/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Jon S.
09/15/2017

Overall rating

Pati S.
09/01/2017

Really good mix of instruction vs. practice; excellent instructor, great group dynamics

Overall rating

Todd C.
08/30/2017

Overall rating

Melissa L.
08/30/2017

Challenged thoughts and assumptions.Good adult learning and interactive group/individual discussion.Needed more time on Day 1 to progress through material to reduce rushing/learning on Day 2.Even more quiet "reflection" time per activity/end of each module would be welcomed.

Overall rating

Jon T.
08/30/2017

The training provided a good definition of strategic thinking and a nice framework.

Overall rating

William S.
08/24/2017

Overall rating

KRISTI S.
08/21/2017

The instructor was very knowledgeable. I enjoyed the real world examples she shared during class. She had a calm manner about her and embraced all the different perspectives.

Overall rating

Cindy S.
07/20/2017

it was a great learning experience....very hands on and the instructor was super helpful

Overall rating

Chris V.
07/19/2017

This course was a great launch into strategic thinking. I very much appreciated the opportunity to work through an example from my workplace.

Overall rating

Josh K.
07/19/2017

The facilities were nice. I liked the smaller room as it feels easier to learn rather than a large room.

Overall rating

Feroz K.
06/26/2017

Very impressive

Overall rating

Jerome C.
06/23/2017

Overall rating

Katie B.
06/23/2017

The instructor was very knowledgeable and well read! Course was very good to point out ways to be a strategic thinker. The frustrating part was that it was geared more towards corporate strategy to stay ahead in the market. Concepts were helpful, but the exercises were not relevant to everyone in the group.

Overall rating

Jordan R.
06/22/2017

The course was well structured and the instructor was extremely effective. Denise encouraged discussion at each interval and offered plenty of insight. The facilities were superb, especially the location.

Overall rating

Eun B.
06/16/2017

Content was informative. Good mix of presentation vs. interaction. Helpful to meet and discuss others' issues.

Overall rating

Robert M.
06/15/2017

Solid basic strategic thinking concepts; nice to use "your own real life issue/opportunity"

Overall rating

Christy B.
06/13/2017

Overall rating

Connie S.
06/13/2017

Overall rating

Andrei T.
05/26/2017

Overall rating

Stephannie D.
05/24/2017

Jennifer is a great instructor/facilitator. She made the content interesting and intuitive. Easily relatable.

Overall rating

Kris P.
05/24/2017

Overall rating

Mark S.
05/10/2017

Excellent! Great information, great use of time, and facilities. Facilitator also brought a wealth of knowledge to the program

Overall rating

Richard I.
05/08/2017

Karen is extremely knowledgeable about strategic thinking, she kept the group on engaged in discussion and on topic. I really enjoyed her teaching, coaching/directing style.

Overall rating

Jessica H.
05/05/2017

I was very impressed by this class. Karen did a fantastic job balancing tools and teaching with group participation.

Overall rating

Nicholas R.
05/05/2017

Tools were provided and explained, but not implemented. These appear really useful and what made the presenter really valuable in that context, but WHY are they not in the course content, which suggests the course materials are either out of date, or need to be updated. Presenter has great practical experience, and I wish she had deviated more from the course content, and spent more time on the tools.

Overall rating

Harriet M.
05/03/2017

Excellent class - LOVED that it was small!

Overall rating

Kerstin D.
05/02/2017

Overall rating

Jessica R.
04/07/2017

Really enjoyed the class. Of all the courses I've taken this seems like the most relevant and useful to my job and life.

Overall rating

Joe H.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Cate H.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Starr V.
04/07/2017

I thought it was very good. I liked the real world examples given in class and I felt Karen held my attention very well. The class progressed smoothly and we transitioned from one topic to another easily.

Overall rating

Victoria F.
04/07/2017

Overall rating

Diana H.
03/27/2017

The course is a good MBA refresher of frameworks. Janine was energetic and introduced many frameworks in a short amount of time and was able to address each individual's problem that they were there to solve.

