/training/seminars/reviews.aspx
Request a Catalog.

Overall rating

Razan A.
10/11/2017

It lacked structure.

Overall rating

MITCHELL K.
10/09/2017

Though the content wasn't exactly what I thought it was going to be, the Class was Excellent

Overall rating

David T.
09/29/2017

Rachel certainly knew her stuff. Her enthusiasm for the topic really came through. Very engaging with lots of real world examples.

Overall rating

Corey W.
07/19/2017

Fast pace course with great information

Overall rating

Angela J.
07/17/2017

the instructor was knowledgable, professional and tried to meet the needs of the students but sometimes the class would get off stack and instructor seem to bounce around on specific subject which can cause confusion. The only suggestion I would provide is to focus more on 2-3 specific areas and allow students to practice the techniques as many times as possible to become familiar and will allow them to remember tools quickly. Also, ensure the faculty or someone relays the tools needed for the coursework. In a training environment of this nature, the facility for this cost should always provide needs tools for learning course to include helpful resource be listed in the student handouts.

Overall rating

Andrew G.
07/17/2017

Class was taught well, instructor focused on student needs.Would recommend providing course materials in advance and recommending students bring a computer in bold print somewhere. Better to download excel files for class, memory sticks not allowed on government computers.

Overall rating

Nate D.
07/17/2017

Great energy, good ideas in terms of procedure and some functionality. Had some hiccups in terms of the deeper functions of excel (pivot tables, graphs) but Miles went out and attempted to find the answer from outside documentation and websites. I would recommend this course and this instructor.

Overall rating

Cleveland A.
07/13/2017

Miles is a very passionate, energetic instructor.

Overall rating

Christian O.
07/13/2017

Overall a good overview of many topics- Some of the examples would have been better if worked on before hand. There was a lot of class time spent troubleshooting.

Overall rating

Ryan A.
07/13/2017

Overall a very good beginner course....I would have liked to focus more on the Data Analysis Section as this was my particular interest.

Overall rating

Juliet M.
07/13/2017

Even though the description stated using excel as the basic; I didn't infer from that, that this course would really be an Excel course. Nor did I understand it was designed for analysts and so heavy on accountants. I would suggest a rewrite of the description. That said I did learn some helpful tools. I would have enjoyed more interactive working the cases than so much talking to us.

Overall rating

Katarolyn M.
07/13/2017

Need more days for this lesson. Should have been a week. Not enough time to fully comprehend all of the steps.

Overall rating

Steve K.
07/13/2017

I was looking for something a little different. Was thinking this might help me better understand what data needs to be used in decision making and what processes can be utilized in sifting information. However, the information shared on getting data and manipulated was very helpful. There were quite a few materials and slides referenced that were not in our books, it would have been helpful having all this information. Overall, there are some in my organization that could see greater benefit due to their role and I will be suggesting that in my summary to our senior staff...

Overall rating

Rodney G.
06/22/2017

good class but not really what I was looking for. Description of class was kind of vague and I was looking for more excel training regarding data instead of the presentation side of data analysis.

Overall rating

Sheryl J.
06/21/2017

Lauri is an excellent instructor. She made the learning process interesting and fun.

Overall rating

Cynthia H.
06/21/2017

Overall rating

Thomas O.
05/15/2017

I had spoken with our rep who stated this was more entry level for those unfamiliar with using Excel to analyse data but this definitely seemed more advanced. The instructor was actually even asking people in class how to do things and they all new how to manually enter all of the vlookups and other formulas. I feel like we wasted (2) of our vouchers on this class as it was well above our heads.Also - the facilities were worse than i remember. Construction was going on during the first day of class and the mens and womens bathrooms on our floor were out of service the majority of the class!

Overall rating

Magdalena N.
05/15/2017

Overall rating

Aaron T.
05/11/2017

Course instructor taught valuable skills, which will help improve my role with the organization,Construction going on during class was distracting.

