics. She was very knowledgeable with the subject material and worked with professionalism while adding a great sense of humor. The meeting site in D.C. was very welcoming in providing a warm atmosphere and refreshments. I would highly recommend this course to new supervisors.

Overall rating

Connie L.
09/17/2014

Overall rating

John A.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Adam G.
09/13/2014

Overall rating

Kevin S.
09/02/2014

The course instructor, Howard was fantastic.

Overall rating

Matt H.
09/02/2014

The class was not what I expected - it was extremely basic and not useful. The instructor also did not listen to the problems or issues the class was having. At times, I feel like I was being targeted by the instructor even though my team was completing all the assignments as other team were. The material seemed outdated.

Everything i learned, I could have learned by doing an internet search.

I did not feel I gained any new information from the course. It was almost a waste of 3 days.

I could not recommend this class to any of my colleagues.

Overall rating

Ruth H.
08/11/2014

The course was everything I needed and more. I feel much more confident about supervising now, especially when it involves a former peer. Laura was a wonderful instructor. Our class really bonded over the three days, which was a unexpected bonus! Now I have a network of peers outside my organization. Thank you!

Overall rating

Roland G.
07/28/2014

The time in the class flew by.She made it interesting.

Overall rating

josh g.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Robert H.
07/21/2014

For the class size (4), the material was appropriately addressed by the facilitator. The facilitator adjusted the class to fit the size and he hit all the key points. With only four participants, discussions and participation by each individual was 100%. Dialogue and knowledge was brought to the table from individual experiences, as well as the experience and knowledge from the facilitator. I will definitely be attending more AMA classes.

Overall rating

Jorge L.
07/16/2014

Larry was an excellent instructor!

Overall rating

Keith T.
06/16/2014

Very well prepared instructor and very helpful with question. Enjoyed quite well.

Overall rating

Erica F.
06/09/2014

Very useful seminar and tools to take back with you. I left the seminar more confident in my management skills in particular with Coaching and Communication with my staff. The group exercises and role playing are very helpful in practicing the tools provided. I would recommend this seminar for all new supervisors/managers.

Overall rating

Frank W.
05/27/2014

Overall rating

Jason T.
05/19/2014

Marcus was well informed on the subject and answered every question. Very well planned class.

Overall rating

Anamay S.
05/19/2014

This was a very interactive course. The instructor was enthusiastic and kept us engaged from start to finish. I feel the knowledge was beneficial not only on a professional level but can be applied in my personal life as well. I am looking forward to taking other AMA seminars in the future.

Overall rating

Lauren H.
05/10/2014

Had a wonderful experience in the Management Skills class. Deanne is fabulous. Made the class fun and provided information that was extremely helpful. Things really clicked for me in this class. I also really enjoyed the open discussion. It's nice to know that managers even in other industries than my own struggle with the same issues. I have already recommended this course to co-workers and friends. I would love to take the Situational Management course in the future.

Overall rating

Dominick M.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Matthew C.
05/05/2014

Very useful training for important management skills. The group exercises were very beneficial and I look forward towards implementing the skills I learned every day back at the office.

Overall rating

Armando A.
04/21/2014

Great training, but seems a bit too long for this topic. Some of the information was repetative.

Overall rating

Glenn B.
04/14/2014

Instructor was very well prepared and made the course interactive, fun, and informative

Overall rating

Craig L.
04/13/2014

Very enjoyable. I gained valuable knowledge that I will be able to use on the job. I recommend this class to any company. The contact was relevant to the manager position for any business.

Overall rating

Marcy B.
03/31/2014

Overall rating

Scott T.
03/31/2014

I found the curriculum relevant for my position as a supervisor. The trainer was lively and informative, keeping the sessions interesting from start to finish.

I previously had a distain for the small group, role-playing method. However, in the context of this type of training, it helps identify areas for improvement without the risk of experimentation on a real employee.

It was good to be in the midst of diverse industry to discuss different ideas and situations. Through this we all found that we share a lot of common ground.

I highly recommend this course for anyone entering supervision as well as a refresher for long-time supervisors.

Thanks AMA...

