/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Armine A.
08/08/2016

Overall rating

Christina L.
08/04/2016

Overall rating

Maryann G.
08/04/2016

Karen was very knowledgeable and fun to deal with.

Overall rating

Danny S.
08/01/2016

Great class, good pace of information, and some excellent process take aways that will apply to my activity in the organization.

Overall rating

Lourdes H.
08/01/2016

Overall rating

Vernett D.
07/21/2016

We should have been reminded or informed before arriving to think of a real life situation or case that we could apply the principles to. Having a computer lab for student use would have been helpful so students could work on their presentations, which BTW should be longer than 3"; thus extending class for a 3rd day til midday might accommodate more time to develop the presentation. We were given a thumbdrive, but I could not access it on the one available computer @ AMA. The brochure indicated we should bring our laptops. I carried my laptop (which is heavy) only to find out afterward from the instructor that it wasn't necessary. As for using information generated from the course exercises, the instructor used the computer to input/record/display student responses/reactions, but the information was not regenerated for student use (i.e., saving, printing, distributing for ea student) but could have been. Perhaps bring a bit more energy and technology into the class setting for students. I thought the curriculum would have focused more working with actual data and producing the analysis of it, as opposed to how to organize it and make a presentation.

Overall rating

Chi-Keung L.
07/21/2016

The interactive class exercises/sessions were very useful and helped illustrate the instructor's teaching points

Overall rating

Colleen S.
07/21/2016

Overall rating

Lorraine S.
07/21/2016

Learned some tools to utilize

Overall rating

Pat M.
07/21/2016

Great instructor and class, I learned a lot that I can apply in my job

Overall rating

Karen F.
07/21/2016

Trainer was good but course content was way too basic. It should be more clearly explained in the catalog that this is for people who have never had any formal training in how to analyze. I was expecting this to be more about statistical analysis of data.

Overall rating

Brad F.
07/04/2016

Sharon was a wonderful instructor. However the course was not what I and most of the class expected. We were looking for going into more depth of data analysis skills and improving them, where this class felt more like an introduction to data analysis class. I already knew the techniques and was looking to better my skill set, I do not believe that was acheived. Again, I have no fault with Sharon she was helping us with our needs, but the course itself was a little misleading. I would not recommend this class for anyone in my company, unless they are a fresh hire with no experience.

Overall rating

Sheila D.
07/04/2016

Overall rating

Kenneth H.
06/20/2016

The teacher was very engaging and the material was of particular interest to me.

Overall rating

VICTORIA E.
06/20/2016

The class and Patricia was very good, although I thought the class would be a little different- guess I thought more about data exporting and how to analyze it. but I did learn from the training and it will also help me in my job.

Overall rating

Prakash S.
06/17/2016

Very good programme with strong delivery.

Overall rating

Shaquena C.
06/16/2016

I enjoyed the course but not what I expected. I wanted to learn more about how to put data together visually rather than just analyzing it.

Overall rating

James C.
06/16/2016

Overall rating

Thomas G.
06/16/2016

Enough detail, but not too much

Overall rating

Vincent M.
06/16/2016

Very well done . Would have liked if the groups could have been shuffled once but understand why not.

Overall rating

Gina R.
06/16/2016

Excellent course and would recommend to colleagues.

Overall rating

Danielle D.
06/16/2016

I thought the information provided was very relevant to what I do in a day to day basis and will therefore help my daily success in my job.

Overall rating

Chenelle H.
05/09/2016

Perfect size class, level of material and engagement levels for me. I began utilizing the concept and tools on day 1 of returning to the office.

Dianne, our trainer, was great!

Overall rating

Judy C.
04/08/2016

This was a very informative class and the instructor was excellent.

Overall rating

Sandra O.
03/30/2016

Overall rating

Jeremy G.
03/29/2016

The concept of using power point as a research notebook was a new interesting idea.

Overall rating

Rosie J.
02/01/2016

The instructor made this seminar!
She did an amazing job at engaging each of the participants with information being taught.

Overall rating

Kimberly W.
12/31/2015

This seminar was exactly what I was hoping for when I signed up for it. The high level of interaction and "hands on" approach kept me engaged for the entire time. The prep work in between sessions was minimal and did not interfere with any of my normal day to day activities but was enough to keep the prior lesson in mind when returning for the next session. Ann was a very knowledgeable as well as pleasant instructor and kept the seminar running smoothly at an appropriate pace. If you are looking to fine tune your analytical skills, I would definitely recommend this course.

Overall rating

Jim L.
12/21/2015

Overall rating

Stacy A.
11/23/2015

I worked on a project with multiple data points and my summary results made upper management's eyes glaze over. Because of that, I took this class. It showed me how to organize my research and present it in a much better format.

Overall rating

Ryan R.
09/28/2015

Overall rating

Doreen S.
08/06/2015

Overall rating

Lisa B.
08/04/2015

Overall rating

Jesse C.
08/03/2015

While the information in this seminar is relevant to information analysis, the vast majority of it was either very basic (using pie graphs) or so intuitive that it does not require instruction. For people right out of college or people who have absolutely no experience with this type of work I think it could be useful. But for the people it is advertised to (business professionals with some degree of experience) I did not find it valuable enough to justify the investment of time and cost.