Overall rating

Christina H.
03/22/2017

Janine is energetic, fun, and knowledgeable. My major issue is with the course materials. The writing in the booklets is not simple and straightforward. It's written in an overly complicated, wordy way that impeded my ability to grasp the materials. My other issue is that Janine threw out a LOT of systems -- pest, swot, and many, many more. There seemed to be a lack of depth on some of these that left me a bit overwhelmed with the volume but not a lot of substance. I did like that the class had each student use his/her own real world strategic problem and apply the learnings to it in real time. Plus interaction with other students on the various problems was helpful. The group in this class were a little quiet and shy, which I could see frustrated Janine, but she soldiered on and kept up her energy level. Thank you!

Overall rating

Joyce W.
03/09/2017

Good mix of industry; the instructor is staying current;

Overall rating

Oksana D.
03/09/2017

Good insight into facilitating strategic thinking. I will definitely utilize the methodology presented. I would have liked to hear helpful strategies for taking risks and avoiding groupthink, which was in the description of the course, but wasn't really covered.

Overall rating

Nathan B.
03/09/2017

Great Class!

Overall rating

Carole C.
01/18/2017

Having a smaller group makes it more personal.

Overall rating

Stephen E.
01/16/2017

Overall rating

Cynthia T.
12/29/2016

Overall rating

Kristie V.
12/29/2016

Course was great. Really enjoyed Karen. Liked her visual aids that she used during the class, would like to have those available in a digital format so it would be easier for me to share and use with my colleagues.We talked a lot about big ideas people have come out with (i.e., Amazon, Instagram, ...) it would have also been nice to discuss how not everything strategic always has to be the new big thing to make it more practical and realistic.

Overall rating

Robyn F.
12/26/2016

Overall rating

Robert M.
12/26/2016

Overall rating

Vitaly A.
12/26/2016

Overall rating

Armine A.
12/23/2016

Overall rating

Juanita B.
12/23/2016

Overall rating

David P.
12/22/2016

Overall rating

Osmanu Karimu A.
12/22/2016

Very useful information with a lot to practice and apply

Overall rating

Christine F.
12/22/2016

I thought the course would teach more critical thinking skills rather than the SWOT-like analysis, but it still helped me consider a different approach for a current project. The seats were very uncomfortable. The padding is shot so you're sitting on the hard board under it.

Overall rating

Chris S.
12/22/2016

Overall rating

Brendan L.
12/21/2016

Overall rating

Kristy K.
12/19/2016

Overall rating

Spencer E.
12/19/2016

Michelle is an incredible teacher and we are lucky to have her. She taught the course "Strategic Thinking" on behalf of the American Management Association. During the two-day course, Michelle worked through many scenarios to assist in my day-to-day business and showed us different ways of thinking more strategically. Many of the areas we reviewed, I will be able to immediately put into place. Personality wise, Michelle is driven, knowledgeable, and kind. I highly recommend Michelle as a consultant and lecturer.

Overall rating

Pierre-Hubert C.
11/16/2016

The moderator was great and very lively. She put everyone at ease.The content could have been heavier with more case studies rather than group exercises.

Overall rating

Seth L.
11/16/2016

Overall rating

Patricia D.
11/16/2016

Karen was an outstanding instructor - very passionate and knowledgeable. She articulate the concepts very clearly and had a respect for the different levels of experience amongst the members.

Overall rating

MARCOS M.
11/16/2016

Very interactive, always with opportunities to question, and space to provide my own insight.

Overall rating

Brian G.
11/14/2016

The ideas were great, Linda did a very good job of explaining, engaging the group to further the experience.

Overall rating

Sharifa B.
11/14/2016

Overall rating

Hampton S.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Gavin H.
10/24/2016

A very intuitive and applicable course for my day-to-day work schedule. Would highly recommend this course.

Overall rating

Laura C.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Poweide K.
10/24/2016

Well-constructed course with engaging instructor who showed the relevance of the concepts she taught to work and life.

Overall rating

Michelle B.
10/24/2016

The environmental factors and subjective/objective exercises on day 1 were great. The plan and pairing up on day 2 was very valuable.

Overall rating

Paul C.
10/24/2016

Jody was incredible.

Overall rating

Michael M.
10/24/2016

Great course

Overall rating

Cheryl P.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Kimberly G.
10/24/2016

Very knowledgeable in the subject and made the information relevant to the real world.