Overall rating

Kristen D.
02/16/2017

Overall rating

Connie S.
02/16/2017

On the manual, I would have liked a little more explanation of the slides so that I could go back later as a refresher.

Overall rating

Maddie B.
02/15/2017

Overall rating

Edna C.
02/14/2017

Overall rating

Sultan A.
09/21/2016

9am to 5pm no snacks, no lunch !!

Overall rating

Arthur L.
09/21/2016

Overall rating

Elizabeth B.
09/21/2016

The class had a nice pace and was engaging given the dry content.

Overall rating

Tracey F.
07/21/2016

Andres is a very patient and generous instructor, meaning that he was willing to take the time to ensure that participants received what they came for. His teaching style was great too.

Overall rating

Veronica K.
07/18/2016

Andres was well prepared for class, well versed in the subject matter and offered many real-life examples of how the classwork might relate to our work life.I do believe however that the AMA should do a better job, for this particular class, of reminding students to bring their own laptop w Excel preloaded, so they can use the class thumbdrive. Many students either had no computer OR could not use a thumbdrive on their WORK computers. AMA should also note that students should have an intermediate knowledge of EXCEL as a prerequisite for the class. Not having a better working knowledge of EXCEL prevented at least one student from maximizing their learning in the classroom.

Overall rating

Colleen S.
07/14/2016

good instructor -- kept it moving

Overall rating

Michael A.
06/20/2016

The instructor was knowledgeable, courteous and professional.

Overall rating

Laura C.
06/20/2016

I had an overall good experience. The instructor was very knowledgeable and helpful. I will definitely be taking more AMA courses.

Overall rating

Chikako M.
06/17/2016

Just wished that we had had a bit more time to do some actual work using different scenarios.Liked people that I took the seminar with, them coming from different industries and sectors.For this sort of class, being in a small group helped me a lot.

Overall rating

Ryan B.
12/07/2015

Tools and Techniques for Mastering Data is a good refresher for the basic statistics course you may have taken in college. I was expecting much more based on the decription. While descriptive statistics are helpful, knowing these concepts does not necessarily make me a data master.

Overall rating

Hend E.
12/06/2015

It would have been better if the case study was about a more familiar/common subject.

Overall rating

Tim W.
05/18/2015

Overall rating

Akshay M.
01/06/2015

Great course maybe a little more structured data sets during the on hands training.

Overall rating

Reema S.
12/09/2014

It was great , but fundamental .

Overall rating

William W.
12/09/2014

Good overview of several data processes.

Overall rating

Melanie D.
12/08/2014

Some good nuggets to take away from the class, like the 5 Why process and emphasis on establishing a clearly defined objective for collecting and analyzing data. Apparently the student materials had recently been updated, but the instructor manual was not - so it felt like the instructor was "winging it" part of the time and was just delivering the content straight out of the book without embellishment. Course can probably be reduced to two days... felt like there was some dead time.

Overall rating

Bob D.
05/12/2014

Awesome class, the instructor provided real life pratical commentary that can be used immediately to address complex issues around Data Analytics.

Overall rating

Cynthia K.
02/10/2014

The class was not well prepared. Exercises and examples had many errors, this proved difficult to learn new skills. I do not feel the learning objectives were met or that I gained from attending the class. I would NOT recommend this class to anyone.

Overall rating

Jennifer D.
12/09/2013

Excellent course instructor and material.

Overall rating

Raghav P.
08/25/2013

The seminar did not address techniques to analyze big data sets. Rather the focus was on general data analysis guidelines. The datasets used during the sessions were extremely small datasets, that aren't even applicable in a corporate setting. wouldn't recommend this seminar to anyone with any basic experience with excel.

 

Preferred Member Pricing

Close
Choose the AMA Membership plan that’s right for you and take advantage of its many exclusive benefits including Preferred Member Pricing on all AMA Seminars–at least 10% savings.

Preferred Member Pricing makes it possible for you or your entire organization to benefit from AMA’s world-class training.