Overall rating

Kristina C.
03/31/2014

I thouroughly enjoyed "Mangement Skills for New Supervisors". I learned a lot that will be applicable in my current role and beyond. Mike was a phenomenal instructor and kept the lessons lively for our class. I would highly recommend this course.

Overall rating

Roberto S.
03/20/2014

Overall rating

Meghan M.
03/20/2014

Very helpful program with specific guidance on how to manage (direct, interactive vs. hands off), how to counsel, how to host performance appraisals (especially in difficult conversations), how to accurately document and how to encourage/create an atmosphere that fosters motivation. great trainer....very thorough.

Overall rating

Michael C.
03/17/2014

Mildred was fantastic and provided excellent examples and feedback throughout the course. I would recommend a course like this to anyone who has or will soon to become a supervisor. I would be interested in attending other training seminars through AMA.

Overall rating

Joanne B.
02/17/2014

I thought this course was very useful and the greatest value was in the discussions with the other participants. I thought the class could have moved a long a little faster in the beginning because we seemed to rush through some of the more important topics at the end.

Overall rating

Ray M.
01/28/2014

good seminar, would have liked more info on managing teleworkers.

Overall rating

Khadijah T.
01/20/2014

Marcus was an exceptional coach. Everything that was described in the description for this course was touched. I had a few work issues that he was able to help me solve. I would definitely recommend this course to all new managers as this will help you in being effective in your job. I think a good training course starts with the coach and ours was perfect.

Overall rating

Nolan D.
01/20/2014

The instructor was fantastic! He truly embodied the best practices he was educating us on.

Overall rating

Melissa C.
01/18/2014

Overall rating

Nicole G.
01/17/2014

1) Our course was only 2.5 days instead of 3 days b/c the instructor was unable to make it for half a day due to inclement weather (although all of the students were present). Because of that, we had to rush through the material.

2) I found the course to be too fluffy. As a brand new supervisor (2 months), I was expecting better direction on what I needed to do from a legal perspective, from a best practices perspective, managerial perspective, etc. Also, the course book was mostly fill in the blank.

3) Some of the exercises were helpful in obtaining suggestions from my classmates about how they would approach a situation. However, the instructor only listened / didn't actively paricipate in the role playing exercises, so we didn't get any feedback or correction if we started down the wrong path or said something incorrect.

Overall rating

Marvin M.
12/09/2013

Overall rating

Julie H.
11/26/2013

Diana was a wonderful Course Instructor!
She kept us very focused and engaged in our learning modules.
Excellent learning experience and wonderful tools!

Overall rating

Emily S.
11/21/2013

Overall rating

Walter M.
11/18/2013

Great Facilator . Held my interest durig the entire class.

Overall rating

James I.
11/11/2013

Overall rating

Ron F.
10/03/2013

The content was extremely relevant in regards to the needs of a supervisor in today's work environment. Furthermore, the facilitator provided a great degree of personal experience that helped to illustrate the various topics covered in class.

Overall rating

Robert W.
10/01/2013

The instructor, Mark, was excellent.

Overall rating

Michelle K.
09/23/2013

Overall rating

Julie D.
09/23/2013

Chris was excellent. He really involved and engaged the class. He shared many tips not included in the course material that I have already started using with success.

Overall rating

Samantha K.
09/14/2013

I did not expect to gain as much as I did from this seminar. I learned skills that I can use in my current position as well outside the office. I highly recommend this seminar to anyone that is new to the management seat.

Overall rating

Lisa C.
08/11/2013

Overall rating

William A.
08/02/2013

Class was excellent. Instructor was outstanding. I will be looking to take another one of your courses in the future.

Overall rating

Juan M.
07/29/2013

Very usefull information. the instructor had an Interesting way of teaching full of energy. Really enjoyed it Thanks AMA.

Overall rating

Brian M.
07/29/2013

Seminar was very useful. As a new supervisor, motivation and coaching are two of my top goals, and we spent a significant amount of time in these areas. Mike's real-world anecdotes and the interaction with other participants gave me insight into opportunities and options available for my team.

Overall rating

Lewis W.
07/23/2013

Larry is amazing! I will take the course again and other courses if the caliber of your instructors are similar to his or greater.

Overall rating

Victor C.
07/20/2013

Instructor was outstanding and gave a great presentation of all material covered. Set the atmosphere of wanting to be there. I had fun and enjoyed myself but most of all I learned so much that will help me grow and suceed in my business.

