/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Christine W.
09/20/2014

The course was interesting and interactive, was it worth what I paid to take it and the expensive hotel bill? Probably not. Felt like it was a lot of a sales pitch for other AMA courses and all the fluff left no time to actually cover the course work. The fact that we only had ten minutes on the second day to cover "time management" pretty much says it all.
Our instructor was energetic and interactive, but I was looking for more nuts and bolts.

Overall rating

Kip J.
09/19/2014

I feel the seminar was extremely informational and proffessional. I would recommend this seminar to any current or soon to be supervisor or manager.

Overall rating

Aleksandar R.
09/03/2014

I was wondering how much can I learn in two days? But, you will be surprised what difference in the world it makes if you have very experienced trainer and well-organized and prepared team. I would recommend AMA to anyone who is on the way to excellence!

Overall rating

Dominick L.
08/18/2014

Very good class, instructor was knowledgeable and well informed, Great atmosphere and promoted an excellent networking and sharing opportunity

Overall rating

Brandy R.
08/08/2014

The instructor was excellent - encouraging and engaging. Content was informative. Lots of relevant application practice. I would highly recommend this class.

Overall rating

Jerome T.
08/08/2014

Robert (the presenter) did a very good job of taking what can be rather dry and boring, and keeping it interesting and moving.

I never felt like we got bogged down.

The biggest learning for me was the introspection that this class forced.
I will have to delegate, I can't do it all my self etc.

Absolutely worth the cost (dollars and time)!

Overall rating

Barbara B.
08/04/2014

Material was not clearly presented. I feel I could have gotten the same result sitting at home with the workbook and just reading the material on my own. Instructor moved on as soon as she saw one person was finished with the material, regardless of whether everyone else in the class was still writing. None of the action plans were shared with each other, so you lost both the ability to learn from others as well as a sense that you were completing the tasks correctly. I found this seminar to be a complete waste of both time and money

Overall rating

Arlene T.
07/25/2014

Great instructor. Lots of helpful interaction among students.

Overall rating

Jay P.
07/07/2014

Class hit close to home and was very helpful with managing my employees. I have a few difficult employees and this helped my start to understand why they are the way they are.

Overall rating

Christine B.
06/30/2014

This was a wonderful experiance, I wish that it could have been spread out to three days. This would have provided a few more hours of being able to really process all of the information that we received. I felt very blessed to have Yvonne as the Course Leader. She is a very gifted person that shared ways to apply what we were being taught.
Awesome!!!

Overall rating

Arden L.
06/09/2014

The instructor was excellent and the content was very informative. I will be able to use what I learned from this seminar in my new role as a supervisor.

Overall rating

Angela H.
05/23/2014

I had high expectations for this seminar, as a co-worker had attended and thoroughly enjoyed it. Being someone who has had previous supervisory experience, along with a Masters degree, this seminar left me feeling like I wasted time and money. The presenter didn't appear prepared, as we went page-by-page in the workbook, without additional discussion, real-life examples, or ways to draw from our own situations (beyond the activities in the workbook). Learning modifications weren't utilized or respected, as quick processors were criticized for speediness as if they had rushed through. I felt as though the full two days were merely thrown together without regard to the time and money spent to attend. There was no discussion of the actual transition from staff to supervisor. I'd recommend the title merely be something about Supervisor 101 training for those who need it.

Overall rating

Jason K.
05/19/2014

Oustanding course, the material; both written and overhead, was very helpful and well organized. The facility and its staff were phenominal! I have and will continue to recommend AMA to everyone.

Overall rating

Yusuf M.
04/22/2014

Very good website

Overall rating

Christina B.
04/21/2014

The course was an unexpected help and provided a unique outlook and fresh ideas on how to approach my new position within the company where I have worked for over six years. It was reassuring to hear the stories of others and how in remarkably varied industries we were experiencing similar situations. Walking away from the course with a refreshed perspective and new attitude when coming into work this morning along with a network of peers from the group to lean on for support during this transition.

Overall rating

Peggy Y.
03/24/2014

I enjoyed this calss, was very informative. The teacher was great, did a lot of hands on training (class participation)

Overall rating

Rachel R.
03/24/2014

Overall rating

Matthew P.
03/24/2014

Overall I can see great value in the insight that was present in the AMA seminary that I attended. Firstly the instructor, Mark did a fantastic job and kept everyone interested and stimulated with all of us at different levels in our career. That in and of itself is usually very difficult. I for one enjoyed the variety of aids (video, audio, booklet, lecture, group activities) and felt that the whole experience was well worth my time. I know a good amount about management after graduating only in the past few years. But I still learned a lot and all in all the materials formed a great coherent whole. I felt that I was very able to express myself and asked questions, something that I don't always feel at seminars. And the facilities were so well maintained and the staff was friendly and the other attendees highly professional. AMA far exceeded my expectations.

