/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Jodi M.
11/20/2014

Overall rating

Joseph C.
11/20/2014

I've been a general manager for seven years, and this seminar helped me stop and think about the things I can improve on. Don't go into this seminar thinking that you know it all.
Thank you Yvonne Brown.

Overall rating

Michelle K.
11/17/2014

The instructor was interesting and very informative.

Overall rating

Bret D.
11/17/2014

Overall rating

Amanda M.
11/10/2014

Speaker was very engaging and the small group was great for one on one training. Learned a lot in this seminar and would highly recommend for anyone interested in moving into a management position.

Overall rating

Jonah I.
11/04/2014

I was relieved to learn that the entire class was engaged during the seminar, and real world issues were covered. Hearing that others were having the same struggles and difficulties that am helped me to realize that I was not alone, and the instructor provided some helpful tools to help combat the issues.

Overall rating

Ashley E.
10/21/2014

Alexis was a fantastic teacher and moderator. There were times that our groups got carried away with the group project, and we needed to get back on track.

Overall rating

Myoshi F.
10/13/2014

Overall rating

Jose V.
09/29/2014

Great job, very informative.

Overall rating

Robert S.
09/29/2014

Management Skills for New Supervisors seminar was an excellent experience. The course leader Dianne was a terrific leader and used many examples from her previous work experiences to relate to course topics. She was very knowledgeable with the subject material and worked with professionalism while adding a great sense of humor. The meeting site in D.C. was very welcoming in providing a warm atmosphere and refreshments. I would highly recommend this course to new supervisors.

Overall rating

Connie L.
09/17/2014

Overall rating

John A.
09/15/2014

Overall rating

Adam G.
09/13/2014

Overall rating

Kevin S.
09/02/2014

The course instructor, Howard was fantastic.

Overall rating

Matt H.
09/02/2014

The class was not what I expected - it was extremely basic and not useful. The instructor also did not listen to the problems or issues the class was having. At times, I feel like I was being targeted by the instructor even though my team was completing all the assignments as other team were. The material seemed outdated.

Everything i learned, I could have learned by doing an internet search.

I did not feel I gained any new information from the course. It was almost a waste of 3 days.

I could not recommend this class to any of my colleagues.

Overall rating

Ruth H.
08/11/2014

The course was everything I needed and more. I feel much more confident about supervising now, especially when it involves a former peer. Laura was a wonderful instructor. Our class really bonded over the three days, which was a unexpected bonus! Now I have a network of peers outside my organization. Thank you!

Overall rating

Roland G.
07/28/2014

The time in the class flew by.She made it interesting.

Overall rating

josh g.
07/28/2014

Overall rating

Robert H.
07/21/2014

For the class size (4), the material was appropriately addressed by the facilitator. The facilitator adjusted the class to fit the size and he hit all the key points. With only four participants, discussions and participation by each individual was 100%. Dialogue and knowledge was brought to the table from individual experiences, as well as the experience and knowledge from the facilitator. I will definitely be attending more AMA classes.

Overall rating

Jorge L.
07/16/2014

Larry was an excellent instructor!

Overall rating

Keith T.
06/16/2014

Very well prepared instructor and very helpful with question. Enjoyed quite well.

Overall rating

Erica F.
06/09/2014

Very useful seminar and tools to take back with you. I left the seminar more confident in my management skills in particular with Coaching and Communication with my staff. The group exercises and role playing are very helpful in practicing the tools provided. I would recommend this seminar for all new supervisors/managers.

Overall rating

Frank W.
05/27/2014

Overall rating

Jason T.
05/19/2014

Marcus was well informed on the subject and answered every question. Very well planned class.

Overall rating

Anamay S.
05/19/2014

This was a very interactive course. The instructor was enthusiastic and kept us engaged from start to finish. I feel the knowledge was beneficial not only on a professional level but can be applied in my personal life as well. I am looking forward to taking other AMA seminars in the future.

Overall rating

Lauren H.
05/10/2014

Had a wonderful experience in the Management Skills class. Deanne is fabulous. Made the class fun and provided information that was extremely helpful. Things really clicked for me in this class. I also really enjoyed the open discussion. It's nice to know that managers even in other industries than my own struggle with the same issues. I have already recommended this course to co-workers and friends. I would love to take the Situational Management course in the future.

Overall rating

Dominick M.
05/05/2014

Overall rating

Matthew C.
05/05/2014

Very useful training for important management skills. The group exercises were very beneficial and I look forward towards implementing the skills I learned every day back at the office.

Overall rating

Armando A.
04/21/2014

Great training, but seems a bit too long for this topic. Some of the information was repetative.