Overall rating

Yaniko S.
07/19/2013

As a new Manager it gave me the necessary knowlede on how to better communicate with my Employees. It helped me to understand my role more from a Managers perspective.

Overall rating

Ofelia H.
07/16/2013

Overall rating

Christina H.
07/02/2013

I did learn a lot from the seminar. I was very disappointed that we didn't complete the materials on time each week, so it either carried over to the next week or was not addressed at all. Also the breakout groups were confusing. The instructor did not go over what we were supposed to be doing during that time and we spent most of that allotted time just sitting there. It was very awkward and I just feel that time could have been better used in another manor.

Overall rating

Andrew J.
06/29/2013

Laura did a very good job facilitating this course. Her energy and ability to keep students engaged was key to the success of the course.

Overall rating

Karin W.
06/24/2013

THIS WAS HANDS DOWN THE BEST TRAINING SEMINAR I HAVE EVER ATTENDED.
IT WAS HANDLED SUPERBLY BY OUR TRAINER, WHO WAS A WEALTH OF INFORMATION REGARDING SUPERVISING EMPLOYEES.
I HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS SEMINAR FOR OTHER SUPERVISORS I WORK WITH.

Overall rating

Shawn J.
06/22/2013

Overall rating

Strandlund B.
06/18/2013

Larry is one of the best facilitators I have experience in my career to point.

Overall rating

Anna H.
06/18/2013

The room setup, workbook and instructor were all immensly conducive to learning the material. I am not a big fan of role playing, but in the case of this seminar, it is a great way to practise the newly acquired management skills.

Overall rating

Michelle M.
06/17/2013

The content of the course coupled with the instructor made for a great learning environment. I look forward to implementing the new processes and continuing to grow and develop within my role as a result of the course.

Overall rating

Michael S.
05/21/2013

As a vice president at a 4,200 employee organization, this was too basic for my needs.

Overall rating

Joe G.
05/20/2013

Enjoyed the group involvement. Instructor was also very friendly and informative.

Overall rating

Shandel H.
05/13/2013

Darlene was an excellent instructor! She kept the class engaged in the course content through various teaching methods. She had great enthusiasm which lead to engaging interactions between fellow classmates. The materials were relevant and I can't wait to explore the techniques I learned in my current role!

Overall rating

Angela B.
05/13/2013

I liked the variety of activities and that the class addressed many different aspects of being a supervisor. Darlene did a great job of keeping the class engaged and keeping the material interesting.

Overall rating

Benjamin B.
05/11/2013

Thank you for the opportunity to teach this class. The leader was very knowledgeable and willing to share from her experiences. The facilities were comfortable and conducive for learning.

Overall rating

Mike G.
04/23/2013

This seminar covers the major topics that new managers need to know. Deanne is an excellent and engaging speaker. I felt comfortable throughout the entire class and would recommend this class to new managers. She has a lot of great and relevant experience that fit in nicely with the program.

Overall rating

Morgan K.
04/16/2013

The instructor was well versed on the subject matter. She was also very engaging! I learned a lot of useful tips during the training session that I can apply during future interactions with my employees. Looking forward to using my new skills.

Overall rating

Shawna A.
04/15/2013

This is a fantastic course for first time supervisors! I learned a lot and had fun at the same time.

Overall rating

Jessica R.
04/15/2013

Overall rating

Jackie H.
04/14/2013

I was pleasantly surprised by all the tools I walked away with that I could use upon my return from the meeting. This was a great course for new supervisors and I only wish I had taken it sooner.

Overall rating

Kendall D.
04/06/2013

Yael is an asset to your organization. She kept an otherwise dull and dry subject matter interesting and informative. I've taken some of the tools acquired through Yael and put them into play already with positive results. I'm fairly new to the management end of my profession. By attending your class I've achieved a higher comfort level due to materials covered and how it was presented.
Thank you, Kendall Donaldson
Manager @ Durango RV Resort Red Bluff CA

Overall rating

Alaina L.
04/01/2013

Overall rating

Michelle B.
04/01/2013

Overall rating

Steven C.
03/25/2013

I found that everything Marcus discussed was applicable in the real world situation. The role playing instills confidence to handle on the job problems.

