/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Jim K.
09/21/2016

Overall great course. Pace was sometimes too fast. Bouncing back and forth between the presentation and my laptop work was, at times, too much and needed to slow down.The coursework and learning objectives were just what I was looking for. Course provided valuable information on Excel and Powerpoint. I was able to obtain many new ideas and gain insight on many facets I haven't been exposed to previously. Good Instructor, very worthwhile class.

Overall rating

Jamika J.
09/21/2016

Overall the class was really good. I just wished that we could have had more time to work on the assignments. I felt like the class was a little rushed.

Overall rating

Liz L.
09/21/2016

This class primarily covered basic Excel graphing features. Anyone with a working knowledge of Excel charting/graphing features may not benefit from this course. It covered very little from an analytical perspective and seemed to be geared more toward individuals who are in administrative roles; responsible for making presentations/visuals based on data that has simply been provided to them, as opposed to analyzing and presenting data.I don't know that this course (as I received it) is appropriate as part of a three-part series of "Analytical Skills". Additionally, the examples provided for us to evaluate and "makeover" were ridiculous, useless examples that we would never encounter in a practical, professional setting. Using more realistic examples as starting points (such as default excel charts/graphs) would have been MUCH more beneficial.

Overall rating

Care M.
09/21/2016

Moved too fast, not thorough enough

Overall rating

Michael M.
09/21/2016

Glenna was an amazing teacher. Learned a lot. Thanks Glenna!

Overall rating

Armando J.
09/21/2016

Christian was engaged and definitely had great knowledge of the material. He applied real-life examples and kept the course up beat.

Overall rating

Andrea B.
09/21/2016

This was one of the poorest staff development activities that I have ever attended. My staff development budget is rather limited and I need to be selective in my choices. I selected this seminar to learn more in order to achieve greater credibility and effectiveness in my presentation to a wide variety of audiences. This did not occur. I spent approximately $ 3,000 and feel like my money was wasted as my staff development goal was not achieved. If others were honest about their evaluations, I suspect that you should receive similar feedback. The advertisement for the course indicated that Office 2010 or above was a requirement for the course. I have Office 2013, and was unable to relate to what was being presented. The instructor did not seem interested in assisting too many individuals and told me that my computer didn't have enough memory. I found him to be ill prepared, unfamiliar with some of the slides, and resentful of a participant in the class who seemed to have much more knowledge than he did. In fact, I appreciated her participation as she offered several useful tips and suggestions. I'm not sure if he was the instructor of choice, or if he was a substitute, however, he was not a good fit for the information that he presented. The saving grace of the entire experience was the city, my hotel and the participants. If not for the knowledge of the participants, I'm not sure how much I would have actually learned. I'm sure that I could have bought a book for a lot

Overall rating

Nina A.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Bruce H.
09/21/2016

Overall, I felt that the course wasn't well aligned with the course description. There was a lot of content ("course junk") which I felt was irrelevant based on the course overview. In addition, the course needed to focus more on how to make data relevant/compelling to your audience. I left disappointed with the overall insights/information taught at the course versus my expectations when signing up for the course. I also felt that the instructor found himself struggling with some of the content.

Overall rating

Wei J.
09/21/2016

This training fits my needs and my level of knowledge/experience with data presentation very well.

Overall rating

Betty A.
09/21/2016

I was inspired at the beginning of each day and was excited about best practices, tricks and ideas I learned in this course. But by the middle of the day each day I felt it slowed down way too much. The first day I suspected there were just too many slides for the instructor to go through, but after the second day being just as bad, I realized it was the instructor's pacing that was the real problem. There may be some slides that could be eliminated as I felt he glossed over some and it was a waste of time, if its not important. Some exercises were rushed through and then others 15 minute timed exercise ended up being 45 minutes, due to one or two learners. Also his demos were not smooth. Sometimes he needed a few minutes to figure it out himself.