Overall rating

Sarah H.
06/22/2015

Not what I had expected at all. I had initially enrolled in this course to learn how to analyze actual data and was disappointed when we skimmed over this section. The focus of the class was on presenting (to include PowerPoint and Excel tips) although some good points were made about clarifying purpose and key points when taking on a new project. The set-up of the class is what I enjoyed most, within the first 10 minutes each group had to get comfortable presenting their first team project, which culminated into a series of presentations that lead to the development of the final presentation using the modules presented. I felt that the class was applicable to all types of professionals (not just those in the business industry) and kept me engaged. But in the end I still struggled with how to turn data points into a table that demonstrates the effectiveness of the results.

Overall rating

Harm P.
06/14/2015

In my opninion there was to much emphasis on presentations and presentation skills. If I would have wanted to improve those skills I should subscribed to a presentation training, what I certainly do not want.
Another comment is that during the training we had to search data for ourselves. To a certain extend that can be valuable, but it was my experience that we lost to much time which could have been used for improving the analytical skills.

Overall rating

Eugene L.
05/26/2015

Overall rating

Eunkyoung L.
04/22/2015

Overall rating

Joyce N.
04/07/2015

The instructor was very knowledgeable and well-educated. I appreciate that the class was structured to give participants ample time to practice the skills being taught. I feel I have tools to implement in my current position that will help me make decisions to positively impact my company.

Overall rating

Louis O.
12/05/2014

Started Slow, but it really delivered!

Overall rating

Dora N.
11/25/2014

I think the seminar was way too basic and the group activity felt more like a waste of time. I think the whole content could have been delivered in 3-4 hours. It would have been great for example to dig deeper and discuss a couple of frameworks management consultant firms use to break down a problem.

I think I spent a great amount of time researching the courses and still it was not clear to me how basic the seminar was going to be. Maybe it is helpful for someone who never studied business / never worked in such environment. I would suggest just trying to make it more clear on the website or maybe allow for switching seminars after the 1st session.

Overall rating

Mandy M.
11/03/2014

Great "hands on" learning experience. Touched on Microsoft Office features that I needed a refresher on and I didn't even expect it. The teacher was knowledgeable and willing to help with any problem that came up. Also, loved the opportunity to meet others through a small class size oriented toward individual AND group thinking/learning.

AMA's location is excellent for someone who is not from the area. Walking distance to several food options and lodging.

Overall rating

Michelle M.
11/03/2014

Presenter provided current, relatable, useful information. Having the seminar be hands on made remembering key points much easier. Interesting and useful.

Overall rating

Sager A.
10/18/2014

It is more a writing course, unfortunatly. Suitable for High school grads.

Overall rating

Erwin Y.
06/13/2014

Seminar content was not what I expected. The course content was too basic.

Overall rating

June N.
05/07/2014

Overall rating

Mike D.
04/11/2014

I found this seminar to be one of the best I have ever attended and the instructor did an excellent job of presenting the information and making sure everyone in the class understood the material.

Overall rating

Lenore R.
03/28/2014

Overall rating

Una G.
11/26/2013

I was a bit disappointed in the content. The seminar was not what I expected. A significant amount of time was spent on group work developing and answering a generic question that had nothing to do with what I was there to learn.

That being said I did learn about two excel chart/graph methods for data analysis that I was able to utilize immediately. If I return from a seminar with at least one thing that I can implement or improve upon then I consider the seminar a success. If the time spent on group work had been devoted to other data analysis tools I would have been more impressed.

Overall rating

donald f.
11/04/2013

very basic without any high tech illustrations or colorful presentations- this was more of a work book class where the spokes person at the table become more of a resource than the instructor

Overall rating

Tony D.
09/16/2013

Execellent instruction which kept my attention. Enjoyed working with and learning from those in my breakout group.

Overall rating

Natalie P.
09/13/2013

The program provided great tools which I can use in my everyday tasks as an Analyst. The tools included lists and charts that are user friendly and easy to understand.

Participating in an online session was more interactive than I imagined. I got to virtually know my classmates and would meet with them in person if the opportunity arose.

Thanks AMA for your great encouragement during the course. The instructors and coordinators were very professional, knowledgeable, and motivating.

Overall rating

Karen L.
07/26/2013

Overall rating

Krisitn W.
07/12/2013

Overall rating

Olimpio T.
06/28/2013

The AMA staff did a great job presenting and facilitating to course.

Overall rating

Kate K.
06/28/2013

Overall rating

Anna R.
04/12/2013

The instructor was good. The material was not. I was expecting to learn more advanced skills.

Overall rating

Ana S.
04/12/2013

Overall rating

Aruna R.
12/04/2012

Everything about the seminar was great except for one thing : The Content. If employees are taking 2-days off from work for a fully paid seminar, the content really had to be meatier and deeper. Starting at 9am, long introductions, long lunch breaks - could have all been shortened. This time could have been spent on doing 2 exercises instead of the single case-study we worked on. There were too many interactive group discussions which used up time. The single case study was a very basic exercise. This could have been an introduction and then used as a stepping stone to a second, more intense exercise.

Overall rating

Toni F.
11/05/2012

Overall rating

Yowanda R.
11/05/2012

Marcia is a great course leader!

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.