Overall rating

Sean C.
03/22/2013

Overall rating

Beverly H.
03/11/2013

The instructor Marcia was excellent! She provided real world scenarios and a wealth of knowledge to guide us along our journey in management.

Overall rating

Randy C.
02/25/2013

Overall rating

Kathleen M.
02/19/2013

The instructor was really very good--I learned a tremendous amount from her. Also, I felt the class size (8) was perfect, and allowed me to establish relationships and learn from my fellow classmates and their challenges and perspectives.

Overall rating

Stephanie M.
02/19/2013

Overall rating

rick w.
02/18/2013

instructor was very good, a few of the videos did not work in the training room. (should either have internally on the lap top (instructor) and/or provide links for class review after the fact)

The role play was very helpful.

Overall rating

Daniel F.
02/16/2013

Jaura is both knowledgeable and enteraining without unnecessarily wasting any time,
She is able to gauge her audience and steer her course material accordingly.
For me, she was the course.

Overall rating

Efren L.
01/30/2013

It was an excellent piece of information. I enjoyed the scenarios we put into practice to help us better understand and deal with e real life situation.

Overall rating

Ryan T.
01/30/2013

It was very informative. I would recommend the seminar for all new supervisors. Thanks

Overall rating

Joseph B.
01/29/2013

Really excellent training. The models provided were invaluable to me as I've already begun applying some of the techniques to my team. Our instructor, Linda, was terrific as well. She was calm and certain and almost always had an answer to our questions. Great training.

Overall rating

Erick K.
01/26/2013

very helpful, and informative.

Overall rating

Elly B.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

Demetrius C.
01/19/2013

The seminar was very informative it showed that the things i thought were the right things to do pertaining to coaching of employees was off track by a wide margin. It taught me that my way is not the only way to accomplish the goals to be obtained. I think this seminar should be taking by all Supervisors NEW and OLD, it would bridge the gap between the US (Management) and THEM ( Employees ) that is present in most companies today.

Overall rating

Dwight K.
12/20/2012

Very nice class and great teacher.

Overall rating

Eddie M.
12/19/2012

Overall rating

Dan K.
12/19/2012

Overall rating

Tom S.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Jamie J.
12/17/2012

It was very informative. I defiantly left the 3-day training with items/actions I want to apply to my new position. My top three things I learned in which I feel will help me grow professionally were:
¿ How to Delegate Effectively
¿ The Importance of Coaching and How To Do It
¿ Delivering Performance Appraisals

At times I thought some of the topics were rushed or lacked input from the speaker. Often we would be told to work in groups and then come back and that was it, no real input from the speaker.

Overall rating

Heath T.
12/14/2012

well done

Overall rating

Dave B.
12/11/2012

Really good overview of supervising with specific examples of how to use the information.

Overall rating

Cindy H.
11/20/2012

I found this class to be very informative and provided good insight into effect management skills. Now I have to see if I can put them to use!

Overall rating

Joan H.
11/19/2012

The class is well designed and fun; the speaker Bonnie is professional and knowledgeable. There are a lot of skills introduced that I can use for my work. I do recommend this class to anyone who need management training.

Thank you,

Joan Huang

Overall rating

Antonio C.
11/12/2012

The instructor was very knowledgeable and I learned some very important skills that I could take back to my company.

Overall rating

Leicia M.
11/01/2012

Amazing!!! This seminar covered the main components of becoming a first time/new supervisor. The information that was addressed regarding coaching, time management, delegation and evaluations were excellent! The instructor, Terisita was exceptional. She was fully knowledgable, she answered all the questions asked, she gave examples and she even role played with the class so there was a better understanding. I would recommend this training to all new supervisors and even those who have supervised for some time now without any offical training.

Overall rating

Lee T.
10/23/2012

Overall rating

Ali S.
10/22/2012

Overall rating

Scott D.
10/15/2012

The seminar was outstanding and had an environment that encouraged participation and learning. The instructor (Jeanette) had great knowledge in all areas covered in this seminar.
Thank You
Scott

Overall rating

Thomas M.
09/25/2012

Traning will be very helpful in my transition from hourly to supervisor position

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.