Overall rating

Glenn B.
04/14/2014

Instructor was very well prepared and made the course interactive, fun, and informative

Overall rating

Craig L.
04/13/2014

Very enjoyable. I gained valuable knowledge that I will be able to use on the job. I recommend this class to any company. The contact was relevant to the manager position for any business.

Overall rating

Marcy B.
03/31/2014

Overall rating

Scott T.
03/31/2014

I found the curriculum relevant for my position as a supervisor. The trainer was lively and informative, keeping the sessions interesting from start to finish.

I previously had a distain for the small group, role-playing method. However, in the context of this type of training, it helps identify areas for improvement without the risk of experimentation on a real employee.

It was good to be in the midst of diverse industry to discuss different ideas and situations. Through this we all found that we share a lot of common ground.

I highly recommend this course for anyone entering supervision as well as a refresher for long-time supervisors.

Thanks AMA...

Overall rating

Kristina C.
03/31/2014

I thouroughly enjoyed "Mangement Skills for New Supervisors". I learned a lot that will be applicable in my current role and beyond. Mike was a phenomenal instructor and kept the lessons lively for our class. I would highly recommend this course.

Overall rating

Roberto S.
03/20/2014

Overall rating

Meghan M.
03/20/2014

Very helpful program with specific guidance on how to manage (direct, interactive vs. hands off), how to counsel, how to host performance appraisals (especially in difficult conversations), how to accurately document and how to encourage/create an atmosphere that fosters motivation. great trainer....very thorough.

Overall rating

Michael C.
03/17/2014

Mildred Saunders was fantastic and provided excellent examples and feedback throughout the course. I would recommend a course like this to anyone who has or will soon to become a supervisor. I would be interested in attending other training seminars through AMA.

Overall rating

Joanne B.
02/17/2014

I thought this course was very useful and the greatest value was in the discussions with the other participants. I thought the class could have moved a long a little faster in the beginning because we seemed to rush through some of the more important topics at the end.

Overall rating

Ray M.
01/28/2014

good seminar, would have liked more info on managing teleworkers.

Overall rating

Khadijah T.
01/20/2014

Marcus was an exceptional coach. Everything that was described in the description for this course was touched. I had a few work issues that he was able to help me solve. I would definitely recommend this course to all new managers as this will help you in being effective in your job. I think a good training course starts with the coach and ours was perfect.

Overall rating

Nolan D.
01/20/2014

The instructor was fantastic! He truly embodied the best practices he was educating us on.

Overall rating

Melissa C.
01/18/2014

Overall rating

Nicole G.
01/17/2014

1) Our course was only 2.5 days instead of 3 days b/c the instructor was unable to make it for half a day due to inclement weather (although all of the students were present). Because of that, we had to rush through the material.

2) I found the course to be too fluffy. As a brand new supervisor (2 months), I was expecting better direction on what I needed to do from a legal perspective, from a best practices perspective, managerial perspective, etc. Also, the course book was mostly fill in the blank.

3) Some of the exercises were helpful in obtaining suggestions from my classmates about how they would approach a situation. However, the instructor only listened / didn't actively paricipate in the role playing exercises, so we didn't get any feedback or correction if we started down the wrong path or said something incorrect.

Overall rating

Marvin M.
12/09/2013

Overall rating

Julie H.
11/26/2013

Diana was a wonderful Course Instructor!
She kept us very focused and engaged in our learning modules.
Excellent learning experience and wonderful tools!

Overall rating

Emily S.
11/21/2013

Overall rating

Walter M.
11/18/2013

Great Facilator . Held my interest durig the entire class.

Overall rating

James I.
11/11/2013

Overall rating

Ron F.
10/03/2013

The content was extremely relevant in regards to the needs of a supervisor in today's work environment. Furthermore, the facilitator provided a great degree of personal experience that helped to illustrate the various topics covered in class.

Overall rating

Robert W.
10/01/2013

The instructor, Mark, was excellent.

Overall rating

Michelle K.
09/23/2013

Overall rating

Julie D.
09/23/2013

Chris was excellent. He really involved and engaged the class. He shared many tips not included in the course material that I have already started using with success.

Overall rating

Samantha K.
09/14/2013

I did not expect to gain as much as I did from this seminar. I learned skills that I can use in my current position as well outside the office. I highly recommend this seminar to anyone that is new to the management seat.

Overall rating

Lisa C.
08/11/2013

Overall rating

William A.
08/02/2013

Class was excellent. Instructor was outstanding. I will be looking to take another one of your courses in the future.

