/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Customer Ratings and Reviews

Overall rating

Kara C.
11/25/2016

Peter is extremely knowledgeable about the subject matter and kept us on track, which was most appreciated. For a 3 day seminar, he went just the right pace to not be too slow or too overwhelming on a daily basis. He was able to bring his past work experiences into the discussion while using the attendees current job responsibilities to demonstrate real life cost accounting issues and examples.

Overall rating

Kellie H.
11/25/2016

Overall rating

Bryan O.
11/23/2016

Overall rating

Grace C.
11/23/2016

Overall rating

Joi L.
11/23/2016

The instructor's teaching style was not good. He read the training book to us and told us to highlight this and write down that. It was the worst trainer I have had in a very long time.

Overall rating

Linda S.
10/26/2016

The instructor, while knowledgeable, clearly had not prepared/reviewed for our class. There were numerous instances in which she was incorrect, and she was unaware that our class book contained numerous errors.

Overall rating

Colleen M.
10/26/2016

I was disappointed with the seminar, largely because it was no different than a very basic overview of a cost accounting class, which was not the impression I got from the description on the website. In a professional environment, we have systems to do calculations and it would have been more helpful to troubleshoot issues and complete root cause analysis to determine causes for variances. Unfortunately, I had to leave mid-class due to food poisoning, but don't think it would be worth re-attending.

Overall rating

Michael W.
10/24/2016

Overall rating

Ted W.
10/24/2016

Overall good relevant topics. Would have liked more time spent working on case studies/examples

Overall rating

Kristin B.
10/24/2016

We had a student in our class that made the learning environment very difficult but it still went well.

Overall rating

Rebecca A.
07/22/2016

The course description did not explain that this was a very small group. We were expecting networking opportunities and best practice sharing, which was limited considering 3 of the 4 attendees were from my own company. The instructor spent most of his time reading from the book, and there were almost no real life examples to support the text. The powerpoint was a condensed version of the book with no additional examples. The instructor also disagreed with various points in the book, causing confusion as we tried to answer the questions and frustration/irritation when he tried to tell us we weren't understanding. However, he made no effort to explain further and just moved on. It's frustrating that we traveled all the way to D.C. to have a book read to us.

Overall rating

Jennifer M.
07/21/2016

Overall I was disappointed. I thought the class would be larger and there would be more discussion and feedback between different companies. We mainly read from the book and spent a lot of time calculating entries instead of talking about concepts.

Overall rating

Jose R.
05/23/2016

Overall rating

Marci P.
03/30/2016

Overall rating

Andre K.
11/19/2015

It was presented in a fun way, class participation and interaction really helps the understanding process.

Instructor was knowledgeable in all the areas of the program and made sure we were able to answer the questions from the scenarios provided. If not, he would explain in detail assuring that we understood the concepts.

I enjoyed the class and am confident that I will implement new processes that I learned into my daily work environment which will help improve our current methods of operation.

Overall rating

Joseph P.
11/18/2015

very informative,

Overall rating

Matthew I.
11/18/2015

Overall rating

John L.
07/02/2015


The whole AMA staff from the front desk to the instructor were wonderful.

Pauline was amazing. Her knowledge and experience was perfect for the class. I was amazed by the depth of her knowledge and her ability to present the material in an easy-to-understand format. If you needed one example, she had seven others waiting for you. I am using the knowledge I gained just one week after attending the seminar.

I would highly recommend this class to those in the accounting or management departments looking for another way to analyze their current costing structure.

Overall rating

Stephen F.
10/14/2014

The work pages need to be tidied up. We were unsure as to which parts we were supposed to answer because there were no blank lines in the book to show us. Also, some of the pages had headers that looked like formulas. It was confusing. Pauline was a great presenter and tied it back to the real world very well.

Overall rating

Hamed A.
09/29/2014

Over-whelming amount of informaiton in just two and a half day. In most of the topics, the lecturer keep reading off of the book without trying to assess if everyone in the class really understood the formulas and technical terms. The venue and content of all AMA sessions are great! It is just the lecturers they need to focus a bit on.

Overall rating

Chaitanya S.
09/30/2013

Reading material should be provided before the seminar for pre class reading.

Overall rating

Kojo C.
09/30/2013

I think it should be at least 3 days so we want feel rushed.

Overall rating

Nejib K.
06/20/2013

Overall rating

Denise T.
06/17/2013

I found the seminar to be very informative and the instructor very good. She made a not so exciting subject interesting.

Overall rating

Clorissa O.
04/25/2013

Class was very helpful even to identify areas that need further research, discussion or training needs.I would attend another AMA seminar without hesitation. My company is looking to send additional employees to the Fundamentals of Cost Accounting. Instructor was well versed in subject matter and gave diverse examples that explained differences between service and manufactoring settings.

Overall rating

Bob G.
04/22/2013

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.