Overall rating

Brenda T.
09/21/2016

Not enough time to cover all of the material

Overall rating

Jacqueline J.
08/04/2016

Overall rating

Mike J.
08/01/2016

Some great tools to help with data visualization. Explored some features that I even knew about but taught me when it was good to use them or when to use something else. I am excited to go fix some of my reports now!

Overall rating

Elena P.
06/27/2016

the workbook should have included instructions, not just screen shots. Did not need a history lesson on presentations. The Wifi was terrible in the building. Could not work on the examples at times.

Overall rating

Frank P.
06/20/2016

Exposed me to a lot of different ways to improve my presentations.

Overall rating

Amit L.
06/20/2016

Overall rating

Gwen C.
06/17/2016

What a great class! Instructor was very knowledgeable.

Overall rating

Elizabeth K.
06/16/2016

The first day was too basic, but day 2 was interesting.

Overall rating

Emily H.
12/30/2015

Overall rating

David D.
12/23/2015

The seminar presented practical example in both Power Point and Excel. New options for presenting data were offered and compared with other formats. No one "right way" was presented, you were allowed to consider many possibilities.
The pace was excellent and not overwhelming.

Overall rating

Tatyana T.
12/23/2015

excellent instructor, very good course; improved the use of Exel and PowerPoint; I am glad that attended this seminar

Overall rating

Dana S.
11/12/2015

The title of the seminar should be how to use the excel graphing functions. It wasn't at all what I expected - tips for how to be more compelling, what's more effective, how to change your visual presentations depending on audience. But, that's NOT what the course was. We had 5 people in that session from my agency and it was a huge waste of resources. Aside from content, the instructor didn't give breaks unless reminded and even then they were shortened, and both evenings expected us to stay late because we hadn't gotten through enough material. Lastly, having to lug along your own laptop was a pain especially because there was portions where we had to access internet - which government computers cannot do except through secure networks. All in all I was extremely disappointed and will hesitate to ever recommend or send someone to AMA again.

Overall rating

Algenon W.
11/12/2015

Overall rating

Lana R.
10/26/2015

Overall rating

Sharon A.
05/18/2015

I enjoyed the class; the instructor was extremely knowledgeable. I learned a few things about visualizing data that I didn't know.

Overall rating

James H.
04/20/2015

Our time would have been better spent discussing and evaluating alternative ways to present data instead of just providing a copy of a slide in the course material that says "this is a line/bar/pie/etc. chart and it's good for X". I can find, and have found, that in numerous books. Instead: Give students the same large database; predetermine a large number of scenarios/questions/issues/messages; work through the scenarios by asking the participants to suggest alternative ways to present the data based on the specific scenario; finally, discuss which way(s) of presenting the data more effectively conveys the message and why. The "project" portion seemed to me to be a way to fill (and waste) time. There wasn't enough "meat" to justify the cost of the 2-day class not to mention the cost of traveling from out of town to take it. This could have been a much more helpful seminar.

Overall rating

Mohammad A.
03/26/2015

Was useful for some areas. However, my feedback are:

1-it seems to be an awareness session on how to use Microsoft office software (Excel) mainly;
2-The duration of this course must be at least 3 days with a focus on other areas NOT limited to sales, and marketing requirements. As other candidates came up from other different fields, and wanted to gain additional tools on how to present their data successfully;
3- The number of candidates was large so, instructor could not pay attention, or provide enough assistance for candidate’s queries;
4- The venue needs to be more comfortable, especially with seating, needs to be ergonomic;
5- The audio and visual aids needs to be suitable for the venue size.

Overall rating

Tim M.
02/02/2015

Material was covered very quickly. I was looking to improve my use of Power Point. This was not covered at all.

Overall rating

Harm P.
12/08/2014

Overall rating

Darlene G.
06/10/2014

Great session. The examples Andres used help each student relate the data to our current work environment. I would have like more time working with infographics.

Overall rating

Lisa R.
04/14/2014

Great information and shortcuts.