Overall rating

Juan M.
07/29/2013

Very usefull information. the instructor had an Interesting way of teaching full of energy. Really enjoyed it Thanks AMA.

Overall rating

Brian M.
07/29/2013

Seminar was very useful. As a new supervisor, motivation and coaching are two of my top goals, and we spent a significant amount of time in these areas. Mike's real-world anecdotes and the interaction with other participants gave me insight into opportunities and options available for my team.

Overall rating

Lewis W.
07/23/2013

Larry is amazing! I will take the course again and other courses if the caliber of your instructors are similar to his or greater.

Overall rating

Victor C.
07/20/2013

Instructor was outstanding and gave a great presentation of all material covered. Set the atmosphere of wanting to be there. I had fun and enjoyed myself but most of all I learned so much that will help me grow and suceed in my business.

Overall rating

Yaniko S.
07/19/2013

As a new Manager it gave me the necessary knowlede on how to better communicate with my Employees. It helped me to understand my role more from a Managers perspective.

Overall rating

Ofelia H.
07/16/2013

Overall rating

Christina H.
07/02/2013

I did learn a lot from the seminar. I was very disappointed that we didn't complete the materials on time each week, so it either carried over to the next week or was not addressed at all. Also the breakout groups were confusing. The instructor did not go over what we were supposed to be doing during that time and we spent most of that allotted time just sitting there. It was very awkward and I just feel that time could have been better used in another manor.

Overall rating

Andrew J.
06/29/2013

Laura did a very good job facilitating this course. Her energy and ability to keep students engaged was key to the success of the course.

Overall rating

Karin W.
06/24/2013

THIS WAS HANDS DOWN THE BEST TRAINING SEMINAR I HAVE EVER ATTENDED.
IT WAS HANDLED SUPERBLY BY OUR TRAINER, WHO WAS A WEALTH OF INFORMATION REGARDING SUPERVISING EMPLOYEES.
I HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS SEMINAR FOR OTHER SUPERVISORS I WORK WITH.

Overall rating

Shawn J.
06/22/2013

Overall rating

Strandlund B.
06/18/2013

Larry is one of the best facilitators I have experience in my career to point.

Overall rating

Anna H.
06/18/2013

The room setup, workbook and instructor were all immensly conducive to learning the material. I am not a big fan of role playing, but in the case of this seminar, it is a great way to practise the newly acquired management skills.

Overall rating

Michelle M.
06/17/2013

The content of the course coupled with the instructor made for a great learning environment. I look forward to implementing the new processes and continuing to grow and develop within my role as a result of the course.

Overall rating

Michael S.
05/21/2013

As a vice president at a 4,200 employee organization, this was too basic for my needs.

Overall rating

Joe G.
05/20/2013

Enjoyed the group involvement. Instructor was also very friendly and informative.

Overall rating

Shandel H.
05/13/2013

Darlene was an excellent instructor! She kept the class engaged in the course content through various teaching methods. She had great enthusiasm which lead to engaging interactions between fellow classmates. The materials were relevant and I can't wait to explore the techniques I learned in my current role!

Overall rating

Angela B.
05/13/2013

I liked the variety of activities and that the class addressed many different aspects of being a supervisor. Darlene did a great job of keeping the class engaged and keeping the material interesting.

Overall rating

Benjamin B.
05/11/2013

Thank you for the opportunity to teach this class. The leader was very knowledgeable and willing to share from her experiences. The facilities were comfortable and conducive for learning.

Overall rating

Mike G.
04/23/2013

This seminar covers the major topics that new managers need to know. Deanne is an excellent and engaging speaker. I felt comfortable throughout the entire class and would recommend this class to new managers. She has a lot of great and relevant experience that fit in nicely with the program.

Overall rating

Morgan K.
04/16/2013

The instructor was well versed on the subject matter. She was also very engaging! I learned a lot of useful tips during the training session that I can apply during future interactions with my employees. Looking forward to using my new skills.

Overall rating

Shawna A.
04/15/2013

This is a fantastic course for first time supervisors! I learned a lot and had fun at the same time.

Overall rating

Jessica R.
04/15/2013

Overall rating

Jackie H.
04/14/2013

I was pleasantly surprised by all the tools I walked away with that I could use upon my return from the meeting. This was a great course for new supervisors and I only wish I had taken it sooner.