Overall rating

Don O.
03/23/2014

Overall rating

Robert K.
03/11/2014

Overall rating

Mark Z.
03/03/2014

The seminar didn't give me any new ways to handle staff members in our location or in our production setting that I could use. This seminar wasted alot of time and money that my company could have used somewhere else that would would have been more beneficial.

Overall rating

Lyndon C.
02/24/2014

Leader was very knowledgeble and able to answer all questions that were brought up during seminar. Seminar was very helpful in many aspects.

Overall rating

Brien W.
02/24/2014

very informitive

Overall rating

nicolas r.
02/02/2014

Seminar was very helpful as I have learned useful tools that will help me to:
- Communicate better with others through a better understanding of their behavioral styles and which should be the best way to approach these people
- Improve the way I manage my direct reports, through delegation techniques, smart goals and timely and accurate feedback

The interactive sessions and team activities were very helpful to receive first hand info regarding others people going through similar situations and facing same challenges.

I will definitely recommend this training to anyone who will start a supervisor role

Overall rating

Yahaira I.
01/31/2014

The instructor shared so much knowledge from experience that I was able to take back and put into practice on my first day back to work.

Overall rating

Peter Z.
01/01/2014

Overall rating

Eliza M.
12/23/2013

Overall rating

John A.
12/18/2013

I learn a lot about how to approach and understand different people at work

Overall rating

Phil L.
12/15/2013

Overall rating

Roberto G.
11/08/2013

The seminar was excellent, reliability and quality of all the people working there, an unforgettable experience, really recommended.

Overall rating

Jim P.
11/01/2013

The instructor was knowledgeable and had lots of real world experience to share. She also did a good job of tailoring material to the needs of the attendees.

The pre-seminar knowledge test didn't work well for me. The first time I completed it, my results were not retained, so I had to do it again. I also do not find value in taking a pre-test that confirms what I already knew - namely, that I needed to take this training.

Overall, though, very positive experience.

Overall rating

Sandy C.
09/20/2013

The instructor for this class, was amazing. He was insightful, charismatic and informative. I was impressed with his ability to keep the class engaged in the course material and the interaction that he encouraged among the attendees.

The material was practical and easy to follow. I was able to implement the strategies learned in the course immediately, which was very helpful. I look forward to taking more courses from the AMA and in the future.

Overall rating

Duncan B.
09/03/2013

Very good course, Instructor did a great job, very personable new the course content and provided real world examples.

Overall rating

Amanda H.
08/28/2013

This was a perfect fit for where I am right now in my new management position, which I've been in for three months. It gave me confidence and confirmed the things I'm already doing correctly and gave me lots of new information on how to deal with managing different behavioral types, situations, goal setting for myself and my team. Great advice on how to best communicate expectations and goals too. Our instructor Darlene was wonderful, she facilitated a lot of thought provoking conversations - would take any of her classes again!

Overall rating

Tom A.
08/19/2013

Overall rating

Deanna H.
08/05/2013

Completely satisfied the class and walked away truly feeling as though the money spent on this course was well worth every dime. I am big on being a good steward of the companys money and I could have spent 2 more days in this class easily. Alvin kept us constantly engaged and interested. He lead with focus and authority but in a comfortable and approachable setting as well. I learned more than I ever thought I would. Thanks~

Overall rating

Nathan B.
08/01/2013

Yael was very personable and yet professional. She is a very good instructor with great interaction with everyone in the class. I hope this was the first of many courses that I can attend with AMA.

Thank-You

Overall rating

Peter S.
07/29/2013

Great instructor and very interactive and effective "classroom" environment for a online seminar.

The information given was very applicable to the subject of transitioning to a new supervisor role and I will use a number of the skills and best practices that I learned in this course in my daily management role.

Overall rating

Rogelio G.
07/29/2013

Overall rating

William C.
07/08/2013

Overall rating

Kim K.
07/07/2013

very informative i learned alot

Overall rating

Emily D.
07/05/2013

As a new manager, I found this seminar very helpful. Not only did I learn a lot about my own management style, but how to use these tools to work more efficiently and effectively with my team!

Overall rating

Beth B.
06/19/2013

The seminar was worth my time but overpriced given that the content was much more general than I expected. You should say it's general in your course description. I know you have others on transition to management, but not everyone can afford to throw money around like that.

Hands down Robert is what made it excellent. He deserves a raise! His teaching and management background, skills, education, life experience, style and demeanor were a tremendous value-add. He was available (given the fast pace) for one:one coaching, and adapted the content for our needs. I wish there was more time to ask him questions and hear his stories. The class was small (~10), which allowed for a more personalized attention. Good thing. Had there been 30 people in the class, it wouldn't have been as engaging.