Overall rating

Jing-Jing Z.
03/24/2014

Overall rating

Daniela T.
03/24/2014

The seminar was great. Very suitable for controller and analysts and a little above and beyond what I needed for my job as a Contract Manager. But I took some very useful "rules" and "current best practices" with me I sure will implement the next time I have to present something to my upper management.

Overall rating

Mark G.
03/17/2014

Shared a lot of great tools that could be used to enhance presentations. The Instructor was very enthusiastic about the subject and shared some great examples. The guest speaker really added to the seminar and reinforced the overall message of the class.

Overall rating

Claire S.
03/10/2014

Overall rating

Jeremey D.
03/10/2014

Overall rating

Jennifer D.
12/09/2013

Great course on how different charts and graphs can make your data more compelling.

Overall rating

John A.
11/11/2013

Need to be clearer that a PC with Microsoft Office is required. It is mentioned once (not prominently) in the course description, and not at all in the e-mailed confirmation ("Get Maximum Value from your AMA Seminar"). I happened to see it and brought a PC, but several people in the seminar did not.

While I did pick up some useful knowledge and tips from the seminar, I cannot say that I could not have achieved the same on my own, with a textbook and about a day to work through it. Thus, I don't feel that the seminar was a very good value.

There was an exercise (creating a dashboard on why Boston would be a good place to locate your business) in which we had to spend some time gathering data via the internet prior to formatting and building the dashboard. This research did not seem like a good use of our time, since the the dashboard and the tables/charts on it were the actual point of the exercise.

The instructor was very personable and engaging, in

Overall rating

Grace P.
11/11/2013

The instructor was not as prepared as he could have been. The presentation excercise was not coordinated properly and too much time was spent on trying to pull data rather than learning the how to prepare a presenation using the data. The classroom was not as engaged as it could have been.

Half the class was not prepared in advance as we were not told to bring a laptop.

Overall rating

Thomas L.
11/01/2013

I learned several different techniques, however, I don't think it was worth the cost of the seminar.

Overall rating

Laura B.
10/22/2013

The class was excellent and there were people of all skill levels in this class so I came away with great ideas and lessons not only from the instructor but also the other participants in the class during group presentations.

Overall rating

Steve J.
10/21/2013

Class material was too elementary. I knew how to make graphs in Excel and Powerpoint before attending class. Not enough time was spent on what makes an effective or ineffective graph and/presentation. For example, should one use the default legends, or should one insert a text box in a line graph near the line and label the line. Examples of effective or ineffective graphs and presentations should have been presented and discussed. Andres was an effective presentor and did a good job in leading class interaction and discussion.

Overall rating

Lara W.
10/21/2013

Overall rating

Bradley H.
09/30/2013

Lauri's real world experiences helped frame otherwise very difficult theories. Can't wait to get back to the office and put to use the things i learned.

Overall rating

Tony T.
04/12/2013

This seminar provided me with the knowledge of some new ways to take the standard data reports I pull for our agency, and generate the charts and images that tell the true story and paint a picture that simple numbers just can't do alone. The instructors for the course were very knowledgeable, and offered not only the expected course content, but also the encouragement and resources needed to prove to each of the attendees that we could also produce visual presentations of data that would "wow" individuals within our respective organizations.

Overall rating

Latoya W.
03/11/2013

For a first-time class offering, I thought that the class was good. Some of the participants, including myself, had already been working with the Tableau Software that was key to the training. As a result, I felt like I already knew much of what was demonstrated during the course. So, having basic, intermediate and more advanced exercises would have been helpful. Also, the class was entitled "How to Turn Data into Compelling Visualizations." I would have liked to have seen more examples of compelling visualizations and more of a class discussion about what makes a visual compelling/effective. It could have been useful to see more examples of effective versus ineffective visuals and have a discussion during the class. I thought that the videos shown during the seminar were useful and will reference the class workbook. I do have a new lens to look at our data visualizations after taking this seminar.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.