Overall rating

Kendall D.
04/06/2013

Yael is an asset to your organization. She kept an otherwise dull and dry subject matter interesting and informative. I've taken some of the tools acquired through Yael and put them into play already with positive results. I'm fairly new to the management end of my profession. By attending your class I've achieved a higher comfort level due to materials covered and how it was presented.
Thank you, Kendall Donaldson
Manager @ Durango RV Resort Red Bluff CA

Overall rating

Alaina L.
04/01/2013

Overall rating

Michelle B.
04/01/2013

Overall rating

Steven C.
03/25/2013

I found that everything Marcus discussed was applicable in the real world situation. The role playing instills confidence to handle on the job problems.

Overall rating

Sean C.
03/22/2013

Overall rating

Beverly H.
03/11/2013

The instructor Marcia was excellent! She provided real world scenarios and a wealth of knowledge to guide us along our journey in management.

Overall rating

Randy C.
02/25/2013

Overall rating

Kathleen M.
02/19/2013

The instructor was really very good--I learned a tremendous amount from her. Also, I felt the class size (8) was perfect, and allowed me to establish relationships and learn from my fellow classmates and their challenges and perspectives.

Overall rating

Stephanie M.
02/19/2013

Overall rating

rick w.
02/18/2013

instructor was very good, a few of the videos did not work in the training room. (should either have internally on the lap top (instructor) and/or provide links for class review after the fact)

The role play was very helpful.

Overall rating

Daniel F.
02/16/2013

Jaura is both knowledgeable and enteraining without unnecessarily wasting any time,
She is able to gauge her audience and steer her course material accordingly.
For me, she was the course.

Overall rating

Efren L.
01/30/2013

It was an excellent piece of information. I enjoyed the scenarios we put into practice to help us better understand and deal with e real life situation.

Overall rating

Ryan T.
01/30/2013

It was very informative. I would recommend the seminar for all new supervisors. Thanks

Overall rating

Joseph B.
01/29/2013

Really excellent training. The models provided were invaluable to me as I've already begun applying some of the techniques to my team. Our instructor, Linda, was terrific as well. She was calm and certain and almost always had an answer to our questions. Great training.

Overall rating

Erick K.
01/26/2013

very helpful, and informative.

Overall rating

Elly B.
01/21/2013

Overall rating

Demetrius C.
01/19/2013

The seminar was very informative it showed that the things i thought were the right things to do pertaining to coaching of employees was off track by a wide margin. It taught me that my way is not the only way to accomplish the goals to be obtained. I think this seminar should be taking by all Supervisors NEW and OLD, it would bridge the gap between the US (Management) and THEM ( Employees ) that is present in most companies today.

Overall rating

Dwight K.
12/20/2012

Very nice class and great teacher.

Overall rating

Eddie M.
12/19/2012

Overall rating

Dan K.
12/19/2012

Overall rating

Tom S.
12/17/2012

Overall rating

Jamie J.
12/17/2012

It was very informative. I defiantly left the 3-day training with items/actions I want to apply to my new position. My top three things I learned in which I feel will help me grow professionally were:
¿ How to Delegate Effectively
¿ The Importance of Coaching and How To Do It
¿ Delivering Performance Appraisals

At times I thought some of the topics were rushed or lacked input from the speaker. Often we would be told to work in groups and then come back and that was it, no real input from the speaker.

Overall rating

Heath T.
12/14/2012

well done

Overall rating

Dave B.
12/11/2012

Really good overview of supervising with specific examples of how to use the information.

Overall rating

Cindy H.
11/20/2012

I found this class to be very informative and provided good insight into effect management skills. Now I have to see if I can put them to use!

Overall rating

Joan H.
11/19/2012

The class is well designed and fun; the speaker Bonnie is professional and knowledgeable. There are a lot of skills introduced that I can use for my work. I do recommend this class to anyone who need management training.

Thank you,

Joan Huang

Overall rating

Antonio C.
11/12/2012

The instructor was very knowledgeable and I learned some very important skills that I could take back to my company.

Overall rating

Leicia M.
11/01/2012

Amazing!!! This seminar covered the main components of becoming a first time/new supervisor. The information that was addressed regarding coaching, time management, delegation and evaluations were excellent! The instructor, Terisita was exceptional. She was fully knowledgable, she answered all the questions asked, she gave examples and she even role played with the class so there was a better understanding. I would recommend this training to all new supervisors and even those who have supervised for some time now without any offical training.

Overall rating

Lee T.
10/23/2012

Overall rating

Ali S.
10/22/2012

Overall rating

Scott D.
10/15/2012

The seminar was outstanding and had an environment that encouraged participation and learning. The instructor (Jeanette) had great knowledge in all areas covered in this seminar.
Thank You
Scott

Overall rating

Thomas M.
09/25/2012

Traning will be very helpful in my transition from hourly to supervisor position

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.