Overall rating

William S.
10/06/2016

Overall rating

Kate R.
10/06/2016

Overall rating

Ahmed M.
10/06/2016

Sharing ideas with other attendees was a great way to learn from others and get an outside opinion.

Overall rating

Clay T.
08/12/2016

Overall rating

Jamie G.
08/11/2016

I believe this training overall was successful. However, I feel it is geared more towards folks who have a more internal focus on the organization. If you are in sales or marketing, I think there were some aspects that didn't correlate. Perhaps there should be training geared more towards external facing employees. So that people can choose the one that would relate more towards their career path. I also think it would be beneficial for there to be pre-work that involves picking a career challenge that can be worked through on these days. I believe picking it on the spot lead to the idea being rushed and potentially not the best example for the exercises.

Overall rating

Roopali L.
08/10/2016

Overall rating

Kevin H.
08/10/2016

Overall rating

Peter F.
08/10/2016

No major surprises or "aha" moments, as the content was largely straightforward common sense. Some fun discussions of futurism.

Overall rating

Abraham Y.
08/10/2016

Good information but the relevance to my work could be improved a bit

Overall rating

Norman R.
08/08/2016

Lots of real life examples

Overall rating

Martha G.
06/02/2016

Overall rating

Gabriela R.
06/01/2016

Overall rating

Linda C.
06/01/2016

Overall rating

Benjamin K.
04/06/2016

Overall rating

Cindy S.
02/28/2016

This seminar really opened my eyes to what it takes to truly think strategically. I walked away feeling like I now have the tools and understanding of how to apply this thinking more effectively in my career.

Overall rating

Chien-Yu C.
12/23/2015

Overall rating

Geert H.
11/12/2015

Great course and great instructor. We were with 4 participants wich was a big advantage because of the time that could be spent on every individual's specific situation and future plans. Do it!

Overall rating

Dianna W.
09/21/2015

Overall rating

Carlos R.
09/17/2015

The seminar was very well conducted by the instructor. She managed to have the group engaged and all the students participated actively. It was not only interesting but entertaining.
the material could have been better. Maybe too much extension "Assessing the current state" and a little short in the techniques to "Building your path".

Overall rating

Janice H.
08/21/2015

The course was excellent. The hands-on classroom exercises and direct application of real-life strategic examples at work were the keys to the sucess of this course. The instructor was incredibly knowledgeable and a tremendous resource. I was amazed at how versed she was on any and all topics. I'm thrilled that I took this workshop. I gained some valuable tools that will enhance my strategic thinking skillset and allow me to be successful with certain actual strategic initiatives on the job.

Overall rating

Edmond S.
06/22/2015

Overall rating

Nick M.
06/17/2015

Overall rating

Harm P.
06/17/2015

Learned a lot, great experience, great instructor. I will be able to put more structure in my strategic thinking which will help me a lot in my day to day activities.

Overall rating

Dan M.
04/07/2015

Denise was very good in engaging the entire class and making the seminar interactive and interesting

Overall rating

Bruce R.
03/13/2015

The real-world examples provided by the instructor were very valuable. The discussion with class participants was very valuable to share perspectives from different industries, job roles and even countries. The exercises were lacking throughout the course.

Overall rating

Elwood S.
02/06/2015

The program was excellent and the team/group activities are outlined very well.
I enjoyed the time invested and would recommend the course to others.

Overall rating

Patrick B.
11/10/2014

This was a very good seminar. Pertinent information for anyone that needs any assistance in writing a future action plan. Good mix of classroom and one on one activities. Helpful with opening you up to new approaches, thinking out of the box, and building relationships to better suite your needs. Good flow to the meeting.

Overall rating

Robert B.
11/10/2014

Loved this class. Would like to receive more material regarding strategy along with a suggested order of training classes.

Overall rating

Margaret K.
10/06/2014

Overall rating

David R.
06/16/2014

Best seminar that I ever attended. Exactly on point for creation of a new business. We actually used my specific situation to develop a complete business plan.

Overall rating

Brian L.
06/16/2014

Overall rating

Jeff W.
12/16/2013

Janine is an Outstanding Instructor

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.