You may use my feedback provided you include the good and the bad.

Overall rating

Malissa M.
06/11/2013

Overall rating

Erin T.
06/07/2013

Overall rating

Michael S.
06/07/2013

Great timing i really needed this perspective now!

Great content

Great leader

Great group

Thanks Robert. Hope to do more in the future! By the way i'm on PTO today!!! Mikes

Overall rating

Nic T.
05/14/2013

Our instructor, Dr.Spencer, was incredibly effective. I found it incredibly helpful that she did not simply "plow through" the material module-by-module in the book, but rather focused on delivering concepts, using detailed examples drawing both from her extensive experience and from the experience of those in the class, and tying thing together to reinforce the material.

Overall rating

Christopher C.
04/29/2013

The seminar was very good. The leader was great and very knowledgeable and the AMA rep that sat outside and helped us with paperwork and guidance was wonderful. She was very sweet and helpful.

I loved the seminar as a whole.

Overall rating

Bradley D.
04/22/2013

The course was great and covered a broad range of subject-matter. The subject-matter is very applicable for a new supervisor. It would have been great to go more in-depth on some areas, but I understand that with only 12 hours for the course that the depth of detail has to be limited. Otherwise, I think the only area that could use improvement are the group breakouts. I did not learn much as a result of these and how they were structured. Sometimes the instructions were unclear with the specifics on these, as well. All-in-all a great course though and I consider what I learned very applicable and valuable!

Overall rating

John A.
04/09/2013

Overall rating

Elissa A.
03/25/2013

Great seminar!

Overall rating

Melissa G.
03/14/2013

I think the conductor was fantastic. The activities we did helped with communication and I thought the overall classroom atmosphere was really good.

Overall rating

Gregory D.
02/23/2013

Overall rating

Laura W.
02/19/2013

class was fun and informative. I look forward to taking another class with Yvonne!

Overall rating

Tracy G.
02/01/2013

Wonderful seminar with a very engaging Leader. I truly enjoyed it and already registered to attend another AMA event! Thank you!

Overall rating

Derrick K.
01/31/2013

This was a very informative and interesting class and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Overall rating

RANDY C.
01/29/2013

The Class was wonderful I enjoyed it all very informative. Thanks

Overall rating

Tracey M.
01/21/2013

I would only recommend this seminar to someone with little to no prior detailed management/leadership, as it is VERY much just an overview. Having already taken two multiple-day AMA seminars and three half-day leadership courses, I found that I already had exposure to most of the content (there are two entire modules on SMART goals) or it wasn't detailed enough. I only found one or two modules really helpful, in particular the As I See Myself analysis. I still rate my experience as good because this item really helped me understand myself and others on my team and I will use it immediately.

Overall rating

Inka S.
01/21/2013

it was useful and well put seminar. I have no doubt that it will help my professional growth and in my career. Thank you

Overall rating

Jacqueline W.
01/16/2013

Overall rating

Hugo P.
01/15/2013

Hello, I thought the seminar was very informative and made me see things from different perspectives. Laura's knowledge and energy made the seminar not only entertaining, but also worthwhile. I would definitely recommend the program to anyone making the same transition. Regards, Hugo Passarinho

Overall rating

Michael S.
01/14/2013

Overall rating

Katrina D.
12/20/2012

THe content had the potential to be high quality, but although I liked the instructor and she was clearly and experienced trainer in general, she did not appear to be very familiar with the content for this class. She also did not have any supervisor experience, so she could not add the value of real life experiences. I realize it was a last minute switch from the normal teacher. I also would have prefered no political commentary on gun control and maternity leave. Laura was a good trainer, however. I also would have appreciated some basic snacks like fruit.

Overall rating

Vinh L.
12/06/2012

I truly enjoyed this course. Dr. H is an exceptional presenter, and I like how she was always engaged with the class rather than just reading from the book. I would definitely recommend this class to others.

Overall rating

Jana H.
11/30/2012

This was a great seminar. I learned a lot of new information. All of the important concepts of supervising were addressed which included how to set goals, motivate people and give effective reviews. I will definitely use the information that I learned in this seminar. Thank you.

Overall rating

Denise S.
11/19/2012

The seminar was great. The interactive pieces were a plus very helpful and kept it interesting. The instructor did a great job!

Overall rating

Amanda H.
11/19/2012

Jacque was a fabulous presenter and the course material was right on point. Great course.

Overall rating

John B.
11/12/2012

Excellent instructor and course content. My one frustration is that there was not enough time given to a few sections, especially on the second day, yet we were let go 30 minutes early each day. If my company is paying $1895 per person, I want the training to be complete and not be short-changed. We are there to learn.

Overall rating

Todd S.
11/12/2012

Best training I have ever attended. Kept everyone interested and involved throughout. Very fun and knowledgeable.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.